
 
Disclaimer: Documents contained in this packet may be outdated after December 31, 2024. 
Please check our website for more updated information.  
 

 

2024 Minnesota Withholding Tax 
Employer Responsibilities Webinar 

Handouts Supplement 

 
 
We are proud to offer Continuing Professional Education for this course. If you are going to 
request CPE for this course, may we remind you of the following guidelines: 
  

• NASBA guidelines are followed to issue credits for this course  

• The maximum allowed credits for this course is 2.0  

• You must answer three poll questions each hour to receive full credit  

• Answering less than the thee poll questions per hour will result in partial credit  

• We cannot issue less than one credit 

• You will have approximately one minute to answer each question before the poll closes  

• The last question will ask for your name and email address 

• Your certificate will be emailed to you within 3 business days  

• You cannot request CPE credits under a different name or email than what was used for 
registration  
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Employee’s Last Name	 First Name and Initial	 Employee’s Social Security Number

Permanent Address

City	 State  (check one)		  ZIP Code

Current Employer’s Name			   Employer’s Federal Tax ID

Employer’s Mailing Address			   Employer‘s Phone Number

City 		  State	 ZIP Code

Form MWR, Reciprocity Exemption/Affidavit of Residency  
for Tax Year 2024
For Michigan and North Dakota residents who work in Minnesota.

  Michigan            North Dakota

Employee’s Signature			   Date		  Employee’s Phone Number

I declare that the above information is correct and complete to the best of my knowledge and belief.  
I understand there is a $500 penalty for making false statements.

Read instructions on back.  

Employees:  Complete this form and give it to your employer.

Employers:	 Mail this form to:

	 Minnesota Department of Revenue 
	 Mail Station 6501 
	 600 N. Robert St.
	 St. Paul, MN 55146-6501   
	
	 Keep a copy for your records.

	 Note: If this form is not filled out completely, you must withhold Minnesota income tax from wages earned in  
	 Minnesota.

	 1	 If you earned wages in Minnesota during the previous year, enter the wages you earned  $  
					                                                                                                                                                                   (Round to the nearest dollar)

	 2	 How long have you lived at your permanent residence? From  to 

	 3	 Do you return to your permanent residence at least once a month?       Yes        No
		  If your answer is no, STOP HERE. You do not qualify for the reciprocity exemption.

	 4	 Were you ever a resident of Minnesota?    Yes, from  to          No 
	 (month/year)	 (month/year)

	 (month/year)	 (month/year)

*241461*
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Form MWR Instructions

Instructions for Employees
Minnesota has income tax reciprocity agreements with Michigan and North Dakota. These agreements only cover personal service income 
such as wages, bonuses, tips, and commissions. 
Every year, fill out this form and give it to each Minnesota employer if all of these apply:
•	 You are a resident of Michigan or North Dakota
•	 You return to your residence in that state at least once a month
•	 You do not want Minnesota income tax withheld from your wages
Give the completed form to your employer by the later of:
•	 February 28
•	 30 days after you begin working or change your permanent state of residence 
If you complete and submit Form MWR, you do not need to complete Form W-4MN, Minnesota Employee Withholding/Exemption Certifi-
cate, to claim exempt from Minnesota Withholding Tax.  

Fill Out the Form Completely
If you do not complete every item on this form or do not give the form to your employer by the due date, your employer must withhold Min-
nesota income tax from your wages. 

To Get a Refund of Tax Already Withheld for the Year
File Form M1, Individual Income Tax, with the Minnesota Department of Revenue. See the Form M1 instructions for details. 

Penalties
If you make any statements on this form that you know are incorrect, we may assess a $500 penalty.
Use of Information
All information on Form MWR is private by state law. It may only be given to your state of residence, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), 
and to other state tax agencies as provided by law. The information may be compared with other information you gave to the Minnesota 
Department of Revenue. 
Your name, address, and Social Security Number are required for identification. Your address is also required to verify your state of resi-
dence. Your employer’s name, Federal Employer Identification Number, and address and phone number are required. 
The only information not required is your phone number. We ask for it so we can contact you if we have questions.

Instructions for Employers
Employees must provide you a complete Form MWR if one of these applies:
•	 They reside in Michigan or North Dakota
•	 They requested that you do not withhold Minnesota income tax from their wages
Form MWR is due by February 28 each year, or within 30 days after they begin working for you or change their state of residence. Employ-
ees who live in other states, including Minnesota, cannot use this form. 
If an employee does not complete every item of Form MWR or does not provide the form to you by the due date, you must withhold Min-
nesota income tax, using the same marital status and number of allowances claimed on the employee’s Minnesota Form W-4MN (or federal 
Form W-4, if they did not complete Form W-4MN).
If the employee provides you with a properly completed Form MWR, the employee is not required to complete Form W-4MN to claim ex-
emption from Minnesota income tax withholding. 

Submit Completed Forms MWR to the Department
By March 31 of each year, send the completed Forms MWR to: 

Minnesota Department of Revenue 
Mail Station 6501 
600 N. Robert St. 
St. Paul, MN 55146-6501

You must keep a copy of all forms for five years from the date received. 
For new employees or employees who change their state of residence, send the form within 30 days after the employee gives it to you. 
You may be assessed a $50 penalty for each form you do not send us when required.

Forms and Information
Website: www.revenue.state.mn.us 
Email: withholding.tax@state.mn.us 
Phone: 651-282 9999 or 1-800-657-3594
This information is available in alternate formats.
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2024 W-4MN, Minnesota Withholding Allowance/Exemption Certificate

Employees: Give the completed form to your employer.

Employers
See the employer instructions to determine if you must send a copy of this form to the Minnesota Department of Revenue. If required, enter your
information below and mail this form to the address in the instructions. (Incomplete forms are considered invalid.) We may assess a $50 penalty for 
each required Form W-4MN not filed with us. Keep a copy for your records.

