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2017 Partnership Form M3 Instructions
ber 16, 2016 but not as amended through 
December 31, 2018.  Minnesota no longer 
requires an 80% addition for federal Section 
179 expensing claimed on this property. 

If you are amending to reduce your Min-
nesota Section 179 expensing addition, 
you must also reduce subsequent year 
subtractions by the amount attributable to 
the reduced addition. Write “Like-Kind Ex-
change” in red at the top of the Minnesota 
Form M3X and the amended Schedules 
KPI or KPC you issue to partners.

Accelerated Installment Sale Gains 
Beginning in tax year 2017, some nonresi-
dent taxpayers will be required to accelerate 
recognition of installment sale gains if the 
sales involve S corporation stock or assets, 
or partnership interests or assets. The new 
law applies to sales that are executed by 
individuals, and to sales that are executed 
by partnerships, s corporations, trusts, and 
multi-tiered pass-through structures.

A new checkbox has been added to Form 
M3 and new lines have been added to 
Schedules KPI and KPC to ensure correct 
reporting to all partners. 

Minimum Fee Amounts and Brackets 
have Changed
The 2017 minimum fee brackets amounts 
have been adjusted for inflation. Some of 
the minimum fee amounts have also been 
adjusted for inflation. (See Form M3A for 
additional details.)  

Credit for Increasing Research 
Expenditures
The second-tier credit, for qualified re-
search expenses over $2,000,000, is raised 
from 2.5 percent to 4 percent. 

Filing Requirements
All entities required to file a federal Form 
1065, U.S. Return of Partnership Income, 
or Form 1065‑B, U.S. Return of Income for 
Electing Large Partnerships, and have Min-
nesota gross income must file Form M3, 
Partnership Return. The entire share of an 
entity’s income is taxed to the partner/mem-
ber, whether or not it is actually distributed. 
Each partner/member must include their 
share of income on their tax return. How-
ever, the minimum fee is paid by the entity.

An S corporation must use Form M8, 
S Corporation Return.

If you are a single-member LLC, the form 
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you must use depends on what kind of entity 
your business is for federal tax purposes.

Minimum Fee
A partnership is subject to a minimum fee if 
the sum of its Minnesota source property, pay-
roll and sales or receipts is at least $970,000. 
However, the partnership is exempt from the 
minimum fee if more than 80 percent of its 
income is from farming.

The minimum fee is determined on M3A, 
which is page 3 of Form M3.

Large Partnerships
If you are a large partnership and, as a result 
of a federal audit, tax is assessed on additional 
income, you may elect to pay the federal tax 
on behalf of your partners. Even if you make 
the election, your partners remain responsible 
for paying Minnesota tax on the additional 
income.  

If you made the election and paid federal tax 
as a result of a federal audit in a tax year after 
1998, you must pass through the additional 
income to your partners.

File Electronically
Options are available to electronically prepare 
and file your partnership tax return. Electronic 
filing is a secure, fast and easy way to file. For 
more information, go to our website at www.
revenue.state.mn.us.

Before You File
Complete Your Federal Return
Before you complete Form M3, complete fed-
eral Form 1065—or Form 1065-B if you are a 
large partnership—and supporting schedules. 
You will need to reference them.

If you are filing federal Form 1065-B, 
include the amount from:

Schedule K-1	 on 
(1065-B),	 Schedule KPI, 

box 1	 line 21
box 2	 line 21
box 3	 line 26
box 4a	 line 28 or 29
box 4b	 line 28 or 29

Minnesota Tax ID Number
Your Minnesota tax ID is the seven-digit 
number you’re assigned when you register 
with the department. Generally, it is the same 
as your sales and use tax or Minnesota em-
ployer’s withholding tax number. 

It’s important to include your Minnesota tax ID 
on your return so that any payments you make 
are properly credited to your account.

Partnership Information

Website
www.revenue.state.mn.us

Phone
651-556-3075

Email
businessincome.tax@state.mn.us
We provide our publications in other formats 
upon request to persons with disabilities.
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What’s New for 2017
For Taxpayers Affected by Federal 
Tax Law Passed after December 31, 
2018 
In January 2023, Minnesota law was updat-
ed to recognize the Internal Revenue Code 
as amended through December 15, 2022. 
However, some nonconformity adjustments 
still apply due to retroactive Minnesota 
modifications enacted in the tax bill. Use 
the instructions on page 10 to calculate any 
remaining nonconformity adjustments. 

We have updated these instructions to 
recognize enactment of this Minnesota 
legislation.

Section 179 Expensing Addition
In October, as a result of the 2020 5th 
Special Session, the Minnesota legislature 
passed and the Governor signed into law 
full conformity to federal Section 179 
expensing for property received as part of 
a transaction that qualified under Section 
1031 like-kind exchange under the Internal 
Revenue Code as amended through Decem-
(Rev. 12/22)
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If you don’t have a Minnesota tax ID, you 
must apply for one. To apply, go to our 
website at www.revenue.state.mn.us, or call 
651-282-5225 or 1-800-657-3605.

Due Dates and
Extensions
Due Date for Filing and Paying is 
March 15, 2018
File your return and pay the taxes payable 
as soon as possible after the end of the tax 
year, but no later than the following dates:

•	 Calendar year returns: March 15, 2018.
•	 Fiscal year returns: the 15th day of the 

third month after the end of the tax year.

If the due date lands on a weekend or legal 
holiday, returns and payments electronically 
made or postmarked the next business day 
are considered timely.

Extension of Time to File
All partnerships are granted an automatic 
six-month extension to file Form M3, if 
the tax payable for the year is paid by the 
regular due date.

However, if the IRS grants an extension of 
time to file your federal return that is longer 
than the Minnesota automatic six-month 
extension, your state filing due date is 
extended to the federal due date.

This is a filing extension only. To avoid 
penalties, you must make an extension tax 
payment by the regular due date. See Exten-
sion Payment on this page for details.

Payments
There are four types of partnership tax pay-
ments—extension, estimated tax, tax return 
and amended return payments. You can pay 
electronically, by credit card or by check. 
(See Payment Options.)

Note: If you’re currently paying electroni-
cally using the ACH credit method, con-
tinue to call your bank as usual. If you wish 
to make payments using the ACH credit 
method, instructions are available on our 
website at www.revenue.state.mn.us.

Extension Payment
Your tax is due by the regular due date, 
even if you are filing under an extension. 
Any tax not paid by the regular due date is 
subject to penalties and interest (see lines 
11 and 12 on page 4).

If you’re filing after the regular due date, 
you can avoid penalties and interest by 
making an extension payment by the regu-

General Information (continued)

lar due date. See Payment Options above. If 
you’re not required to pay electronically and 
are paying by check, go to www.revenue.
state.mn.us to create a voucher to print and 
submit with your check.

Estimated Tax Payments
A partnership must make quarterly estimated 
tax payments if the sum of its estimated 
minimum fee, nonresident withholding and 
composite income tax for all nonresident 
partners electing to participate in compos-
ite income tax, less any credits, is $500 or 
more.

Payments are due by the 15th day of the 
fourth, sixth and ninth months of the tax 
year and the first month following the end of 
the tax year. If the due date lands on a week-
end or legal holiday, payments electronically 
made or postmarked the next business day 
are considered timely.

If estimated tax is required for the minimum 
fee, composite income tax and/or nonresi-
dent withholding, include all on the same 
quarterly payments. 

To make an estimated payment, see Payment 
Options above.  

For additional information, see Partnership 
Estimated Tax Instructions.

Tax Return Payment
If line 14 of Form M3 shows an amount 
due, you must make a tax return payment 
(see Payment Options above). If you’re not 
required to pay electronically and are paying 

by check, go to www.revenue.state.mn.us 
to create a voucher to print and submit with 
your check.

Penalties and Interest
Late Payment. A late payment penalty is 
assessed on any tax not paid by the regular 
due date. The penalty is 6 percent of the 
unpaid tax.

If you file your return after the regular due 
date with a balance due, an additional 5 per-
cent penalty will be assessed on the unpaid 
tax. 

Late Filing. There is also a penalty if you 
file after the extended due date and owe tax. 
The late filing penalty is 5 percent of any 
tax not paid by the regular due date.

Interest. You must also pay interest on the 
penalty and tax you are sending in late. The 
interest rate for 2018 is 4 percent.

Other Penalties. There are also civil and 
criminal penalties for intentionally failing 
to file a Minnesota return, evading tax and 
for filing a frivolous, false or fraudulent 
return.

