Navigate Up
Sign In
Last Updated: 8/14/2017

Minnesota State Board of Assessors

Annual License Renewal

License renewals for FY 2018 are now available. See the License Renewal page for more information and an application form.

Initial Assessor License or Upgrading Your Current License Level

If you assist the assessor of a Minnesota taxing jurisdiction in making decisions about exemptions, classifications, or valuations, you must obtain a Minnesota assessor’s license within three years of the date of your employment. 

There are four levels of assessor licenses: 
The specific license you need depends on the situation. For details, see Level of Licensure
Important AMA license information: Once you obtain your initial Minnesota assessor license, you must get your AMA license by the later of July 1, 2022, or five years from the date you were first licensed in Minnesota. For details, see Assessor Accreditation Deadline.

License Reinstatement

If you do not have a current Minnesota assessor license and you need to reinstate the assessor license you once held, see the appropriate link below: