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Disclaimer

This presentation is for educational purposes only and does not provide tax advice. It is
meant to accompany an oral presentation and not to be used as a standalone document.

This presentation is based on the facts and circumstances being discussed, and on the laws
in effect when it is presented. It does not supersede or alter any provisions of Minnesota
laws, administrative rules, court cases, or revenue notices.

If you have any questions, contact us at salesuse.edu@state.mn.us, 651-296-6181, or
1-800-657-3777 (toll-free).

Minnesota Business Tax Education Program
Providing education opportunities about Minnesota tax laws.
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After completing this course, you will be able to:

* Apply the basic sales and use tax concepts for Minnesota and its local taxing
jurisdictions to your business

Recognize the exceptions to the rule and the exemptions available

Identify how to use and when to accept an exemption certificate

Identify the documentation necessary for sales and use tax records and
returns

Prepare and pay Sales and Use Tax returns using e-Services

List several resources that answer your sales and use tax questions
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Sales Tax Laws Are Not The Same In Every State

Streamlined Sales Tax
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What is Sales Tax?

¢ Applies to retail sales in Minnesota unless an exemption exists

* Collected and remitted by businesses in Minnesota
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What is Use Tax?

¢ Complement to sales tax
* Self-assessed L
 Paid directly to the state

* Applies to taxable purchases when sales tax was not charged




Categories of Sales

Real Intangible
Property Property

Tangible Personal | Digital

Property
(TPP)

Products
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Categories of Sales

Not subject to Minnesota sales or use tax:
* Real property
¢ Intangible property

Categories of Sales

Subject to Minnesota sales or use tax if listed in the statutes:
® Services

* Digital products




Categories of Sales

Subject to sales and use tax unless an exemption applies
® Tangible Personal Property (TPP)
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Sales Tax = Transaction Tax

Item Description

Gallon 2% milk 4.000 N
24-pk soda pop 13.0001 T
N

T-shirt 23.00
Subtotal: $ 40.00

.875% Sales tax (on $13.00): 1.15
Invoice Total: & 41.15

(6.875% MN State, 0.5% Ramsey County Transit Tax, 0.5% St. Paul,
0.75% Metro Area Transportation, and 0.25% Metro Area Housing taxes)
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1. Collect
2. File
3. Remit

- i

¢ P
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What is a Sale?

For sales and use tax purposes, a sale includes these types of
transactions:

* Retail sale

¢ Lease

* Rental

* Providing a service

 Sale from wholesaler to retailer

¢ Bartering
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Sourcing of Transactions

Sourcing determines where
the sale takes place and which
taxes are imposed on the sale.

1. Seller’s Address

2. Delivery Address

3. Billing Address

Sourced to Seller’s Address
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Sourced to Delivery Address

Sourcing Rules for Leases or Rentals of TPP

General
Sourcing ety
Rules
Subsequent Prlmary (address provided to
Payments Property lessor by lessee)
Location
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Sales Price Includes

e Allitems required as a condition of the sale
* Delivery or handling charges

* Fabrication labor

* Installation labor

* Service charges

* Taxes and fees that are the obligation of the seller
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Taxes Added to the Bill

Example:

Dry-cleaning $50.00
Include these taxes in sales Environ. Fee +2.00
price, then calculate sales tax. Subtotal 52.00

Tax (6.875%) 3.58

Total due $55.58
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Sales Price Does Not Include

 Cash discounts and term discounts

e Coupons unless reimbursed by a 3rd party

¢ Credit allowed for TPP taken in trade (trade-in allowance)
¢ Finance charges from an extension of credit

¢ Interest charges

* Taxes and fees legally imposed on a consumer

30
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Taxes Added to the Bill

Taxes that are the obligation of
the seller are subject to sales tax.

Taxes that are the obligation of
the purchaser are not subject to

Example:

Phone Service
Fees - Seller

Fees-Purchaser

sales tax. Subtotal

Tax (6.875% on 152.88)

Total due

$140.00T
+12.88T
+5.74N
158.62
10.51
$169.13
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Retailer’s Coupons

Subtract the coupon from the
price of the item, then apply
sales tax.