Filing Reminders
Accounting Period
You must use the same accounting period 
for Minnesota as you use for your federal 
return. If you change your federal account-
ing period, attach a copy of federal Form 
1128, Application to Adopt, Change or 
Retain a Tax Year, to your short-period Min-

Continued

Payment Options
If you’re required to pay any Minnesota business tax electronically, you must pay all taxes 
electronically. A 5% penalty will be assessed if you fail to do so when required.

	 Pay Electronically
Go to www.revenue.state.mn.us and log in. To be timely, you must complete your transac-
tion and receive a confirmation number on or before the due date for that payment. You 
can cancel a payment up to one business day before the scheduled date, if needed. When 
paying electronically, you cannot use a foreign bank.

If you’re using the system for the first time and need a temporary password, call  
651-282-5225 or 1-800-657-3605.

	 Pay by Credit or Debit Card
Go to www.revenue.state.mn.us, and select Make a Payment. Select Credit or Debit Card. 
Your payment will be processed by a third-party vendor. The vendor charges a fee for the 
service.

	 Pay by Check
Go to www.revenue.state.mn.us and select Make a Payment. Select Check. Use the  
Payment Voucher System to create a voucher. 

Your check authorizes us to make a one-time electronic fund transfer from your account. You 
will not receive your canceled check. 
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nesota return. 

Composite Income Tax
A partnership may pay composite Minne-
sota income tax on behalf of its nonresident 
individual partners or grantor trusts who 
elect to be included in lieu of each partner 
filing his or her own Minnesota return. The 
electing individuals must not have any Min-
nesota source income other than the income 
from this partnership and other entities 
electing composite filing.

Partners who receive a share of gross profit 
or income from an installment sale reported 
on line 7a or 7b of form KPI are not eligible 
to elect the partnership to pay composite 
income tax on their behalf. 

If you are paying composite income tax for 
your electing partners, check the box for 
composite income tax on the front of Form 
M3 and see the line 2 instructions on page 4.

Nonresidents included in composite income 
tax are not subject to the nonresident with-
holding requirements (see the next section).

Nonresident Withholding
Partnerships are required to withhold and 
remit Minnesota income tax for a nonresi-
dent individual partner if the partner:
•	 has a legal residence that is not Minne-

sota;
•	 is not included in composite income tax;
•	 has Minnesota distributive income of 

$1,000 or more from this partnership; and
•	 has income that was not generated by a 

transaction related to the termination or 
liquidation of the partnership in which 
no cash or property was distributed in the 
current or prior taxable year.

Also, income recognized because of dis-
charge of indebtedness or from the gain on 
the sale of property subject to a mortgage 
is excluded from withholding to the extent 
that no cash is received or the cash is re-
quired to pay the indebtedness or mortgage.

If you’re required to pay nonresident with-
holding, see the line 3 instructions on page 
4.

Note: Nonresident individual partners 
include grantor trusts that file or can file 
under IRC section 1.671-4(b) and single-
member LLCs when the single member is 
an individual.

Exempt Partnerships: If the partnership’s 
ownership interests are traded on a public 

exchange, the partnership is not required to 
withhold and remit Minnesota taxes for its 
nonresident partners.

Nonresident Entertainers: Compensa-
tion paid to a nonresident entertainment 
entity for performances in Minnesota is not 
subject to Minnesota income tax. Instead, 
the compensation is subject to a 2 percent 
withholding tax on the gross compensation 
the entertainment entity receives for perfor-
mances in Minnesota. 

A partnership is an entertainment entity if 
it is paid compensation for entertainment 
provided by entertainers who are partners. 
An entertainer includes, for example, a mu-
sician, singer, dancer, comedian, thespian, 
athlete or public speaker. If you are defined 
by law as an entertainment entity, file 
Form ETR, Nonresident Entertainer Tax 
Return, by April 15 of the following year 
the income was reported. For additional 
information, see Withholding Fact Sheet 11, 
Nonresident Entertainer Tax.

If you are an entertainment entity that 
received compensation for performances in 
Minnesota and have no other type of Min-
nesota income, you are not required to file 
Form M3. 

Use of Information
All information on this form is private, 
except for your Minnesota tax ID number, 
which is public. Private information cannot 
be given to others except as provided by 
state law. 

The identity and income information of the 
partners are required under state law so the 
department can determine the partner’s cor-
rect Minnesota taxable income and verify 
if the partner has filed a return and paid the 
tax. The Social Security numbers of the 
individual partners are required under M.S. 
289A.12, subd. 13.

Assembling Paper Tax Forms
Arrange your Minnesota schedules in the 
order they were completed and place them 
behind your Form M3. Then place your 
federal return and its schedules behind the 
Minnesota material. Do not staple or tape 
any enclosures to your return.

Where to File Paper Returns
Mail Form M3 and all completed Minne-
sota and federal forms and schedules using 
a mailing label (see page 12). 

If you choose not to use the label, mail your 
forms to: Minnesota Partnership Tax, Mail 

Station 1760, St. Paul, MN 55145-1760.

Partnerships with more than 200 partners 
are asked to submit federal K–1 schedules 
and Minnesota KPI and KPC schedules (if 
applicable) on CDs. The department will 
continue to accept the filing of paper copies 
if this is not possible.

Reporting Federal Changes
If the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) 
changes or audits your federal return or you 
amend your federal return, you must amend 
your Minnesota return. File your Form M3X 
within 180 days after you were notified 
by the IRS or after you filed your federal 
amended return. Enclose a copy of the IRS 
report or your amended federal return with 
your amended Minnesota return.

If you fail to report as required, a 10 percent 
penalty will be assessed on any additional tax.

If you are amending solely due to the  
January 2023 Minnesota tax bill, write  
“Conformity” in red at the top of the Min-
nesota Form M3X. For more details, see 
page 14.

If you are amending your return to reduce 
your federal Section 179 addition as a result 
of Minnesota law 2020 5th Sp. Sess. Chap.3, 
write “Like-Kind Exchange” at the top 
of your Form M3X. Identify the property 
relinquished and received in the qualifying 
transactions, and the dates of disposition and 
receipt in the Explanation of Change on page 
2 of Form M3X.

Before you complete Form M3, you must 
complete the following; you will need to 
reference them:
•	 Federal Form 1065—or Form 1065-B if 

you are a large partnership—and sup-
porting schedules;

•	 Schedule KPI for each nonresident part-
ner and to any Minnesota partner who 
has adjustments to income (see page 8); 
and

•	 Schedule KPC for each corporate or 
partnership partner (see page 11).

General Information (continued)

Continued
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Completing Form M3
Check Boxes
Initial Return. If this is the partnership’s 
first return filed in Minnesota, check the 
box on the front of the form. 

Composite Income Tax. If you are pay-
ing composite income tax for your elect-
ing partners, check the box for composite 
income tax on the front of Form M3 and see 
the instructions for line 2.

Farm Partnerships. If more than 80 percent 
of your income is from farming, you are not 
required to pay a minimum fee. Check the 
box on the front of Form M3. 

Limited Liability Company (LLC). A limited 
liability company that is considered to be a 
partnership for federal income tax purposes 
is considered a partnership for Minnesota 
purposes, and the members are considered 
to be partners. If you are a limited liability 
company and are filing a partnership return, 
check the LLC box on the front of Form M3.

Out of Business (final return). If the 
partnership is out of business and/or is not 
required to file Form M3 in future years, 
check the “Out of Business” box on the 
front of the form.

Installment Sale of Pass-through Assets or 
Interests. Check the “Installment Sale of 
Pass-through Assets or Interests” box if the 
partnership:
1)	 executed an installment sale, after 
December 31, 2016, of partnership interests 
being reported on Form 6252; or
2)	 executed an installment sale, after De-
cember 31, 2016, of the assets of a partner-
ship and is reporting the sale on form 6252; 
or
3)	 owns an interest in a partnership, or trust 
reporting installment sale gains on line 7 of 
Schedule KPI, or KF, or line 10 of Schedule 
KPC.

If you are required to check the Installment 
Sale of Pass-through Assets or Interests, 
also complete line 7 of all applicable 
Schedules KPI, and line 10 of all applicable 
Schedules KPC to report installment sale 
information to your partners. 

If you checked the “technical termination” 
box on your federal Form 1065, you must 
attach a copy of your federal return to your 
Form M3.

Line Instructions
Round amounts to whole dollars. Decrease 
amounts less than 50 cents and increase 
amounts 50 cents or more to the next higher 
dollar.

