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What’s New for 2019
In January 2023, Minnesota law was updated to recognize the Internal Revenue Code as 
amended through December 15, 2022. However, some nonconformity adjustments still apply 
due to retroactive Minnesota modifications enacted in the tax bill. Use the instructions on 
pages 20 through 22 to calculate any remaining nonconformity adjustments. 

We have updated these instructions to recognize enactment of this Minnesota legislation.

Section 179 Expensing Addition
In October, as a result of the 2020 5th Special Session, the Minnesota legislature passed and 
the Governor signed into law full conformity to federal Section 179 expensing for property 
received as part of a transaction that qualified under Section 1031 like-kind exchange under 
the Internal Revenue Code as amended through December 16, 2016 but not as amended 
through December 31, 2018. Minnesota no longer requires an 80% addition for federal 
Section 179 expensing claimed on this property. 

If you are amending to reduce your Minnesota Section 179 expensing addition, you must 
also reduce subsequent year subtractions by the amount attributable to the reduced addition. 
Write “Like-Kind Exchange” in red at the top of the Minnesota Form M3X and the amended 
Schedules KPI or KPC you issue to partners. 

Filing Requirements
All entities required to file a federal Form 1065, U.S. Return of Partnership Income, and 
have Minnesota gross income must file Form M3, Partnership Return. The entire share of 
an entity’s income is taxed to the partner/member, whether or not it is actually distributed. 
Each partner/member must include their share of income on their tax return. However, the 
minimum fee is paid by the entity.

An S corporation must use Form M8, S Corporation Return.
If you are a single-member LLC, the form you must use depends on what kind of entity your 
business is for federal tax purposes.

Minimum Fee
A partnership is subject to a minimum fee if the sum of its Minnesota source property, 
payroll and sales or receipts is at least $1,020,000. However, the partnership is exempt from 
the minimum fee if more than 80 percent of its income is from farming.

The minimum fee is determined on M3A, which is page 3 of Form M3.

File Electronically
Options are available to electronically prepare and file your partnership tax return. Electronic 
filing is a secure, fast and easy way to file. For more information, go to our website at www.
revenue.state.mn.us.

Due Dates and Extensions
Due Date for Filing and Paying is March 15, 2020
File your return and pay the taxes payable as soon as possible after the end of the tax year, 
but no later than the following dates:

• Calendar year returns: March 15, 2020.
• Fiscal year returns: the 15th day of the third month after the end of the tax year.

If the due date lands on a weekend or legal holiday, returns and payments electronically 
made or postmarked the next business day are considered timely.

Extension of Time to File
All partnerships are granted an automatic six-month extension to file Form M3, if the tax 
payable for the year is paid by the regular due date.
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Questions?
You can find forms and infor-
mation, including answers to 
frequently asked questions and 
options for filing and paying elec-
tronically, on our website at:
www.revenue.state.mn.us
Send us an email at: 
businessincome.tax@state.mn.us
Call us at 651-556-3075

Need Forms?
Go to www.revenue.state.mn.us.
This information is available in 
alternate formats.

Before You File
Complete Your Federal Return
Before you complete Form M3, 
complete federal Form 1065 and 
supporting schedules. You will need to 
reference them.

Minnesota Tax ID Number
Your Minnesota tax ID is the seven-
digit number you’re assigned when you 
register with the department. Generally, 
this is the same as your sales and use tax 
or Minnesota employer’s withholding 
tax number. It’s important to include 
your Minnesota tax ID on your return 
so that any payments you make are 
properly credited to your account.

If you don’t have a Minnesota tax 
ID, apply for one online at www.
revenue.state.mn.us and type Business 
Registration in the search box or call 
651‑282-5225 or 1-800-657-3605. 

(Rev. 12/22)
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However, if the IRS grants an extension of time to file your federal return that is longer than the Minnesota automatic six-month extension, 
your state filing due date is extended to the federal due date.

This is a filing extension only. To avoid penalties, you must make an extension tax payment by the regular due date. See Extension Payment 
on this page for details.

Payments
There are four types of partnership tax payments—extension, estimated tax, tax return and amended return payments. You can pay 
electronically, by credit card or by check. (See Payment Options below.)

Note: If you’re currently paying electronically using the ACH credit method, continue to call your bank as usual. If you wish to make 
payments using the ACH credit method, instructions are available on our website at www.revenue.state.mn.us.

Extension Payment
Your tax is due by the regular due date, even if you are filing under an extension. Any tax not paid by the regular due date is subject to 
penalties and interest (see lines 13 and 14 on page 6).

If you’re filing after the regular due date, you can avoid penalties and interest by making an extension payment by the regular due date. See 
Payment Options below. If you’re not required to pay electronically and are paying by check, go to www.revenue.state.mn.us to create a 
voucher to print and submit with your check.

Estimated Tax Payments
A partnership must make quarterly estimated tax payments if the sum of its estimated minimum fee, nonresident withholding and composite 
income tax for all nonresident partners electing to participate in composite income tax, less any credits, is $500 or more.

Payments are due by the 15th day of the fourth, sixth and ninth months of the tax year and the first month following the end of the tax year. If 
the due date lands on a weekend or legal holiday, payments electronically made or postmarked the next business day are considered timely.

If estimated tax is required for the minimum fee, composite income tax and/or nonresident withholding, include all on the same quarterly 
payments. 

To make an estimated payment, see Payment Options on page 2.  

For additional information, see Partnership Estimated Tax Instructions.

Tax Return Payment
If line 16 of Form M3 shows an amount due, you must make a tax return payment (see Payment Options on page 2). If you’re not required to 
pay electronically and are paying by check, go to www.revenue.state.mn.us to create a voucher to print and submit with your check.

Penalties and Interest
Late Payment. A late payment penalty is assessed on any tax not paid by the regular due date. The penalty is 6 percent of the unpaid tax.

If you file your return after the regular due date with a balance due, and you do not pay that balance, an additional 5 percent penalty will be 
assessed on the unpaid tax. 

Late Filing. There is also a penalty if you file after the extended due date and owe tax. The late filing penalty is 5 percent of any tax not paid 
by the regular due date.

Continued

General Information (continued)

Payment Options
If you’re required to pay any Minnesota business tax electronically, you must pay all taxes electronically. A 5% penalty will be assessed if 
you fail to do so when required.

	 Pay Electronically
Go to www.revenue.state.mn.us and log in. To be timely, you must complete your transaction and receive a confirmation number on or 
before the due date for that payment. You can cancel a payment up to one business day before the scheduled date, if needed. When paying 
electronically, you cannot use a foreign bank.

If you’re using the system for the first time and need a temporary password, call 651-282-5225 or 1-800-657-3605.

	 Pay by Credit or Debit Card
Go to www.revenue.state.mn.us, and select Make a Payment. Select Credit or Debit Card. Your payment will be processed by a third-party 
vendor. The vendor charges a fee for the service.

	 Pay by Check
	 Go to www.revenue.state.mn.us and select Make a Payment. Select Check. Use the Payment Voucher System to create a voucher. 

Your check authorizes us to make a one-time electronic fund transfer from your account. You will not receive your canceled check. 
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Interest. You must also pay interest on the penalty and tax you are sending in late. The interest rate for 2020 is 5 percent.

Other Penalties. There are also civil and criminal penalties for intentionally failing to file a Minnesota return, evading tax and for filing a 
frivolous, false or fraudulent return.

Filing Reminders
Accounting Period
You must use the same accounting period for Minnesota as you use for your federal return. If you change your federal accounting period, 
attach a copy of federal Form 1128, Application to Adopt, Change or Retain a Tax Year, to your short-period Minnesota return. 

Composite Income Tax
A partnership may pay composite Minnesota income tax on behalf of its eligible nonresident individual partners or grantor trusts who elect 
to be included in lieu of each partner filing their own Minnesota return. The electing individuals must not have any Minnesota source income 
other than the income from this partnership and other entities for which they are electing composite filing.

Partners who receive a share of gross profit or income from an installment sale reported on line 8a or 8b of Schedule KPI, Partner’s Share of 
Income, Credits and Modifications, are not eligible to elect the partnership to pay composite income tax on their behalf. 

If you are paying composite income tax for your electing partners, check the box for composite income tax on the front of Form M3 and see 
the line 2 instructions on page 5.

Nonresidents included in composite income tax are not subject to the nonresident withholding requirements (see the next section).

