Liens and the Collection Process
A lien is a legal claim filed with the Office of Secretary of State or county recorder. Liens allow us to take real property (land and any property, such as homes or buildings, attached directly to it), or personal property (movable property, such as vehicles, furniture, boats, and collectibles) owned by an individual or business in Minnesota to pay your debt. Once a lien is recorded, it becomes public information.
Whether you are an individual or a business, we may file a lien at any time and add a charge of $30 to file and release it. (See Minnesota Statutes, section 270C.63 and section 16D.08). We will release the lien when it is paid in full with secured funds. If you pay any other way, it is released 30 days from the day we receive your payment.