Zip

C **Controlled Substance** (dosaae)

\$400 (per 10 units)



Your name (optional)

# Illegal Cannabis and Controlled Substance Tax Stamp Order

Read the instructions before filling out this form.

Print or Type	Address (optional)				
Print	City		State		
		<b>A</b> Illegal Cannabis (grams)	<b>B</b> Controlled Substance (grams)		
	1 Weight or dosage units per package (see instructions)	1	_		
Тах	2 Number of packages	2	_		
ing	3 Multiply line 1 by line 2	3	_		
Determining Tax	<b>4</b> Tax rate	<b>4</b> \$3.50	\$200		
Detc	5 Multiply the amount from line 3				

Make the certified check or money order payable to: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Sign Here

Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 297D does not give you immunity from prosecution. However, no information in a report or a return required by the Commissioner of Revenue under M.S. Chapter 297D can be used in a criminal court proceeding, unless the information is obtained independently, except in connection with a court proceeding involving taxes you owe under the statute.

Signature (optional)	Date

Pay by cash, certified check or money order. Personal checks won't be accepted. Send cash at your own risk. All stamps will be mailed first class at the risk of the purchaser. There will be no refunds for unused stamps.

#### Attach your payment and mail to:

5 Multiply the amount from line 3

6 Add line 5, columns A, B and C.

Minnesota Department of Revenue, Mail Station 3331, 600 N. Robert St., St. Paul, MN 55146-3331

For Department Use Only Stamp Numbers	Number of Stamps

# Form MDT-1 Instructions

### **General Information**

Anyone in Minnesota who manufactures, produces, ships, transports, or imports, or in any manner acquires or possesses 42½ grams of illegal cannabis, seven or more grams of any controlled substance, or 10 or more dosage units of any controlled substance not sold by weight must immediately file Form MDT-1, *Illegal Cannabis and Controlled Substance Tax Stamp Order*, pay the applicable tax, and attach a tax stamp to the illegal cannabis or controlled substance. (See Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 297D.)

## **How to Pay Tax and Receive Tax Stamp**

You may file Form MDT-1 and pay the tax by mail or in person. Complete this form and make your payment by cash, certified check, or money order payable to Minnesota Department of Revenue. We do not accept personal checks. If you mail cash, it is at your own risk.

Stamps are sold in denominations determined by grams or dosage units.

#### By Mail

Mail the form and payment to:

Minnesota Department of Revenue Mail Station 3331 600 N. Robert St. St. Paul, MN 55146-333

After receiving your form and proper payment, we will mail the stamps to you. If you want to remain anonymous, do not complete the name portion of the form. However, you will need to provide an address where you would like the stamps mailed.

#### In Person

Bring the form and payment to our department's reception desk. If you want to remain anonymous, do not complete the name and address portion of the form. Call 651-556-3035 ahead of time to make sure someone will be available to issue the stamps.

#### **Use of Information**

Minnesota Statutes outlines how we use information. Information contained in an illegal cannabis tax or controlled substance tax report or a return required by the commissioner of revenue cannot be used in a criminal proceeding unless it is independently obtained or there is a connection with a proceeding involving taxes you owe. Nothing in this chapter provides you immunity from criminal prosecution.

The commissioner of revenue or designated agent may examine your books, records, papers, documents, and other data to make sure you paid the right amount of tax.

#### **Definitions**

**Medical Cannabis** is cannabis provided to a registered patient taken as a liquid, pill, or by vaporizing. Buying Illegal Cannabis and Controlled Substance Tax Stamps is not required for medical cannabis.

**Controlled Substance** is any drug or substance, real or counterfeit, held, possessed, transported, transferred, sold, or offered to be sold in violation of Minnesota laws. Controlled substances do not include illegal cannabis.

**Illegal cannabis** is any taxable cannabis product as defined in M.S. 295.81, subdivision 1, paragraph (r), real or counterfeit, held, possessed, transported, transferred, sold, or offered to be sold in violation of M.S., Chapter 342 or Minnesota criminal laws.

#### Line Instructions

#### Line 1

Weights other than dosage units must be in grams. If illegal cannabis or any controlled substances are in weights other than grams, use the conversion table below to convert the weight to grams.

For controlled substances not sold by weight, fill in the number of dosage units per package in Column C. Illegal cannabis and controlled substance taxes do not apply to medical cannabis.

# Conversion table 1 ounce = 28.35 grams 1 kilogram = 1,000 grams 1 gram = 0.03527 ounces 1 pound = 16 ounces 1 kilogram = 2.2046 pounds 1 pound = 0.4536 kilograms Examples: If the size of the package is 3 ounces, you would enter 85.05 in Column A: If the size of the package is 1 pound, 4 ounces, you would enter 567 in Column A: If the size of the package is 1 pound, 4 ounces, you would enter 567 in Column A: If the size of the package is 2 kilograms, you would enter 2,000 in Column A: If the size of the package is 2 kilograms, you would enter 2,000 in Column A: If the size of the package is 2 kilograms, you would enter 2,000 in Column A: If the size of the package is 2 kilograms, you would enter 2,000 in Column A: If the size of the package is 2 kilograms, you would enter 2,000 in Column A: If the size of the package is 2 kilograms, you would enter 2,000 in Column A: If the size of the package is 2 kilograms, you would enter 2,000 in Column A: If the size of the package is 2 kilograms, you would enter 2,000 in Column A: If the size of the package is 2 kilograms, you would enter 2,000 in Column A: If the size of the package is 2 kilograms, you would enter 2,000 in Column A: If the size of the package is 2 kilograms, you would enter 2,000 in Column A: If the size of the package is 2 kilograms, you would enter 2,000 in Column A: If the size of the package is 3 ounces, you would enter 567 in Column A: If the size of the package is 1 pound, 4 ounces, you would enter 567 in Column A: If the size of the package is 1 pound, 4 ounces, you would enter 567 in Column A: If the size of the package is 1 pound, 4 ounces, you would enter 567 in Column A: If the size of the package is 1 pound, 4 ounces, you would enter 567 in Column A: If the size of the package is 1 pound, 4 ounces, you would enter 567 in Column A: If the size of the package is 1 pound, 4 ounces, you would enter 567 in Column A: If the size of the package is 1 pound, 4 ounces, you would enter 567 in Column A: If the size of the package

#### Line 6

Add the amounts in Columns A, B, and C of line 5 and fill in the total on line 6. Round the amount to the nearest whole dollar. This is the amount due for illegal cannabis and controlled substance tax stamps.

#### Information and Assistance

Website: www.revenue.state.mn.us Email: cigarette.tobacco@state.mn.us

Phone: 651-556-3035