Employee’s Signature Date Daytime Phone Number

I certify that all information provided in Section 1 OR Section 2 is correct. I understand there is a $500 penalty for filing a false Form W-4MN.

Employees
Complete Form W-4MN so your employer can withhold the correct Minnesota income tax from your pay. Consider completing a new Form W-4MN each 
year and when your personal or financial situation changes. If no Form W-4MN is in effect, the number of withholding allowances claimed will be zero.

First Name and Initial Last Name   Social Security Number

Permanent Address    Marital Status (Check one):

     

City  State ZIP Code   Married
      Married, but withhold at higher Single rate

Single; Married, but legally separated; or  
Spouse is a nonresident alien

Complete Section 1 OR Section 2, then sign the bottom and give the completed form to your employer. 
 Section 1 — Determining Minnesota Allowances

 A Enter “1” if no one else can claim you as a dependent . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  A 

 B Enter “1” if any of the following apply: . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . B 
• You are single and have only one job
• You are married, have only one job, and your spouse does not work
• Your wages from a second job or your spouse’s wages are $1500 or less

 C  Enter “1” if you are married. Or choose to enter “0” if you are married and have either a working 
    spouse or more than one job. (Entering “0” may help you avoid having too little tax withheld.) .   C 

 D Enter the number of dependents (other than your spouse or yourself)  
    you will claim on your tax return. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  D 

 E  Enter “1” if you will use the filing status Head of Household (see instructions). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . E 
 F  Add steps A through E. If you plan to itemize deductions on your 2024 Minnesota income tax  

     return, you may also complete the Itemized Deductions and Additional Income Worksheet. . . . . F 

1 Minnesota Allowances. Enter Step F from Section 1 above or Step 10 of the Itemized Deductions Worksheet . . . . . . . . . . .  1  

2 Additional Minnesota withholding you want deducted for each pay period (see instructions) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  2 $

 Section 2 — Exemption From Minnesota Withholding
 Complete Section 2 if you claim to be exempt from Minnesota income tax withholding (see Section 2 instructions for qualifications). If applicable, 

check one box below to indicate why you believe you are exempt:
  A  I meet the requirements and claim exempt from both federal and Minnesota income tax withholding
  B  Even though I did not claim exempt from federal withholding, I claim exempt from Minnesota withholding, because:

• I had no Minnesota income tax liability last year 
• I received a refund of all Minnesota income tax withheld
• I expect to have no Minnesota income tax liability this year

 C  All of these apply: 
• My spouse is a military service member assigned to a military location in Minnesota
• My domicile (legal residence) is in another state 
• I am in Minnesota solely to be with my spouse. My state of domicile is 

  D  I am an American Indian that resides and works on a reservation for which I am enrolled (see instructions).
   Enter the reservation name: 
   Enter your Certificate of Degree of Indian Blood (CDIB)/Enrollment number: 
  E  I am a member of the Minnesota National Guard or an active-duty U.S. military member and claim exempt from Minnesota withholding  

 on my military pay
  F  I receive a military pension or other military retirement pay as calculated under U.S. Code, title 10, sections 1401 through 1414, 1447   

through 1455, and 12733, and I claim exempt from Minnesota withholding on this retirement pay

Name of Employer              Minnesota Tax ID Number                  Federal Employer ID Number (FEIN)                  

Address City State  ZIP Code

*242461*

Edu
ca

tio
na

l P
urp

os
es

 O
nly

 

See
 w

eb
sit

e f
or 

cu
rre

nt 
for

m



Form W-4MN Instructions for Employees

When must I complete Form W-4MN?
Complete Form W-4MN if any of these apply:
• You begin employment
• You change your filing status
• You reasonably expect to change your filing status in the next calendar year
• Your personal or financial situation changes
• You claim exempt from Minnesota withholding (see Section 2 instructions for qualifications)
If you have not had sufficient Minnesota income tax withheld from your wages, we may assess penalty and interest when you file your state 
income tax return.
Note: Your employer may be required to submit a copy of your Form W-4MN to the Minnesota Department of Revenue. You may be subject to 
a $500 penalty if you provide a false Form W-4MN.
You must enter your Social Security Number for this Form W-4MN to be valid.

What if I have completed federal Form W-4?
If you completed a 2024 Form W-4, you must complete Form W-4MN to determine your Minnesota withholding allowances. 

What if I am exempt from Minnesota withholding?
If you claim exempt from Minnesota withholding, complete only Section 2 of Form W-4MN and sign and date the form to validate it. If you 
complete Section 2, you must complete a new Form W-4MN by February 15 in each following year in which you claim an exemption from 
Minnesota withholding.
You cannot claim exempt from withholding if all of these apply:
• Another person can claim you as a dependent on their federal tax return
• Your annual income exceeds $1,100
• Your annual income includes more than $350 of unearned income

What if I am a nonresident alien for U.S. income taxes? 
If you are a nonresident alien, you are not allowed to claim exempt from withholding. You will check the single box for marital status 
regardless of your actual marital status and may enter one personal allowance on Step A of Section 1. Enter zero on steps B, C, and E of 
Section 1.
If you are resident of Canada, Mexico, South Korea, or India, and are allowed to claim dependents, enter the number of dependents on Step 
D.