Example:
Computer
Less coupon
Subtotal

Tax (6.875%)
Total due

$400.00
-50.00
350.00
24.06
$374.06
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Manufacturer’s Coupons

Apply sales tax to the price of
the item, then subtract the
coupon.

Example:
Computer
Tax (6.875%)
Subtotal
Less coupon
Total due

$400.00
27.50
427.50
-50.00
$377.50
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When is Labor Taxed?

Repair labor  Car repair No

Equipment repair (if separately stated)
Calibrating equipment

Sharpening tools

Construction labor Build an office building No

Kitchen remodel

Fabrication labor Custom sawing Yes

Bending sheet metal

Installation labor Computer equipment Yes

Modular furniture
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When are Repair and Maintenance Contracts Taxed?

Types of contract Is the contract taxable?

Optional maintenance contracts Yes
(bundled — one nonitemized price)

Optional maintenance contracts No
(unbundled — separate itemized prices)
Extended warranty contracts No

Maintenance Agreements for Prewritten Software

Details of agreement Taxability of agreement

Required by vendor The entire charge is taxable
Includes only upgrades and/or The entire charge is taxable
enhancements

Optional and includes upgrades, 20% of the charge is taxable

enhancements, and support services

Optional and includes support services only Not taxable
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Who Needs to Register?

You must register if you:
* Make taxable sales into Minnesota
* Have a physical presence in Minnesota

* Remote sellers who exceed the Small Seller Exception during the last
12-month period with:

© 200 or more retail sales shipped to Minnesota
° Retail sales shipped to Minnesota that total more than $100,000 9
* Make purchases subject to use tax <z
A
4
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What Activities Create A Physical Presence?

Performing
services

Business
Leasing or location
renting TPP

Performing _NEXUS o Repairing or
construction work / r»’\ installing TPP
7 \\\

~

Delivering TPP into Tradeshow
MN in own vehicle Agent, sales rep, or or convention

affiliated company
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Remote Sellers

A remote seller is any business that sells products in a state
without having a physical presence in that state.

Examples:

* Internet Sellers

* Mail order/catalog companies

¢ Sales over the telephone

39
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Who is a Marketplace Provider?

A Marketplace Provider is any person, other than the seller,
who facilitates a retail sale by:

« Listing or advertising the seller’s products; and

* Processing the payments from the customer, either directly or
indirectly through a third party

Sales Through Marketplace Providers
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You only sell through a Marketplace

* If the Marketplace collects on your behalf, you do not need to
register.

« If the Marketplace does not collect sales tax on your behalf, you
must register and collect the tax unless you meet the Small Seller
Exception.

Sales Through Marketplace Providers

You sell through a Marketplace, your own website, and
through other sources
« If all retail sales into Minnesota combined exceed the Small Seller

Exception, you must collect and remit tax for all sales not
reported by the Marketplace.
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Minnesota Tax ID Numb

Minnesota Department of Revenue’s Business Center
* Register online A
* Register by phone o ‘

* Mail a completed paper registration form

Streamlined Sales Tax Registration System (SSTRS) -

Local Taxes

Local taxes are added to the state general sales tax rate to
compute the total tax rate.

 City tax J%

e County tax

* Special local tax(es)

‘1. {
* Motor vehicle $20 excise tax L %

Local Sales Tax Information

Local Sales Tax Notices (Recent and Older)

Local Sales and Use Tax Guide

Local tax fact sheets
° Fact Sheet 164M, Minneapolis Special Local Taxes
© Fact Sheet 164S, Special Local Taxes

Tools to find tax rates
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Tax Rate Search Tools

We offer a variety of tools including:
* Sales Tax Rate Calculator

¢ Sales Tax Rate Map

¢ Sales Tax Rate Spreadsheet

* Local Sales Tax Rate Guide

* Twin Cities Area Local Tax Rate Guide

Tax Rates Tools for Sales Systems

We offer these tools to use with your sales systems:
* Sales Tax API (Application Program Interface)

* Rates and boundaries data

Sales and Use
Tax Information

48
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Local Sales Tax
Information

strarmer Calculate a
Sales Tax Rate

Individuals  Businesses Tax Professionals Governments  Pollcy & Research  Frau

Minnesota Department of Revenue

Working together to fund Minnesota's future
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Sales Tax Rate Calculator e Sales Tax Rate
” - (= Calculator

eanc et oy a0 35y For e formasn, s ozl Tas i

Find a Sales and Use Tax Rate
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ZIP + 4 Option

Zipt4[]

Results: The Sales Tax
Rate for 55101-2228 is
7.875% (Apr-Jun 2022). HPCoRs

MN State = 6.875%; '

Ramsey County Transit = EFFECTIVE PERIOD

Enter a nine-digit ZIP code.

