Navigate Up
Sign In
Last Updated: 10/26/2018

Paying Your Individual Income Tax

If you owe Minnesota income tax, your payment is due by the “regular due date” – April 15 for most people – even if you have an extension to file your federal return. If that date falls on a weekend or legal holiday, your payment is due on the next business day. For more information, see Due Dates for Filing Individual Income Tax.

If you owe tax on an amended return, your payment is due when you file the return.

What if I owe a balance on my income tax return?

You may pay online using the Minnesota Department of Revenue’s e-Services system or pay by phone, credit or debit card, or check. When paying electronically, you must use an account that is not associated with any foreign banks. For more information, see Make a Payment.

What if I owe a balance on an income tax return I have not filed yet?

If you’re unable to pay the full amount due, file your return and pay as much as you can by the due date. After that date, we assess a 4 percent late payment penalty on any unpaid tax, and interest accrues on both the unpaid tax and penalty. For more information, see Penalties and Interest.

After we process you return, we’ll send you a bill for any unpaid tax, penalties, and interest you owe. You may pay the bill in full or request a payment agreement.

What if I owe a balance because the department changed (audited) my return?

You have 60 days from the notice date of our audit or tax order to pay the balance due. If you’re unable to pay the full amount, pay as much as you can by the due date to reduce further penalties and interest.

After 60 days, we’ll send you a bill for any unpaid tax, penalties, and interest you owe. You may pay the bill in full or request a payment agreement.

Can I request a payment agreement?

Yes, after we send you a bill for any unpaid balance. All payment agreements are subject to a nonrefundable $50 fee.

If you’ve received a bill, you may request a payment agreement online. If you need help, call 651-556-3003 or 1-800-657-3909 (toll-free). Please have your bank account information available.

Note: Our decision to grant payment terms will be based on your financial situation. We reserve the right to reject any payment proposal.

For more information, see Payment Agreements.