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Disclaimer

This presentation is for educational purposes only and does not provide tax advice. It is meant
to accompany an oral presentation and not to be used as a standalone document.

This presentation is based on the facts and circumstances being discussed, and on the laws in
effect when it is presented. It does not supersede or alter any provisions of Minnesota laws,
administrative rules, court cases, or revenue notices.

If you have any questions, contact us at salesuse.edu@state.mn.us , 651-296-6181, or 1-800-
657-3777 (toll-free), or consult a tax professional.

Minnesota Business Tax Education Program

— Providing education opportunities about Minnesota tax laws.
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Course Objectives

After completing this course retailers will be able to:

* Apply the basic sales and use tax concepts for Minnesota and its local
taxing jurisdictions to their business.

Recognize the exceptions to the rule and the exemptions available.
Identify how to use and when to accept an exemption certificate.
Distinguish how sales and use tax law applies to retail businesses.

* Use e-Services to file a sales and use tax return

* List several resources that answer their sales and use tax questions.
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Sales Tax Laws Are Not The Same In Every State

13
Categories of Sales

Real Intangible
Property Property

Tangible Personal Digital
Property

(TPP)

Products
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Tangible Personal Property

Subject to sales and use tax unless an exemption applies
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Retailer vs Wholesaler

* Retailers sell goods or services to the final customer

* Wholesalers sell goods to a retailer

16

Do | need to collect Minnesota sales tax?

Sellers must collect Minnesota sales tax on goods sourced to
Minnesota, unless:

* An exemption applies, or

* They meet the small seller exception
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Sourcing of Transactions

Sourcing determines where the )
sale takes place and which 1. Seller’s Address
taxes are imposed on the sale.

2. Delivery Address

3. Billing Address




Sourcing Rul Leases or Rentals of TPP

General (where transfer
Sourcing of property
Rules occurs)
Subsequent LY (address \
Property provided to
Payments Location lessor by lessee)
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Remote Sellers

A remote seller is any business that sells products into a state
without having a physical presence in that state.

Examples:
* Internet Sellers
* Mail order/catalog companies

* Sales over the telephone
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Small Seller Exception

The Small Seller Exception applies to remote sellers who do NOT
meet either of the following thresholds in the previous 12 months:

e 200 or more retail sales shipped into Minnesota

* Retail sales shipped into Minnesota that total more than $100,000




Sales Tax Charged by the Seller

Sales tax applies to retail sales of:
* Most tangible personal property
* Some services

* Some digital products
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Use Tax

N
N

* Applies to taxable purchases when sales tax was not charged
* Complements sales tax
* Self-assessed

e Paid directly to the state
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What is the tax rate?

N
w
T

/6.875%*

&

*Local taxes may apply %
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Sales Tax is a Transaction Tax

Look at each transaction to determine its taxability
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Sales Tax is a Transaction Tax

ABC Retail Store
111 Mainst.
St. Paul, N 55105
Phone: 651-555-5555

3/14/2020 11:37

General Merchandise

ABC Retail Store
111 Main st
St Paul, MN 55105
Phone: 651-555-5555

3/14/202011:37

[ce neral Merchandise:

Candy a9 [7F] Candy a9 candy aes |1
Coloring Book 199 |7 Coloring Book 199 Coloring Book 1o |7
Grocery Grocery Grocery
Salad Dressing 3m |F Salad Dressing 349 Salad Dressing ses|n
Coffee 1318 |F Coffee 1318 Coffee 138 | N
2@659 2@658 2@659

Meat meat Meat

Ground Beef a0 |F Ground Beef a9 Ground Beef ass|n
subtotal 2818 subtotal 2814 subtotal 2814
[raxon 6.8 L Iraxon 648 051 raon 6.48 o051
[rotal 2855 2565 rotal 28.65

ABC Retail Store
111 Main st
St.Paul, MN 55105
Phone: 6515555555

3/14/2020 11:37

Generai Merchandise
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Itemized Transactions

invoice.

Car repair

- parts are taxable
Computer setup and repair
- support services are not taxable

- repair labor is not taxable

- software or parts are taxable

List taxable and nontaxable items on separate lines of an

27
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Bundled Transactions

Bundled transactions are two or more items included for one non-
itemized price.

