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The Minnesota Tax Handbook provides general information on 
Minnesota state and local taxes. Questions regarding the application 
of a tax to the specific situation of an individual or a business should 
be directed as follows: 

Individual income tax and property tax refund 
 Minnesota Department of Revenue 
 Income Tax & Withholding Division 
 Mail Station 5510 
 St. Paul, MN 55146-5510 
 (651) 296-3781 (Metro) or 1-800-652-9094 (Greater Minnesota) 
 individual.incometax@state.mn.us 

Sales tax 
 Minnesota Department of Revenue 
 Mail Station 6330 
 St. Paul, MN 55146-6330 
 (651) 296-6181 (Metro) or 1-800-657-3777 (Greater Minnesota) 
 salesuse.tax@state.mn.us 

Corporate franchise (income) tax 
 Minnesota Department of Revenue 
 Mail Station 5140 
 St. Paul, MN 55146-5140 
 (651) 556-3075 
 businessincome.tax@state.mn.us 

Hearing Impaired 
 TTY: Call 711 for Minnesota Relay 
Information is also available on the Department of Revenue’s web 
site at www.revenue.state.mn.us 

Property tax 
Questions relating to specific property should be directed to the 
county in which the property is located. 
  Valuations and assessments: county assessor. 
  Tax rates and computation: county auditor. 
  Tax statement and payment: county treasurer. 



MINNESOTA TAX HANDBOOK 

A Profile of State and Local Taxes in Minnesota 
2022 Edition 

The Minnesota Tax Handbook is published biennially, with a smaller 
Supplement published in the intervening years. The first section 
provides a profile of each state tax including the tax base, rates, 
collection amounts, and legislative history. The second section 
profiles each local tax in a similar manner. The last section contains 
state and local tax collections for the two most recent years. 

The tax provisions include law changes enacted through 2022. 

Please note: 
• Collection amounts are net collections after refunds. 
• The history sections show major changes by the year 
 enacted, not the effective date. 

The Minnesota Tax Handbook is available on the Department of 
Revenue’s web site: 
http://www.revenue.state.mn.us/minnesota-tax-handbooks

http://www.revenue.state.mn.us/minnesota-tax-handbooks
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State Taxes 

Income and Estate Taxes 

Individual Income Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 290 

Tax Base: Federal adjusted gross income modified by state additions 
and subtractions. 

Rates and Taxable Income Brackets: The income brackets are 
adjusted annually for inflation. 

 Tax Year 2023 
Filing 
Status 

5.35%  
Up To 6.8% 7.85% 

9.85% 
Over 

MJ $43,950 $43,951-$174,610 $174,611-$304,970 $304,970 
MS $21,975 $21,976- $87,305 $87,306- $152,485 $152,485 
HH $37,010 $37,011-$148,730 $148,731-$243,720 $243,720 
S $30,070 $30,071 - $98,760 $98,761 - $183,340 $183,340 

Computation for tax year 2023: 
 Federal adjusted gross income 
plus: Minnesota additions, including: 
 — non-Minnesota state/municipal bond interest 
 — expenses deducted federally on income not 
  taxed by Minnesota 
minus: Minnesota subtractions, including: 
 — standard deduction or itemized deductions 
 — dependent exemptions 
 — U.S. bond interest 
 — dependent K-12 education expenses, up to maximums 
 — income of elderly and disabled, up to maximums 
 — Social Security income, up to maximums 
 — railroad retirement income 
 — 20% of 2018-2022 addition for bonus depreciation 
 — 20% of 2018-2019 addition for Sec. 179 expensing 
 — 50% of charitable contributions over $500 for 

nonitemizers 
 — military pay (active duty, National Guard, Reserve) 
 — federal military pension income 
equals: Minnesota taxable income  
times: graduated rates - 5.35%, 6.8%, 7.85%, and 9.85% 
equals: Minnesota gross tax 
plus: alternative minimum tax (6.75% of alternative 
 minimum taxable income) exceeding regular tax  
minus: nonrefundable credits, including: 
 — marriage credit for joint returns if both spouses have 

earned income 
 — credit for income tax paid to states other than 

Wisconsin  
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 — alternative minimum tax carryover credit 
 — research and development credit 
 — credit for long-term care insurance premiums 
 — credit for past military service 
 — credit for contributions to a college savings plan 
equals: tax liability 
minus: refundable credits, including: 
 — dependent care credit, up to $59,210 income 
 — working family credit, based on earned income and 

number of dependents  
 — K-12 education credit, limited by income based on 

number of dependents 
 — angel investment tax credit 
 — historic structure rehabilitation credit 
 — stillborn credit 
 — credit for military service in a combat zone 

— credit for taxes paid to Wisconsin 
equals: net individual income tax payable 

Special Provisions: 
• Taxpayers may assign $5 from the general fund to a political 

party or to the general campaign fund. 
• Taxpayers may contribute $1 or more to the Minnesota Nongame 

Wildlife Management Account by reducing their refund or 
increasing their amount owed. 