Nonresident Withholding
Partnerships are required to withhold and remit Minnesota income tax for a nonresident individual partner if the partner: 
•	 has a legal residence that is not in Minnesota
•	 is not included in composite income tax
•	 has Minnesota distributive income of $1,000 or more from this partnership
•	 has income that was not generated by a transaction related to the termination or liquidation of the partnership in which no cash or property 

was distributed in the current or prior taxable year

Income recognized because of discharge of indebtedness or from the gain on the sale of property subject to a mortgage is excluded from 
withholding to the extent that no cash is received or the cash is required to pay the indebtedness or mortgage.

If you’re required to pay nonresident withholding, see the line 3 instructions on page 5.

Note: Nonresident individual partners include grantor trusts that file or can file under IRC section 1.671-4(b) and single-member LLCs when 
the single member is an individual.

Exempt Partnerships: If the partnership’s ownership interests are traded on a public exchange, the partnership is not required to withhold 
and remit Minnesota taxes for its nonresident partners.

Nonresident Entertainers: Compensation paid to a nonresident entertainment entity for performances in Minnesota is not subject to 
Minnesota income tax. Instead, the compensation is subject to a 2 percent withholding tax on the gross compensation the entertainment entity 
reported for performances in Minnesota. 

A partnership is an entertainment entity if it is paid compensation for entertainment provided by entertainers who are partners. An entertainer 
includes, for example, a musician, singer, dancer, comedian, thespian, athlete or public speaker. If you are defined by law as an entertainment 
entity, file Form ETR, Nonresident Entertainer Tax Return, by April 15 of the following year the income was received. For additional 
information, see Withholding Fact Sheet 11, Nonresident Entertainer Tax.

If you are an entertainment entity that received compensation for performances in Minnesota and have no other type of Minnesota income, 
you are not required to file Form M3. 

Use of Information
All information on this form is private, except for your Minnesota tax ID number, which is public. Private information cannot be given to 
others except as provided by state law. 

The identity and income information of the partners are required under state law so the department can determine the partner’s correct 
Minnesota taxable income and verify if the partner has filed a return and paid the tax. The Social Security numbers of the individual partners 
are required under M.S. 289A.12, subd. 13.

Assembling Paper Tax Forms
Arrange your Minnesota schedules in the order they were completed and place them behind your Form M3. Schedules KPI and KPC should 
be sorted with the largest share of Minnesota source income first. Then place your federal return and its schedules behind the Minnesota 
material. Do not staple or tape any enclosures to your return.

Continued

General Information (continued)
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Where to File Paper Returns
Mail Form M3 and all completed Minnesota and federal forms and schedules using a mailing label (see page 19). 

If you choose not to use the label, mail your forms to:

Minnesota Partnership Tax
Mail Station 1760
600 N. Robert Street
St. Paul, MN 55145-1760

Partnerships with more than 200 partners are asked to submit federal K–1 schedules and Minnesota Schedules KPI and KPC (if applicable) 
on CDs. The department will continue to accept the filing of paper copies if this is not possible.

Reporting Federal Changes
If the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) changes or audits your federal return or you amend your federal return, you must amend your 
Minnesota return. File your Form M3X, Amended Partnership Return Claim for Refund, withinn 180 days after you were notified by the 
IRS or after you filed your federal amended return. Enclose a copy of the IRS report or your amended federal return with your amended 
Minnesota return.

If you fail to report as required, a 10 percent penalty will be assessed on any additional tax.

If you are amending your return to reduce your federal Section 179 addition or subtraction as a result of Minnesota law 2020 5th Sp. Sess. Chap.3, 
write “Like-Kind Exchange” at the top of your Form M3X. Identify the property relinquished and received in the qualifying transactions, and the 
dates of disposition and receipt in the Explanation of Change on page 2 of Form M3X.

Before you file Form M3, you must complete the following:
•	 Federal Form 1065 and supporting schedules
•	 Schedule KPI for each nonresident partner and to any Minnesota resident partner who has adjustments to income (see page 10)
•	 Schedule KPC for each corporate or partnership partner (see page 16)

If you are amending solely due to the January 2023 Minnesota tax bill, write “Conformity” in red at the top of the Minnesota Form M3X. For 
more details, see pages 20 through 22.

Check Boxes
Initial Return. If this is the partnership’s first return filed in Minnesota, check the box on the front of the form. 

Composite Income Tax. If you are paying composite income tax for your electing partners, check the box for composite income tax on the 
front of Form M3 and see the instructions for line 2.

Farm Partnerships. If more than 80 percent of your income is from farming, you are not required to pay a minimum fee. Check the box on 
the front of Form M3. 

Limited Liability Company (LLC). A limited liability company that is considered to be a partnership for federal income tax purposes is 
considered a partnership for Minnesota purposes, and the members are considered to be partners. If you are a limited liability company and 
are filing a partnership return, check the LLC box on the front of Form M3.

Out of Business (final return). If the partnership is out of business and/or is not required to file Form M3 in future years, check the “Out of 
Business” box on the front of the form.

Installment Sale of Pass-through Assets or Interests. Check the “Installment Sale of Pass-through Assets or Interests” box if the partnership 
did any of the following:
1)	executed an installment sale, after December 31, 2016, of partnership interests being reported on federal Form 6252
2)	executed an installment sale, after December 31, 2016, of the assets of a partnership and is reporting the sale on federal Form 6252
3)	owns an interest in a partnership, or trust reporting installment sale gains on line 8 of Schedule KPI, line 6 of Schedule KF, or line 11 of 

Schedule KPC

If you are required to check the Installment Sale of Pass-through Assets or Interests, also complete line 8 of all applicable Schedules KPI, and 
line 11 of all applicable Schedules KPC to report installment sale information to your partners.

Public Law 86-272. Check this box to indicate you are claiming to be exempt from Minnesota income tax under Public Law 86-272. 

Continued

General Information (continued)
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Line Instructions
Round amounts to whole dollars. Decrease amounts less than 50 cents and increase amounts 50 cents or more to the next higher dollar.

Partnership Partners: When completing Form M3 and Schedules KPI and KPC, include any amounts reported on the Schedule KPC you 
received as a partner of a partnership (include Schedule KPC with your return).

Line 1—Minimum Fee
Complete M3A of Form M3 to determine the minimum fee to enter on line 1. See the M3A instructions beginning on page 8.

You are exempt from the minimum fee if more than 80 percent of your income is from farming.

Line 2—Composite Income Tax
To determine line 2, you must first figure the amount of composite tax attributed to each electing partner. See the partnership instructions for 
lines 40 and 41 of Schedule KPI on page 13 and 14.

Add the composite income tax attributed to all electing partners (the total of lines 41 from all KPI schedules), and enter the result on line 2 of 
Form M3.

Line 3—Nonresident Withholding
To determine line 3, you must first figure the amount to withhold for each nonresident individual partner. See the partnership instructions for 
line 42 of Schedule KPI on page 15.

Add the withholding required for all nonresident partners (the total of lines 42 from all KPI schedules), and enter the result on line 3 of Form 
M3.

If you received a signed and dated Form AWC, Alternative Withholding Certificate, from one or more partners, check the box provided on 
line 3 of Form M3. You must include the certificate(s) when you file your return.

Line 5—Employer Transit Pass Credit
If you provided transit passes at a reduced cost to your employees for use in Minnesota, complete and enclose Schedule ETP, Employer 
Transit Pass Credit, to determine your credit. 

Enter the amount of the credit that is being claimed directly by the partnership and not passed through to the partners. Line 5 cannot exceed 
the minimum fee on line 1.

Line 6—Tax Credit for Owners of Agricultural Assets
If you received a credit certificate from the Minnesota Rural Finance Authority for selling or leasing agricultural assets to a beginning farmer, 
enter the certificate number in the space provided and credit amount on line 6.

If you have multiple credits, enter the certificate number your partnership received directly from the Rural Finance Authority within the 
certificate number box. If you have multiple credits and received all credits from other pass-through entities, enter the certificate number 
relating to the largest credit amount within the certificate number box. Subtotal all credit amounts on line 6. Include a statement showing the 
certificate number and corresponding credit amounts for all credits you included on line 6.

Line 9—Enterprise Zone Credit
If your business has been certified and approved by the Department of Employment and Economic Development (DEED) as employment 
property in an enterprise zone, enter the credit that is being claimed directly by the partnership and not passed through to the partners. Attach 
the certification document received from the DEED.

For details about the zones, go to the DEED website at mn.gov/deed.

Line 10—Estimated Tax and Extension Payments
Enter your total prepayments, including any of the following:
•	 your total 2019 estimated tax payments made in 2019 and 2020, paid either electronically or by check
•	 any 2019 extension payment, paid electronically or by check, that was made by the due date when filing under an extension
•	 the portion of your 2018 refund applied to your 2019 estimated tax

Line 13—Penalty
Penalties are collected as part of the tax and are in addition to any additional charge for underpaying estimated tax. If you are paying your tax 
after the regular due date, include the appropriate penalties on line 13.

