field_block:node:page:title

Late Assessor License Renewals and Reinstatements

field_block:node:page:field_subtitle

For Minnesota Property Tax Assessors

field_block:node:page:body

Minnesota Assessors that do not have an active assessors license, will need to renew or reinstate their assessors license for the current fiscal year. 

Late Renewals

If a person has not been licensed as a Minnesota Assessor for a period of less than 4 years, and within the current 4-year cycle, than the person must:

  • Submit Minnesota Assessor Reinstatement Application, pay the appropriate license fee and reinstatement fee on the Assessors Licensing System.

Reinstatements less than 5 years

If a person has not been licensed as a Minnesota Assessor for a period of less than 5 years, and after the start of a current 4-year cycle than the person must:

  • Provide proof of licensure, such as a copy of your assessor license or a signed letter from a past employer verifying the level of Minnesota license previously held. 
  • Supply documentation of having completed all required continuing education requirements for the previous four-year cycle, including the ethics requirement.  For AMA and SAMA reinstatements, both PACE and Ethics are required.
  • Submit Minnesota Assessor Reinstatement Application, pay the appropriate license fee and reinstatement fee on the Assessors Licensing System.

Reinstatement more than 5 years

If a person has not been licensed for a period of five years or more, then the person must: 

  • In addition to the above you will also need to successfully complete the following;
    • A board-approved Minnesota Assessment Laws and Procedures course.
    • All licensing education requirements for the license level being reinstated.
    • Note: All courses must have been taken within the previous five years of applying for a reinstatement. 

Contact the State Board of Assessors office at 651-556-6086 or assessors.board@state.mn.us for instructions on how to submit the required applications to reinstate your assessor’s license.

NOTE: Under board policy, for reinstatement the board will reinstate any experience that took place in the last 10 years. A reinstatement after 10 years is considered an initial assessor’s license.  

Contact Info

field_block:node:page:field_last_updated
Last Updated