MinnesotaCare Payment Grace Period
The Minnesota Department of Revenue is granting a 30-day payment grace period for MinnesotaCare monthly estimated tax payments due May 15, 2020. This grace period is automatic and applies to Hospital and Surgical Center taxes.
The previous 60-day grace period for all MinnesotaCare monthly and quarterly estimated payments originally due April 15 also remains in effect.
We will not charge penalty or interest on any of these payments if they are made by June 15.
You may ask us to cancel or reduce penalties, additional tax charges, and interest for late filing or payment if you have a reasonable cause or are negatively affected by the COVID-19 pandemic. See Abatement Information for Businesses.
For more state tax updates and information, see Our Response to COVID-19.
We collect tax from health care providers, hospitals, and surgical centers that provide health care goods and services in Minnesota. We also collect tax on legend drugs sold, delivered, or distributed into the state. These taxes fund the MinnesotaCare program, a state health care program for Minnesotans with low incomes.
For a summary of law changes from the 2019 legislative session, see 2019 MinnesotaCare Tax Law Changes.