Navigate Up
Sign In
Last Updated: 7/7/2017

Tribal Government Agreements

Contact Us


8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Mon.- Fri.


Top FAQs

Related Information

About This Page

We have tax agreements with each tribal government in the state except Prairie Island.

The 11 tribal governments and the locations in Minnesota are:

Tribal Government ​Location
​Bois Forte ​Lake Vermillion
​Fond du Lac ​Carlton and Duluth
​Grand Portage ​Grand Portage
​Lower Sioux ​Morton
​Leech Lake ​Walker, Cass Lake and Deer River
​Mille Lacs ​Hinckley and Onamia
​Prairie Island ​Red Wing
​Red Lake ​Red Lakes, Thief River Falls and Warroad
​Shakopee ​Prior Lake
​Upper Sioux ​Granite Falls
White Earth​ ​Mahnomen

The tax agreements do not have expiration dates and either party can seek to amend or cancel it. The agreements allow us to seek tribal government assistance with collecting debts and auditing the following:

  • Sales and use tax
  • Cigarette and tobacco tax
  • Liquor tax
  • Motor fuel excise tax

Income Tax Agreements

We do not have income tax agreements with tribes. Some tribes voluntarily assist us in collecting unpaid state taxes owed by tribal members and non-member employees of the tribe, primarily through wage levies.