## DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

# Form SDD, Surety Deposit for Non-Minnesota Contractor

#### **Non-Minnesota Contractor Information**

Entity from which the surety deposit was withheld

Name		Minnesota Tax ID Number	
Address	City	State	ZIP Code
Contact Person		Contact Person Phone Number	
Contract/Project Number	Project Location	Total Contract Amount	
Contract Period			
From	То	Contract con	npleted? Yes No

#### Business Entity or Government Unit (Contract Owner) Making Deposit

Name		Minnesot	Minnesota Tax ID Number		
Address	City	State	ZIP Code		
Contact Person	Contact Person Phone Number	Payment	Payment Date		
Period of Work Covered by The Payment From	То	Final pay	Final payment for this contract? Yes No		
1 Gross payment made to the contractor	·····	 	1		
2 Withholding rate			2	.08	
	2)a Revenue. Write the non-Minnesota contracto				

#### Mail form and check to:

Minnesota Department of Revenue Mail Station 6501 600 N. Robert St. St. Paul, MN 55146-6501

# **Form SDD Instructions**

### **Surety Deposit Law**

If you hire or contract with a non-Minnesota contractor to perform construction work in Minnesota, you must withhold 8 % (.08) of each payment as a Minnesota surety deposit. Payments are subject to 8% withholding only if the work was performed in Minnesota and the value of the contract exceeds \$50,000.

### **Purpose of Form SDD**

Use Form SDD to send the deposit to the Minnesota Department of Revenue each time you pay the contractor. Give a copy of this form to the non-Minnesota contractor. They will need this information when requesting a refund. Complete one form for each non-Minnesota contractor.

## **Before You Start**

The non-Minnesota contractor must have a Minnesota tax ID number from the Department of Revenue.

If the non-Minnesota contractor does not have a Minnesota tax ID number, they may apply online at **www.revenue.state.mn.us** or by calling our Business Registration Office at 651-282-5225 or 1-800-657-3605.

## **Non-Minnesota Contractor Information**

Keep a copy of this completed form. You will need this information to request a refund.

You can request a refund after you have filed and paid all required state and local withholding, sales and use, corporate franchise, and income taxes during the contract period. If you submitted Form SDE, Exemption from Surety Deposits for Non-Minnesota Contractors, but received a Surety Deposit Withholding Waiver from the department after the contract owner withheld surety deposits for the project, you can request a refund immediately.

To request a refund, complete Form SDR, *Refund of Surety Deposits for Non-Minnesota Contractors*. You have 3.5 years from the date the payment was made to claim a refund.

### Information and Assistance

Additional forms and information, including fact sheets and frequently asked questions, are available on our website.

Website: www.revenue.state.mn.us

Email: withholding.tax@state.mn.us

Phone: 651-282-9999 or 1-800-657-3594

This information is available in alternate formats.

(Rev. 10/21)