• Minnesota has income tax reciprocity agreements with Michigan 
and North Dakota. 

• Nonresident entertainers pay a tax equal to 2% of compensation 
received for entertainment performed in Minnesota in lieu of the 
regular income tax. 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 $14,103,660,000 
 F.Y. 2022 $14,786,072,000 

Disposition: State General Fund 

Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue 

Who Pays: An individual, trust, or estate with income which meets or 
exceeds the filing requirements. 

Number of Taxpayers: 3.0 million returns filed annually 

Due Dates: Calendar year returns are due the following April 15th. 
Quarterly estimated tax payments for calendar year filers are due the 
15th of April, June, September, and the next January. Withholding of 
tax on Minnesota earnings is required of employers. Employers remit 
taxes withheld on a semi-weekly, monthly, or quarterly basis. 
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History of Major Changes 
1933 — Enacted at graduated rates from 1% to 5%. 
1937 — Rates increased; personal credits replaced exemptions. 
1949 — Standard deduction of 10% to $500 maximum enacted. 
 — 5% surtax levied on the normal rate. 
1951 — Additional personal credits enacted for blind and elderly. 
1953 — Standard deduction maximum raised to $1,000. 
1955 — Dependent education expense deduction enacted. 
1957 — 5% veterans’ bonus surtax levied. 
1959 — Rates increased. 
1961 — Gross income redefined as federal adjusted gross income 

with modifications. 
 — Withholding of income taxes enacted. 
1965 — Rates increased temporarily. 
1967 — Rent credit and senior citizen credit enacted. 
 — Temporary rate increase extended. 
1969 — Temporary rate increase extended. 
1971 — Combined return allowed for married-separate filers. 
 — Rates increased from 1.5%-12% to 1.6%-15%. 
 — Credits for pollution control equipment and nonpublic 

school costs enacted. 
 — Senior citizen, rent, and personal credits increased. 
1973 — Rent and senior citizen tax credits increased. 
 — Senior citizen property tax freeze credit enacted. 
 — Farm loss modification enacted. 
1974 — Low income and political contribution credits enacted. 
 — Nonpublic school credit held unconstitutional. 
1975 — Additional personal credits enacted for deaf persons. 
 — Rent and senior citizen credits replaced by income-adjusted 

homestead credit (property tax refund). 
 — Low income credit levels increased. 
1976 — Maximum education expense deduction increased. 
1977 — Minimum tax on preference items imposed. 
 — Out-of-state income included in income. 
 — Dependent care credit enacted. 
 — Brackets with rates of 16%, 17%, and 18% added. 
 — Personal credits increased from $21 to $30 each. 
 — Public pension subtraction limited to $7,200. 
 — Exemption for a portion of military pay repealed. 
 — Senior citizen property tax freeze credit repealed. 
1978 — 18% top rate repealed. 
 — Personal credits increased to $40. 
 — Homemaker and National Guard credits enacted. 
 — Pension subtraction extended to private pensions. 
 — Low income and political contribution credits increased. 
1979 — Personal credits increased to $55, indexed (1981); 

additional credits for quadriplegic persons. 
 — Maximum standard deduction increased to $2,000; indexed 

