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Motor vehicle sales tax exemption. Minn. Stat. § 168.012, subd. 1, was amended to clarify the 
motor vehicle sales tax exemption for unmarked vehicles used in general investigation, 
surveillance, supervision and monitoring by the Direct Care and Treatment Office of Special 
Investigations’ staff and unmarked vehicles used by the Minnesota Sex Offender Program 
director and staff must be certified by the Direct Care Treatment executive board. Effective July 
1, 2025. 2025 Minn. Laws, Ch. 38, Art. 3, § 26. 
 

LIQUOR TAXES 
 
Annual return for qualified brewers. Minn. Stat. § 297G.09, subd. 10(b), was amended to 
allow a qualified brewer that meets the annual filing criteria, to file and pay taxes annually the 
following calendar year without authorization from the Department. The amendment also 
requires qualified brewers to provide notice, in the form and manner required by the 
commissioner, of their intent to file and pay annually. Effective January 1, 2026, for 2026 tax 
return obligations. 2025 Minn. Laws, 1st Spec. Sess., Ch. 13, Art. 3, § 5. 
 

MINNESOTACARE TAXES 
 
Gross revenues. Minn. Stat. § 295.50, subd. 3 was amended to create new paragraph (b), to 
provide that for purposes of paragraph (a), clause (4), “gross revenues” includes rebates provided 
by a wholesale drug distributor to a customer, including when required by contract. The 
amendment also defines the term “rebate.” This law was amended to respond to the Minnesota 
Supreme Court’s decision in Dakota Drug, Inc. v. Commissioner of Revenue, 13 N.W.3d 387 
(Minn. 2024). Effective for gross revenues received after June 30, 2025. 2025 Minn. Laws, 1st 
Spec. Sess., Ch. 3, Art. 8, § 32. 
 
Credit for research. Minn. Stat. § 295.53, subd. 4a, was amended to: (1) reduce the tax credit 
for research from 2.5 percent to 0.5 percent of certain revenues; and (2) remove the provision 
that required Minnesota Management and Budget to adjust the percentage rate of the tax credit 
for research based on whether the actual or estimated amount of credit paid for the calendar year 
exceeded $2.5 million. Effective June 15, 2025. 2025 Minn. Laws, 1st Spec. Sess., Ch. 13, Art. 
8, § 16. 
 
Quarterly pharmacy refunds. Minn. Stat. § 295.54, subd. 2, was amended to allow pharmacies 
to apply for refunds on a quarterly rather than annual basis. The amendments provide the 
following required schedule for taxpayer refund requests for legend drugs delivered by the 
pharmacy outside Minnesota:  
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(1) on or after July 1 for legend drugs delivered between January 1 and March 31 and 
between April 1 and June 30;  
(2) on or after October 1 for legend drugs delivered between July 1 and September 30; 
and  
(3) on or after January 1 for legend drugs delivered between October 1 and December 31.  

 
No refund is allowed for a refund claim filed more than one year after the end of the quarter in 
which the legend drugs were delivered. Effective for legend drugs delivered outside of 
Minnesota after December 31, 2025. 2025 Minn. Laws, 1st Spec. Sess., Ch. 13, Art. 8, § 17. 
 

INSURANCE TAXES 
 

Reinsurance credit. Minn. Stat. § 297I.20, was amended to create new subdivision 7, to provide 
that a taxpayer may claim a refundable credit against the premiums tax imposed equal to the 
assessment paid under section 62E.23 in the immediately preceding calendar year. By March 1st 
each year, the commissioner of commerce must provide to the commissioner of revenue a list of 
assessments paid under section 62E.23. The credit does not affect the calculation of fire and 
police state aid. Effective for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2028. 2025 Minn. 
Laws, 1st Spec. Sess., Ch. 4, Art. 6, § 12. 
 
Special provision; reinsurance credit. Minn. Stat. § 297I.40, was amended to create new 
subdivision 2a, to provide how the new reinsurance credit affects installment payment 
calculations and that refund claims may be made after the December required installment. 
Effective for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2028. 2025 Minn. Laws, 1st Spec. 
Sess., Ch. 4, Art. 6, § 13. 
 
Notice of reinsurance credit amount. An uncodified provision was added requiring that by 
June 1, 2030, the commissioner of revenue must notify the commissioner of management and 
budget of the amount of the reinsurance credit attributable to the tax imposed on health 
maintenance organizations, community integrated service networks, and nonprofit health care 
service plan organizations. Effective June 15, 2025. 2025 Minn. Laws, 1st Spec. Sess., Ch. 4, 
Art. 6, § 15. 
 


