Sports bookmaking is a form of gambling where a person places a bet on a sports event with a bookmaker (or “bookie”). While bookmaking is illegal in Minnesota, the value of any bet made or received is taxable.
Sports bookmaking involves more than five bets on sporting events over a 30-day period that total more than $2,500. If you place, accept, forward or record a bookmaking bet, you owe a 6 percent tax on the value of the bet.
You can file and pay the Sports Bookmaking Tax anonymously. The return does not ask for your name or other identifying information. You can pay with cash or another form of payment that can’t be traced to you.
If you don’t file and pay as required, the Department of Revenue may assess this tax based on personal knowledge or information we receive from other people or agencies. We may send a “demand to file” letter, including the amount due, by mail. Or we may serve the notice in person and demand immediate payment of the tax due (Minnesota Statute 297E.03).
File and Pay
The Sports Bookmaking Tax is due on the 20th day of the month after you placed, accepted, forwarded or recorded a bet.
To file your tax, complete Form SBT, Sports Bookmaking Tax Return. You can pay by check or money order.
Mail your return and payment to the Department of Revenue as directed on the form.
Note: The Department of Revenue can’t reveal any facts you put in the Sports Bookmaking Tax return, nor can we use the information in any criminal prosecution, unless it involves taxes you owe.