(1981). 
 — Low income credit levels increased. 
 — Income tax brackets indexed. 
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 — 17% top rate repealed. 
 — Pension subtraction increased to $10,000. 
 — National Guard credit repealed. Subtraction of a portion of 

military pay reinstated. 
 — Political contribution credit and property tax refund 

increased. 
 — Pollution control and renewable energy credits enacted. 
1980 — Pension subtraction increased to $11,000. 
 — Low income credit levels increased. 
 — Dependent care credit increased. 
1981 — Federal tax deduction changed from cash to accrual basis. 
 — Taxable net income adjustment factor adopted. 
 — Capital gains exclusion of 60% enacted. 
 — Surtax of 7% enacted. 
 — Property tax refund for renters under age 65 changed from 

an income tax credit to a separate payment. 
1982 — Temporary surtax increased to 10%. 
 — Property tax refund for senior citizens changed from an 

income tax credit to a separate payment. 
1983 — Temporary surtax of 10% extended. 
 — Subtraction for investment tax credit repealed. 
 — Dependent care credit increased. 
 — Pollution control credits repealed. 
 — Equity investment and enterprise zone credits enacted. 
1984 — Repealed 10% surtax. 
 — Expanded pension income subtraction. 
 — Increased maximum education expense deduction. 
 — Pollution control credits reinstated. 
 — Credits enacted for conservation tillage equipment and 

resource recovery equipment. 
 — Computation of tax for nonresidents changed to 

apportionment of total tax. 
1985 — Required the election of married persons to file jointly or 

separately to be the same as the federal. Established a 
different rate schedule for married-joint returns. Other 
provisions based on the couple’s joint income. 

 — Tax rates lowered; deductibility of federal income tax made 
an option (higher rates used when federal tax is deducted). 

 — Conformed to federal provisions: deduction for two-earner 
married couples; contributions to an individual retirement 
account, simplified employee plan, or Keogh plan; and the 
taxability of social security benefits. 

 — Eliminated the farm loss modification. 
 — Modified the subtraction for pension income and limited it 

to elderly and disabled persons. 
 — Taxable net income adjustment factor repealed. 
 — Repealed these credits: low income; homemaker; 

residential energy; resource recovery equipment; pollution 
control; conservation tillage; and equity investment. 

 — Replaced minimum tax with alternative minimum tax. 
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1987 — Changed the starting point of the tax from federal adjusted 
gross income to federal taxable income, thereby adopting 
the federal standard deduction, itemized deductions, and 
personal exemptions. 

 — Adopted changes made by the federal Tax Reform Act of 
1986, including repeal of the capital gains exclusion. 

 — Eliminated the option to deduct federal income taxes. 
 — Tax rates changed to four brackets at rates of 4%, 6%, 8%, 

and 9% for 1987 and to two brackets at rates of 6% and 8% 
for 1988. Schedule added for head of household. 

 — Additional tax equal to 10% of the federal 5% surtax 
enacted (1988). 

 — Increased alternative minimum tax rate from 4% to 6%. 
 — Repealed: the personal credits and the Minnesota itemized 

and standard deductions (replaced by federal provisions); 
political contribution credit; subtractions including pension 
income, military pay, and unemployment compensation. 

 — Enacted a credit for elderly and disabled persons equal to 
40% of the federal credit. 

1988 — Rate schedule added for married-separate returns. 
 — Surtax changed to an additional 0.5% of taxable income for 

specified brackets of income. 
 — Subtraction enacted for income of the elderly and disabled, 

up to a maximum amount based on income.  
 — Elderly and disabled persons credit repealed. 
1989 — Dependent care credit phase-out modified; income levels 

indexed (1991). 
 — Alternative minimum tax credit enacted. 
 — Nonresident entertainer tax enacted. 
1991 — Top rate kept at 8.5% rather than going down to 8% above 

specified income thresholds. 
 — Alternative minimum tax rate increased to 7%. 
 — Federal changes adopted include the phaseout of the 

personal exemptions and the limitation of itemized 
deductions for higher-income taxpayers. 

 — Working family credit enacted equal to 10% of the federal 
earned income credit. 

1992 — Full deduction allowed for health insurance premiums of 
self-employed persons. 

1993 — Working family credit increased from 10% to 15% of the 
federal earned income credit. 

1994 — Adopted federal changes that increased the taxable portion 
of social security and expanded the earned income credit. 

 — Elderly subtraction base amounts and income thresholds 
increased; minimum subtraction added for 1994 to 1996. 

1997 — Refundable credit enacted for 1997 only equal to 20% of 
property taxes paid by homeowners and renters. 

 — Dependent education expense deduction extended to 
nonitemizers and allowed for tutoring and other expenses; 
maximum deduction increased (1998). 
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 — Refundable credit enacted equal to education expenses up 
to $1,000 per child, $2,000 per family, for families with 
income of $33,500 or less (1998). 