* Taxable when any of the included items are taxable.

* Bundles containing food are taxable if more than 50% of the
items included are taxable.
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Taxable Sales

Sellers must collect Minnesota sales tax on goods they sell unless an
exemption applies.

Examples of taxable sales:

* Equipment sales or rentals

Office supplies

Pet food and medications

Protective equipment

Sports equipment
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Sales Price

Sales price is the total of all charges that are part of the sale. If the
item or service is taxable, these items are also taxable.

30

30

10



Sales Price Includes

* Allitems required as a condition of the sale

* Delivery or handling charges

* Fabrication labor

e Installation charges

e Layaway fees

* Retail price of the product or service

* Service charges (trip charge, fuel surcharge, processing charges, etc.)

* Taxes that are the obligation of the seller .

Sales Price Does NOT Include

w
[y

Credit allowed for TPP taken in trade (trade-in allowance must be in-
kind)

Discounts or coupons

Interest

Finance charges

Taxes legally imposed on the consumer, if separately state on the
invoice

32

32
Retailer’s Coup

Computer $400.00
Less coupon 50.00
Su‘btract theAcoupon from the Subtotal 350.00
price of the item, then apply
sales tax. Tax (6.875%) 24.06
Total due $374.06

33
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Manufacturer’s Coupon

Computer $400.00
Tax (6.875%) 27.50

Apply sales tax to the price of
el 5 Subtotal 427.50

the item, then subtract the
coupon. Less coupon 50.00

Total due $377.50

Daily Deal Website Vouchers and Coupons

Discount vouchers and group coupons are purchased online and
brought to the retailer for the discount.

* Purchase of a discount voucher is not taxable.

* If the item or service is taxable, charge sales tax when the voucher or
coupon is redeemed.

How are vouchers taxed?

Is the amount paid for the Charge Sales Tax on:
voucher known?

Yes Tax amount paid for the discount
voucher.
No Tax the face value of the discount
voucher.
36
36
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Voucher Example - Massage Services

Orline Group Coupon 5
'

Redeemabla for one 60 minute massage

ﬂﬁ!‘; "_!.

S

Expiration Date: De#nber 31,2026
V

lAmount Paid, 35.00

&
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Voucher Example - Car Detailing Services

Chline Group Coupon

Redeemable for Sedan Vehicle Detailing

Value 249.99

Fritz's Fine Detailing

Expiration Date: December 31, 2026

38
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Voucher Example - Candy

Cnline Group Coupan

Redeema ble for 1dozen chocola te dipped ca ramels (valued a t 22.00)

Carina's Candies

Expiration Date: December$1,2026

Amount Paid 10.00

39

39
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Rewards Programs

Rewards programs are incentives to encourage customer loyalty.
They include:

e Checks

e Coupons
e Discounts
* Points

* Rebates

40
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When is a rewards program considered a discount?

A reward is considered a discount when it:
¢ Is not purchased

* Is not provided in exchange for services

* Cannot be redeemed for cash

* Is not reimbursed by a third party

41

41

Retailer Rewards

Retailer rewards are taxable if they:

* Require a customer to pay cash for the reward

* Require the customer to provide services in exchange for the reward
* Are reimbursed by a third party

e Can be redeemed for cash

42
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Rewards Program — Punch Card

Punch card at a coffeeshop

* For every purchase you get one punch
* 10 punches gets you a free drink

* No tax is due
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Rewards Program — Restaurant Loyalty Card

Loyalty card sold by a restaurant for $50
¢ The customer gets 20% off purchases for a year
* Tax charged on full price of meal before discount is applied

44

44

Rewards Program — Bookstore Loyalty Card

Loyalty card sold by a bookstore for $20
* The customer gets 10% off purchases for a year
* Tax charged on full price of items sold before discount is applied

45

45
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Returns

* Refund purchase price and sales tax

* Amend sales and use tax return after refunding the amount to the
customer
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Nontaxable Sales

S
(o))

Examples include:

* Clothing

* Food for human consumption

* Gift certificates and gift cards

¢ Items shipped out of state

* Prescription medications for humans
* Restocking fees
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Local Taxes

Local taxes are added to the state general sales tax rate to
compute the total tax rate.