Late Payment. If the tax is not paid by the regular due date, a penalty is due of 6 percent of the unpaid tax on line 12.

If you file your return after the regular due date with a balance due, and you do not pay that balance, an additional 5 percent penalty will be 
assessed on the unpaid tax.

Late Filing. If you are filing your return after the extended due date and owe tax, you must pay a late filing penalty. The late filing penalty is 5 
percent of the unpaid tax on line 12.

Payment Method. If you are required to pay electronically and do not, an additional 5 percent penalty applies to payments not made 
electronically, even if your paper check is sent on time.

Completing Form M3

Continued
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If, during the 12 months ending June 30 of the tax year, you paid $10,000 or more in estimated tax payments, you are required to make all 
future estimate tax payments electronically beginning January 1 of the following tax year. Once you meet the electronic payment threshold, 
you are required to pay electronically for all future periods.

You must also pay electronically if you’re required to pay any Minnesota business tax electronically, such as sales or withholding tax.

Line 14—Interest
You must pay interest on the unpaid tax and penalty from the regular due date until the total is paid. The interest rate for calendar year 2020 is 
5 percent.

To figure how much interest you owe, use the following formula with the appropriate interest rate:

	 Interest = (tax + penalty) x # of days late x interest rate ÷ 365

Line 15—Additional Charge for Underpayment of Estimated Tax
If you did not pay the correct amount of estimated tax by the due dates, you may have to pay an additional charge for underpaying or not 
paying estimated tax. 

You may also owe an additional charge if the following is more than $500:
•	 Line 4
•	 Less any credits on lines 5, 6 and 9

Complete Schedule EST, Underpayment of Estimated Income Tax, to determine the additional charge for underpaying estimated tax. 

Enter the total charge, if any, on line 15. Enclose the schedule with your return.

Line 16—Amount Due
Add lines 12 through 15. This is the amount you owe. Check the appropriate box on line 16 to indicate your method of payment. See Payment 
options on page 2.

Line 17—Overpayment
If line 11 is less than the sum of lines 8 and 15, subtract line 11 from the sum of 8 and 15. Enter the result on line 16 and enter zero on line 17.

If you have an overpayment on line 17, you may choose to have it direct deposited into your bank account. You may also choose to apply all 
or a portion of your overpayment toward your 2020 estimated tax account.

Line 18—2020 Estimated Tax
Skip this line if you owe additional tax.

If you are paying 2020 estimated tax, you may apply all or a portion of your refund to your 2020 estimated tax. Enter the portion of line 17 
you want to apply toward your 2020 estimated tax on line 18.

Line 19—Refund
If you want to request your refund to be direct deposited into your bank account, complete line 20. Your bank statement will indicate when 
your refund was deposited to your account. Otherwise, skip line 20 and your refund will be sent to you in the mail. 

Line 20—Direct Deposit of Refund
If you want your refund to be directly deposited into your checking or savings account, enter the routing and account numbers. You must use 
an account not associated with any foreign banks.

The routing number must have nine digits.

The account number may contain up to 17 digits (both numbers and letters). Enter the number 
and leave out any hyphens, spaces and symbols.

If the routing or account number is incorrect or is not accepted by your financial institution, 
your refund will be sent to you in the form of a paper check.

By completing line 20, you are authorizing the department and your financial institution to initiate electronic credit entries, and if necessary, 
debit entries and adjustments for any credits made in error.

Signature
The return must be signed by a general partner of the firm. 

If you paid someone to prepare your return, the preparer must also sign and provide their Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) and 
phone number. You may check the box in the signature area to give us your permission to discuss your return with the paid preparer. This 
authorization remains in effect until you notify the department in writing (either by mail or fax) that the authorization is revoked. 

Completing Form M3 (continued)

Continued

You can find your bank’s routing number and  
account number on the bottom of your check.
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Checking the box does not give your preparer the authority to sign any tax documents on your behalf or to represent you at any audit or 
appeals conference. For these types of authorities, you must file a power of attorney or Form REV184b, Business Power of Attorney, with the 
department.

Email Address
If the department has questions regarding your return and you want to receive correspondence electronically, indicate the email address below 
your signature. Check a box to indicate if the email address belongs to an employee of the partnership, the paid preparer or other contact 
person.

By providing an email address, you are authorizing the department to correspond with you or the designated person over the Internet and you 
understand that the entity’s nonpublic tax data may be transmitted over the Internet. 

You also accept the risk that the data may be accessed by someone other than the intended recipient. The department is not liable for any 
damages that the entity may incur as a result of an interception.

Completing Form M3 (continued)
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Complete M3A to determine your Minnesota source income and minimum fee.

Apportionment Factor 
Minnesota is a 100% sales apportionment state.   

The minimum fee still takes into account your Minnesota portion of property, payroll, and sales.

Petitioning to Use Another Method of Allocation
State law (M.S. 290.20, subd. 1a and Minnesota Rules 8020.0100, subp. 3) allows entities to request permission from the department to 
allocate all, or any part of, taxable net income in a manner other than the statutory single sales factor apportionment formula.

To request permission, complete Form ALT, Petition to Use Alternative Method of Allocation (see Revenue Notice 04-07).

Permission will be granted only if you can show that the sales-factor formula does not properly and fairly reflect your Minnesota income, and 
that the alternative formula you have chosen does.

Property Factor
Enclose the completed federal Schedule L (federal Form 1065) or a copy of the partnership’s balance sheet with your Form M3.

The property factor consists of tangible property which includes land, buildings, machinery, equipment, inventories and other tangible 
personal property valued at original cost.

Original cost is your cost or original basis when you acquired the property. Depreciation and fair market value are not considered. 

M3A, lines 1a–1c
In column A, lines 1a-1c, enter the total property items for your entire business in Minnesota.

Line 1a. Add the beginning and the ending year inventories, divide by two and enter the result on line 1a. This is your average value of 
inventory.

Line 1b. Add the beginning and ending year values of the buildings, machinery, equipment and other tangible property and divide by two. 
Enter the result on line 1b.

Line 1c. Add the land’s beginning and ending year values and divide by two. Enter the result on line 1c.

M3A, line 2
Capitalized rents are rents paid by you for land, buildings, equipment, etc., during the tax year. 

Multiply the rents you paid for property located or used in Minnesota by eight and enter the result in column A. The rents you receive are 
included in the sales factor.

Payroll Factor
M3A, line 4
In column A, enter your total payroll paid (including guaranteed payments to partners for services) or incurred in Minnesota, or paid for labor 
performed in Minnesota in connection with the trade or business during the tax year.

Sales Factor
M3A, line 5
In column A, enter the amount of sales in Minnesota. In column B, enter total sales. Divide column A by column B and carry the result to five 
decimal places. Enter the result in column C. This is your sales factor.

The sales factor includes all sales, rents, gross earnings or receipts received in the ordinary course of your business, except:
•	 interest
•	 dividends
•	 sales of capital assets under IRC section 1221
•	 sales of property used in the trade or business, except sales of leased property that is regularly sold as well as leased
•	 sales of stock or sales of debt instruments under IRC section 1275(a)(1)

Determining Minnesota Sales
Real Property
Sales, rents, royalties and other income from real property are attributed to the state in which the property is located.

Tangible Personal Property
Sales of tangible personal property are attributed to Minnesota if the property is received by the purchaser within Minnesota and the taxpayer 
is taxed in this state, regardless of the f.o.b. point, other conditions of the sale, or the ultimate destination of the property.

Completing Form M3A

Continued



9

Tangible personal property delivered to a common or contract carrier or foreign vessel for delivery to a purchaser in another state or nation is 
a sale in that state or nation, regardless of f.o.b. point or other conditions of the sale. 

Property is received by a purchaser in Minnesota if the recipient is located in this state, even if the property is ordered from outside 
Minnesota.

Sales of tobacco products, beer, wine and other alcoholic beverages to someone licensed to resell the products only within the state of 
ultimate destination is a sale in the destination state.

Receipts from leasing or renting tangible personal property, including finance leases and true leases, are attributed to the state in which 
the property is located. Receipts from the lease or rental of moving property are attributed to Minnesota to the extent the moving property is 
used in Minnesota. 

The extent of use is determined as follows:
•	 A motor vehicle is used wholly in the state in which it is registered.
•	 Receipts from rolling stock are assigned to Minnesota in the ratio of miles traveled in Minnesota to total miles traveled.
•	 Receipts from aircraft are assigned to Minnesota in the ratio of landings in Minnesota to total landings.
•	 Receipts from vessels, mobile equipment and other mobile property are assigned to Minnesota in the ratio of days the property is in Min-

nesota to the total days of the tax year.
Intangible Property
Sales of intangible property are attributed to the state in which the property is used by the purchaser.

