Minnesota Department of Revenue and Minnesota IT Services Announce more than 14,000 e-Bike Rebate Applications  

Date of Release

ST. PAUL, Minn. - The Minnesota Department of Revenue and Minnesota IT Services announced today that the Minnesota e-Bike Rebate application process successfully reopened and more than 14,000 applications were submitted on a first come, first served basis, as directed in the legislation.

e-Bike Rebate application statistics:

  • 18 minutes – Duration that the application was open
  • 14,428 – Applications successfully submitted
    • Note: This number is higher than 10,000 because we allowed those who were in the application when we hit that threshold to finish and submit instead of removing them.
  • 50,500 – Potential applicants entering the waiting room at 11 a.m.
  • 61,500+ – Highest number of potential applicants in waiting room

“I’m proud of the cross-agency work that was done over the last month to ensure we were ready for the high demand for these rebates when we reopened the application,” said Revenue Commissioner Paul Marquart. “Now that the applicant pool is filled, we are reviewing applications and will start to get rebate certificates out to people within the next 10 days.”

“While we planned for significant traffic and challenges, the enthusiasm for multimodal transportation is extremely high,” said Minnesota IT Services Commissioner Tarek Tomes. “Today’s virtual waiting room provided more capacity and a better customer experience to support the incredible response to the very limited first come, first served e-bike rebate program.”

The Minnesota Department of Revenue will review applications in the order they are received and respond to each applicant by email by July 9, 2024. Applicants will either be approved, asked to provide additional information, added to a waitlist, or denied.

I successfully applied, what happens next?

If you are approved:

  • Your rebate certificate will be sent to the email address used on your application by July 10, 2024.
  • You can use the rebate certificate to receive a discount when you buy a new e-bike from an approved retailer listed on our website. 
    • The rebate certificate must be presented at the time of purchase.
  • The rebate certificate expires two months after the issued date. 

If you are asked to provide additional information:

  • You will have 21 days to provide the requested information by email. This could include additional income verification, residency information, or both.

If you are added to the waitlist:

  • Your application may be considered if more rebate certificates become available. 
  • You will be contacted by email if you are receiving a rebate certificate or if no more rebates are available this year.

Your application may be denied for one of the following reasons:

  • You do not meet the eligibility requirements for the program.
  • There are no more rebate certificates available, and our waitlist is full for this year.

How many rebate certificates will be issued?

The number of rebate certificates issued each year is limited by funds available in the program. State law allocates $2 million each year in 2024 and 2025 for rebates. Revenue estimates awarding around 1,300 rebate certificates.

What if I did not get a rebate this year?

 You can apply for an e-Bike Rebate Certificate when the application reopens in 2025.

Where can I find more information?

Revenue’s e-bike rebate webpage has information about the program including updated Frequently Asked Questions, a list of e-bike retailers approved to participate in the program, and a calculator to estimate your potential rebate. 

Get the latest news and updates from the Minnesota Department of Revenue by following the department on FacebookInstagram, and on X (formerly Twitter) or by signing up for our email subscription list.

Media Contact
Ryan Brown