* City tax J%

* County tax

* Special local tax(es)

* Motor vehicle $20 excise tax L %

16



Local Sales Tax Information

* Local Sales and Use Tax Guide

Local tax fact sheets
© Fact Sheet 164M, Minneapolis Special Local Taxes
° Fact Sheet 164S, Special Local Taxes

New local taxes

Tools to find tax rates

49
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Tools to Find Tax Rates

We offer a variety of tools including:

* Sales Tax Rate Calculator

¢ Sales Tax Rate Map

* Sales Tax API (Application Program Interface)
* Sales Tax Rate Spreadsheet

* Local Sales Tax Rate Guide

* Twin Cities Area Local Tax Rate Guide

50
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Sales and Use
Tax Information

51
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Local Sales Tax
Information

52

1Y) S Calculate a
Sales Tax Rate

Individuals  Businesses Tox Professionals Governments Pollcy & Research  Frau

Minnesota Department of Revenue

Working together to fund Minnesota's future
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Sales Tax Rate Calculator Sales TaX Rate
Calculator

54
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ZIP + 4 Option

Zipr4 ]

Results: The Sales Tax
Rate for 55101-2228 is
7.875% (Apr-Jun 2022). 21 coner

MN State = 6.875%;
Ramsey County Transit = EFFECTIVE PERIOD
03005 ot~
0.500%.

DOLLAR AMOUNT

Soeme " 20"
$196.88.

Enter a nine-digit ZIP code.
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Address Option

Results: The Sales Tax

rate for 600 N Robert St, -
St. Paul 55101-2228 is 600 N Robert St
7.875% (Apr-Jun 2022).
MN State = 6.875%; e

Ramsey County Transit =

0.500%; St. Paul = Erom
0.500%.
The Tax on $2500 is S—

SIS [ 2s00]
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Find a Sales and Use Tax Rate

You can search by address, 9-digit ZIP code, or by searching on an interactive map. Look

verify an address on the U.S. Postal Service website.

Map Option

Address [+]

Zip+4[+]

Mep[]

Select the sales tax location on{the Sales Tax Rate Map.

57

57
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Map Option

* Address Search

600 Robert St N,
St. Paul 55101-2228

Results

State Tax: 6.875%

County Tax: 0.5% Ramsey
County Transit

City Tax: 0.5% St. Paul City
Other Tax: None

Total Sales Tax Rate: 7.875%
(Apr-Jun 2022)

Calcuato the Rate

DEPARTMENT

Sales Tax API OF REVENUE

(Application i i i Policy & Researc
Program Interface)

= Sales Tax API (Application Program

wew  |nterface)

[T

“The Minnesota Department of Revene s currently offering a beta version of our Sales Tax
Application Tax API)that connects an oniine retailer’s sales site and
Minnesotars sales tax rate information, using a nine-digit ZIP code.

59

Break Time

20



Exemption Certificates

Sellers must collect Minnesota Sales Tax on taxable goods and services,
unless they have a completed exemption certificate on file. Some reasons
for exemption include:

* Agricultural production

* Capital equipment or industrial production
* Direct Pay Authorization

* Exempt entity

* Resale

61

61

Sales Transactions

Three ways a sale may be exempt from sales and use tax:

Product-based exem

Entity-based exemption

Use-based exemption

62

62

Product-Based Exemptions

* Food (grocery items) for human consumption
* Clothing for general use
* Prescription and over-the-counter drugs for humans

* Publications sold by subscription

63

63
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Entity-Based Exemptio

* Federal government agencies
* Tribal governments
* State and local governments (exceptions apply)

* Exempt organizations

64
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Entity-Based Exemptions

* Paid for directly by the exempt entity
* The sales tax exemption for entity-based organizations does not
apply to:
- lodging
. prepared food, candy, soft drinks or alcoholic beverages
. purchases, leases, or rentals of most motor vehicles

. waste collection and disposal services

65
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Use-Based Exemptions

* Advertising materials shipped out-of-state

* Inventory purchased for resale

* Items consumed in performing a taxable service

* Items used or consumed in agricultural production

* Materials used or consumed in the manufacturing process

66

66
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Authorization Letters and Permits

Businesses claiming these exemptions must complete an
exemption certificate:

* Direct Pay

* Exempt Status (nonprofit exemption)