0500%; St Paul -

0.500%.

DOLLAR AMOUNT

The Tax on $2500 is
$196.88.
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Address Option

Results: The Sales Tax s

DR

rate for 600 N Robert St,
St. Paul 55101-2228 is 00 N Robert St

7.875% (Apr-Jun 2022). r
MN State = 6.875%;
Ramsey County Transit =
0.500%; St. Paul =
0.500%. ereecrve pesion
;
The Tax on $2500 is

DOLLAR AMOUNT

SiseER [ 2500

Find a Sales and Use Tax Rate

You can search by address, 9-digit ZIP code, or by searching on an interactive map. Look

verify an address on the U.S. Postal Service website.
Address [+]

Zip+4[+]

Mep[-]

Select the sales tax location or{the Sales Tax Rate Map.

Map Option
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Map Option

* Address Search

600 Robert St N,
St. Paul 55101-2228

Results

State Tax: 6.875%

County Tax: 0.5% Ramsey

County Transit _ =
City Tax: 0.5% St. Paul City ? —_—
Other Tax: None

Total Sales Tax Rate: 7.875% ¥
(Apr-Jun 2022) _ - T eEm

Calcunt the Rate

DEPARTMENT

Sales Tax API OF REVENUE

(Application i " " Policy & Researc
Program Interface)

= Sales Tax API (Application Program

ww  |nterface)

The of Revenue is of our Sales Tax
Application Program Interface (Sales Tax AP) that connects an online retailer's sales site and
Minnesotars sales tax rate information, using a nine-digit ZIP code.
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Break Time
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Exempt Transactions

There are three ways for a sale to be exempt from sales and
use tax:

Product-based exemption

Entity-based exemption

Use-based exemption

Product-Based Exemptions

¢ Food (grocery items) for human consumption
 Clothing for general use
* Prescription and over-the-counter drugs for humans

¢ Publications sold by subscription

Entity-Based Exemptions

¢ Federal government agencies

* Tribal governments

* Minnesota government agencies

¢ Local governments (exceptions apply)

* Exempt organizations

20



Use-Based Exemptions

* Advertising materials shipped out of state
 Inventory purchased for resale

 Items consumed in performing a taxable service

* Items used or consumed in agricultural production

* Materials used or consumed in the manufacturing process

Authorization Letters and Permits

| m
=

¢ Direct Pay
* Exempt Status (nonprofit exemption)
* Motor Carrier Direct Pay

* Resource Recovery Facility

Authorized Exemption Certificates

« Certificate of Exemption, Form ST3
* Certificate of Exemption, Form FO003
* Uniform Sales and Use Tax Certificate
¢ Other state’s exemption certificates

 Self-prepared exemption certificate

21



Purchaser's name and
address

Purchaser's Minnesota
tax ID number

Purchaser’s type of
business

Reason for exemption

Purchaser's signature

[10) Bty One-time exemption on a
Form ST3, Certificate of Exemption

purchase

Purchasing agent buying
materials for an exempt
job

Seller’s name and
address

Purchaser’s Responsibilities

¢ Know if you qualify to claim an exemption
¢ Complete an exemption certificate
* Give it to the seller at the time of purchase

* Pay any use tax, penalty, and/or interest if used incorrectly
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Seller’s Responsibilities

* Review all exemption certificates
* Keep exemption certificates as part of your business records

¢ Do not unlawfully solicit exemption certificates

67

Sales Tax is a Transaction Tax

Look at each transaction to determine its taxability

68

Transaction Tax - Seller

The seller must look at each transaction.

* A general contractor rents equipment (without an operator) to a
subcontractor.

