Petroleum Tax Inspection Fee


The Petroleum Inspection Fee helps cover the state's cost to oversee the sale and supply of petroleum products in Minnesota.

This fee is imposed on petroleum products when they are:

  • Received by the first licensed distributor
  • Received and held for sale or use by any person (if not previously handled by a licensed distributor)

The Petroleum Inspection Fee is $1 for every 1,000 gallons or $0.001 per gallon. 

Most of the revenue from this fee (89%) goes to the Minnesota Department of Commerce to pay for the regulation of petroleum sellers, petroleum supply monitoring, and a state program that helps property owners increase energy efficiency. The remainder is deposited into the state's General Fund.

For more information, view the statute (M.S. 239.101).

Contact Info