Section 1 — Minnesota Allowances Worksheet
Complete Section 1 to find your allowances for Minnesota withholding tax. For regular wages, withholding must be based on allowances you 
claimed and may not be a flat amount or percentage of wages.
If you expect to owe more income tax for the year than will be withheld, you can claim fewer allowances or request additional Minnesota 
withholding from your wages. Enter the amount of additional Minnesota income tax you want withheld on line 2 of Section 1.
Nonwage Income
Consider making estimated payments if you have a large amount of “nonwage income.” Nonwage income (other than tax-exempt income) 
includes interest, dividends, net rental income, unemployment compensation, gambling winnings, prizes and awards, hobby income, capital 
gains, royalties, and partnership income. 
Two Earners or Multiple Jobs
If your spouse works or you have more than one job, figure the total number of allowances you are entitled to claim on all jobs using 
worksheets from only one Form W-4MN. Usually, your withholding will be more accurate when all allowances are claimed on the Form 
W-4MN for the highest paying job and zero allowances are claimed on the others.
Head of Household Filing Status
You may claim Head of Household as your filing status if you are unmarried and pay more than 50% of the costs of keeping up a home for 
yourself and your dependents. Enter “1” on Step E if you may claim Head of Household as your filing status on your tax return.
What if I itemize deductions on my Minnesota return or have other nonwage income?
Use the Itemized Deductions and Additional Income Worksheet to find your Minnesota withholding allowances. Complete Section 1 on page 
1, then follow the steps in the worksheet on the next page to find additional allowances.

Complete this form for your employer to calculate the amount of Minnesota income tax to be withheld from your pay.

Continued
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Itemized Deductions and Additional Income Worksheet
1 Enter an estimate of your 2024 Minnesota itemized deductions. For 2024, you may have to reduce your itemized deductions  

if your income is over $232,500 ($116,250 for Married Filing Separately).. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
2 Enter one of the following based on your filing status: . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

a. $29,150 if Married Filing Jointly
b. $21,900 if Head of Household
c. $14,575 if Single or Married Filing Separately

3 Subtract step 2 from step 1. If zero or less, enter 0 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
4 Enter an estimate of your 2024 additional standard deduction (from page 11 of the Form M1 instructions) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
5 Add steps 3 and 4 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
6 Enter an estimate of your 2024 taxable nonwage income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
7 Subtract step 6 from step 5. If zero, enter 0. If less than zero, enter the amount in parentheses.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
8 Divide the amount on step 7 by $5,050. If a negative amount, enter in parentheses. Do not include fractions . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
9 Enter the number on step F of Section 1 on page 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

10  Add step 8 and 9 and enter the total here. If zero or less, enter 0. Enter this amount on line 1 of page 1. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Section 2 — Minnesota Exemption
Your employer will not withhold Minnesota taxes from your pay if you are exempt from Minnesota withholding. You cannot claim exempt from 
withholding if all of these apply:
• Another person can claim you as a dependent on their federal tax return
• Your annual income exceeds $1,100
• Your annual income includes more than $350 of unearned income
Box A
Check box A of Section 2 to claim exempt if all of these apply:
• You meet the requirements to be exempt from federal withholding
• You had no Minnesota income tax liability in the prior year and received a full refund of Minnesota tax withheld
• You expect to have no Minnesota income tax liability for the current year
Box B
Check box B of Section 2 if you are not claiming exempt from federal withholding, but meet the second and third requirements for box A.
Box C
Check box C in Section 2 to claim exempt if all of these apply:
• You are the spouse of a military member assigned to duty in Minnesota
• You and your spouse are domiciled in another state
• You are in Minnesota solely to be with your active duty military spouse member
Boxes D-F
If you receive income from the following sources, it is exempt from Minnesota withholding. Your employer will not withhold Minnesota tax 
from that income when you check the appropriate box in Section 2.
• Box D: You receive wages as a member of an American Indian tribe living and working on the reservation of which you are an enrolled 

member. Enter the name of your reservation and your Certificate of Degree of Indian or Alaskan Blood (CDIB) number/enrollment number. 
 Members of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe can exclude income regardless of which Minnesota Chippewa Tribe reservation you live and 

work on. This affects members of these tribes: 
• Mille Lacs 
• Nett Lake (Bois Forte) 
• Fond du Lac 
• Leech Lake 
• White Earth 
• Grand Portage

• Box E: You receive wages for Minnesota National Guard (MNG) pay or for active duty U.S. military pay. MNG and active duty U.S. 
military members can claim exempt from Minnesota withholding on these wages, even if they are taxable federally. For more information, 
see Income Tax Fact Sheet 5, Military Personnel.

• Box F: You receive a military pension or other military retirement pay calculated under U.S. Code title 10, sections 1401 through 1414, 1447 
through 1455, and 12733. You may claim exempt from Minnesota withholding on this income even if it is taxable federally.

Note: You may not want to claim exempt if you (or your spouse if filing a joint return) expect to have other forms of income subject to 
Minnesota tax and you want to avoid owing tax at the end of the year.
If you complete Section 2, you must complete a new Form W-4MN by February 15 in each following year.
Nonresident Alien
If you are a nonresident alien for federal tax purposes, do not complete Section 2. See IRS Publication 519, U.S. Tax Guide for Aliens.

Continued
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Line 2 — Additional Minnesota Withholding
If you would like an additional amount of tax to be deducted per payment period, enter the amount on line 2. Do not enter a percentage of the 
payment you want to be deducted.

Use of Information
All information on Form W-4MN is private by state law. It cannot be given to others without your consent, except to the IRS, other states that 
guarantee the same privacy, or by court order. Your name, address, and Social Security Number are required for identification. Information about 
your allowances is required to determine your correct tax. We ask for your phone number so we can call if we have a question.

Questions? 
• Website: www.revenue.state.mn.us   
• Email: withholding.tax@state.mn.us   
• Phone: 651-282-9999 or 1-800-657-3594 (toll-free) Employer instructions are on the next page.
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Form W-4MN Employer Instructions
Form W-4MN Requirement
Federal Form W-4 will not determine withholding allowances used to determine the amount of Minnesota withholding. Employees completing a 
2024 Form W-4 will need to complete 2024 Form W-4MN to determine the appropriate amount of Minnesota withholding.
Lock-In Letters
IRS Letter 2800C tells you when the IRS believes your employee may have filed an incorrect federal Form W-4. If you receive this letter, you 
must provide the Minnesota Department of Revenue with a copy of the employee’s Form W-4MN. We will verify the number of allowances 
that the employee may claim for Minnesota purposes. Continue using the Form W-4MN you were using at the time you received Letter 2800C 
from the IRS, until we notify you to change the amount of allowances on the employee’s Form W-4MN. If the employee has not completed a 
Form W-4MN, have them complete the form and use the allowances calculated on that form until notified by the department.
Use the amount on line 1 of page 1 for calculating the withholding tax for your employees.