Partnership Partners: When completing 
Form M3 and Schedules KPI and KPC, be 
sure to include any amounts reported on the 
Schedule KPC you received as a partner of 
a partnership (include Schedule KPC with 
your return).

Line 1—Minimum Fee
Complete M3A of Form M3 to determine 
the minimum fee to enter on line 1. See the 
M3A instructions beginning on page 6.

You are exempt from the minimum fee if:
•	 more than 80 percent of your income is 

from farming

Line 2—Composite Income Tax
To determine line 2, you must first figure 
the amount of composite tax attributed to 
each electing partner. See the partnership 
instructions for lines 34 and 35 of Schedule 
KPI on page 10.

Add the composite income tax attributed 
to all electing partners (the total of lines 35 
from all KPI schedules), and enter the result 
on line 2 of Form M3.

Line 3—Nonresident Withholding
To determine line 3, you must first figure 
the amount to withhold for each nonresi-
dent individual partner. See the partnership 
instructions for line 36 of Schedule KPI on 
page 10.

Add the withholding required for all non-
resident partners (the total of lines 36 from 
all KPI schedules), and enter the result on 
line 3 of Form M3.

If you received a signed and dated Form 
AWC, Alternative Withholding Certificate, 
from one or more partners, check the box 
provided on line 3 of Form M3. You must 
include the certificate(s) when you file your 
return.

Line 5—Employer Transit Pass Credit
If you provided transit passes at a reduced 
cost to your employees for use in Minne-
sota, complete and enclose Schedule ETP, 
Employer Transit Pass Credit, to determine 
your credit. 

Enter the amount of the credit that is being 
claimed directly by the partnership and not 
passed through to the partners. Line 5 can-
not exceed the minimum fee on line 1. 

Line 7—Enterprise Zone Credit
If your business has been certified and ap-
proved by the Department of Employment 
and Economic Development (DEED) as 
employment property in an enterprise zone, 
enter the credit that is being claimed directly 
by the partnership and not passed through to 
the partners.

For details about the zones, go to the DEED 
website at www.positivelyminnesota.com.

Line 8—Estimated Tax and Extension 
Payments
Enter your total prepayments, including:
•	 your total 2017 estimated tax payments 

made in 2017 and 2018, paid either elec-
tronically or by check;

•	 any 2017 extension payment, paid elec-
tronically or by check, that was made by 
the due date when filing under an exten-
sion; or

•	 the portion of your 2016 refund applied 
to your 2017 estimated tax.

Line 11—Penalty
Penalties are collected as part of the tax 
and are in addition to any additional charge 
for underpaying estimated tax. If you are 
paying your tax after the regular due date, 
include the appropriate penalties on line 11.

Late Payment. If the tax is not paid by 
the regular due date, a penalty is due of 6 
percent of the unpaid tax on line 10.

Late Filing. If you are filing your return 
after the extended due date and owe tax, 
you must pay a late filing penalty. The late 
filing penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid tax 
on line 10.

Balance Not Paid. If you file your return af-
ter the regular due date and have a balance 
due, an additional penalty is assessed. The 
additional penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid 
tax on line 10.

Payment Method. If you are required to 
pay electronically and do not, an additional 
5 percent penalty applies to payments not 
made electronically, even if your paper 
check is sent on time.

Line 12—Interest
You must pay interest on the unpaid tax and 
penalty from the regular due date until the 
total is paid. The interest rate for calendar 
year 2018 is 4 percent.

To figure how much interest you owe, use 
the following formula with the appropriate 
interest rate:
Interest = 
(tax + penalty) x # of days late x interest rate ÷ 365

Line 13—Additional Charge for 
Underpayment of Estimated Tax
If you did not pay the correct amount of es-
timated tax by the due dates, you may have 
to pay an additional charge for underpaying 
or not paying estimated tax. 
You may also owe an additional charge if 

Continued
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the sum of line 1 (less any credits on lines 
7 through 8), composite income tax on line 
2 or nonresident withholding on line 3, is 
more than $1000.
Complete Schedule EST, Underpayment 
of Estimated Income Tax, to determine the 
additional charge for underpaying estimated 
tax. 

Enter the total charge, if any, on line 13. 
Enclose the schedule with your return.

Line 14—Amount Due
Add lines 10 through 13. This is the amount 
you owe. Be sure to check the appropriate 
box on line 14 to indicate your method of 
payment. See Payment options on page 2.

Line 15—Overpayment
If line 9 is less than the sum of lines 6 and 
13, subtract line 9 from the sum of lines 6 
and 13. Enter the result on line 14 and enter 
zero on line 15.

If you have an overpayment on line 15, you 
may choose to have it direct deposited into 
your bank account. You may also choose to 
apply all or a portion of your overpayment 
toward your 2018 estimated tax account.

Line 16—2018 Estimated Tax
Skip this line if you owe additional tax.

If you are paying 2018 estimated tax, you 
may apply all or a portion of your refund to 
your 2018 estimated tax. Enter the portion 
of line 16 you want to apply toward your 
2018 estimated tax on line 16.

Line 17—Refund
If you want to request your refund to be 
direct deposited into your bank account, 
complete line 18. Your bank statement will 
indicate when your refund was deposited to 
your account. Otherwise, skip line 18 and 
your refund will be sent to you in the mail. 

M3 (continued)
Line 18—Direct Deposit of Refund
If you want your refund to be directly 
deposited into your checking or savings 
account, enter the routing and account 
numbers. You must use an account not asso-
ciated with any foreign banks.

The routing number must have nine digits.

The account number may contain up to 17 
digits (both numbers and letters). Enter the 
number and leave out any hyphens, spaces 
and symbols.

If the routing or account number is incor-
rect or is not accepted by your financial 
institution, your refund will be sent to you 
in the form of a paper check.

By completing line 18, you are authorizing 
the department and your financial institu-
tion to initiate electronic credit entries, and 
if necessary, debit entries and adjustments 
for any credits made in error.

Signature
The return must be signed by a general 
partner of the firm. 

If you paid someone to prepare your return, 
the preparer must also sign. The preparer’s 
ID number and phone number should also 
be included. 

You may check the box in the signature 
area to give us your permission to discuss 
your return with the paid preparer. This au-
thorization remains in effect until you notify 
the department in writing (either by mail or 
fax) that the authorization is revoked. 

Checking the box does not give your 
preparer the authority to sign any tax docu-
ments on your behalf or to represent you at 
any audit or appeals conference. For these 
types of authorities, you must file a power 
of attorney or Form REV184 with the 
department.

Email Address
If the department has questions regarding 
your return and you want to receive corre-
spondence electronically, indicate the email 
address below your signature. Check a box 
to indicate if the email address belongs to 
an employee of the partnership, the paid 
preparer or other contact person.

By providing an email address, you are 
authorizing the department to correspond 
with you or the designated person over the 
Internet and you understand that the entity’s 
nonpublic tax data may be transmitted over 
the Internet. 

You also accept the risk that the data may 
be accessed by someone other than the 
intended recipient. The department is not 
liable for any damages that the entity may 
incur as a result of an interception.

You can find your bank’s routing number and  
account number on the bottom of your check.
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Completing M3A 
Complete M3A to determine your Minne-
sota source income and minimum fee.

Apportionment Factor 
Minnesota completed the transition to 100% 
sales apportioned state in 2014.   

Under Minnesota Statute, the minimum 
fee still takes into account your Minnesota 
portioned property, payroll, and sales.

Petitioning to Use Another 
Method of Allocation
State law (M.S. 290.20, subd. 1a and Min-
nesota Rules 8020.0100, subp. 3) allows 
entities to request permission from the 
department to allocate all, or any part of, 
taxable net income in a manner other than 
the statutory single sales factor apportion-
ment formula.

To request permission, complete Form ALT, 
Petition to Use Alternative Method of Al-
location (see Revenue Notice 04-07).

Permission will be granted only if you can 
show that the sales-factor formula does not 
properly and fairly reflect your Minnesota 
income, and that the alternative formula you 
have chosen does.

Property Factor
If you are not required to complete federal 
Schedule L (Form 1065), you may want 
to do so to determine the property factor. 
Enclose the completed federal Schedule L 
(Form 1065) or a copy of the partnership’s 
balance sheet with your Form M3.

The property factor consists of tangible 
property which includes land, buildings, 
machinery, equipment, inventories and other 
tangible personal property valued at original 
cost.

Original cost is your cost or original basis 
when you acquired the property. Deprecia-
tion and fair market value are not consid-
ered. 

