Certified Minnesota Assessor (CMA)


If you help a local or county assessor make decisions about property values, classification, or tax exemptions, you must get a Certified Minnesota Assessor (CMA) license within three years of being hired. During that time, you may work only under the supervision of a licensed assessor.

  • CMA Requirements
    Learn about required courses and work experience to get a Certified Minnesota Assessor license.

  • Best Practices Memo The Board of Assessors has developed a brief overview of best practices recommendations for new assessors, including training requirements and resources available.
  • First Year Exposure Checklist
    This checklist will determine if the person applying for a CMA has met the one year of assessment experience. The checklist is a required document when submitting a CMA application and can be uploaded to the employment record.

  • Employment verification letter to verify the start date and a brief description of the job duties. The letter must be signed by either a licensed supervisor or county assessor. 

  • CMA application is located on the Assessors Licensing System. You will need to either sign in or create an account to access the application. All CMA applications are reviewed by the board for approval at the next board meeting.  

Types of CMA License

There are two levels of Certified Minnesota Assessor license: CMA and CMA-IQ (Income Qualified). CMA-IQs complete additional courses and may appraise commercial properties. 

Type of License


Certified Minnesota Assessor (CMA)


  • ​May classify any type of property
  • May appraise only non-commercial property:
    • Agricultural
    • Residential (including mobile homes)
    • Seasonal recreational (cabins)
    • Vacant land
  • Cannot appraise income-producing (commercial) property
  • Must complete minimum CMA requirements

Certified Minnesota Assessor-Income Qualified (CMA-IQ)

  • May perform any of the CMA duties (above)
  • May appraise income-producing (commercial) property
  • Must complete two board-approved income courses in addition to the minimum CMA requirements


Note: The Assessor Accreditation law was changed during the 2017 legislative session. This change affects assessors who are  now licensed as a Certified Minnesota Assessor or Assessor Specialist (CMA or CMAS). For details, see Assessor Accreditation Deadline.

Contact Info