When does an employee complete Form W-4MN?
Employees complete Form W-4MN no later than when they begin employment or when their personal or financial situation changes.

How should I determine Minnesota withholding for an employee that does not complete Form W-4MN?
If an employee does not complete Form W-4MN and they have a federal Form W-4 (from 2019 or prior years) on file, use the allowances on 
their federal Form W-4. Otherwise, withhold Minnesota tax as if the employee is single with zero withholding allowances.

What if my employee claims to be exempt from Minnesota withholding?
If your employee claims exempt from Minnesota withholding, they must complete Section 2 of Form W-4MN. They must provide you with a 
new Form W-4MN by February 15 of each year. If you are paying an employee for wages that are exempt from withholding, such as Medicaid 
Waiver Payments or wages to H-2A visa workers, do not send us Form W-4MN.

When do I need to submit copies of a Form W-4MN to the department?
You must send copies of Form W-4MN to us if any of these apply:
•	 The employee claims more than 10 Minnesota withholding allowances
•	 The employee checked box A or B under Section 2, and you reasonably expect the employee’s wages to exceed $200 per week
•	 You believe the employee is not entitled to the number of allowances claimed
You do not need to submit Form W-4MN to us if the employee is asking to have additional Minnesota withholding deducted from their pay.

We may assess a $50 penalty for each Form W-4MN you do not file with us when required.

Mail Forms W-4MN to: 
Minnesota Department of Revenue  
Mail Station 6501  
600 N. Robert St. 
St. Paul, MN 55146-6501

What if my employee is a resident of a state that has a reciprocity agreement with Minnesota?
Your employee must complete Form MWR, Reciprocity Exemption/Affidavit of Residency if both of these apply:  
•	 They are a resident of North Dakota or Michigan, and
•	 They do not want you to withhold Minnesota tax from their wages
Your employee must complete a Form MWR by February 28 of each year, or within 30 days after they begin working or change their 
permanent residence. See Withholding Fact Sheet 20, Reciprocity - Employee Withholding, for more information.

What is an invalid Form W-4MN?
A Form W-4MN is considered invalid if any of these apply:
•	 There is any unauthorized change or addition to the form, including any change to the language certifying the form is correct
•	 The employee indicates in any way the form is false by the date they provide you with the form
•	 The form is incomplete or lacks the necessary signatures
•	 Both Section 1 and Section 2 were completed
•	 The employer information is incomplete

What if I receive an invalid form?
Do not use the invalid form to calculate Minnesota income tax withholding. Have the employee complete and submit a new Form W-4MN. 
If the employee does not give you a valid form, and you have an earlier Form W-4MN from them, use the earlier form to calculate their 
withholding. 
If a valid Form W-4MN is not completed by the employee, withhold taxes as if the employee is single and claiming zero withholding 
allowances.

What if my employee is a nonresident alien of the United States?
If the wages to this employee are subject to income tax withholding, you will use Table 1 and the procedure under Withholding Adjustment 
for Nonresident Alien Employees in IRS Publication 15-T to determine the correct Minnesota withholding tax. Do not use this procedure for 
nonresident alien students from India and business apprentices from India. Also do not use this procedure for certain nonresident aliens who are 
residents of South Korea. See IRS Notice 1392 for special instructions and withholding exceptions.
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2024 W-4MNP, Minnesota Withholding Certificate for Retirement Account, 
Pension, or Commercial Annuity Payments
Note: This form is not required for certain nontaxable periodic payments and nonperiodic distributions, including: 
• Designated Roth account distributions
• Qualified Roth IRA distributions
• Qualified Charitable Distributions (QCDs)

Sign here. Give the completed form to your plan administrator, financial institution, or other payer responsible for making your 
distributions. 

Pension or Annuity Recipient Signature Date Daytime Phone Number
I certify that all information provided is correct.

Complete Form W-4MNP so your plan administrator, financial institution, or other payer responsible for making your distributions 
can withhold the correct Minnesota income tax. Consider completing a new Form W-4MNP each year or when your personal or 
financial situation changes. If you do not complete this form and do not have a previous Form W-4MNP on file with your payer, they 
must withhold Minnesota taxes at a rate equal to 6.25% of the taxable payment or distribution.  

First Name and Initial Last Name Social Security Number

Permanent Address Claim or Identification Number (if any) of your Account or Contract

City State ZIP Code

Note:  The 2024 Minnesota Individual Income Tax rates and brackets are provided on page 2 of the instructions. 

Withholding election for periodic payments: 

 Default rate of 6.25%     
 No withholding
 Other percentage (specify): 
 Set dollar amount per periodic payment (specify): 

Withholding election for nonperiodic distributions: 

 Default rate of 6.25%     
 No withholding
 Other percentage (specify): 
 Set dollar amount per distribution (specify): 
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Form W-4MNP, Minnesota Withholding Certificate for Retirement Account, 
Pension, or Commercial Annuity Payments

What’s new?  
On May 24, 2023, legislation was enacted to allow recipients of retirement, IRA, pension, or commercial annuity payments to request Min-
nesota income tax withholding at any rate or amount they choose, including none. This simplified method does not require you to calculate al-
lowances. If you already have a Form W-4MNP on file with your plan administrator, you do not need to complete this form unless you choose 
to do so.