M3A, lines 1a–1c
Line 1a. Add the beginning and the ending 
year inventories, divide by 2 and enter the 
result on line 1a. This is your average value 
of inventory.

Line 1b. Add the beginning and ending year 
values of the buildings, machinery, equip-
ment and other tangible property and divide 
by 2. Enter the result on line 1b.

Line 1c. Add the land’s beginning and end-
ing year values and divide by 2. Enter the 
result on line 1c.

M3A, line 2
Capitalized rents are rents paid by you for 
land, buildings, equipment, etc., during the 
tax year. 

Multiply the rents you paid for property 
located or used in Minnesota by 8 and 
enter the result in column A. The rents you 
receive are included in the sales factor.

Payroll Factor
M3A, line 4
In column A, enter your total payroll paid 
(including guaranteed payments to partners 
for services) or incurred in Minnesota, or 
paid for labor performed in Minnesota in 
connection with the trade or business dur-
ing the tax year.

Sales Factor
M3A, line 5
In column A, enter the amount of sales in 
Minnesota. In column B, enter total sales. 
Divide column A by column B and carry 
the result to five decimal places. Enter the 
result in column C. This is your sales factor.

The sales factor includes all sales, rents, 
gross earnings or receipts received in the 
ordinary course of your business, except:
•	 interest;
•	 dividends;
•	 sales of capital assets under IRC section 

1221;
•	 sales of property used in the trade or 

business, except sales of leased property 
that is regularly sold as well as leased; 
and

•	 sales of stock or sales of debt instruments 
under IRC section 1275(a)(1). 

Determining Minnesota 
Sales
Real Property
Sales, rents, royalties and other income 
from real property are attributed to the state 
in which the property is located.

Tangible Personal Property
Sales of tangible personal property are 
attributed to Minnesota if the property is 
received by the purchaser within Minne-
sota and the taxpayer is taxed in this state, 
regardless of the f.o.b. point, other condi-
tions of the sale, or the ultimate destination 
of the property.

Tangible personal property delivered to 
a common or contract carrier or foreign 
vessel for delivery to a purchaser in another 
state or nation is a sale in that state or 

nation, regardless of f.o.b. point or other 
conditions of the sale. 

Property is received by a purchaser in 
Minnesota if the recipient is located in this 
state, even if the property is ordered from 
outside Minnesota.

Sales of tobacco products, beer, wine and 
other alcoholic beverages to someone 
licensed to resell the products only within 
the state of ultimate destination is a sale in 
the destination state.

Receipts from leasing or renting tangible 
personal property, including finance leas-
es and true leases, are attributed to the state 
in which the property is located. Receipts 
from the lease or rental of moving property 
are attributed to Minnesota to the extent the 
moving property is used in Minnesota. 

The extent of use is determined as follows:

•	 A motor vehicle is used wholly in the 
state in which it is registered.

•	 Receipts from rolling stock are assigned 
to Minnesota in the ratio of miles trav-
eled in Minnesota to total miles traveled.

•	 Receipts from aircraft are assigned to 
Minnesota in the ratio of landings in 
Minnesota to total landings.

•	 Receipts from vessels, mobile equipment 
and other mobile property are assigned 
to Minnesota in the ratio of days the 
property is in Minnesota to the total days 
of the tax year.

Intangible Property
Sales of intangible property are attributed 
to the state in which the property is used by 
the purchaser.

Royalties, fees and similar income not 
qualifying for the foreign royalty subtrac-
tion, received for the use of or the privilege 
of using intangible property (such as pat-
ents, copyrights, trade names, franchises or 
similar items) are attributed to the state in 
which the property is used by the purchaser.

Intangible property is attributed to Minne-
sota if the purchaser uses the property, or 
rights in the property, to conduct business 
within this state, regardless of the location 
of the purchaser’s customers.

If the property is used in more than one 
state, then the sales or royalties must be 
apportioned to Minnesota pro rata based on 
the portion of use within this state. If you 
cannot determine the portion of use in Min-
nesota, then exclude the sales or royalties 
from both the numerator and the denomina-
tor of the sales factor.
Continued
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Personal Services
Receipts from the performance of personal 
services are attributed to the state in which 
the services are received. 

Receipts from services provided to a cor-
poration, partnership or trust may only be 
attributed to a state in which it has a fixed 
place of doing business. 

If you can’t determine where the service 
was received, or if it was received in a state 
where the corporation, partnership or trust 
doesn’t have a fixed place of business, use 
the location of the office of the customer 
from which the service was ordered. 

If you can’t determine the ordering office, 
use the office location to which the service 
was billed.

M3A, lines 6–9—Minimum Fee
Partnerships are subject to the minimum fee 
if the sum of its Minnesota source prop-
erty, payroll and sales or receipts is at least 
$970,000.

However, you are exempt from the mini-
mum fee if:

•	 more than 80 percent of your income is 
from farming

If you are exempt from the minimum fee, 
enter zero on line 9 of M3A and on line 
1 of Form M3. Also, be sure to check the 
appropriate box in the heading at the top 
of your return to indicate you are a farm 
partnership.

M3A, line 7—Adjustments
The minimum fee is determined by your 
total Minnesota property, payroll and sales. 

In some cases the property, payroll and 
sales used for computing the minimum 
fee will be different than those used for 
apportionment. The following adjustments 
should be made to your Minnesota factors 
on line 7.

Add: All tangible property owned or rented 
that is not included on line 3 of M3A. Some 
examples include construction in progress, 
idle property, any nonbusiness property or 
rent expense. The amounts should be deter-
mined in the same manner as the amounts 
on lines 1 and 2. 

Subtract: 

•	 Any amounts included on lines 3, 4 or 5 
that represent your share of the factors 
passed through from other partnerships. 

M3A (continued)

•	 If the tax year is a short tax year, subtract 
the amount of the average value of tan-
gible property that is excluded because of 
prorating for a short tax year. The amount 
excluded for a short tax year is deter-
mined by multiplying M3A, column A, 
line 1 by a fraction: the numerator is 365 
minus the number of days in the tax year; 
the denominator is 365.

Enclose a schedule showing the computa-
tion and pass-through information of any 
adjustments listed on M3A, line 7.
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from your federal Form 4562 and the fol-
lowing modifications:

•	 Subtract $485,000 from line 1 of your 
federal Form 4562, and enter the result 
on line 1 of your Minnesota Form 4562.

•	 Enter line 2 of federal Form 4562 on line 
2 of your Minnesota Form 4562.

•	 Subtract $1,830,000 from line 3 of your 
federal Form 4562, and enter the result 
on line 3 of your Minnesota Form 4562.

•	 Enter the information from lines 6 and 7 
of federal Form 4562 on lines 6 and 7 of 
your Minnesota Form 4562. However, if 
you have section 179 expensing from a 
flow through entity, use the amount from 
line 7 of Schedule KPC instead of the 
amount from line 12 of federal Schedule 
K-1.

•	 Enter line 10 of federal Form 4562 on 
line 10 of your Minnesota Form 4562.

•	 Recalculate lines 4, 5, 8, 9, 11 and 12 of 
your Minnesota Form 4562. The result on 
line 12 of Minnesota Form 4562 cannot 
be more than line 1 of that form.

Enter the partner’s distributive share of the 
amount on line 12 of the Minnesota Form 
4562 on line 4 of Schedule KPI.

Do not include property received as part 
of an exchange that would have qualified 
under Section 1031 of the Internal Revenue 
Code as amended through December 16, 
2016 but not as amended through Decem-
ber 31, 2018.

KPI, line 5
If you chose on your federal return the 
special depreciation allowance for certain 
qualified property, your partners must add 
back 80 percent of the bonus depreciation 
to Minnesota.

Follow the steps below to determine the 
partner’s share to enter on line 5:

1	 Enter line 14 and line 25 of  
	 your federal Form 4562 .  . . . .      
2	 Total of any bonus depreciation 
	 amounts passed through to the 
	 partnership as a partner of another 
	 partnership (from line 8 of  
	 Schedule KPC)  . . . . . . . . . . . . .           
3	 Add steps 1 and 2  . . . . . . . . . .            
4	 Multiply step 3 by the partner’s per- 
	 centage of ownership interest  .   

Enter the result from step 4 on line 5 of the 
partner’s Schedule KPI. 

