If you have recently received a dyed fuel violation you may need more information to help you understand what you are required to do and the rights you have to appeal the violation. The penalty assessed by the Minnesota Department of Revenue for the dyed fuel violation is $10 per gallon or $1,000, whichever is greater.
The roadside test you witnessed is the basis for the assessment of this penalty. The sample taken will be sent to an independent laboratory to confirm the presence of red dye.
If the presence of red dye is confirmed, the penalty assessment will be issued by the Minnesota Department of Revenue. The assessment will spell out precisely what your options are and the time frames you must follow. No action is required on your part until this notice is received.
You will also be subject to an additional federal penalty. This federal penalty is separate and distinct from the state penalty and must be treated accordingly. Please direct any questions regarding the federal penalty to the Internal Revenue Service.
Please use the following links to better understand your rights and requirements:
Information on the letter you received for your dyed fuel violation
Information on the legal and illegal use of dyed diesel fuel
Taxpayer Rights Advocate