When should I complete Form W-4MNP?
Complete Form W-4MNP if you are a Minnesota resident and receive taxable payments or distributions from any of these: 
•	 Employer deferred compensation plan (such as a 401(k)) 
•	 Pension plan 
•	 Individual retirement plan 
•	 Traditional IRA 
•	 Commercial annuity 
This form is not required for certain nontaxable distributions, including designated Roth account distributions, qualified Roth IRA 
distributions, or Qualified Charitable Distributions (QCDs).
For taxable periodic payments, complete Form W-4MNP when you begin receiving payments from a retirement account, traditional IRA, 
annuity, or pension, or if your personal or financial situation changes. Use this form to specify a dollar amount or percentage to be withheld 
or to elect to have no Minnesota income tax withheld from these payments. If you were already having Minnesota income tax withheld from 
payments you received, you do not need to complete a Form W-4MNP unless you want to adjust your Minnesota income tax withholding.
For taxable nonperiodic distributions, you must complete Form W-4MNP to set the withholding amount or percentage for your distribution 
or elect not to withhold on the distribution. You may complete a new form or elect out of withholding each time you request a nonperiodic 
distribution. 
Generally, if you submit a federal Form W-4P or W-4R for federal income tax withholding, you should complete a new Form W-4MNP.
If you previously completed Form W-4MNP for the same institution, you may use the election from the previous Form W-4MNP by confirm-
ing the election with the institution. In this case, you would not need to complete a new Form W-4MNP.
For this Form W-4MNP to be valid, you must enter your Social Security Number and sign the form. If this form is invalid or incomplete, 
the payer will withhold Minnesota income taxes equal to 6.25% of any taxable payment or distribution. 

What are periodic payments and nonperiodic distributions?
Periodic payments are made in installments at regular intervals (such as quarterly, monthly, or annually) over a period of more than one year. 
Nonperiodic distributions are payments not made at regular intervals, including on-demand IRA distributions.

What if I receive multiple nonperiodic distributions?
This form is specific to the account or contract you identified above. If you have more than one account or contract with the financial institution 
or payer to which you are providing this form, complete a separate Form W-4MNP for distributions or payments from each account or contract.
What if I have completed federal Form W-4P or Form W-4R?
You will still need to complete Form W-4MNP to specify your Minnesota income tax withholding, if you have not already done so. If you do 
not complete Form W-4MNP and provide it to the payer, the payer will withhold Minnesota income taxes equal to 6.25% of your payments or 
distributions. 

What if I choose to not have Minnesota income tax withheld? 
Check the “No withholding” box and sign Form W-4MNP to validate it. Consider making estimated tax payments to avoid possible penalties 
and interest when you file your Minnesota income tax return. If you do not check the “No withholding” box, or specify a withholding 
percentage or amount, the payer will withhold Minnesota income taxes equal to 6.25% of any taxable payment or distribution. 

Complete this form to request the percentage or amount of Minnesota income tax to be withheld from your taxable 
payments or distributions.
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Income Tax Rates
Below are the 2024 Minnesota Individual Income Tax rates and brackets.

Rate Married Filing Jointly Married Filing Separately Head of Household Single

- Minnesota  
taxable 
income 
more than

But not more 
than

Minnesota  
taxable 
income more 
than

But not more 
than

Minnesota  
taxable 
income more 
than

But not more 
than

Minnesota  
taxable 
income more 
than

But not more 
than

5.35% $0 $46,330 $0 $23,165 $0 $39,010 $0 $31,690

6.80% $46,330 $184,040 $23,165 $92,020 $39,010 $156,760 $31,690 $104,090

7.85% $184,040 $321,450 $92,020 $160,725 $156,760  $256,880 $104,090 $193,240

9.85% $321,450 - $160,725 - $256,880  - $193,240 -

Use of Information
All information on Form W-4MNP is private by state law. It cannot be given to others without your consent, except to the IRS, to other states that 
guarantee the same privacy, or by court order. Your name, address, and Social Security Number are required for identification. We ask for your 
phone number so we can call if we have questions.

Questions? 
• Website: www.revenue.state.mn.us   
• Email: withholding.tax@state.mn.us   
• Phone: 651-282-9999 or 1-800-657-3594 

Form W-4MNP Payer Instructions on next page.
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Form W-4MNP Payer Instructions
Form W-4MNP Requirement
If your recipient is a Minnesota resident and completes a federal 2023 Form W-4P or Form W-4R, they will need to complete 2023 Form W-
4MNP to set the desired amount of Minnesota withholding for taxable distributions and payments. Your recipient is not required to complete 
this form for certain nontaxable distributions, including designated Roth account distributions, qualified Roth IRA distributions, or 
Qualified Charitable Distributions (QCDs).

When does a recipient complete Form W-4MNP?
Recipients complete Form W-4MNP when they begin receiving taxable payments or distributions, or when their personal or financial 
situation changes.
If a recipient requests more than one taxable nonperiodic distribution from your institution, and you already have a Form W-4MNP on file, 
confirm with them whether they would like to use their previous election. If they choose to change their election, they must complete a new 
Form W-4MNP.

How should I determine Minnesota withholding for a recipient that does not complete Form 
W-4MNP?
If a recipient already has a prior-year Form W-4MNP on file, you may use the allowances on their Form W-4MNP. Do not change 
withholding on distributions without requesting an updated Form W-4MNP. If a recipient has a federal Form W-4P or W-4R on file from tax 
year 2017 or prior, you may use the allowances on their federal Form W-4P or Form W-4R. Otherwise, withhold Minnesota tax at a rate of 
6.25% of the taxable distribution only if you have been unable to obtain a Form W-4MNP from the recipient. 
Prior to May 24, 2023, if you provided the option to withhold Minnesota income tax on distributions as shown on Form W-4MNP, you may 
be able to continue following the recipient’s previous election. Do not change any existing withholding arrangement unless the recipient 
directs you to do so. 

