Navigate Up
Sign In
Last Updated: 11/17/2017

Licensing

Contact Us

Collection

651-556-3003
800-657-3909
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Mon.- Fri.

more

Top FAQs

Related Information

About This Page

We may have your business or professional license revoked or denied for unpaid debt. See Minnesota Statutes, section 270C.72 (tax debts) and 16D.08 (other debts).

Once your debt is paid, we have the licensing authority reissue the revoked license.

Debts that Qualify

We can revoke your license for any tax type or other debt; however, we cannot revoke a license if you:

Special Cases

Attorneys

We can send formal complaints to the Minnesota Supreme Court and the Lawyers Board of Professional Responsibility if you are an attorney with debts greater than $500. (See Minnesota Statute 270B.07, subdivision. 2.)

Gambling (mandatory referral)

The Minnesota Gambling Control Board must revoke a license for past due taxes of at least $500, or if returns have not been filed by:

  • a gambling manager

  • a director, officer, partner, managerial employee, sales employee of a business that distributes gambling equipment, manufactures gambling equipment, or operates a bingo hall. (See Minnesota Statute 349.155, subdivision 3.)

Lottery Retailer Contract (mandatory referral)

The Minnesota State Lottery cannot enter into a contract to sell lottery tickets if you are a retailer who is not current in tax filing, or owe more than $500 in taxes. (See Minnesota Statute 349A.06, subdivision 2.)

Business Liability for an Individual’s Debt

We can revoke the license of any business that has an officer or qualified person that owes us at least $500.

We inform a business whose license is at risk of being revoked by sending a notice that includes the officer’s name and the license information, as well as the businesses right to an administrative hearing.