* Motor Carrier Direct Pay

* Resource Recovery Facility

67

67

Authorized Exemption Certificates

* Form ST3, Certificate of Exemption

* Form FO003, Certificate of Exemption
* Uniform Sales and Use Tax Certificate

e Other state’s exemption certificates*

* Self-prepared exemption certificate *

*|f all required elements are included

68

68

Purchaser's name and
address

Purchaser's Minnesota
tax ID number

Purchaser’s type of
business

Reason for exemption

Purchaser's signature

23



Other Fields on the Exemption Certificate

AL Rt * One-time exemption on a
Form ST3, Certificate of Exemption
. purchase

* Purchasing agent buying
materials for an exempt
job

* Seller’s name and
address

Purchaser’s Responsibilities

* Know if you qualify to claim an exemption
* Complete an exemption certificate
e Give it to the seller at the time of purchase

e Pay any use tax, penalty, or interest if used incorrectly

71

71

Seller’s Responsibilities

* Review all exemption certificates
* Keep exemption certificates as part of your business records

* Do not unlawfully solicit exemption certificates

72
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Review Your Invoices

What should | look for?

~
w

* Review every invoice.
* Determine if items on the invoice are taxable.
* Look for taxable items purchased with an exemption certificate.

* Look for vendor changes.

74
Recording Use Tax

* Always self assess the tax and remit it directly to the Department of
Revenue.

* Never add use tax to a vendor payment

* Record the amount of use tax accrued on the actual invoice.

25



Use tax is based on your purchase price of taxable items or
services. This is true whether you buy items:

 for your own business use without paying sales tax,
* take them out of inventory and use them in a taxable manner, or

* donate them to a charitable organization.

76
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Accruing Use Tax

Retailers owe use tax on items used in their business when sales
tax was not charged, including:

* General items

* Retail equipment and supplies
* Taxable services

* Promotional items

 Utilities

77

77

Exempt Items

Some items may be purchased exempt depending on their use, or
they are exempt by law, including:

 Clothing for general use

* Nonreturnable packaging

78

78
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Variable Rate Credit

* Minnesota allows a credit for the amount of sales tax paid to
another state
* Must be legally due to the other state to receive credit

79
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Calculating Variable Rate

1. Calculate the applicable amount of tax due
(variable rate X sales price).

2. Enter the amount as variable rate use tax on

your sales and use tax return.

Minnesota sales tax rate 6.875%
Wisconsin state and local sales tax  (5.500%)
Variable rate tax due to Minnesota 1.375%

80

80

Recording Use Tax

* Record this information:
- Date of purchase
. Invoice number
- Vendor’s name and description of item
- Taxable amount
- Amount of state and local use taxes paid

* Keep a copy of the backup documentation.

81

81
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Recordkeeping Basics

Use a record-keeping system that:

* Incorporates Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP)
e Tracks the data you need

e Easy to maintain

* Works for your business

82
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Fundamentals of a Recordkeeping System

Make sure that you:

* Record each transaction the same

* Do not mix personal and business transactions

* Do not mix business records, if you have more than one business

* Use the appropriate accounting method (cash or accrual)

83
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Sales Tax Docum

You should retain sales tax documents that detail the
following:

* Description of the item
* Sales price
* Where the item was sourced

* Any sales tax collected

84

84
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Accounting Methods

* Record income when you * Record income when you make
receive payment the sale

» Report sales tax when you * Report sales tax when you
receive payment make the sale

* Report use tax when you pay * Report use tax based on the
the invoice invoice date

85
85

Filing and Paying

©-Services

You must do two things to avoid late filing and late payment penalties:

1. File your return by the due date.

2. Pay your sales and use tax liability on or before
the due date.

Filing Due Dates

Filing
Frequency |Average Tax Liability Due Date

Less than $100 per month

ATE LB (less than $1,200 per year)

February 5 of the following year

Less than $500 per month  20th day of the month following

Qe e (less than $6,000 per year) the end of the quarter

More than $500 per month

Llopihivilers (more than $6,000 per year)

20th day of the following month

87

87
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MN e-Services
Filing and
Payment
Instructions

¢ LogIn

* Registration

4 88
88
PU— Filing and
Payment
Instructions
* Verification
I S
89
i s Verification
* Security code
 Trust this device
e Confirm
(3 1) BT
90