A wholesaler makes a retail sale to an employee.

A farm implement dealer sells equipment to a contractor.

An accounting firm sells software to a client and installs it on the
client’s computers.

A lawn care business provides snow removal services in the winter.
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Transaction Tax - Purchaser

The purchaser must look at each transaction.

* A general contractor buys materials for a tax-exempt job.
* A retail electronics store buys taxable office supplies.

* A manufacturer buys utilities to heat their facility.

* A farmer buys tires for a tractor.

¢ A building cleaning company buys vacuum cleaners.

Use Tax Basis

~
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Use tax is based on your purchase price of taxable items or
services. This is true whether you buy items:

* For your own business use without paying sales tax,
¢ Take them out of inventory and use them in a taxable manner, or

¢ Donate them to a charitable organization.

Review Your Invoices

~N
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What Should | Look For?

* Review every invoice.

¢ Determine if items on the invoice are taxable.

* Look for taxable items purchased with an exemption certificate.

* Look for vendor changes.
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Recording Use Tax

* Always self assess the tax and remit it directly to the Department
of Revenue.

* Never add use tax to a vendor payment

* Record the amount of use tax accrued.

74

Accruing Use Tax

Businesses owe use tax on items used in their business when
sales tax was not charged, including:

¢ Administrative items

* Business equipment and supplies

* Taxable services

e Promotional items
« Utilities

75
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Exempt Items

Some items may be purchased exempt depending on their
use, or they are exempt by law, including:

¢ Clothing for general use

* Nonreturnable packaging

Variable Rate Credit

~
()]

What is a variable rate credit?

* Minnesota allows a credit for the amount of sales tax paid to
another state

* Must be legally due to the other state to receive credit

Calculating Variable Rate

1. Calculate the applicable amount of tax due
(variable rate X sales pric

~N
~N

2. Enter the amount as variable rate use tax on

your sales and use tax return.

Minnesota sales tax rate 6.875%
Wisconsin state and local sales tax ~ (5.500%)
Variable rate tax due to Minnesota 1.375%

78
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Recording Use Tax

 Record this information for each transaction:
° Date of purchase
° Invoice number
° Vendor’s name and description of item
© Taxable amount
° Amount of state and local use taxes paid

¢ Keep a copy of the backup documentation.

Recordkeeping Basics

~N
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Use a recordkeeping system that:

* Incorporates Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP)
¢ Tracks the data you need

¢ Easy to maintain

* Works for your business

Recordkeeping Basics

Make sure that you:

* Record each transaction the same

* Do not mix personal and business transactions

¢ Do not mix business records, if you have more than one business

* Use the appropriate accounting method (cash or accrual)

27



Sales Tax Documents

You should retain sales tax documents that detail the
following:

¢ Description of the item
* Sales price
* Where the item was sourced

¢ Any sales tax collected

Accounting Methods

00
I |

* Record income when you * Record income when you make
receive payment the sale

+ Report sales tax when you * Report sales tax when you
receive payment make the sale

* Report use tax when you pay * Report use tax based on the
the invoice invoice date

Filing and Paying

@-Services

You must do two things to avoid late filing and late payment
penalties:

1. File your return by the due date.

2. Pay your sales and use tax liability on or
before the due date.

84
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Filing Due Dates

Filing

Frequen

cy |Average Tax Liability Due Date

Less than $100 per month

Annual filers (Crei I 0D e February 5 of the following year
Quarterly Less than $500 per month  20th day of the month following
filers (less than $6,000 per year) the end of the quarter
More than $500 per month
Monthly filers (more than $6,000 per 20th day of the following month
year)
85

MN e-Services
Filing and
Payment
Instructions

* Logln

* Registration

86

mn

T e Filing and
Payment
Instructions

OF REVENUE

* Verification

% DEPARTMENT

OF REVENUE

87
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Verification

* Security code
 Trust this device

¢ Confirm

(3 1 IR
¥ oF revenuE

Sales & Use Tax
Account

R Sales & Use Tax
i Account

Springboard

e Account Alerts

¢ File a return

[ 1) e
b ormevenue
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Sales & Use Tax
Return

¢ Import Your Data

¢ Enter Your Data

1) B
oF REVENUE

Sales & Use Tax
Return

¢ Gross Receipts

Sales & Use Tax Return
* Taxable sales

* Taxable purchases
 Variable rate purchases

¢ Purchases subject to
local taxes

e Add a tax line

* Save and finish later

93
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Sales & Use Tax
Return Summary
* Gross receipts

* Taxable sales

e Taxable purchases

* Projected amount
due

L1 LRy

Projected
Amount Due
¢ Would you like to

make your
payment?