If the recipient Then
Chose to have tax withheld You may use the allowances the recipient determined on a prior-year Minnesota Form W-4MNP. Do not 

change any existing withholding arrangement without contacting the recipient.
Chose not to have tax withheld You do not need to withhold for the recipient.
Did not choose either way You must ask the recipient to complete Form W-4MNP to choose their withholding amount or percentage.

What is an invalid Form W-4MNP?
Form W-4MNP is considered invalid if any of these apply:
• There is any unauthorized change or addition to the form, including any change to the language certifying the form is correct.
• The recipient indicates in any way that the form is false by the date the recipient provides you with the form.
• The form is incomplete or lacks a Social Security Number and required signatures.

What if I receive an invalid form?
Do not use the invalid form to calculate Minnesota income tax withholding. Have the recipient complete and submit a new Form W-4MNP. If 
the recipient does not give you a valid form, and you have a prior-year Form W-4MNP from them, use the prior-year form to calculate their 
withholding.

If the recipient does not complete a valid Form W-4MNP for a taxable payment or distribution, withhold taxes at a rate of 6.25% of the 
taxable payment or distribution.

Does the department accept substitute forms?  
You may use an equivalent substitute form, but it must include all the election options from Form W-4MNP. Keep all Forms W-4MNP or 
equivalent documents with your records.

Financial institutions are not required to use this revised Form W-4MNP before January 1, 2024.

Financial institutions are not required to use Form W-4MNP before January 1, 2024.
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Minnesota Withholding Tax
Employer Responsibilities Webinar

Income Tax & Withholding Division
withholding.tax@state.mn.us

651-282-9999 or 1-800-657-3594

Handouts Review 



2/29/2024

2

Using Chat

If you have technical difficulties 
chat with Revenue ITW.

Using Slido
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CPE Guidelines, Pt. 1

• We follow NASBA guidelines so we can issue credits for this 
course

• This course is worth two credits

• You must answer at least three poll questions per hour to 
receive full credit

• You will have approximately one minute to answer each 
question before the poll closes

CPE Guidelines, Pt. 2

• Answering less than three polls per hour will result in partial 
credit

• The last question will ask for your name and email if you 
want a CPE certificate sent to you

• Your certificate will be emailed to you within three business 
days
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CPE Guidelines, Pt. 3

A test poll will follow this slide

• You cannot request CPE credits under a different name 
or email than what was used for registration

• Per NASBA rules, we cannot issue less than one credit

Disclaimer

This presentation is for educational purposes only and does not 
provide tax advice. It is meant to accompany an oral presentation 
and not to be used as a standalone document.  

This presentation is based on the facts and circumstances being 
discussed, and on the laws in effect when it is presented. It does 
not supersede or alter any provisions of Minnesota laws, 
administrative rules, court cases, or revenue notices.

If you have any questions, contact us at 651-282-9999 or  
withholding.tax@state.mn.us.

Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us 112/29/2024
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Withholding Tax Topics

• Minnesota withholding tax basics

• Minnesota Tax ID Number

• Other withholding programs

• Employer responsibilities

• Voluntary Disclosure Program

• e-Services

• Resources

122/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us

Other Contacts

• Minnesota Unemployment Insurance Program

• 651-296-6141   www.uimn.org

• Minnesota Department of Labor

• 651-284-5075   www.dli.mn.gov

• Federal Department of Labor

• 1-866-4US-WAGE (1-866-487-9243)   www.dol.gov

• Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Insurers Association

• 952-897-1737   www.mwcia.org

132/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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www.revenue.state.mn.us

152/29/2024

Website
Demonstration

Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us

www.revenue.state.mn.us
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www.revenue.state.mn.us

www.revenue.state.mn.us
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www.revenue.state.mn.us

www.revenue.state.mn.us



2/29/2024

9

www.revenue.state.mn.us

www.revenue.state.mn.us
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Minnesota Withholding Tax Basics  
and Other Programs 

Withholding Tax Basics  

• Most employers must withhold federal and state income tax

• Federal tax sent to IRS

• IRS Publication 15, Circular E, Employer’s Tax Guide 

• Minnesota tax sent to Department of Revenue

• Minnesota Income Tax Withholding Instructions

252/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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Wages Defined

Wages are not limited to:

• Salaries

• Cash wages

• Commissions

• Bonuses

• Tips (special rules)

• Back Pay

• Gifts

262/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us

When to Withhold

• Withhold and send Minnesota income tax and file returns if 
you:

• Employ anyone who works in or is a resident of Minnesota

• Must withhold federal income tax on wages

• We follow federal provisions for determining taxable wages

See Withholding Tax Fact Sheet 9

272/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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• For non-Minnesota construction contractors who perform 
work in Minnesota

• 8% withholding required on payments when contract value 
exceeds $50,000

• See Withholding Fact Sheet 12

Surety Deposits

282/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us

• Mining and exploration royalty payers must withhold income 
tax on royalty payments made for using Minnesota land

• 6.25% withholding on royalties paid during the year

Royalty Payments

292/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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• 2% nonresident entertainer tax on gross compensation

• No Minnesota income tax on compensation for a   
nonresident entertainer’s performances

• See Withholding Fact Sheet 11 

Nonresident Entertainer Tax

302/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us

• For projects done for the state of Minnesota or any of its 
political subdivisions

• Contractors must file Contractor Affidavits when project 
work is complete to receive final payment

• See Withholding Fact Sheet 13

Contractor Affidavit

312/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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Minnesota Tax ID Number

Minnesota Tax ID Number

Register for an ID number and withholding if any apply:

• You hire Minnesota employees, including corporate 
officers (see Withholding Fact Sheet 6)

• You pay nonresident employees to work in Minnesota

• You make mining and exploration royalty payments

• You agree to withhold Minnesota taxes when not required 
(voluntary withholding)

332/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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You’ll receive your numberMethod
Within minutes by emailOnline at 

www.revenue.state.mn.us 
Immediately over the phoneBy phone at 651-282-5225 

or 1-800-657-3605
Within 3 to 5 business days, if 
emailed or faxed

Using Form ABR, Application 
for Business Registration

How to Register

Caution: If you withhold before you register, we assess a 
$100 penalty.