90
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Sales & Use Tax
Account

91

NN e
OF REVENUE

(11 ey
OF REVENUE

Sales & Use Tax
Account
Springboard

e Account Alerts

* File a return

92

92

s

Sales & Use Tax
Return

¢ Import Your Data

¢ Enter Your Data

93
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Sales & Use Tax
Return

* Gross Receipts

94

Sales & Use Tax Return
Taxable sales

Taxable purchases

Variable rate purchases

Purchases subject to
local taxes

Add a tax line

Save and finish later

5

95

Sales & Use Tax
Return Summary
* Gross receipts

* Taxable sales

* Taxable purchases

* Projected amount
due

96

96
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Projected
Amount Due

* Would you like to
make your
payment?

oeraRmEnr
Ly R

97

New Bank
Account

* Enter information
for your new bank

98

98

Payment
Instructions

e Bank Information

* Payment
Information

99

99

33



Submission
Summary

* Projected Amount Due

* Payment Information

100

Confirmation
Screen

* Confirmation Summary

* Return Summary

* Payment Summary

* Review filing history

Print or email return

101

Amending Returns

Common reasons for amending a return:

Reported too much or not enough tax on your return

Reported the tax on the wrong tax line

Charged tax incorrectly to a customer and refunded the tax to the

customer
* Received a completed exemption certificate from a customer for tax
you paid and now refunded back to the customer D,
b3
o
‘L 102
102

34



Resources to Answer Your Questions

103

Are you looking for additional resources?

[EY
| O
w

wm

Visit our website at revenue.state.mn.us

104

Sales and Use Tax Contact Information

* Sales taxability questions
Email: salesuse.tech@state.mn.us

¢ Sales and Use Tax account questions
Email: salesuse.tax@state.mn.us

* Telephone assistance

Phone: 651-296-6181 or 1-800-657-3777 (toll free)

105
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Other Division Contact Information

* Business Income Taxes
> 651-556-3075
Email: businessincome.tax@state.mn.us
* Withholding Tax
o 651-282-9999 or 1-800-657-3594

Email: withholding.tax@state.mn.us

* Business Registration l
651-282-5225 or 1-800-657-3605

- Email: Business.Registration@state.mn.us O 106
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OF REVENUE

Stay Informed 1Y) e

* Newsroom
* Tax Law Changes
* Social Networks

* Email Updates

107

Email Updates with GovDelivery

E

* Choose the updates you want, by tax and publication type
¢ Choose notification frequency

* Sign in directly or use the Facebook or Google links

A
s 5

108

108

36



Minnesota Revenue Social Media Accounts

Keep up with the latest news from the Minnesota
Department of Revenue on:

u twitter.com/MNRevenue
li facebook.com/MNRevenue

m linkedin.com/company/MNRevenue

109

Notification of Changes

[EY
o
©

It is your responsibility to ensure the following information is
correct:

* Business location(s)
* Contact information

¢ Legal organization

Mailing address(es)
¢ NAICS code

¢ Owners and/or officers

111

111
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Late Filing and Late Payment Penalt

1-30 days 5 percent 5 percent
31-60 days 5 percent 10 percent
60+ days 5 percent 15 percent
12
112

Interest Rates ¢

2023 5%
021-2022 3%
///gOlQ —2020 5%
2017 - 2018 4%
) y \1

113
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Course Review

During this class, we discussed ...

* The basic sales and use tax concepts for Minnesota and its local taxing
jurisdictions.

The difference between taxable goods and services and those that are
nontaxable or exempt.

The different types of users and how tax applies to retail businesses.
How to use and when to accept an exemption certificate.

The documentation necessary for sales and use tax records and returns.
e-Services and how to file a sales and use tax return

Where to find information to help you answer your questions.
114
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Minnesota Business Tax Education

Thank you!

Permission of the Minnesota Department of Revenue must be secured before exhibiting, reproducing, distributing
or making any other use of any part of this presentation.

Produced by the Minnesota Department of Revenue 600 North Robert Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55146

©Copyright 2023, Minnesota Department of Revenue, All Rights Reserved

Working together to fund Minnesota's future | www.revenue.state.mn.us
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