Complete and provide Schedule KPI to 
each nonresident individual, estate or 
trust partner and any Minnesota indi-
vidual, estate or trust partner who has 
adjustments to income.
Enter the information associated with this 
partnership and partner. If the partner is a 
one-member LLC, a grantor or substantial 
owner of a grantor trust, also enter the 
federal ID or Social Security number of the 
partner who is ultimately taxed for Min-
nesota purposes.

Purpose
A partnership must provide each nonresi-
dent partner and any Minnesota partner 
with enough information regarding adjust-
ments to income in order for the partner to 
complete a Minnesota income tax return 
and determine their correct Minnesota tax.

Use Schedule KPI to provide the necessary 
information to the partner. The schedule 
shows each partner their specific share of 
the partnership’s income, credits and modi-
fications. Be sure to provide the partner a 
copy of both the front and back of the com-
pleted Schedule KPI and the instructions.

If there are no modifications or credits, and 
there are no nonresident partners, you do 
not have to provide Schedule KPI.

Enclose copies of the Schedules KPI and 
attachments issued to partners with your 
Form M3. Also enclose copies of your 
federal Schedules K and K-1.

If you are required to amend your federal 
partnership return or you have been audited 
by the IRS, you must file an amended Min-
nesota return using Form M3X, Amended 
Partnership Return, and Schedules KPI and 
KPC, if appropriate, even if the partnership 
originally filed federal Form 1065‑B.

Partner Ultimately Taxed
Enter the identifying number of the partner 
ultimately taxed. For example, if the partner 
is a trust and has one beneficiary, enter the 
beneficiary’s Social Security number.

A $50 penalty will be assessed for each 
incorrect tax ID number used for a partner 
after being notified by the department that 
the number is incorrect. 

Line Instructions
Calculate lines 1–19 the same for all resi-
dent and nonresident partners. Calculate 
lines 20–36 for nonresident partners only.

Completing Schedule KPI
Partnership Partners: When complet-
ing Schedules KPI, be sure to include any 
amounts reported on the Schedule KPC 
you received as a partner of a partnership 
(include Schedule KPC with your return).

KPI, line 1
Determine the interest the partnership 
received from non-Minnesota state and 
municipal bonds. Include the Minnesota 
portion of exempt-interest dividends if 
less than 95 percent of the exempt-interest 
dividends are from Minnesota state and mu-
nicipal bonds. Enter the partner’s distribu-
tive share of this amount on line 1.

KPI, line 2
Determine the state income taxes deducted 
in arriving at ordinary income or net rental 
income of the partnership. Do not include 
the minimum fee in this amount. Enter the 
partner’s distributive share of this amount 
on line 2.

KPI, line 3
Expenses or interest deducted on your fed-
eral return that relate to income not taxed 
by Minnesota must be added back to the 
partners’ Minnesota income. 

Enter the partner’s share of any federal 
deductions that are attributable to income 
not taxed by Minnesota, other than U.S. 
government bond interest or other federal 
obligations.

If you had expenses attributable to interest 
or mutual fund dividends from U.S. bonds, 
see line 9 of Schedule KPI. Do not include 
these expenses on line 3.

KPI, line 4
If, during the year, your total investment 
in qualifying property was more than 
$200,000 or if you elected more than 
$25,000 in section 179 expensing, your 
partners must add back to Minnesota 80 
percent of the difference between the ex-
pensing allowed for federal and for state tax 
purposes. Your partners will be allowed to 
subtract their share of the addition in equal 
parts over the next five years when they file 
their state tax returns.

If you completed federal Form 4562 to 
claim the section 179 expensing for federal 
tax purposes, you must also complete lines 
1 through 12 on a separate federal Form 
4562 (referred to as your Minnesota Form 
4562 below), to determine the amount to 
add back for Minnesota purposes. 

Recalculate line 12 of your Minnesota 
Form 4562 using the same information 

Continued
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KPI (continued)
If installment sale information is reported 
to this entity on informational schedules 
from other entities, the amount reported to 
the partners should equal the total amount 
reported to this entity on all Schedules KF, 
KS, and KPC. 

If the partnership receives installment pay-
ments from multiple sales executed after 
December 31, 2016, attach a schedule to 
Form M3 detailing the different sales and 
distributive allocations.

KPI, line 8a
This instruction no longer applies.

KPI, line 8b
Enter the amount of the addition to federal 
taxable income that is required when you 
recompute your federal taxable income 
without regard to the provisions included in 
the TCDTR, FFCRA, and CARES Act (see 
the Federal Adjustments for Businesses on 
page 14).

KPI, line 9
Interest earned on certain direct federal 
obligations is taxable on the federal return, 
but is not taxable on the state return.

Determine the net interest you received 
from primary obligations issued by the 
U.S. government, such as savings bonds 
and treasury notes, that are held directly by 
the partnership. Do not include obligations 
where the U.S. government is only a guar-
antor. Be sure to subtract any investment 
interest and other expenses you deducted on 
the federal return that relate to this income. 

Enter the partner’s distributive share of this 
amount on line 9.

KPI, line 10a
Minnesota law allows a subtraction from 
federal taxable income for deferred foreign 
income (DFI) reported on your federal 
return. If you reported DFI, enter the share-
holder’s pro rata share of the net amount 
(2017 IRC section 965(a) inclusion amount 
reduced by 2017 IRC section 965(c) par-
ticipation exemption amount allowed) as a 
subtraction on line 10a. Enter code 00 in the 
box provided.

KPI, line 10b
Enter the amount of the subtraction from 
federal taxable income that is required when 
you recompute your federal taxable income 
without regard to the provisions included in 
the TCDTR, FFCRA, and CARES Act (see 
the Federal Adjustments for Businesses on 
page 14).

Federal bonus depreciation subtrac-
tion. For five years following the addback 
year, your partners may be able to subtract 
one-fifth of the addback on their Minnesota 
income tax return. See the instructions for 
Form M1 or Form M2 for details.

KPI, line 6
Enter the partner’s distributive share of any 
fines, fees and penalties that were deducted 
as business expenses paid to a government 
entity or nongovernment regulatory body as 
a result of a violation of law, or the inves-
tigation of any potential violation of law. 
This does not include amounts identified 
in a court order or settlement agreement as 
restitution or as an amount paid to come 
into compliance with the law.

KPI, line 7a
Enter each resident and nonresident individ-
ual partner’s share of the gross profit from 
any installment sale of s corporation stock 
or assets, partnership interests or assets 
executed after December 31, 2016. 

If the sale was completed by the partnership 
completing this schedule, the total gross 
profit to be allocated among the partners 
is reported on federal Form 6252, line 
16. If the sale was executed by an entity 
owned by this entity, or another entity in a 
multi-tiered structure, this information is 
reported on Schedule KF, or KS on line 7a, 
or Schedule KPC line 10a. 

If installment sale information is reported 
to this entity on informational schedules 
from other entities, the amount reported to 
the partners should equal the total amount 
reported to this entity on all Schedules KF, 
KS, and KPC. 

If the partnership receives installment pay-
ments from multiple sales executed after 
December 31, 2016, attach a schedule to 
Form M3 detailing the different sales and 
distributive allocations.

KPI, line 7b
Enter each resident and nonresident indi-
vidual partner’s share of installment sale 
income the sale of s corporation stock, 
partnership interests, and any installment 
sale income from the sale of the assets of 
any s corporation or partnership. If the sale 
was completed by the partnership com-
pleting this schedule, the total installment 
sale income to be allocated to the partners 
is reported on Form 6252, line 24. If the 
sale was executed by an entity owned by 
this entity, or another entity in multi-tiered 
structure, this information is reported on 
Schedule KF, or KS on line 7b, or Schedule 
KPC line 10b. 

KPI, line 11
Enter the partner’s distributive share of the 
2017 credit for increasing research activities. 
If the business qualifies, the credit cannot be 
claimed by the partnership and the full credit 
must be passed through to the partners. 

KPI, line 12
If you operate a business in greater Min-
nesota and you hired a qualified student for 
an internship, you may be eligible for a tax 
credit.  

For each intern hired through the Greater 
Minnesota Internship Program make the 
following calculations:

1	 Wages paid to the intern  
during the tax year	 1__________

2	 Multiply line 1 by 0.4	 2__________

3	 Enter the amount on  
line 2 or $2,000,  
whichever is less	 3__________

Add the amount for all interns. Pass the 
amount of credit through to each partner 
based on their pro rata share of the entity’s 
income for the taxable year. Include a copy 
of the 2017 Internship Provider/Employer 
agreement you are required to file with the 
Minnesota Office of Higher Education with 
your return.  