Royalties, fees and similar income received for the use of or the privilege of using intangible property (such as patents, copyrights, trade 
names, franchises or similar items) are attributed to the state in which the property is used by the purchaser.

Intangible property is attributed to Minnesota if the purchaser uses the property, or rights in the property, to conduct business within this state, 
regardless of the location of the purchaser’s customers.

If the property is used in more than one state, then the sales or royalties must be apportioned to Minnesota pro rata based on the portion of use 
within this state. If you cannot determine the portion of use in Minnesota, then exclude the sales or royalties from both the numerator and the 
denominator of the sales factor.
Personal Services
Receipts from the performance of personal services are attributed to the state in which the services are received. 

Receipts from services provided to a corporation, partnership or trust may only be attributed to a state in which it has a fixed place of doing 
business. 

If you can’t determine where the service was received, or if it was received in a state where the corporation, partnership or trust doesn’t have 
a fixed place of business, use the location of the office of the customer from which the service was ordered. 

If you can’t determine the ordering office, use the office location to which the service was billed.

Minimum Fee
M3A, lines 6–9
Partnerships are subject to the minimum fee if the sum of its Minnesota source property, payroll and sales or receipts is at least $1,020,000.

However, you are exempt from the minimum fee if more than 80 percent of your income is from farming.

If you are exempt from the minimum fee, enter zero on line 9 of M3A and on line 1 of Form M3. Also, be sure to check the appropriate box 
in the heading at the top of your return to indicate you are a farm partnership.

M3A, line 7—Adjustments
The minimum fee is determined by your total Minnesota property, payroll and sales. 

In some cases the property and sales used for computing the minimum fee will be different than the amounts reported on lines 1-6. The 
following adjustments should be made to your Minnesota factors on line 7.

Add: All tangible property owned or rented that is not included on line 3 of M3A. Some examples include construction in progress, idle 
property, any nonbusiness property or rent expense. The amounts should be determined in the same manner as the amounts on lines 1 and 2. 

Subtract: 
•	 Any amounts included on lines 3, and 5 that represent your share of the factors passed through from other partnerships. 
•	 If the tax year is a short tax year, subtract the amount of the average value of tangible property that is excluded because of prorating for a 

short tax year. The amount excluded for a short year is determined by multiplying M3A, column A, line 1 by a fraction: 
		  365 - number of days in the tax year
			   365
Enclose a schedule showing the computation and pass-through information of any adjustments listed on M3A, line 7.

Completing Form M3A (continued)
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Complete and provide Schedule KPI to each nonresident individual, estate or trust partner and any Minnesota individual, estate or trust 
partner who has adjustments to income.
Enter the information associated with this partnership and partner. If the partner is a one-member LLC, a grantor or substantial owner of a 
grantor trust, also enter the federal ID or Social Security number of the partner who is ultimately taxed for Minnesota purposes.

Purpose
A partnership must provide each nonresident partner and any Minnesota partner with enough information regarding adjustments to income in 
order for the partner to complete a Minnesota income tax return and determine their correct Minnesota tax.

Use Schedule KPI to provide the necessary information to the partner. The schedule shows each partner their specific share of the 
partnership’s income, credits and modifications. Provide the partner a copy of both the front and back of the completed Schedule KPI and the 
instructions.

If there are no modifications or credits, and the partner is a full-year Minnesota resident, you do not have to provide Schedule KPI.

Enclose copies of the Schedules KPI and attachments issued to partners with your Form M3. Also enclose copies of your federal Schedules K 
and K-1.

If you are required to amend your federal partnership return or you have been audited by the IRS, you must file an amended Minnesota return 
using Form M3X, Amended Partnership Return, and Schedules KPI and KPC, if appropriate.

Partner Ultimately Taxed
Enter the identifying number of the partner ultimately taxed. For example, if the partner is a trust and has one beneficiary, enter the 
beneficiary’s Social Security number.

A $50 penalty will be assessed for each incorrect tax ID number used for a partner after being notified by the department that the number is 
incorrect. 

Line Instructions
Calculate lines 1–25 the same for all resident and nonresident partners. Calculate lines 26–42 for nonresident partners only.

Partnership Partners: When completing Schedules KPI, be sure to include any amounts reported on the Schedule KPC you received as a 
partner of a partnership (include Schedule KPC with your return).

All Partnership Partners -  Lines 1-25
KPI, line 1
If you received federally tax-exempt interest dividends from a mutual fund, you may have to enter an amount on line 1. To determine the 
amount, if any, use the following instructions:

•	 If 95 percent or more of the federally tax-exempt dividends from a mutual fund came from bonds issued by Minnesota, include only the 
portion of the federally tax-exempt dividend generated by non-Minnesota bonds. 

•	 If less than 95 percent of the federally tax-exempt interest dividends from a mutual fund came from bonds issued by Minnesota, include all 
of the federally tax-exempt interest dividend from that fund.

Enter the partner’s distributive share of this amount on line 1.

KPI, line 2
Determine the state income taxes deducted in arriving at ordinary income or net rental income of the partnership. Do not include the 
minimum fee in this amount. Enter the partner’s distributive share of this amount on line 2.

KPI, line 3
Expenses or interest deducted on your federal return that relate to income not taxed by Minnesota must be added back to the partners’ 
Minnesota income. 

Enter the partner’s share of any federal deductions that are attributable to income not taxed by Minnesota, other than U.S. government bond 
interest or other federal obligations.

If you had expenses attributable to interest or mutual fund dividends from U.S. bonds, see line 12 of Schedule KPI. Do not include these 
expenses on line 3.

KPI, line 4
If you claimed a deduction under IRC section 179 for property placed in service after December 31, 2017, that deduction may need to be 
adjusted due to Section 2307 of the CARES Act before making this addition (see instructions on pages 20-22).

If, during the year, your total investment in qualifying property was more than $200,000 or if you elected more than $25,000 in section 179 
expensing, your partners must add back to Minnesota 80 percent of the difference between the expensing allowed for federal and for state tax 

Continued

Completing Schedule KPI

These instructions no longer apply.
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purposes. Your partners will be allowed to subtract their share of the addition in equal parts over the next five years when they file their state 
tax returns.

If you completed federal Form 4562 to claim the section 179 expensing for federal tax purposes, you must also complete lines 1 through 
12 on a separate federal Form 4562 (referred to as your Minnesota Form 4562), to determine the amount required to be added back for 
Minnesota purposes.

Complete a Minnesota Form 4562 using the information from your federal Form 4562 and the following modifications:

• 	Subtract $995,000 from line 1 of your federal Form 4562, and enter the result on line 1 of your Minnesota Form 4562. Do not enter less 
than $25,000.

• 	Enter line 2 of federal Form 4562 on line 2 of your Minnesota Form 4562.
• 	Subtract $2,350,000 from line 3 of your federal Form 4562, and enter the result on line 3 of your Minnesota Form 4562.
• 	Enter the information from lines 6 and 7 of your federal Form 4562 on lines 6 and 7 of your Minnesota Form 4562. 
• 	Enter line 10 of your federal Form 4562 on line 10 of your Minnesota Form 4562.
• 	Recalculate lines 4, 5, 8, 9, 11 and 12 of your Minnesota Form 4562. The result on line 12 of Minnesota Form 4562 cannot be more than 

line 1.
Enter the partner’s distributive share of the amount on line 12 of the Minnesota Form 4562 on line 4 of Schedule KPI.

Do not include property received as part of an exchange that would have qualified under Section 1031 of the Internal Revenue Code as 
amended through December 16, 2016 but not as amended through December 31, 2018.

KPI, line 5  
If you claimed a deduction for special depreciation allowance (bonus depreciation) for property placed in service after December 31, 2017, 
that deduction may need to be adjusted due to Section 2307 of the CARES Act before making this addition (see instructions on pages 20-22). 

If you claimed federal bonus depreciation, your partners must add back 80 percent of the bonus depreciation to Minnesota.

Follow the steps below to determine the partner’s share to enter on line 5:

1.	 Add line 14 and line 25 of your federal Form 4562. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                           

2.	 Total of any bonus depreciation amounts passed through to you as a partner of a partnership  
	 (from line 8 of Schedule KPC). . . . . . .       . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

3.	 Add steps 1 and 2.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

4.	 Multiply step 3 by the partner’s percentage of ownership interest. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                

Enter the result from step 4 on line 5 of the partner’s Schedule KPI.

