Mortgage Foreclosures and Contract Terminations
If the Minnesota Department of Revenue filed a lien on your real property (homes or land), the mortgage holder (lender) or deed holder (seller) must notify us before foreclosing on the mortgage or terminating a contract for sale or contract for deed. (See Minnesota Statute 270C.63, subdivision 11.)
You must notify us 25 days before the foreclosure or contract termination. You do not have to notify us if we filed the lien within 30 days of the foreclosure sale or date of termination. If the property has already foreclosed, you may need to submit a partial lien release request to have the lien removed from the property.
You may call us at 651-556-3003 or 1-800-657-3909 (toll-free) to verify we received proper notice.
You or your creditors have the legal right to reclaim (redeem) the property we seized. We may sell these redemption rights. If you have further questions, you may contact our Complex Case Program at firstname.lastname@example.org.
If the county sheriff conducts a foreclosure sale, there is a redemption period of 6 to 12 months. During this period:
You may get a new mortgage and retain ownership of the property
You may sell the property
We may redeem the property
We may sell the redemption rights to the property