



# 2020 Schedule M1CD, Child and Dependent Care Credit

Your	First Name and Initial	Your Last Name	Your Social Security Number
Child	dren or other qualifying persons for whom you	are claiming this credit (see instructions for definition o	f qualifying person):
Name	e of Child or Person One	Child or Person One Birth Date (mm/dd/yyyy)	Child or Person One Social Security Number
Name	e of Child or Person Two	Child or Person Two Birth Date (mm/dd/yyyy)	Child or Person Two Social Security Number
Name	e of Child or Person Three	Child or Person Three Birth Date (mm/dd/yyyy)	Child or Person Three Social Security Number
Pers	ons or organizations who provided the care:		
Name	e of Caretaker One	Caretaker One Social Security or Federal Employer ID Number	Amount Paid to Caretaker One
Name	e of Caretaker Two	Caretaker Two Social Security or Federal Employer ID Number	Amount Paid to Caretaker Two
Name	e of Caretaker Three	Caretake Three Social Security or Federal Employer ID Number	Amount Paid to Caretaker Three
	Applicants Federal adjusted gross income (see instruction	s)	ound amounts to the nearest whole dollar.
	-		1
2	Enter the amount from line 9 of federal Form skip line 3 and enter this amount on line 4	2441. II IIIIe 1 IS less tilali ol equal to \$33,100,	2 =
3	Enter the amount from line 2 or line 3, whiche Full-year residents, enter the result here and		
Part	-Year Residents, Nonresidents, and American I	ndians Living on a Reservation	
5		l Form 2441. If you are single, include the amount from	5 ■
6	Amount of income on line 5 taxable to Minnes	sota	6 ■
7 8	Multiply line 4 by line 7.	e M1REF	

Include this schedule and a copy of your federal Form 2441 with your Form M1. Enter the number of qualifying persons on line 1a of Schedule M1REF.

## 2020 Schedule M1CD Instructions

Before you complete this schedule, complete federal Form 2441 even if you did not claim the federal credit.

## Am I eligible?

If you (and your spouse if filing a joint return) received earned income, you may be eligible for a credit based on your qualified expenses. You must have documentation showing the expenses you paid for one or both of the following:

- Someone to care for your child or other qualifying person
- · Someone for household services

To qualify for the credit, all of the following must be true:

- Your adjusted gross income is less than \$65,100 with one qualifying person or less than \$77,100 with two or more qualifying persons
- · Your filing status is not Married Filing Separately
- The qualifying person lived with you for more than half of the year

The Minnesota credit is refundable, meaning you may benefit even if you have no state tax liability. This is different from the federal credit, which you can only use to offset tax.

If you are a part-year or nonresident, you may be eligible for this credit based on your percentage of earned income taxable to Minnesota.

#### Is there a penalty for fraudulently claiming a credit?

Yes. If you file a return that fraudulently claims a credit that results in a refund, you will be assessed a penalty equal to 50 percent of the portion of the refund attributable to fraud. If a fraudulently claimed credit reduced your tax liability, you may also be assessed a penalty equal to 50 percent of the unpaid tax.

#### Do I need proof of my payments?

Yes. Save canceled checks and itemized receipts showing your payments for child and dependent care expenses. We may ask you to show these records if we have questions.

#### Who is a qualifying person?

A qualifying person is any person who meets the requirements for the federal credit for child and dependent care expenses. Generally, a qualifying person is someone who lived with you for more than half of the year and is one of the following:

- · Your dependent child who is younger than 13
- Your disabled spouse or disabled dependent

If you were divorced, legally separated, or lived apart from your spouse during the last six months of 2020 and your child is not your dependent, you may claim the credit if your child meets the requirements of a qualifying person. In this case, the other parent cannot treat the child as a qualifying person.

#### What expenses qualify?

Qualifying expenses are the same as for the federal credit for child and dependent care expenses. Generally, qualifying expenses are expenses you paid for one or both of the following:

- The care of your qualifying person so you (and your spouse, if filing a joint return) could work or look for work
- · Household services so you (and your spouse, if filing a joint return) could work or look for work

If you did not have expenses, you may still qualify for this credit.

- If you are married and filing a joint return, and your child was born in 2020, see "What if my child was born in 2020?"
- If you are a licensed day care operator, see "What if I am a licensed day care operator?" on the next page.

