Navigate Up
Sign In
Last Updated: 4/26/2018

Petroleum Tax

Petroleum Debt Service Surcharge Rate

The Petroleum Debt Service Surcharge Rate will remain at $0.035 per gallon for July 1, 2018-June 30, 2019. 

State law requires the Minnesota Department of Revenue to publish the surcharge rate each year. See Minnesota Statute 296A.083, subdivision 3(a).

For more information, see Fuel Excise Tax Rates and Fees.

Questions

If you have questions, contact the Petroleum Tax Unit at 651-296-0889 or petroleum.tax@state.mn.us.

 

Petroleum Licensing Changes 

In January, the Minnesota Department of Revenue asked for feedback on a set of proposed changes to licensing requirements for Petroleum Distributors and Special Fuel Dealers. This letter is to announce the department is implementing those proposed changes, outlined in the letter, and has adjusted the financial statement requirements to reflect comments we received. These changes are effective for the coming licensing period, June 2018 for Petroleum Distributors and November 2018 for Special Fuel Dealers. These changes will improve the system for businesses that collect motor fuel taxes and protect Minnesota’s financial interest. 

See the petroleum licensing changes letter explaining those changes, with additional information regarding the new requirements for financial statements. Petroleum Distributors will receive their annual license renewal notices in the mail in early March. The renewal notices will reflect the changes outlined in this letter and distributors must send their renewal documents to us no later than May 31. For quickest processing, please make your payment immediately as we cannot renew your license until we receive the funds from your bank.

 

Petroleum Tank Cleanup Fee for February – May 2018 

The Minnesota Petrofund Board notified the Minnesota Department of Revenue that we must collect the Petroleum Tank Cleanup Fee for February, March, April, and May 2018.

Please include the $.02 per gallon fee when you file these four returns. 

When do we collect the Petroleum Tank Fee? 

We are required to collect the fee when the Petrofund drops below $4 million. The fund helps pay for the prevention and cleanup of leaks from petroleum storage tanks. 

Questions?