The Office of Higher Education (OHE) and 
eligible institutions certify eligible em-
ployers and determine the total credit each 
eligible employer may receive. For more in-
formation visit the OHE website: www.ohe.
state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=2099.

KPI, line 13
Enter the partner’s distributive share, if 
any, of the Historic Structure Rehabilita-
tion Credit based on the partner’s share of 
the partnership’s assets, or as specifically 
allocated in the partnership’s organizational 
documents, as of the last day of the taxable 
year.

You must also include the NPS project 
number, which is provided on the credit 
certificate you received from the State His-
toric Preservation Office of the Minnesota 
Historical Society when the project was 
completed and placed into service.

KPI, line 14
Enter the partner’s share, if any, of the 
Employer Transit Pass Credit that is passed 
through to the partners.

KPI, line 15
Enter the partner’s share, if any, of the En-
terprise Zone Credit that is passed through 
to the partners.
Continued

http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=2099.
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KPI, line 16
If, for regular tax purposes, you elected 
the optional 60-month write-off under 
IRC section 59(e) for all property in this 
category, skip lines 16–19. No adjustments 
are necessary.

Intangible drilling costs (IDCs) from oil, 
gas and geothermal wells are a tax prefer-
ence item to the extent that the excess IDCs 
exceed 65 percent of the net income from 
the wells. The tax preference item is com-
puted separately for oil and gas properties 
and for geothermal properties. 

Enter the partner’s distributive share of 
the following: IDCs allowed for regular 
tax purposes under section 263(c), (but not 
including any section 263(c) deduction 
for nonproductive wells) less the amount 
that would be allowed had the IDCs been 
amortized over a 120-month period start-
ing with the month the well was placed in 
production.

KPI, line 17
Gross income from oil, gas and geothermal 
properties are used in determining if the 
excess IDCs exceed 65 percent of the net 
income from the wells. 

Enter the partner’s distributive share of the 
aggregate amount of gross income [within 
the meaning of section 613(a)] from all 
oil, gas and geothermal properties that was 
received or accrued during the tax year.

KPI, line 18
Deductions allocable to oil, gas and geo-
thermal properties are used in determining 
if the excess IDCs exceed 65 percent of the 
net income from the wells. 

Enter the partner’s distributive share of any 
deductions allocable to oil, gas and geother-
mal properties. Do not include deductions 
for nonproductive wells.

KPI, line 19
In the case of oil wells and other wells 
of nonintegrated oil companies, enter the 
partner’s distributive share of the amount 
by which the depletion deduction exceeds 
the adjusted basis of the property at the end 
of the tax year. 

In computing the year-end adjusted basis, 
use the rules of section 1016. However, do 
not reduce the adjusted basis by the current 
year’s depletion. Figure the excess amount 
separately for each property. If the deple-
tion deduction for any property does not 

exceed the adjusted basis at year-end, do 
not include a tax preference amount for that 
property.

Nonresident Individual, 
Estate or Trust Partners — 
Lines 20-36
KPI, line 20
The Minnesota source gross income is used 
to determine whether a nonresident partner 
is required to file a Minnesota income tax 
return or has the option to elect composite 
income tax.

Enter the partner’s distributive share of 
the partnership’s Minnesota source gross in-
come. The Minnesota source gross income 
is the total of the amounts apportioned to 
Minnesota that are included on lines 3, 6, 
and 7 (other than losses) of federal Form 
1065; lines 18a and 19 and 20 (other than 
losses) of Form 8825; line 9 of Schedule 
F (1040); line 3a, 5, 6a, 7, 8, 9a, 10 and 11 
of Schedule K (1065, not reported else-
where) plus Minnesota source gross income 
amounts from all partnerships, estates, and 
trusts in which the partnership is a partner 
or beneficiary.

KPI, lines 21-32
From the nonresident partner’s federal 
Schedule K-1 (1065), enter the Minnesota 
portion of amounts on lines 21 through 32. 

On line 31, include the Minnesota portion 
of any items from the Schedule K-1 that 
are not specifically labeled on lines 21-30 
and 32. 

Line 32 refers to the Minnesota apportioned 
amount of federal section 179 expense, not 
the amount calculated on line 4 of Schedule 
KPI for the Minnesota addition.

All income of a Minnesota individual 
resident is taxed by Minnesota, regardless 
of the source.

KPI, line 24
Guaranteed payments to partners (Includ-
ing for services and use of capital) make 
up a portion of the partner’s distributive 
share of partnership income. Accordingly, 
to determine the Minnesota portion of each 
partner’s share of guaranteed payments, 
multiply the amount reported to the partner 
on Schedule K-1, line 4, to Minnesota using 
the same apportionment percentage or as-
signment ratio used to allocate the income 
from which the guaranteed payment was 
deducted federally.

Nonresident Individual Part-
ners Only
KPI, line 34
When determining the partner’s share of the 
partnership’s Minnesota source distributive 
income, you must make adjustments for any 
items you passed through to the partner on 
lines 1 through 9 of the partner’s Schedule 
KPI.

Follow the steps below to determine line 
34:

1	 The difference between the  
partner’s federal section 179 
deduction from box 12 of  
federal Schedule K-1 (1065)  
and line 4 of the partner’s  
Schedule KPI  . . . . . . . . . . . .             

2	 Federal bonus depreciation  
amount from line 5 of the 
partner’s Schedule KPI  . . . . .      

3	 Add step 1 and step 2  . . . . . .       
4	 Multiply step 3 by 80% (.80)   
5 	 Enter the total amount from  

line 8 of Schedule KPI . . . . . .       
6 	 Combine steps 4 and 5 . . . . . .       
7	 Multiply step 6 by  

apportionment factor  
from line 33 of partner’s  
Schedule KPI  . . . . . . . . . . . .              

8	 Combine lines 21-31 of the  
partner’s Schedule KPI  . . . . .      

9	 Add steps 7 and 8.  . . . . . . . . .          
10	To the extent allowed by law,  

enter one-fifth of the partner’s  
share of the federal bonus  
depreciation that was added  
back in a year the partner elected  
to be included in composite  
income tax  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                

11	To the extent allowed by law,  
enter one-fifth of the partner’s  
share of the section 179 expensing  
that was added back in a year the  
partner elected to be included in  
composite income tax  . . . . . . .     

12 Enter the total amount from  
line 10 of Schedule KPI . . . . . .    

13	Add steps 10,11, and 12  . . . . .   

14	Multiply step 13 by the  
apportionment factor from  
line 33 of the partner’s  
Schedule KPI . . . . . . . . . . . . . .            

15	Enter the amount from line 32  
of the partner’s Schedule KPI  .

KPI (continued)

Continued
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16	Add Steps 14 and 15  . . . . . . . .      

17	Subtract step 16 from step 9  . .

Enter the result from step 17 on line 34 of 
the partner’s Schedule KPI. This amount 
is the partner’s adjusted Minnesota source 
distributive income. 

KPI, line 35
Composite Income Tax
Nonresident individual partners must pay 
tax if their Minnesota gross income is more 
than the minimum filing requirement for the 
year ($10,400 for 2017).

Partners who receive a share of gross profit 
or income from an installment sale reported 
on line 7a or 7b of form KPI are not eligible 
to elect the partnership to pay composite 
income tax on their behalf.

Skip this line if the nonresident partner did 
not elect the partnership to pay composite 
income tax on his or her behalf.

To determine the amount of composite 
income tax to pay on behalf of each electing 
partner, follow the steps below:

1	 Multiply line 34 of Schedule 
KPI by 9.85% (.0985)  . . . . . .       

2	 Add lines 12-15 of  
Schedule KPI  . . . . . . . . . . . . .              

3	 Subtract step 2 from step 1  . . .    

The result in step 3 is the amount you are 
required to pay on behalf of the electing 
individual partner. Enter this amount on line 
35 of the partner’s Schedule KPI and check 
the box to indicate the partner’s election to 
be included.

If the individual elects to be included in 
composite income tax but has zero tax due, 

KPI (continued)
enter zero on line 35. Even though the 
amount may be zero, be sure to check the 
box to indicate the election.

Once you have completed all the KPI 
schedules for your electing nonresident 
individual partners, add the amounts on line 
35 of all the schedules and enter the total 
on line 2 of Form M3. This is the amount of 
composite income tax you are required to 
pay on behalf of your electing partners.

KPI, line 36—Nonresident Withholding
Nonresident individual partners who are not 
included in the composite income tax may 
be subject to withholding. See Nonresident 
Withholding on page 3 to determine if your 
nonresident partners are subject to Minne-
sota withholding.