Federal bonus depreciation subtraction. For five years following the addback year, your partners may be able to subtract one-fifth of the 
addback on their Minnesota income tax return. See the instructions for Form M1, Individual Income Tax, and Form M2, Income Tax Return 
for Estates and Trusts, for details.

KPI, line 6
Determine the amount of foreign-derived intangible income (FDII) you deducted from net income under Internal Revenue Code (IRC) 
section 250 for the taxable year. Enter the partner’s distributive share of this amount on line 6.

KPI, line 7
Determine the amount of any special deduction you deducted from net income under IRC section 965(c) for the taxable year. Enter the 
partner’s distributive share of this amount on line 7. 

KPI, line 8a
Enter each resident and nonresident individual partner’s share of the gross profit from any installment sale of s corporation stock or assets, 
partnership interests or assets executed after December 31, 2016. 

If the sale was completed by the partnership completing this schedule, the total gross profit to be allocated among the partners is reported 
on federal Form 6252, line 16. If the sale was executed by an entity owned by this entity, or another entity in a multi-tiered structure, this 
information is reported on:

•	 Schedule KF, line 6a
•	 Schedule KS, line 8a
•	 Schedule KPC, line 11a

If installment sale information is reported to this entity on informational schedules from other entities, the amount reported to the partners 
should equal the total amount reported to this entity on all Schedules KF, KS, and KPC. 

If the partnership receives installment payments from multiple sales executed after December 31, 2016, attach a schedule to Form M3 
detailing the different sales and distributive allocations. Continued

Completing Schedule KPI (continued)
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KPI, line 8b
Enter each resident and nonresident individual partner’s share of installment sale income the sale of s corporation stock, partnership interests, 
and any installment sale income from the sale of the assets of any s corporation or partnership. If the sale was completed by the partnership 
completing this schedule, the total installment sale income to be allocated to the partners is reported on Form 6252, line 24. If the sale was 
executed by an entity owned by this entity, or another entity in multi-tiered structure, this information is reported on:

•	 Schedule KF, line 6b
•	 Schedule KS, line 8b
•	 Schedule KPC, line 11b 

If installment sale information is reported to this entity on informational schedules from other entities, the amount reported to the partners 
should equal the total amount reported to this entity on all Schedules KF, KS, and KPC. 

If the partnership receives installment payments from multiple sales executed after December 31, 2016, attach a schedule to Form M3 
detailing the different sales and distributive allocations.

KPI, line 12
Interest earned on certain direct federal obligations is taxable on the federal return, but is not taxable on the state return.

Determine the net interest you received from primary obligations issued by the U.S. government, such as savings bonds and treasury notes, 
that are held directly by the partnership. Do not include obligations where the U.S. government is only a guarantor. Be sure to subtract any 
investment interest and other expenses you deducted on the federal return that relate to this income. 

Enter the partner’s distributive share of this amount on line 12.

KPI, line 13
Determine the amount of deferred foreign income included in net income under IRC section 965 for the taxable year. Enter the partner’s 
distributive share of this amount on line 13.

KPI, line 14
Determine the amount of global intangible low-taxed income (GILTI) included in net income under IRC section 951A for the taxable year.  
Enter the partner’s distributive share of this amount on line 14. 

KPI, line 15
For medical cannabis manufacturers registered with the Minnesota Department of Health, include any expenses that are disallowed on your 
federal return due to IRC section 280E. Enter the partner’s distributive share of the disallowed section 280E expenses on line 15. 

KPI, line 17
Enter the partner’s distributive share of the 2019 credit for increasing research activities. If the business qualifies, the credit cannot be claimed 
by the partnership and the full credit must be passed through to the partners. 

KPI, line 18
If you received a credit certificate from the Minnesota Rural Finance Authority for selling or leasing agricultural assets to a beginning farmer, 
enter the certificate number in the space provided and the partners share of the credit on line 18.

If the partner has multiple credits, enter the certificate number your partnership received directly from the Rural Finance Authority within the 
certificate number box. If the partner has multiple credits and received all credits from other pass-through entities, enter the certificate number 
relating to the largest credit amount within the certificate number box. Subtotal the partner’s share of all credit amounts on line 18. Provide a 
statement to the partner showing credit numbers and the partner’s distributive share of the credit for all amounts included on line 18.

KPI, line 19
For partnerships who receive a Historic Structure Rehabilitation Credit Certificate from the Minnesota State Historic Preservation Office 
(SHPO):

•	 If the partnership’s initial application for allocation certificate was submitted to SHPO on or before December 31, 2017, use the credit 
amount shown on the credit certificate.

•	 If the partnership’s initial application for allocation certificate was submitted to SHPO after December 31, 2017, use one-fifth of the credit 
amount shown on the credit certificate.

Enter the partner’s distributive share, if any, of the Historic Structure Rehabilitation Credit based on the partner’s share of the partnership’s 
assets, or as specifically allocated in the partnership’s organizational documents, as of the last day of the taxable year.

You must also include the NPS project number, which is provided on the credit certificate you received from the SHPO of the Minnesota 
Historical Society when the project was completed and placed into service.

KPI, line 20
Enter the partner’s share, if any, of the Employer Transit Pass Credit that is passed through to the partners.

Continued

Completing Schedule KPI (continued)



13

KPI, line 21
Enter the partner’s share, if any, of the Enterprise Zone Credit that is passed through to the partners.

KPI, Lines 22-25
If, for regular tax purposes, you elected the optional 60-month write-off under IRC section 59(e) for all property in this category, skip lines 
22-25. No adjustments are necessary.

KPI, line 22
Intangible drilling costs (IDCs) from oil, gas and geothermal wells are a tax preference item to the extent that the excess IDCs exceed 65 
percent of the net income from the wells. The tax preference item is computed separately for oil and gas properties and for geothermal 
properties. 

Enter the partner’s distributive share of the following: IDCs allowed for regular tax purposes under IRC section 263(c), (but not including 
any section 263(c) deduction for nonproductive wells) less the amount that would be allowed had the IDCs been amortized over a 120-month 
period starting with the month the well was placed in production.

KPI, line 23
Gross income from oil, gas and geothermal properties are used in determining if the excess IDCs exceed 65 percent of the net income from 
the wells. 

Enter the partner’s distributive share of the aggregate amount of gross income [within the meaning of IRC section 613(a)] from all oil, gas 
and geothermal properties that was received or accrued during the tax year.

KPI, line 24
Deductions allocable to oil, gas and geothermal properties are used in determining if the excess IDCs exceed 65 percent of the net income 
from the wells. 

Enter the partner’s distributive share of any deductions allocable to oil, gas and geothermal properties. Do not include deductions for 
nonproductive wells.

KPI, line 25
In the case of oil wells and other wells of nonintegrated oil companies, enter the partner’s distributive share of the amount by which the 
depletion deduction exceeds the adjusted basis of the property at the end of the tax year. 

In computing the year-end adjusted basis, use the rules of IRC section 1016. However, do not reduce the adjusted basis by the current year’s 
depletion. Figure the excess amount separately for each property. If the depletion deduction for any property does not exceed the adjusted 
basis at year-end, do not include a tax preference amount for that property.

Nonresident Individual, Estate or Trust Partners — 
Lines 26-42
KPI, line 26
The Minnesota source gross income is used to determine whether a nonresident partner is required to file a Minnesota income tax return or 
has the option to elect composite income tax.

Enter the partner’s distributive share of the partnership’s Minnesota source gross income. The Minnesota source gross income is the total of 
the amounts apportioned to Minnesota that are included on lines 3, 6, and 7 (other than losses) of federal Form 1065; lines 18a and 19 and 
20a (other than losses) of federal Form 8825; line 9 of Schedule F (1040); line 3a, 5, 6a, 7, 8, 9a, 10 and 11 of Schedule K (1065, not reported 
elsewhere) plus Minnesota source gross income amounts from all partnerships, estates, and trusts in which the partnership is a partner or 
beneficiary.

KPI, lines 27-38
From the nonresident partner’s federal Schedule K-1 (1065), enter the Minnesota portion of amounts on lines 27-38. 

On line 37, include the Minnesota portion of any items from the Schedule K-1 that are not specifically labeled on lines 27-36 and 38. 

Line 38 refers to the Minnesota apportioned amount of federal section 179 expense, not the amount calculated on line 4 of Schedule KPI for 
the Minnesota addition.

All income of a Minnesota individual resident is taxed by Minnesota, regardless of the source.

