field_block:node:page:title

Interest Rates for Minnesota Counties

field_block:node:page:body

​County auditors, treasurers, and land commissioners should use the interest rates in the table below for delinquent real and personal property taxes and for special assessments. A brief explanation of each rate follows the table.

Year

Delinquent Taxes

Property Tax Judgements

Confession of Judgement,
Homesteaded Property1

Confession of Judgement,
All Other Eligible Property

Repurchase, or Tax-Forfeited Land Sold on Contract for Deed

2019 10% 4% 7% 10% 10%
2018 10% 4% 5% 10% 10%
2017 10% 4% 5% 10% 10%
2016 10% 4% 5% 10% 10%
2015 10% 4% 5% 10% 10%
2014 10% 4% NA 10% 10%
2013 10% 4% NA 10% 10%
2012 10% 4% NA 10% 10%
2011 10% 4%2 NA 10% 10%
2010 10% 4% NA 10% 10%
2009 10% 4% NA 10% 10%

1 The 2014 Minnesota Legislature passed legislation for a new interest rate on confession of judgment contracts on delinquent property classified as 1a or 1b and used as the homestead of the owner. The interest rate is equal to the higher of 5% or 2% over the prime rate as certified by the commissioner of revenue under Minnesota Statute 270C.40. subd. 5 (see Minnesota Statute 279.37. subd.2. para. (b).) This interest rate is effective beginning with qualified confession of judgment contracts established on or after January 1, 2016. The interest rate will be certified to the county auditors by the Minnesota Department of Revenue on or before November 1 each year.
 

2 Prior to April 16, 2010, this rate was certified at 4% for $50,000 or less and 10% for judgments over $50,000. Laws of Minnesota 2010. Chapter 249, revised Minnesota Statutes, section 549.09, subd. 1, to exempt the state and political subdivisions from increased interest rates on judgments and awards regardless of the amount.

field_block:node:page:field_paragraph

Questions?

PropTax.Admin@state.mn.us, Auditor/Treasurer Services, 651-556-6091

Contact Info