Minnesota Use Tax

What is Use Tax?

• Applies when purchasing taxable items or services 
without paying sales tax

• Out-of-state purchases can trigger it, even if collecting 
sales tax

352/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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Minnesota Use Tax Facts

Did you know?

• Most businesses are liable

• When registering for a withholding account, you 
automatically get a use tax account

• You self-assess and pay it directly to Revenue

362/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us

Minnesota Use Tax Resources

Use Tax Resources:

• See Sales Tax Business Guide under Top Tasks on Sales 
and Use Tax home page

• Call 651-296-6181 or 1-800-657-3777

• Email salesuse.tax@state.mn.us

372/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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Employer Responsibilities

Employer Responsibilities

Employers have three main responsibilities:

• Deposit (pay) income tax withheld

• File withholding tax returns

• Submit W-2 and 1099 information

412/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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Reciprocity Exemptions

Form MWR – Reciprocity exemptions

• For Michigan or North Dakota 
residents who return to their state 
at least once a month

• Employees must complete this form
each year

• You must send us all copies

Due March 31 or 30 days from date 
completed

$50 penalty per form not submitted

422/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us

Allowances or Exemptions

Form W-4MN determines 
Minnesota allowances or
exemptions from Minnesota 
withholding.

• Cannot have Section 1 and 
Section 2 filled out for the same 
employee

432/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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Submitting Withholding Forms

Send us copies of Form W-4MN if 
employees:
• Claim more than 10 allowances
• Are not entitled to their 

allowances claimed 
• Claim exempt and wages exceed 

$200 a week 

Due February 15 or 30 days from 
date completed

$50 penalty per form not submitted

442/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us

Submitting Withholding Forms

Form W-4MNP
• Periodic or nonperiodic 

distributions from retirement 
accounts

• No longer based on allowances
• Based on dollar amount, 

percentage, or a 6.25% flat rate
• May elect to not withhold tax
• Keep a copy on file; do not send to 

Revenue
• Backup withholding rate does not 

apply
452/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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Depositing

Lookback Period

Lookback Period

2022 2023 2024

July 1

Sept 30

Oct 1

Dec 31

Jan 1

Mar 31

Apr 1

June 30

Calendar 
Year

Jan - Dec 

502/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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Monthly Depositors

You must deposit on a monthly schedule if either apply:

• Your withholding was over $1,500 last quarter and the IRS 
requires you to deposit on a monthly schedule

• You are a new employer (for the first 12 months)

Deposits are due by the 15th day of the next month.

512/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us

Semiweekly Depositors

You must deposit on a semiweekly schedule if both apply:

• Your withholding was over $1,500 last quarter

• The IRS requires you to deposit on a semiweekly schedule

Your deposit is dueIf your payday is
Wednesday after 
payday

Wednesday, Thursday, or Friday

Friday after paydaySaturday, Sunday, Monday, or Tuesday

522/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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Quarterly Depositors

You may deposit by the return due date if both apply:

• Withheld $1,500 or less in Minnesota tax last quarter

• Filed the last quarter’s return on time

We do not notify you when you exceed $1,500.

532/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us

Deposit Electronically

You must deposit electronically if any apply:

• You withheld a total of $10,000 or more in Minnesota 
income tax in the last 12 months (ending June 30)

• You must electronically pay another Minnesota business tax 

• You are a payroll service company

If required for one period, you must do so for all future periods.

We can assess a penalty for nonelectronic payments.

542/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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Filing

Minnesota Filing 

You must:

• File a withholding return for all active periods

• Submit returns online using our e-Services system

572/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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Quarterly Filing 

• You must file a return every quarter, even if you deposited 
all tax withheld

• If you did not withhold, file a “zero return” for the quarter

Return Due DateReporting Period
April 30Quarter 1 (January - March)
July 31Quarter 2 (April - June)

October 31Quarter 3 (July - September)
January 31Quarter 4 (October - December)

582/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us

Seasonal Depositors and Filers

• Deposit and file for only the quarters you pay wages (up to 
three quarters)

• Contact us if you think you qualify

592/29/2024

Return Due DateReporting Period
No WithholdingQuarter 1 (January - March)
No WithholdingQuarter 2 (April - June)

October 31Quarter 3 (July - September)
No WithholdingQuarter 4 (October - December)

Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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Annual Depositors and Filers

To deposit and file annually, you must qualify and have our 
approval. 

• Tax withheld must be $500 or less prior to December 1

• File and pay by January 31 of the following year

• If tax withheld exceeds $500 before December 1, deposit 
on the last day of the next month each time withholding 
exceeds $500

602/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us

Forms W-2 and 1099
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www.ssa.gov/employer

W-2 Wage Allocation

• Minnesota residents: Wages allocated to Minnesota, no 
matter where they physically perform work

• Reported in box 16 of Form W-2

• Nonresidents: Wages allocated to Minnesota for work 
physically performed in the state

• Exception for Michigan or North Dakota residents who 
provide Form MWR

652/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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W-2 and 1099 Requirements

By January 31:

• Give W-2s to employees and 1099s to payees

• Submit all W-2s to us

• Submit all 1099s with Minnesota withholding to us

662/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us

W-2 and 1099 Requirements

Submit information electronically: 

• Required if you have more than 10 forms

• Full Social Security Numbers required

672/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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Submitting W-2 and W-2c

Submit W-2 and W-2c in e-Services

• Upload EFW2 and EFW2C file formats up to 30MB 

• Simple File: Create spreadsheet, save as delimited, and 
upload

• Manually Enter Data 

See Withholding Fact Sheet 2 for W-2s and W-2cs.

$50 penalty per form not submitted.