KPI, line 30
Guaranteed payments to partners (including for services and use of capital) make up a portion of the partner’s distributive share of partnership 
income. Accordingly, to determine the Minnesota portion of each partner’s share of guaranteed payments, multiply the amount reported to the 
partner on Schedule K-1, line 4, to Minnesota using the same apportionment percentage or assignment ratio used to allocate the income from 
which the guaranteed payment was deducted federally.

Completing Schedule KPI (continued)
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Nonresident Individual Partners Only
KPI, line 40
When determining the partner’s share of the partnership’s Minnesota source distributive income, you must make adjustments for any items 
you passed through to the partner on lines 1 through 16 of the partner’s Schedule KPI.

Follow the steps below to determine line 40: 

1.	 The difference between the partner’s pro rata share of the section 179 deduction from box 12 of federal Schedule    
K-1 (1065) and line 4 of the partner’s Schedule KPI . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                            

2. 	 Federal bonus depreciation amount from line 5 of the partner’s Schedule KPI . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                       

3. 	 Add step 1 and step 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                    

4. 	 Multiply step 3 by 80% (0.80)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                            

5. 	 Combine lines 6, 7*, 9, and 11 of the partner’s Schedule KPI . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                      

6. 	 Add step 4 and step 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                    

7. 	 Multiply step 6 by apportionment factor from line 39 of the partner’s Schedule KPI . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  

8. 	 Combine lines 27-37 of the partner’s Schedule KPI  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                             

9. 	 Add steps 7 and 8  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                        

10.	To the extent allowed by law, enter one-fifth of the partner’s share of the federal bonus depreciation that was added  
back in a year the partner elected to be included in composite income tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                           

11.	To the extent allowed by law, enter one-fifth of the partner’s share of the section 179 expensing that was added back  
in a year the partner elected to be included in composite income tax  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                               

12.	 Combine lines 13, 14, and 16 of the partner’s Schedule KPI . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                      

13.	 Add steps 10, 11, and 12 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                  

14.	 Multiply step 13 by the apportionment factor from line 39 of the partner’s Schedule KPI . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               

15.	 Enter amount from line 38 of partner’s Schedule KPI  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                            

16.	 Add Steps 14 and 15 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                      

17.	 Subtract step 16 from step 9 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                

Enter the result from step 17 on line 40 of the partner’s Schedule KPI. This amount is the partner’s adjusted Minnesota source distributive 
income.

* Only include an amount from line 7 of Schedule KPI if the partner is an estate or trust.  
KPI, line 41
Composite Income Tax
Nonresident individual partners must pay tax if their Minnesota gross income is more than the minimum filing requirement for the year 
($12,200 for 2019).

Partners who receive a share of gross profit or income from an installment sale reported on line 8a or 8b of Schedule KPI are not eligible to 
elect the partnership to pay composite income tax on their behalf.

Skip this line if the nonresident partner did not elect the partnership to pay composite income tax on their behalf.

To determine the amount of composite income tax to pay on behalf of each electing partner, follow the steps below:

1.	 Multiply line 40 of Schedule KPI by 9.85% (0.0985)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                           

2.	 Add lines 18-21 of Schedule KPI  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                         

3.	 Subtract step 2 from step 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                               

The result in step 3 is the amount you are required to pay on behalf of the electing individual partner. Enter this amount on line 41 of the 
partner’s Schedule KPI and check the box to indicate the partner’s election to be included.

If the individual elects to be included in composite income tax but has zero tax due, enter zero on line 41. Even though the amount may be 
zero, you must check the box to indicate the election.

Completing Schedule KPI (continued)
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Once you have completed all the Schedules KPI for your electing nonresident individual partners, add the amounts on line 41 of all the 
schedules and enter the total on line 2 of Form M3. This is the amount of composite income tax you are required to pay on behalf of your 
electing partners.

KPI, line 42—Nonresident Withholding
Nonresident individual partners who are not included in the composite income tax may be subject to withholding. See Nonresident 
Withholding on pages 3 and 4 to determine if your nonresident partners are subject to Minnesota withholding.

To determine the amount of tax to withhold for each nonresident partner, follow the steps below:

1.	 Multiply line 40 of Schedule KPI by 9.85% (0.0985) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                          

2.	 Add lines 18-21 of Schedule KPI  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                           

3.	 Subtract step 2 from step 1  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                

The result in step 3 is the amount you are required to withhold from the nonresident partner, unless the individual submits Form AWC, 
Alternative Withholding Certificate.

If the individual submits Form AWC, withhold the amount from line 6 of the certificate. Check the box provided on line 42 of the partner’s 
Schedule KPI and also on line 3 of Form M3. Be sure to enclose a copy of the certificate when you file your return.

If the individual submits a false or fraudulent Form AWC, the department may require you to withhold the maximum percentage from that 
individual in the future, even if an exemption certificate is submitted.

Be sure to inform your partners that they must include their Schedule KPI when they file their Form M1 to claim the Minnesota withholding. 
If the schedule is not included, the department will disallow the withholding and assess the tax or reduce their refund.

Completing Schedule KPI (continued)
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Complete and provide Schedule KPC to each corporate or partnership partner.
Enter the information associated with this partnership and partner. If the partner is a one-member LLC, also enter the 
federal ID or Social Security number of the partner who is ultimately taxed for Minnesota purposes.

Purpose
A partnership must provide each partner with enough information for them to complete a Minnesota income tax return and determine their 
correct Minnesota tax. Schedule KPC is used to show each corporate and partnership partner their specific share of the partnership’s credits, 
modifications and apportionment factors. The pro rata share of the apportionment factors are used in two different ways (depending on if the 
relationship between partner and partnership is unitary) in computing the corporate or partnership partner’s Minnesota income.

There may be other items that a corporate partner would need to know in order to complete its Form M4, Corporation Franchise Tax Return. 
If applicable, you should pass that information through to the corporate partners. For more information, see the instructions for Form M4.

Provide the partner a copy of both the front and the back of the completed Schedule KPC and the instructions.

Enclose copies of the Schedules KPC and attachments issued to partners with your Form M3. Also enclose copies of federal Schedules K and 
K-1 with your partnership return.

Partner Ultimately Taxed
Enter the identifying number of the partner ultimately taxed. For example, if the partner is an LLC and its one member is a C corporation, 
enter the C corporation’s FEIN.

A $50 penalty will be assessed for each incorrect tax ID number used for a partner after being notified by the department that the number is 
incorrect. 

Line Instructions
Partnership Partners: When completing Schedules KPC, include any amounts reported on the Schedule KPC you received as a partner of a 
partnership (include Schedule KPC with your return).

KPC, lines 1 and 2
Generally, all of the income of a partnership is apportionable. If you have nonapportionable income, the corporate and partnership partners 
need to know their share of the nonapportionable income. Provide the partner with a schedule describing the type of income.

Enter the partner’s share of Minnesota source nonapportionable income on line 1. Enter the partner’s share of total nonapportionable income 
on line 2.

KPC, line 3
Enter the partner’s distributive share of the minimum fee from line 1 of the partnership’s Form M3.

KPC, line 4
Enter the partner’s distributive share of the partnership’s interest income exempt from federal tax. Provide the partner with a schedule listing 
how much is from Minnesota municipal bonds.

KPC, line 5
Enter the partner’s distributive share of any state income tax (other than the minimum fee) the partnership deducted in arriving at the 
partnership’s net income.

KPC, line 6
Skip this line for all partners filing as a C corporation.

Expenses or interest deducted on your federal return that relate to income not taxed by Minnesota must be added back to the individual 
partners’ Minnesota income. 

Enter the partner’s share of any federal deductions that are attributable to income not taxed by Minnesota, other than U.S. government bond 
interest or other federal obligations.

If you had expenses attributable to interest or mutual fund dividends from U.S. bonds, see line 12 of Schedule KPC. Do not include these 
expenses on line 6.

KPC, line 7
If you claimed a deduction under IRC section 179 for property placed in service after December 31, 2017, that deduction may need to be 
adjusted due to Section 2307 of the CARES Act before making this addition (see instructions on pages 20-22).

If, during the year, your total investment in qualifying property was more than $200,000 or if you elected more than $25,000 in section 179 
expensing, your partners must add back to Minnesota 80 percent of the difference between the expensing allowed for federal and for state tax 
purposes. Your partners will be allowed to subtract their share of the addition in equal parts over the next five years when they file their state 
tax returns. Continued

Completing Schedule KPC

These instructions no longer apply.
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If you completed federal Form 4562 to claim the section 179 expensing for federal tax purposes, you must also complete lines 1 through 
12 on a separate federal Form 4562 (referred to as your Minnesota Form 4562), to determine the amount required to be added back from 
Minnesota purposes.

