

Minnesota.



# Form MWR, Reciprocity Exemption/Affidavit of Residency for Tax Year 2024

For Michigan and North Dakota residents who work in Minnesota.

Read Instructions on Dack.			
Employees:	Complete this form and give it to y	our employer.	
Employee's Last Name		First Name and Initial	Employee's Social Security Number
Permanent Ac	ldress		
City		State (check one)	ZIP Code
		Michigan North Dakota	
1 If you e	u earned wages in Minnesota during the previous year, enter the wages you earned \$		
2 How lo	ng have you lived at your permanent	residence? Fromtotototo	ır)
	return to your permanent residence answer is no, STOP HERE. You do not o		
4 Were y	ou ever a resident of Minnesota?	Yes, fromtoto(month/year)	No
Current Emple	ovor's Nomo		Employer's Federal Tax ID
Current Employer's Name		Employer's rederal lax ib	
Employer's M	ailing Address		Employer's Phone Number
City		State	ZIP Code
	t the above information is correct and there is a \$500 penalty for making fa	l complete to the best of my knowledge and belief. Ise statements.	
Employee's Si	gnature	Date	Employee's Phone Number
Employers:	Mail this form to:		
	Minnesota Department of Reve	enue	
	Mail Station 6501		
	600 N. Robert St.		
	St. Paul, MN 55146-6501		
	Keep a copy for your records.		

Note: If this form is not filled out completely, you must withhold Minnesota income tax from wages earned in

## Form MWR Instructions

## **Instructions for Employees**

Minnesota has income tax reciprocity agreements with Michigan and North Dakota. These agreements only cover personal service income such as wages, bonuses, tips, and commissions.

Every year, fill out this form and give it to each Minnesota employer if all of these apply:

- · You are a resident of Michigan or North Dakota
- You return to your residence in that state at least once a month
- · You do not want Minnesota income tax withheld from your wages

Give the completed form to your employer by the later of:

- February 28
- 30 days after you begin working or change your permanent state of residence

If you complete and submit Form MWR, you do not need to complete Form W-4MN, *Minnesota Employee Withholding/Exemption Certificate*, to claim exempt from Minnesota Withholding Tax.

#### Fill Out the Form Completely

If you do not complete every item on this form or do not give the form to your employer by the due date, your employer must withhold Minnesota income tax from your wages.

#### To Get a Refund of Tax Already Withheld for the Year

File Form M1, Individual Income Tax, with the Minnesota Department of Revenue. See the Form M1 instructions for details.

#### **Penalties**

If you make any statements on this form that you know are incorrect, we may assess a \$500 penalty.

#### **Use of Information**

All information on Form MWR is private by state law. It may only be given to your state of residence, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and to other state tax agencies as provided by law. The information may be compared with other information you gave to the Minnesota Department of Revenue.

Your name, address, and Social Security Number are required for identification. Your address is also required to verify your state of residence. Your employer's name, Federal Employer Identification Number, and address and phone number are required.

The only information not required is your phone number. We ask for it so we can contact you if we have questions.

## **Instructions for Employers**

Employees must provide you a complete Form MWR if one of these applies:

- · They reside in Michigan or North Dakota
- They requested that you do not withhold Minnesota income tax from their wages

Form MWR is due by February 28 each year, or within 30 days after they begin working for you or change their state of residence. Employees who live in other states, including Minnesota, cannot use this form.

If an employee does not complete every item of Form MWR or does not provide the form to you by the due date, you must withhold Minnesota income tax, using the same marital status and number of allowances claimed on the employee's Minnesota Form W-4MN (or federal Form W-4, if they did not complete Form W-4MN).

If the employee provides you with a properly completed Form MWR, the employee is not required to complete Form W-4MN to claim exemption from Minnesota income tax withholding.

### **Submit Completed Forms MWR to the Department**

By March 31 of each year, send the completed Forms MWR to:

Minnesota Department of Revenue Mail Station 6501 600 N. Robert St. St. Paul, MN 55146-6501

You must keep a copy of all forms for five years from the date received.

For new employees or employees who change their state of residence, send the form within 30 days after the employee gives it to you.

You may be assessed a \$50 penalty for each form you do not send us when required.

#### Forms and Information

Website: www.revenue.state.mn.us Email: withholding.tax@state.mn.us Phone: 651-282 9999 or 1-800-657-3594 This information is available in alternate formats.