# DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

### **Mortgage Registry and Deed Transfer Tax Alcohol and Tobacco Excise Tax** June Accelerated Repeal

	Yes	No
DOR Administrative		
Costs/Savings	Χ	

March 16, 2023

#### Department of Revenue

Analysis of H. F. 2911 (Gomez), As Proposed to be Amended (H2911A1)

	Fund Impact				
	<b>F.Y. 2023</b>	<b>F.Y. 2024</b>	<b>F.Y. 2025</b>	<b>F.Y. 2026</b>	<b>F.Y. 2027</b>
			(000's)		
Mortgage and Deed Taxes	(\$19,300)	(\$900)	\$2,700	\$1,800	\$3,400
Cigarette Excise and Sales Taxes	(\$30,500)	\$700	\$700	\$700	\$300
Tobacco Products Excise Tax	(\$11,200)	(\$300)	(\$300)	(\$400)	(\$400)
Alcoholic Beverages Excise Taxes	(\$9,500)	<u>(\$200)</u>	(\$200)	(\$200)	(\$200)
Total - All Funds	(\$70,500)	(\$700)	\$2,900	\$1,900	\$3,100

Effective day following enactment.

# **EXPLANATION OF THE BILL**

**Current Law:** Certain businesses are required to remit their June tax payments on an accelerated basis. The legislation was enacted in 1981 and adjusted in ten later legislative sessions. The impact was an initial one-time shift of payments normally received in the first month of the following fiscal year (July) into the last month of the current fiscal year (June). Taxpayers liable for the cigarette excise tax, tobacco products excise tax, or alcoholic beverage excise taxes, with a total tax liability of \$250,000 or more during a fiscal year ending June 30, must pay 84.5% of the estimated June liability two business days before June 30 for calendar year 2022 and subsequent years.

The mortgage registry tax and the deed transfer tax are paid to the county treasurer. The state's portion of 97% of the revenue is dedicated to the State General Fund, while the remaining 3% of the revenue is retained by the county. For months other than June, each county must remit the state's portion to the state by the 20<sup>th</sup> day of the following month. For June, the county must remit the state's portion collected through June 25<sup>th</sup> and the estimated amount for the rest of June two business days before June 30<sup>th</sup>. Any additional tax not remitted in June is due by the following August 20<sup>th</sup>

**Proposed Law:** The bill would remove the requirement to make a June accelerated payment for the various excise taxes and mortgage and deed taxes.

## **REVENUE ANALYSIS DETAIL**

- The estimates are based on June accelerated payments received in calendar year 2022.
- The June 2022 amounts were increased annually by the projected growth rates of the affected taxes from the February 2023 state revenue forecast.
- The excluded June payments create a shift in revenue collections. The primary impact occurs in the initial fiscal year as the accelerated payments normally received in the last month of that year (June)

Department of Revenue Analysis of H.F. 2911, As Proposed to be Amended (H2911A1) Page 2 March 16, 2023

are shifted to the following fiscal year. The impacts for subsequent years reflect the annual growth in payments shifted by the proposal.

- Approximately 60 taxpayers remitting the various excise taxes would be affected.
- All eighty-seven Minnesota counties would be affected.

Minnesota Department of Revenue Tax Research Division <u>https://www.revenue.state.mn.us/</u> <u>revenue-analyses</u>

hf2911\_june accelerated repeal\_1/sd