State Board of Assessors Meeting Minutes Tuesday, March 11, 2025

Chairperson Jane Grossinger called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m.

Board members in attendance:

Emily Anderson	David Parsons
Pat Grengs	Mike Reed
Jane Grossinger	Averi M. Turner
Anne Grunert	Mark Vagts
Ryan Johnson	

Pat Grengs and Mike Reed attended virtually.

Agenda for the March 11, 2025, meeting was reviewed. Anne Grunert motioned to approve the agenda. Ryan Johnson seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Minutes of the January 14, 2025, meeting were reviewed. Mark Vagts moved to approve the minutes. Averi M. Turner seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Nomination for Chair: Averi M. Turner made a motion to nominate David Parsons as chair. Mike Reed seconded the nomination. The motion carried. David Parsons is the chair for 2025.

Nomination for Vice Chair: Anne Grunert made a motion to nominate Ryan Johnson for vice chair Mark Vagts seconded the nomination. The motion carried. Ryan Johnson is the vice chair for 2025.

Committee Review: The CEH committee members are Pat Grengs, Anne Grunert, Ryan Johnson, and Averi M. Turner; the complaint committee members for future complaints will be Jane Grossinger, David Parsons, and Mike Reed (with Pat Grengs as member-at-large); the Assessor Standards committee members are Emily Anderson, Jane Grossinger, and Averi M. Turner.

<u>Updates</u>

- **Form Report:** Since July 1, 2024, the start of fiscal year 2025, 39 reports have been submitted, 22 reports were approved, 5 reports are being graded, and 18 assessors received their AMA.
- **Complaint Summary:** Since January 2025, the Department of Revenue has not received any new complaints. One investigation was opened and has since been closed. One complaint has been closed, and one complaint is being reviewed to determine if an investigation is warranted.
- MAAO Conference Content Committee: Anne Grunert provided an update on the most recent meeting from January 9-10, 2025; the next meeting will be May 20, 2025, in St. Cloud, MN.
- MAAO Curriculum & Assessor Standards Committee: The most recent meeting was August 30, 2024; next meeting TBD.
- MAAO Executive Board and Ad Hoc Committees: David Parsons provided an update from the February 3-4, 2025, Executive Board meeting; the next meeting will be May 20, 2025, in St. Cloud, MN.

Discussion Items

- **Future Rule/Statute Changes:** Updates to rule/statute were discussed. A subcommittee of David Parsons, Emily Anderson, and Nicole Halling will review possible changes and provide an update at the May board meeting.
- **Review Interview Guidelines:** The State Board Interview Guidelines were discussed. The interview outline provided to SAMA candidates was updated.
- **April Newsletter:** A subcommittee of Emily Anderson, Jane Grossinger, and Anne Grunert will review the April newsletter when the first draft is available.

Approved Continuing Education Hours Requests

- **Appraising Small Apartment Properties:** The CEH committee reviewed this course, sponsored by McKissock, that is offered online as a live webinar, for 4 CEHs.
- **Exempt, Appeals, & Abatements:** The CEH committee reviewed this course, sponsored by MAAP, that will be offered on May 2, 2025, in Maple Grove, MN, for 4 CEHs.
- **Expert Witness Testimony Basics for Appraisers:** The CEH committee reviewed this course, sponsored by McKissock, that is offered in an online on-demand format, for 4 CEHs.
- Valuation of Residential Green Buildings: The CEH committee reviewed this course, sponsored by McKissock, that is offered in an online on-demand format, for 4 CEHs.

Denied Continuing Education Hours Requests

- **2024 Office Summit:** This course, sponsored by MN Real Estate Journal and held December 11, 2024, was denied for 4 CEHs. The submitter did not respond to requests for additional course materials; there was not enough information to determine if course content was assessor related.
- **Regional Economic Activity Overview:** This course, sponsored by North Star Chapter of Appraisal Institute and held March 3, 2025, in Edina, MN was denied for 4 CEHs. The CEH committee was unable to identify benchmarks from the assessor standards for this course.

Appointments with the Board

• **MAAO Education:** Mike Wacker (Education Steering Committee Chair), Amanda Dutcher (Education Coordinator), Pat Chapman (Ramsey County Assessor), and Brittany North (Education Coordinator) presented an update on course evaluations from 2024 courses, educational offerings for 2025 and future education. The coordination of Revenue, MAAO, and the Board of Assessors was discussed for the purposes of reviewing licensure and continuing education requirements.

Approved Applications for Certified Minnesota Assessor

- Harrison Boucher, Polk County
- Brian (Cody) Bowlin, Dakota County
- Michael Everson, Dakota County
- Briley Haugh, Scott County
- Michael Lund, Wright County
- Jason Morris, Otter Tail County
- Isabella Nelson, Faribault County
- Redgie Nielsen, Washington County
- Ann Schwieger, Department of Revenue
- Thomas Smieja, Otter Tail County

Approved Applications for Certified Minnesota Assessor Income Qualified

- Jordan Bauer, Dakota County
- Jeremiah Dexter, Dakota County
- Luke Johnson, Becker County
- Ann Schwieger, Department of Revenue
- Danielle Weleski, Kittson County

Approved Applications for Accredited Minnesota Assessor

- Thomas Cooper, Carver County
- Aaron Huston, Ramsey County
- Michele Weber, Ramsey County
- Dale Weichbrodt, Dakota County

Applications for Senior Accredited Minnesota Assessor

 Ryan Johnson made a motion to award the Senior Accredited Minnesota Assessor license to the following individual.

Kaleb Bessler, Beltrami County

Anne Grunert seconded the motion. The motion carried with none opposed.

Mark Vagts made a motion to invite the following individual back for a second interview.
 Nicholas Daigle, Cass County
 Averi M. Turner seconded the motion. The motion carried with one opposed.

The chairperson set the next meeting date as Tuesday, May 13, 2025, at St. Michael City Center, St. Michael, MN at 8:30 am.

Anne Grunert made a motion to pay the expenses for the meeting. Ryan Johnson seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Mark Vagts made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Ryan Johnson seconded the motion. The motion carried.