Property Tax refunds for homeowners are on a different schedule this year due to tax law changes, including a law that increased refunds for qualifying homeowners and renters.
If you are affected by these changes, we'll send you a letter after we process your Homestead Credit Refund return. This letter will explain how we adjusted your return and list any changes we made to your refund. You will get your refund within 30 days of the date on the letter.
If you owe any Minnesota taxes, government debts, or criminal fines, we may apply your refund to the amount you owe. We’ll send you a separate notice if that happens.
Free Online Filing using e-Services
Filing on Paper
Use Form M1PR, Homestead Credit Refund (for Homeowners) and Renter's Property Tax Refund.
When to expect your refund
Refunds for homeowners will be mailed beginning the end of September or 60 days after filing, whichever is later.
You may receive your refund up to 30 days earlier than the dates listed above if you:
Electronically file your return by July 1, and
Choose the direct deposit option, and
Filed Form M1PR for the previous year
If you have questions when filing your return
You must contact the customer support area for the product you’re using. Software companies provide these services, not the Minnesota Department of Revenue. The Department of Revenue does not endorse any company or offer technical assistance for the software products.