Navigate Up
Sign In
Last Updated: 6/22/2017

2017 Law Changes/Updates

Two notable laws were passed during the 2017 legislative session that affect the Tobacco  Excise Tax.

Premium Cigar Tax Rate Change

Effective July 1, 2017, the Tobacco Tax rate on premium cigars brought into or manufactured in Minnesota is the lesser of:

  • 95 percent of the wholesale sales price of the cigar, or
  • $0.50 per premium cigar

Note: The Tobacco Tax changes contained in Minnesota Laws 2017, 1st Special session, Chapter 1, are the subject of on-going negotiations. We will provide updates as appropriate.

Moist Snuff Tax Calculation

Effective July 1, 2017, the tax on any container brought into or manufactured in Minnesota that weighs more than 1.2 ounces is the greater of:

  • 95 percent of the wholesale sales price of the moist snuff, or
  • $3.04 multiplied by the ounces and divided by 1.2