To determine the amount of tax to withhold 
for each nonresident partner, follow the 
steps below:

1	 Multiply line 34 of Schedule 
KPI by 9.85% (.0985)  . . . . . .       

2	 Add lines 12-15 of  
Schedule KPI  . . . . . . . . . . . . .              

3	 Subtract step 2 from step 1  . . .    

The result in step 3 is the amount you are 
required to withhold from the nonresident 
partner, unless the individual submits Form 
AWC, Alternative Withholding Certificate.

If the individual submits Form AWC, with-
hold the amount from line 6 of the certifi-
cate. Check the box provided on line 36 of 
the partner’s Schedule KPI and also on line 
3 of Form M3. Be sure to enclose a copy of 
the certificate when you file your return.

If the individual submits a false or fraudu-
lent Form AWC, the department may 
require you to withhold the maximum 
percentage from that individual in the 
future, even if an exemption certificate is 
submitted.

Be sure to inform your partners that they 
must include their Schedule KPI when they 
file their Form M1 to claim the Minnesota 
withholding. If the schedule is not included, 
the department will disallow the with-
holding and assess the tax or reduce their 
refund.
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Completing Schedule KPC
Complete and provide Schedule KPC to 
each corporate or partnership partner.
Enter the information associated with this 
partnership and partner. If the partner is 
a one-member LLC, also enter the federal 
ID or Social Security number of the part-
ner who is ultimately taxed for Minnesota 
purposes.

Purpose
A partnership must provide each part-
ner with enough information for them to 
complete a Minnesota income tax return 
and determine their correct Minnesota tax. 
Schedule KPC is used to show each corpo-
rate and partnership partner their specific 
share of the partnership’s credits, modifica-
tions and apportionment factors. The pro 
rata share of the apportionment factors 
are used in two different ways (depending 
on if the relationship between partner and 
partnership is unitary) in computing the 
corporate or partnership partner’s Minne-
sota income.

There may be other items that a corpo-
rate partner would need to know in order 
to complete its Form M4, Corporation 
Franchise Tax Return. If applicable, you 
should pass that information through to the 
corporate partners. For more information, 
see the instructions for Form M4.

Be sure to provide the partner a copy of 
both the front and the back of the complet-
ed Schedule KPC and the instructions.

Enclose copies of the Schedules KPC and 
attachments issued to partners with your 
Form M3. Also enclose copies of federal 
Schedules K and K-1 with your partnership 
return.

Partner Ultimately Taxed
Enter the identifying number of the partner 
ultimately taxed. For example, if the partner 
is an LLC and its one member is a C corpo-
ration, enter the C corporation’s FEIN.

A $50 penalty will be assessed for each 
incorrect tax ID number used for a partner 
after being notified by the department that 
the number is incorrect. 

Line Instructions
Partnership Partners: When completing 
Schedules KPC, be sure to include any 
amounts reported on the Schedule KPC 
you received as a partner of a partnership 
(include Schedule KPC with your return).

KPC, lines 1 and 2
Generally, all of the income of a partnership 
is apportionable. If you have nonapportion-
able income, the corporate and partner-
ship partners need to know their share of 

the nonapportionable income. Provide the 
partner with a schedule describing the type 
of income.

Enter the partner’s share of Minnesota 
source nonapportionable income on line 1. 
On line 2, enter the partner’s share of total 
nonapportionable income.

KPC, line 3
Enter the partner’s distributive share of the 
minimum fee from line 1 of the partner-
ship’s Form M3.

KPC, line 4
Enter the partner’s distributive share of 
the partnership’s interest income exempt 
from federal tax. Provide the partner with a 
schedule listing how much is from Minne-
sota municipal bonds.

KPC, line 5
Enter the partner’s distributive share of any 
state income tax (other than the minimum 
fee) the partnership deducted in arriving at 
the partnership’s net income.

KPC, line 6
Skip this line for all corporate partners.

Expenses or interest deducted on your fed-
eral return that relate to income not taxed 
by Minnesota must be added back to the 
individual partners’ Minnesota income. 

Enter the partner’s share of any federal 
deductions that are attributable to income 
not taxed by Minnesota, other than U.S. 
government bond interest or other federal 
obligations.

If you had expenses attributable to inter-
est or mutual fund dividends from U.S. 
bonds, see line 12 of Schedule KPC. Do not 
include these expenses on line 6.
KPC, line 7
If, during the year, your total investment 
in qualifying property was more than 
$200,000 or if you elected more than 
$25,000 in section 179 expensing, your 
partners must add back to Minnesota 80 
percent of the difference between the ex-
pensing allowed for federal and for state tax 
purposes. Your partners will be allowed to 
subtract their share of the addition in equal 
parts over the next five years when they file 
their state tax returns.

If you completed federal Form 4562 to 
claim the section 179 expensing for federal 
tax purposes, you must also complete lines 
1 through 12 on a separate federal Form 
4562 (referred to as your Minnesota Form 
4562 below) to determine the amount you 
need to add back for Minnesota purposes. 

Recalculate line 12 of your Minnesota 
Form 4562 using the same information 
from your federal Form 4562 and the fol-
lowing modifications:
•	 Subtract $485,000 from line 1 of your 

federal Form 4562, and enter the result 
on line 1 of your Minnesota Form 4562.

•	 Enter line 2 of federal Form 4562 on line 
2 of your Minnesota Form 4562.

•	 Subtract $1,830,000 from line 3 of your 
federal Form 4562, and enter the result 
on line 3 of your Minnesota Form 4562.

•	 Enter the information from lines 6 and 7 
of federal Form 4562 on lines 6 and 7 of 
your Minnesota Form 4562. However, if 
you have section 179 expensing from a 
flow through entity, use the amount from 
line 7 of Schedule KPC instead of the 
amount from line 12 of federal Schedule 
K-1.

•	 Enter line 10 of federal Form 4562 on 
line 10 of your Minnesota Form 4562.

•	 Recalculate lines 4, 5, 8, 9, 11 and 12 of 
your Minnesota Form 4562. The result on 
line 12 of Minnesota Form 4562 cannot 
be more than line 1 of that form.

Enter the partner’s distributive share of the 
amount on line 12 of the Minnesota Form 
4562 on line 7 of Schedule KPC.

Do not include property received as part 
of an exchange that would have qualified 
under Section 1031 of the Internal Revenue 
Code as amended through December 16, 
2016 but not as amended through Decem-
ber 31, 2018.

KPC, line 8
If you chose on your federal return the 
special depreciation allowance for certain 
qualified property, your partners must add 
back 80 percent of the bonus depreciation 
to Minnesota.

Follow the steps below to determine the 
partner’s share to enter on line 8:

1	 Add line 14 and line 25 of your federal  .  	
	 Form 4562..  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                
2	 Total of any bonus depreciation 
	 amounts passed through to the 
	 partnership as a partner of another 
	 partnership (from line 8 of  
	 Schedule KPC)  . . . . . . . . . . . . .           
3	 Add steps 1 and 2  . . . . . . . . . .            
4	 Multiply step 3 by the partner’s 
	 percentage of ownership 
	 interest  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    

Enter the result from step 4 on line 8 of the 
partner’s Schedule KPC. 

Continued
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Federal bonus depreciation subtraction. For 
five years following the addback year, your 
partners may be able to subtract one-fifth of 
the addback on their Minnesota income tax 
return. See the instructions for Form M3, 
M4 or M8 for details.

KPC, line 9
Enter the partner’s distributive share of any 
fines, fees and penalties that were deducted 
as business expenses paid to a government 
entity or nongovernment regulatory body as 
a result of a violation of law, or the inves-
tigation of any potential violation of law. 
This does not include amounts identified 
in a court order or settlement agreement as 
restitution or as an amount paid to come 
into compliance with the law.

Line 10a
Enter each corporate or partnership partner’s 
share of the gross profit from any install-
ment sale of  partnership interests or assets 
executed after December 31, 2016. 

If the sale was completed by the partnership 
completing this schedule, the total gross 
profit to be allocated among the partners is 
reported on federal Form 6252, line 16. If 
the sale was executed by an entity owned 
by this entity, or another entity in a multi-
tiered structure, this information is reported 
on Schedule KF, line 7a, or Schedule KPC, 
line 10a. 

If installment sale information is reported 
to this entity on informational schedules 
from other entities, the amount reported to 
the partners should equal the total amount 
reported to this entity on all schedules KF, 
KS, and KPC. 