Complete a Minnesota Form 4562 using the information from your federal Form 4562 and the following modifications:

• 	Subtract $995,000 from line 1 of your federal Form 4562, and enter the result on line 1 of your Minnesota Form 4562. Do not enter less 
than $25,000.

• 	Enter line 2 of federal Form 4562 on line 2 of your Minnesota Form 4562.
• 	Subtract $2,350,000 from line 3 of your federal Form 4562, and enter the result on line 3 of your Minnesota Form 4562.
• 	Enter the information from lines 6 and 7 of your federal Form 4562 on lines 6 and 7 of your Minnesota Form 4562. 
• 	Enter line 10 of your federal Form 4562 on line 10 of your Minnesota Form 4562.
• 	Recalculate lines 4, 5, 8, 9, 11 and 12 of your Minnesota Form 4562. The result on line 12 of Minnesota Form 4562 cannot be more than 

line 1.
Enter the partner’s distributive share of the amount on line 12 of the Minnesota Form 4562 on line 7 of Schedule KPC.

Do not include property received as part of an exchange that would have qualified under Section 1031 of the Internal Revenue Code as 
amended through December 16, 2016 but not as amended through December 31, 2018.  

KPC, line 8
If you claimed a deduction for special depreciation allowance (bonus depreciation) for property placed in service after December 31, 2017, 
that deduction may need to be adjusted due to Section 2307 of the CARES Act before making this addition (see instructions on pages 20-22). 

If you claimed federal bonus depreciation, your partners must add back 80 percent of the bonus depreciation to Minnesota.

Follow the steps below to determine the partner’s share to enter on line 8: 

1.	 Add line 14 and line 25 of your federal Form 4562. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                           

2.	 Total of any bonus depreciation amounts passed through to you as a partner of a partnership (from line 8 of Schedule KPC). . . 

3.	 Add steps 1 and 2.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                     

4.	 Multiply step 3 by the partner’s percentage of ownership interest. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                

Enter the result from step 4 on line 8 of the partner’s Schedule KPC.

Federal bonus depreciation subtraction. For five years following the addback year, your partners may be able to subtract one-fifth of the 
addback on their Minnesota income tax return. See the instructions for Form M3, M4, or M8 for details.

KPC, line 9
Determine the amount of foreign-derived intangible income (FDII) you deducted from net income under IRC section 250 for the taxable year. 
Enter the partner’s distributive share of this amount on line 9. 

KPC, line 10
Determine the amount of any special deduction you deducted from net income under IRC section 965(c) for the taxable year. Enter the 
partner’s distributive share of this amount on line 10. 

Line 11a
Enter each corporate or partnership partner’s share of the gross profit from any installment sale of  partnership interests or assets executed after 
December 31, 2016. 
If the sale was completed by the partnership completing this schedule, the total gross profit to be allocated among the partners is reported 
on federal Form 6252, line 16. If the sale was executed by an entity owned by this entity, or another entity in a multi-tiered structure, this 
information is reported on Schedule KF, line 6a, or Schedule KPC, line 11a. 
If installment sale information is reported to this entity on informational schedules from other entities, the amount reported to the partners 
should equal the total amount reported to this entity on all Schedules KF, KS, and KPC. 
If the partnership receives installment payments from multiple sales executed after December 31, 2016, attach a schedule to Form M3 detailing 
the different sales and distributive allocations.  
Line 11b
Enter each corporate or partnership partner’s share of installment sale income from the sale of partnership interests or assets executed after 
December 31, 2016. 

If the sale was completed by the partnership completing this schedule, the total installment sale income to be allocated to the partners is 
reported on federal Form 6252, line 24. If the sale was executed by an entity owned by this entity, or another entity in multi-tiered structure, 
this information is reported on Schedule KF line 8b, Schedule KS line 6b, or Schedule KPC line 11b. 

Continued

Completing Schedule KPC (continued)

These instructions no longer apply.
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If installment sale information is reported to this entity on informational schedules from other entities, the amount reported to the partners 
should equal the total amount reported to this entity on all Schedules KF, KS, and KPC. 

If the partnership receives installment payments from multiple sales executed after December 31, 2016, attach a schedule to Form M3 detailing 
the different sales and distributive allocations.

KPC, line 15
Skip this line for all partners filing as a C corporation.

Interest earned on certain direct federal obligations is taxable on the federal return, but is not taxable on the state return.

Determine the net interest you received from primary obligations issued by the U.S. government, such as savings bonds and treasury notes, 
that are held directly by the partnership. Do not include obligations where the U.S. government is only a guarantor. Subtract any investment 
interest and other expenses you deducted on the federal return that relate to this income. 

Enter the partnership partner’s distributive share of this amount on line 15.

KPC, line 16
Determine the amount of deferred foreign income included in net income under IRC section 965 for the taxable year. Enter the partner’s 
distributive share of this amount on line 16.

KPC, line 17
Determine the amount of global intangible low-taxed income (GILTI) included in net income under IRC section 951A for the taxable year. 
Enter the partner’s distributive share of this amount on line 17. 

KPC, line 18
For medical cannabis manufacturers registered with the Minnesota Department of Health, include any expenses that are disallowed on your 
federal return due to IRC section 280E. Enter the partner’s distributive share of the disallowed section 280E expenses on line 15. 

KPC, line 20
Enter the partner’s distributive share of the 2019 credit for increasing research activities. If the business qualifies, the credit cannot be claimed 
by the partnership and the full credit must be passed through to the partners.

KPC, line 21
Enter the partner’s distributive share of the Tax Credit for Owners of Agricultural Assets being passed through to partners. For more 
information on the credit amount allowed please see page 12 of the instruction, KPI, line 18.
If the partner has multiple credits, enter the certificate number your partnership received directly from the Rural Finance Authority within the 
certificate number box. If the partner has multiple credits and received all credits from other pass-through entities, enter the certificate number 
relating to the largest credit amount within the certificate number box. Subtotal the partner’s share of all credit amounts on line 21. Provide a 
statement to the partner showing credit numbers and the partner’s distributive share of the credit for all amounts included on line 21.

KPC, line 22
For partnerships who receive a Historic Structure Rehabilitation Credit Certificate from the Minnesota State Historic Preservation Office 
(SHPO):
•	 If the partnership’s initial application for allocation certificate was submitted to SHPO on or before December 31, 2017, use the credit 

amount shown on the credit certificate.

•	 If the partnership’s initial application for allocation certificate was submitted to SHPO after December 31, 2017, use one-fifth of the credit 
amount shown on the credit certificate.

Enter the partner’s distributive share, if any, of the Historic Structure Rehabilitation Credit based on the partner’s share of the partnership’s 
assets, or as specifically allocated in the partnership’s organizational documents, as of the last day of the taxable year.

You must also include the NPS project number, which is provided on the credit certificate you received from the SHPO of the Minnesota 
Historical Society when the project was completed and placed into service.

KPC, line 23
Enter the partner’s distributive share of the Employer Transit Pass Credit being passed through to partners.

KPC, line 24
Enter the partner’s distributive share of the Enterprise Zone Credit being passed through to partners. 

KPC, lines 25 
Enter the partner’s Pro Rata Share of Minnesota Source Gross Income.

KPC, lines and 26 and 27
Enter the partner’s pro rata share of the partnership’s apportionment factors determined on M3A.

Completing Schedule KPC (continued)

Continued
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Federal Adjustments for Businesses for Tax Year 2019

In January 2023, Minnesota law was updated to recognize the Internal Revenue Code as amended through December 15, 2022. However, 
some nonconformity adjustments still apply due to retroactive Minnesota modifications enacted in the tax bill. 

How to Report the Federal Adjustments
If any of the federal provisions in these instructions affect the amount of taxable income reported on your 2019 federal Form 1065, U.S. 
Return of Partnership Income, you must adjust your 2019 Minnesota return. The adjustment should reflect the change to your Minnesota 
return as a result of the retroactive Minnesota modifications.

If you have to amend as a result of conformity within the January 2023 Minnesota tax bill, only adjust your amended return to update 
composite income tax for electing partners.

You do not need to update nonresident withholding amounts. You may need to amend, and issue updated Schedules KPI and KPC if 
your partner(s) need additional information to update their return(s). For example, if you claimed federal bonus depreciation on qualified 
improvement property (QIP) and adjusted the partner’s bonus depreciation addition as a result of the QIP nonconformity adjustment.

If you are amending solely due to the January 2023 Minnesota tax bill, write “Conformity” in red at the top of the Minnesota Form M3X.