### What if my child was born in 2020?

You may be eligible to calculate your credit using \$3,000 of expenses for your child born in 2020, even if you did not have actual expenses for that child or only one spouse had earned income.

You must meet all of the following requirements:

- · You are married and filing a joint return
- You had a child (or children) born in 2020
- You had less than \$3,000 in child care expenses or you or your spouse earned less than \$3,000
- Neither you nor your spouse participated in a pretax dependent care assistance program

Complete the worksheet below to determine your credit unless both of the following are true:

- Your actual child care expenses for your child born in 2020 were \$3,000 (\$6,000 if you had two or more children born during the year) or more
- The lesser-earning spouse's earned income was \$3,000 (\$6,000 if you had two or more children born in 2020) or more

If both statements above are true, complete the schedule using the line instructions.

worksheet for Child Born in 2020
If you completed federal Form 2441 to claim the federal credit, you must also complete a separate Form 2441 to determine your Minneso credit. If you did not claim the federal credit or file a federal return, complete a Form 2441 to determine your Minnesota credit. Follow the instructions below to complete the Form 2441 you will use for Minnesota purposes.
1 Enter the amount from line 4 of Form 2441
2 Enter the amount from line 5 of Form 2441
3 Add steps 1 and 2
4 Determine the amount to enter on line 6 of Form 2441 as follows: a. For the child born in 2020, enter the smaller of:
1) \$3,000 (\$6,000 for two or more children); or 2) the amount from step 3
b. If you had another child (or children) born before January 1, 2020, enter the smallest of:
1) your actual qualified child care expenses paid for them; 2) amount on step 1; or 3) amount on step 2 4b
c. Enter the smaller of:

Enter the amount from 4c on line 6 of Form 2441. Complete the rest of Form 2441 and Minnesota Schedule M1CD to determine your

## What if I am a licensed day care operator?

You may be able to claim a credit for the care of your own child if your child was younger than age 6 at the end of 2020.

Your credit amount depends on your child's age at the end of 2020.

1) the total of steps 4a and 4b above; or 2) \$6,000 ..............

Minnesota credit. Place an X in the appropriate box above line 1 of Schedule M1CD.

- If your child was 16 months or younger, the credit is based on \$3,000 of qualified expenses (\$6,000 if you cared for two children age 16 months or younger)
- If your child was older than 16 months but younger than age six, the credit is based on the amount you would charge for a child of the same age being cared for in your home for the same number of hours (up to the maximum amounts)

To correctly determine your credit, you must complete a separate federal Form 2441 using the expense amounts above instead of your actual expenses. If you are married, each spouse must complete a separate earned income worksheet. Include the result on the appropriate earned income line or lines on your recomputed Form 2441.

Include the recomputed Form 2441 you used to determine your Minnesota credit when you file Form M1.

Place an X in the appropriate box above line 1 and enter your day care license number in the space provided.

#### **Line Instructions**

Round amounts to the nearest whole dollar.

#### Line 1 — Federal Adjusted Gross Income

Enter your federal adjusted gross income from your 2020 federal return. If the amount is less than zero, enter the negative number and put parentheses around it. If you did not file a 2020 federal return, use a federal return and instructions to determine what your federal adjusted gross income would have been.

#### Line 2

If your federal adjusted gross income is less than or equal to \$53,100, skip line 3. Enter the amount from line 9 of federal Form 2441 on lines 2 and 4 of Schedule M1CD.

#### Line 3

If line 1 is more than \$53,100, complete the Worksheet for Line 3.

Worksheet for Line 3 (If Line 1 is More Than \$53,100)				
1 Enter the amount from line 1				
2 Income limit	\$53,100			
3 Subtract step 2 from step 1				
4 Multiply step 3 by 5% (.05)				
5 If you have one qualifying dependent, enter \$600. If you have two or more qualifying dependents, enter \$1,200				
6 Subtract step 4 from step 5. Enter the result here and on line 3 of Schedule M1CD (if less than zero, enter \$0)				

## **Questions? Need forms?**

- Website: www.revenue.state.mn.us
- Email: individual.incometax@state.mn.us
- Phone: 651-296-3781 or 1-800-652-9094