If the partnership receives installment pay-
ments from multiple sales executed after 
December 31, 2016, attach a schedule to 
Form M3 detailing the different sales and 
distributive allocations.  

Line 10b
Enter each corporate or partnership part-
ner’s share of installment sale income from 
the sale of partnership interests or assets 
executed after December 31, 2016. 

If the sale was completed by the partnership 
completing this schedule, the total install-
ment sale income to be allocated to the part-

KPC (continued)
ners is reported on Form 6252, line 24. If 
the sale was executed by an entity owned by 
this entity, or another entity in multi-tiered 
structure, this information is reported on 
Schedule KF, or KS, on line 7b, or Schedule 
KPC line 10b. 

If installment sale information is reported 
to this entity on informational schedules 
from other entities, the amount reported to 
the partners should equal the total amount 
reported to this entity on all schedules KF, 
KS, and KPC. 

If the partnership receives installment pay-
ments from multiple sales executed after 
December 31, 2016, attach a schedule to 
Form M3 detailing the different sales and 
distributive allocations.

KPC, line 11a
This instruction no longer applies.

KPC, line 11b
Enter the amount of the addition to federal 
taxable income that is required when you 
recompute your federal taxable income 
without regard to the provisions included in 
the TCDTR, FFCRA, and CARES Act (see 
the Federal Adjustments for Businesses on 
page 14).

KPC, line 12
Skip this line for all corporate partners.

Interest earned on certain direct federal 
obligations is taxable on the federal return, 
but is not taxable on the state return.

Determine the net interest you received 
from primary obligations issued by the 
U.S. government, such as savings bonds 
and treasury notes, that are held directly by 
the partnership. Do not include obligations 
where the U.S. government is only a guar-
antor. Be sure to subtract any investment 
interest and other expenses you deducted on 
the federal return that relate to this income. 

Enter the partnership partner’s distributive 
share of this amount on line 12.

KPC, line 13a
Minnesota law allows a subtraction from 
federal taxable income for deferred foreign 
income (DFI) reported on your federal 
return. If you reported DFI, enter the share-
holder’s pro rata share of the net amount 
(2017 IRC section 965(a) inclusion amount 
reduced by 2017 IRC section 965(c) par-
ticipation exemption amount allowed) as a 
subtraction on line 13a. Enter code 00 in the 
box provided.  

KPC, line 13b
Enter the amount of the subtraction from 
federal taxable income that is required 
when you recompute your federal taxable 
income without regard to the provisions 
included in the TCDTR, FFCRA, and 
CARES Act (see the Federal Adjustments 
for Businesses on page 14).

KPC, line 14
Enter the partner’s distributive share of the 
2017 credit for increasing research activities. 
If the business qualifies, the credit cannot be 
claimed by the partnership and the full credit 
must be passed through to the partners.

KPC, line 15
Enter the partner’s distributive share of the 
Greater Minnesota Internship Credit being 
passed through to partners. For more infor-
mation on the credit amount allowed please 
see page 9 of the instruction, KPI, line 12.

KPC, line 16
Enter the partner’s distributive share, if 
any, of the Historic Structure Rehabilita-
tion Credit based on the partner’s share of 
the partnership’s assets, or as specifically 
allocated in the partnership’s organizational 
documents, as of the last day of the taxable 
year.

You must also include the NPS project 
number, which is provided on the credit 
certificate you received from the State His-
toric Preservation Office of the Minnesota 
Historical Society when the project was 
completed and placed into service.

KPC, line 17
Enter the partner’s distributive share of the 
Employer Transit Pass Credit being passed 
through to partners.

KPC, line 18
Enter the partner’s distributive share of 
the Enterprise Zone Credit being passed 
through to partners. 

KPC, lines 19 
Enter the partner’s Pro Rata Share of Min-
nesota Source Gross Income.

KPC, lines and 20 and 21
Enter the partner’s pro rata share of the 
partnership’s apportionment factors  
determined on M3A.
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In January 2023, Minnesota law was updated 
to recognize the Internal Revenue Code as 
amended through December 15, 2022.  
However, some nonconformity adjustments 
still apply due to retroactive Minnesota 
modifications enacted in the tax bill. 

How to Report the Federal 
Adjustments 
If any of the federal provisions that are in 
these instructions affect the amount of tax-
able income reported on your 2017 federal 
Form 1065, U.S. Return of Partnership 
Income, you must adjust your 2017 Minne-
sota return. The adjustment should reflect the 
change to your Minnesota return as a result 
of the retroactive Minnesota modifications.

If you have to amend as a result of confor-
mity within the January 2023 Minnesota 
tax bill, only adjust your amended return to 
update composite income tax for electing 
partners.

You do not need to update nonresident with-
holding amounts. You may need to amend, 
and issue updated Schedules KPI and KPC 
if your partner(s) need additional informa-
tion to update their return(s). For example, 
if you claimed federal bonus depreciation on 
qualified improvement property (QIP) and 
adjusted the partner’s bonus depreciation 
addition as a result of the QIP nonconformity 
adjustment.

If you are amending solely due to the Janu-
ary 2023 Minnesota tax bill, write “Con-
formity” in red at the top of the Minnesota 
Form M3X. 

Subtotal all nonconformity adjustments 
(positive and negative) calculated from 
the provisions listed below. If the net of all 
adjustments results in an increase of your 
federal taxable income (FTI), enter the 
shareholder’s share of the net adjustment as 
a positive number on line 8b of Schedule 
KPI or line 11b of Schedule KPC. If the net 
of all adjustments results in a reduction of 
your FTI, enter the shareholder’s share of the 
net adjustment as a positive number on line 
10b of Schedule KPI or line 13b of Schedule 
KPC. Enter the following codes in the box 
that corresponds with the line on which you 
included the appropriate adjustment:

• Code 17: TCDTR section 203
• Code 18: All FFCRA sections 
• Code 20: CARES Act section 2307
• Code 21: All other CARES Act sections

To report the differences for Minnesota tax 
purposes, you must attach to your Form M3 
or Form M3X a list of the federal provisions 

affecting your taxable income by section 
number and show how you calculated each 
adjustment amount. 

Provisions that May Require 
an Income Adjustment 
TCDTR Sections
Section 124. Qualified Fuel Cell Motor 
Vehicles 
If you claimed the credit for Qualified Fuel 
Cell Motor Vehicles on your federal return 
that impacted your FTI, reverse the tax 
impacts to your FTI. 

Section 125. Alternative Fuel Refueling 
Property Credit 
If you claimed the Alternative Fuel Refuel-
ing Property Credit on your federal return, 
adjust the property’s basis without regard to 
the basis reduction required under current 
federal law. Include any adjustments to FTI 
as a result of this Minnesota change in basis. 

Section 126. 2-Wheeled Plug-in Electric 
Vehicle Credit 
If you claimed the 2-Wheeled Plug-In Elec-
tric Vehicle Credit on your federal return, 
adjust the vehicle’s basis without regard to 
the basis reduction required under current 
federal law. Include any adjustments to FTI 
as a result of this Minnesota change in basis. 

Section 129. Energy Efficient Homes 
Credit 
If you claimed the Energy Efficient Homes 
Credit on your federal return, adjust the 
property’s basis without regard to the basis 
reduction required under current federal law. 
Include any adjustments to FTI as a result of 
this Minnesota change in basis. 

Section 203. Employee Retention Credit 
for Employers Affected by Qualified 
Disasters 
If you were not allowed to deduct wages due 
to claiming the Employee Retention Credit 
on your federal return, include the amount of 
the disallowed wages as a negative number.

CARES Act Sections
Section 2307. Qualified Improvement 
Property Technical Fix
If you claimed federal bonus depreciation on 
qualified leasehold improvement property, 
qualified restaurant property, or qualified 
retail improvement property, determine the 
difference between the federal bonus depre-
ciation you claimed on this property, and 
the cost recovery deduction or expensing 
method you would have been able to claim 
prior to the CARES Act. This may include 
a Minnesota modification for section 179 
expensing. Include the result as a positive 
number. 

If you filed an amended federal return 
increasing your federal bonus depreciation 
as a result of this provision of the CARES 
Act, do not adjust your Minnesota addition 
for bonus depreciation on line line 5 of 
Schedule KPI or line 8 of Schedule KPC.

Federal Adjustments for Businesses for Tax Year 2017

Not Applicable

These instructions no longer apply.

These instructions no longer apply.
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