682/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us

Submitting 1099 Information

Submit 1099 information in e-Services

• Upload 1220 file format up to 30MB 

• Simple File: Create spreadsheet, save as delimited, and 
upload

• Manually Enter Data

• New for 2020: Form 1099-NEC 

See Withholding Fact Sheet 2a for 1099s.

$50 penalty per form not submitted.

692/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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Submitting W-2, W-2c, or 1099 – Option 1

1. Create file from payroll/bookkeeping software

2. Upload file to e-Services

• Choose Submit Forms W-2/W-2c/1099 under I want to

• Choose Upload File and add attachment

• Choose file type (Simple/EFW2/EFW2C/1220)

• Submit file and wait for confirmation message for success

• File verified for data accuracy before acceptance
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Submitting W-2, W-2c, or 1099 – Option 2

1.   Create file with spreadsheet software
• Open a new spreadsheet

• Create separate columns (A-L) for specified data

• Enter data

• Save file spreadsheet as .txt or .csv (delimited)

2.   Upload file to e-Services (follow previous slide)
• Send 1099s and W-2s on the same spreadsheet

712/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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Submitting W-2, W-2c, or 1099 – Option 3

1.    Log in to e-Services
• Choose Manually Enter Data under I want to menu

• Enter the tax year

• Enter the number of forms you will be entering

• Enter the required data for each payee

• Submit all data

• Wait for confirmation of success

Note: Previous year data is not carried forward to update.
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Submitting W-2, W-2c, or 1099 – Option 3

e-Services for Businesses will now ask how many of these 
forms you have:

• 1099-MISC

• 1099-NEC

• 1099-R

• W-2G

732/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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Recordkeeping

Keep these records for at least three years, counting the 
current year:

• W-2 information

• 1099 information

• W-2c information

• All other payroll records

You must make records available on request.

742/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us

Voluntary Disclosure Program
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3% Tax on Misclassified Workers

• Applies to all instances, regardless of industry or entity

• 3% applies to total compensation paid 

• Employer cannot recover tax or claim it as a credit

See Withholding Tax Fact Sheet 8
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Voluntary Disclosure Program

• Helps businesses come into compliance

• Possible waiver of penalties

• Limited lookback period

• Confidential, except for information exchange agreements

782/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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Voluntary Disclosure Program

To qualify:

• Account cannot be under review

• Must not have filed returns for tax type requested
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Program Requirements

Employers must agree to:

• Register for a withholding tax account

• File returns in requested format

• Make records available for review upon request

• Pay tax, penalty, and interest specified in agreement 

Go to www.revenue.state.mn.us and enter Voluntary 
Disclosure into the Search box. 
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www.revenue.state.mn.us

812/29/2024

e-Services
Demonstration

Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us

e-Services
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e-Services 
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e-Services Access Type

Access type is a security feature that controls what users can 
do in e-Services. 

• e-Services Master can:

• Add, delete, and change security levels for all users 

• File returns and make payments

• Account Managers can:

• View, file, or make payments for specific accounts 

842/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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Third-Party Access

ThenIf you manage accounts for
Third-party access is not neededA business you own or are 

employed with
You must request third-party 
access for each business you 
manage

Other businesses

For details, go to our website and enter third-party 
access into the Search box.
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Levy Accounts

• e-Services Master receives email alert

• Created for employee or bank customer levies by Revenue 
only

• View levy balances on your employee or bank customers 

• Submit levy disclosures or payments

• Grant security access for filing, paying, or viewing levies

For details, go to our website and enter Wage Levy into the 
Search box.
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Online Services 
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Demand Letters and CFR Notices

If you have an active Withholding Tax account but have not
deposited tax or filed returns: 

• We will send you a Demand to File letter

• If you do not respond, we file a Commissioner Filed 
Return (CFR) on your behalf

• You must still file your own return, or we will send a bill 
and may collect the tax
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Penalties and Interest

We may assess penalties and interest if you are late in:

• Depositing tax

• Filing returns

• Submitting W-2 and 1099 information

For details, go to our website and enter penalties into the    
Search box.
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Closing your Withholding Tax Account

If you no longer need to withhold income tax:

• Close your withholding account

• File a return for the last period you were in business or had 
employees

• Send us all W-2s

• Send us any 1099s with Minnesota withholding
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Closing your Withholding Tax Account

If you hire employees later, contact us to reactivate your 
account.

Do not get a new Minnesota Tax ID Number.
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Closing your Business

• Closing your account with other state agencies does not
close your accounts with us

• Contact separate tax divisions to close other accounts
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Changing Your ID Number

• If you change your business entity type, close your existing 
account and register for a new Minnesota ID number

• If you need a new federal ID number, you usually need a new 
Minnesota ID number

962/29/2024 Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us

Withholding Tax Resources

• Minnesota Income Tax Withholding Instruction Booklet

• Fact Sheet 2 – Submitting Form W-2 and W-2c Information

• Fact Sheet 2a – Submitting Form 1099 Information

• Fact Sheet 3 – Agricultural Workers

• Fact Sheet 4 – Fairs and Special Events

• Fact Sheet 5 – Third-Party Bulk Filers

• Fact Sheet 6 – Corporate Officers

• Fact Sheet 7 – Household Employees

• Fact Sheet 8 – Independent Contractor or Employee?
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Withholding Tax Resources (Cont.)

• Fact Sheet 9 – Definitions of Wages

• Fact Sheet 10 – New Employer Guide

• Fact Sheet 11 – Nonresident Entertainer Tax

• Fact Sheet 12 – Surety Deposits for Non-Minnesota  
Construction Contractors

• Fact Sheet 13 – Construction Contracts with State or Local 
Government Agencies

• Fact Sheet 19 – Assigning Employee Income to Minnesota

• Fact Sheet 20 - Reciprocity
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Thank you!
.

Please let us know how we did.

Mark Krause
mark.krause@state.mn.us

651-556-6606
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