95

Payment
Instructions
¢ Bank Information

* Payment
Information

96
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Submission
Summary

* Projected Amount Due

* Payment Information

Confirmation
Screen

* Confirmation Summary

* Return Summary

* Payment Summary

* Review filing history

Print or email return

ding Returns

Common reasons for amending a return:
* Reported too much or not enough tax on your return
* Reported the tax on the wrong tax line

¢ Charged tax incorrectly to a customer and refunded the tax to the

customer
* Received a completed exemption certificate from a customer for
tax you paid and now refunded back to the customer %,
R
n
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Resources to Answer Your Questions

Are you looking for additional resources?

=
o
o
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Visit our website at revenue.state.mn.us

Sales and Use Tax Contact Information

 Sales taxability questions
Email: salesuse.tech@state.mn.us

* Sales and Use Tax account questions
Email: salesuse.tax@state.mn.us

* Telephone assistance

Phone: 651-296-6181 or 1-800-657-3777 (toll free) (

102
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Other Di Contact Informatio

¢ Business Income Taxes

° 651-556-3075

° Email: businessincome.tax@state.mn.us
* Withholding Tax

° 651-282-9999 or 1-800-657-3594

° Email: withholding.tax@state.mn.us

¢ Business Registration ]
© 651-282-5225 or 1-800-657-3605
° Email: Business.Registration@state.mn.us o
103

Stay Informed

OF REVENUE

* Email Updates
* Newsroom

* Social Networks

* Tax Law Changes

104

Tax Law Changes

* Authorization and implementation of local tax changes
* Motor Vehicle Tax increase

e Other

105
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Tax Increases

* Local Sales Tax Increases
° Metro Sales Tax Transportation 0.75% (Effective 10/1/2023)
° Metro Sales Tax Housing 0.25% (Effective 10/1/2023)
° Other

* Motor Vehicle Tax increased to 6.875%
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Email Updates with GovDelivery

* Choose the updates you want, by tax and publication type
* Choose notification frequency

« Sign in directly or use the Facebook or Google links

NEWwS

107

Minnesota Revenue Social Media Accounts

Keep up with the latest news from the Minnesota
Department of Revenue on:

u twitter.com/MNrevenue
ﬂ facebook.com/MNrevenue

m linkedin.com/company/MNrevenue

108
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otification of Changes

It is your responsibility to ensure the following information is
correct:

Business location(s)

Contact information

Legal organization

Mailing address(es)
NAICS code

Owners and/or officers

109

Letters or Bills

Did you receive a letter or a bill from us?

110

Late Filing and Late Payment Penalties

Late Filing Penalty Late
1-30 days 5 percent 5 percent
31-60 days 5 percent 10 percent
60+ days 5 percent 15 percent
111
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Interest Rates

© »

2024 8%
2023 5%

021 - 2022 3%
2019 - 2020 5%
2017 -2018 4%
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Course Review

During this class, we discussed ...

* The basic sales and use tax concepts for Minnesota and its local taxing
jurisdictions.

The difference between taxable goods and services and those that are
nontaxable or exempt.

How to use and when to accept an exemption certificate.

The documentation necessary for sales and use tax records and
returns.

e-Services and how to file and pay Sales and Use Tax returns

Where to find information to help you answer your questions.

113

m1 DEPARTMENT
OF REVENUE

Minnesota Business Tax Education

Thank you!

Permission of the Minnesota Department of Revenue must be secured before exhibiting, reproducing, distributing
or making any other use of any part of this presentation.

Produced by the Minnesota Department of Revenue 600 North Robert Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55146

©Copyright 2023, Minnesota Department of Revenue, All Rights Reserved

Working together to fund the future for all of Minnesota | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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