Certain CARES Act provisions and information must be reported on the following lines:
•	 Schedule KPI, line 10 or Schedule KPC, line 13 – IRC Section 461 net nonbusiness income/loss
•	 Schedule KPI, line 11 or Schedule KPC, line 14 – Business interest expense limitation

Subtotal all remaining nonconformity adjustments (positive and negative) calculated from the provisions listed below. If the net of all 
adjustments results in an increase of your federal taxable income (FTI), enter the partner’s pro rata share of the net adjustment as a positive 
number on line 9 of Schedule KPI or a positive number on line 12 of Schedule KPC. If the net of all adjustments results in a reduction of 
your FTI, enter the partner’s pro rata share of the net adjustment as a positive number on line 16 of Schedule KPI or a positive number on 
line 19 of Schedule KPC.

To report the differences for Minnesota tax purposes, you must attach to your Form M3 a list of the federal provisions affecting your taxable 
income by act and section number and show how you calculated each adjustment amount.

Provisions that May Require an Income Adjustment
TCDTR and TCDTR20 Sections
TCDTR Section 111. Indian Employment Credit
If you were not allowed to deduct expenses due to the Indian Employment Credit on your federal return, include the amount of the 
disallowed expenses as a negative number. 

TCDTR Section 112. Railroad Track Maintenance Credit
If you were not allowed to deduct expenditures due to the Railroad Track Maintenance Credit on your federal return, include the amount of 
the disallowed expenditures as a negative number. 

TCDTR Section 113. Mine Rescue Team Training Credit
If you were not allowed to deduct expenses due to the Mine Rescue Team Training Credit on your federal return, include the amount of the 
disallowed expenses as a negative number. 

TCDTR Section 114. Classification of Certain Race Horses as 3-year Property
If you own race horses and you claimed a 3-year recovery period on your federal return, calculate the difference between the 3-year recovery 
period and the recovery period you would have been allowed under 2018 IRC. If your recovery period reported on your federal return is 
greater than the recalculated amount, include the difference as a positive number. If your recovery period reported on your federal return is 
less than the recalculated amount, include the difference as a negative number. 

TCDTR Section 115; TCDTR20 Section 115. 7-year Recovery Period for Motorsports Entertainment Complexes
If you have a motorsports entertainment complex and you claimed a 7-year recovery period on your federal return, calculate the difference 
between the 7-year recovery period and the recovery period you would have been allowed under 2018 IRC. . If your recovery period reported 
on your federal return is greater than the recalculated amount, include the difference as a positive number. If your recovery period reported on 
your federal return is less than the recalculated amount, include the difference as a negative number. 

TCDTR Section 118. Empowerment Zone Tax Incentives
If you had a tax change relating to an empowerment zone that impacted your FTI on your federal return, reverse the tax impacts to your FTI. 

TCDTR Section 122; TCDTR20 Section 140. Second Generation Biofuel Producer Credit
If you claimed the Second Generation Biofuel Producer Credit on your federal return that impacted your FTI, reverse the tax impacts to your 
FTI.

TCDTR Section 124; TCDTR20 Section 142. Qualified Fuel Cell Motor Vehicles
If you claimed the credit for Qualified Fuel Cell Motor Vehicles on your federal return that impacted your FTI, reverse the tax impacts to 
your FTI.

Continued

These instructions no longer apply.
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TCDTR Section 125; TCDTR20 Section 143. Alternative Fuel Refueling Property Credit
If you claimed the Alternative Fuel Refueling Property Credit on your federal return, adjust the property’s basis without regard to the basis 
reduction required under current federal law. Include any adjustments to FTI as a result of this Minnesota change in basis. 

TCDTR Section 126; TCDTR20 Section 144. 2-Wheeled Plug-in Electric Vehicle Credit
If you claimed the 2-Wheeled Plug-In Electric Vehicle Credit on your federal return, adjust the vehicle’s basis without regard to the basis 
reduction required under current federal law. Include any adjustments to FTI as a result of this Minnesota change in basis. 

TCDTR Section 129; TCDTR20 Section 146. Energy Efficient Homes Credit
If you claimed the Energy Efficient Homes Credit on your federal return, adjust the property’s basis without regard to the basis reduction 
required under current federal law. Include any adjustments to FTI as a result of this Minnesota change in basis. 

TCDTR Section 203; TCDTR20 Section 303. Employee Retention Credit for Employers Affected by Qualified Disasters
If you were not allowed to deduct wages due to claiming the Employee Retention Credit on your federal return, include the amount of the 
disallowed wages as a negative number.

TCDTR20 Section 201. Minimum Low-Income Housing Tax Credit Rate
If you claimed the Minimum Low-Income Housing Tax Credit on your federal return, adjust the property’s basis without regard to the basis 
adjustments required under current federal law.  Include your adjustments to FTI as a result of this Minnesota change to basis. 

TCDTR20 Section 202. Depreciation on Certain Residential Rental Property Over 30-Year Period
If you had certain residential rental property and claimed depreciation using a 30-year recovery period on your federal return, calculate 
the difference between the 30-year recovery period and the recovery period you would have been allowed under 2018 IRC. Include that 
difference as a positive number.

TCDTR20 Section 203. Waste Energy Recovery Property Eligible for Energy Credit
If you claimed the Energy Credit for waste energy recovery property on your federal return, adjust the property’s basis without regard to the 
basis adjustments required under current federal law. Include your adjustments to FTI as a result of this Minnesota change to basis.

TCDTR20 Section 204. Extension of Energy Credit for Offshore Wind Facilities
If you claimed the Energy Credit for offshore wind facilities on your federal return, adjust the property’s basis without regard to the basis 
adjustments required under current federal law. Include your adjustments to FTI as a result of this Minnesota change to basis.

FFCRA Sections
Section 7001. Employer Credit for Paid Medical Leave
If you claimed the Employer Payroll Credit for Required Paid Medical Leave, include the amount of the credit which was included in your 
federal gross income as a negative amount.

Section 7003. Employer Payroll Credit for Required Paid Family Leave
If you claimed the Employer Payroll Credit for Required Paid Family Leave, include the amount of the credit which was included in your 
federal gross income as a negative amount.

CARES Act Sections
Section 2206. Exclusion for Employer Payments of Student Loans (TCDTR20 Section 120)
If you were not allowed to deduct wages due to claiming the refundable payroll tax credit on your federal return, include the amount of the 
disallowed wages as a negative number. 

Section 2301. Employee Retention Credit (TCDTR20 Sections 206 and 207)
If you were not allowed to deduct wages due to claiming the refundable payroll tax credit on your federal return, include the amount of the 
disallowed wages as a negative number.

Section. 2304. Excess Business Losses (IRC Section 461 Net Nonbusiness Income/Loss)
In order for your partner to calculate their excess business loss limitation for Minnesota purposes, provide your partner the total nonbusiness 
income and nonbusiness loss amounts as it relates to IRC Section 461. Net the total nonbusiness income against the nonbusiness loss and 
include the result on line 10 of Schedule KPI or line 13 of Schedule KPC.

Section 2306. Modification of Business Interest Limitation 
If your business interest expense deduction exceeds the sum of 30% of your adjusted taxable income for the tax year, your business interest 
income, and your floor plan financing interest, determine the difference between your federal deduction and the deduction allowable using 
30% of your adjusted taxable income. Include the result as a positive number on line 11 of Schedule KPI or line 14 of Schedule KPC.

Section 2307. Qualified Improvement Property Technical Fix
If you claimed federal bonus depreciation on qualified leasehold improvement property, qualified restaurant property, or qualified retail 
improvement property, determine the difference between the federal bonus depreciation you claimed on this property, and the cost recovery 
deduction or expensing method you would have been able to claim prior to the CARES Act. This may include a Minnesota modification for 
section 179 expensing. Include the result as a positive number.

Federal Adjustments for Businesses for Tax Year 2019 (continued)
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If you filed an amended federal return increasing your federal bonus depreciation as a result of this provision of the CARES Act, do not adjust 
your Minnesota addition for bonus depreciation on line 5 of Schedule KPI or line 8 of Schedule KPC.

If you claimed bonus depreciation on this property on your 2018 return and made a nonconformity adjustment on your 2018 return to 
addback the amount not allowed for Minnesota purposes, you may calculate the depreciation you would have been able to claim prior to the 
CARES Act for 2019. Include this amount as a negative number. 

COVIDTRA Sections
Section 210. Temporary Allowance of Full Deduction for Business Meals
If you deducted more than 50% of the cost for food or beverages provided by a restaurant under this provision, enter the amount of the 
deduction that exceeds 50% of the cost as a positive number.

Federal Adjustments for Businesses for Tax Year 2019 (continued)

These instructions no longer apply.
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