 — Working family credit increased for taxpayers with 
children from 15% to 25% of the federal earned income 
credit (1998). 

 — Credit for long-term care insurance premiums enacted 
(1999). 

 — Nonrefundable credit enacted for increases in cabin 
property taxes for 1998 and 1999. 

1998 — Refundable credit enacted for 1998 only equal to 20% of 
property taxes paid by homeowners and renters, with a 
maximum credit of $1,500. 

 — Working family credit changed from a percentage of the 
federal earned income credit to a separate calculation. 

 — Deduction disallowed for expenses related to income 
exempt from Minnesota tax. 

 — Adopted federal provisions of Roth and education IRAs, 
expansion of deductible IRAs, capital gains exclusion for 
home sales, and deduction of student loan interest. 

 — Shareholders of S corporation banks allowed to subtract the 
federal tax on flow-through bank income. 

1999 — Rates reduced from 6%, 8%, 8.5% to 5.5%, 7.25%, 8%. 
 — Alternative minimum tax rate reduced from 7% to 6.5%. 
 — Marriage credit enacted for married-joint filers if both 

spouses have earned income. 
 — Working family credit increased. 
 — Subtraction enacted for nonitemizers equal to 50% of 

charitable contributions over $500. 
 — Income limit for the education credit increased to $37,500, 

maximum credit phased out from $33,500 to $37,500. 
 — Allowed all remaining subtractions to be taken in tax year 

2000 which were due to additions made in the early 1980s 
for IRAs, Keogh plans, public pension plans, and ACRS. 

 — Conformed to federal S corporation treatment for 
shareholders of electing banks. Corporate level tax 
retained, and shareholders allowed credit equal to 80% of 
the corporate tax. 

2000 — Rates reduced from 5.5%, 7.25%, 8% to 5.35%, 7.05%, 
7.85%. 

 — Alternative minimum tax rate reduced from 6.5% to 6.4%. 
 — Working family credit increased. 
 — Credit enacted equal to 30% of employer expense to 

provide transit passes to employees for use in Minnesota. 
 — Deferred employee compensation earned as a resident not 

assignable to Minnesota if received in a subsequent year 
when a nonresident. 

2001 —  K-12 education credit reduced from 100% to 75% of 
expenses (2002). 
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 — Adopted federal changes including a deduction for higher 
education tuition, increase in maximum IRA contributions, 
increase in the dependent care credit, and increase in the 
standard deduction and working family credit for married-
joint returns. 

 — Minnesota residents on active military duty considered 
nonresidents while stationed outside Minnesota. 

 — Credit for shareholders of S corporation banks repealed 
along with the corporate tax on S corporation banks. 

2002 — Adopted federal 30% bonus depreciation but required 80% 
be added back on the state return, with that amount 
subtracted in equal parts over the next five years. 

2003 — Adopted federal changes including increase in the standard 
deduction for married taxpayers for 2003 and 2004, 
increased expensing for 2003 to 2005, and the increase in 
bonus depreciation from 30% to 50%, subject to the 
Minnesota addback of 80%. 

 — Enacted exemptions for business, rental, and investment 
income generated by qualified businesses and a refundable 
jobs credit for qualified businesses in a Job Opportunity 
Building Zone. 

2005 — Adopted provisions of 2003 and 2004 federal bills, except 
for the increased standard deduction for married filers and 
the deduction for U.S. production activities. Increased 
expensing for 2006 and 2007 subject to an addback of 80%, 
with that amount subtracted over the next five years. 

 — Subtractions enacted for active duty military service 
outside Minnesota (replacing treatment as a nonresident), 
National Guard service in Minnesota, and human organ 
donation expenses of living donors. 

 — For the K-12 education credit, increased the maximum 
credit and income phase-out range for taxpayers with three 
or more children. 

2006 — Adopted federal provisions, including increased standard 
deduction for married filers and increased expensing for 
2008 and 2009, subject to the 80% addback. 

 — Exemption amounts for alternative minimum tax increased 
by 50%; indexed (2007). 

 — Credit of $59 per month enacted for military service in a 
combat zone. 

 — Credit enacted for 50% of bovine tuberculosis testing costs. 
2007 — Adopted federal provisions for tax year 2006 only. 
2008 — Federal provisions adopted, except for the deductions of 

tuition and teacher classroom expenses for tax year 2007. 
Federal 50% bonus depreciation and increased Section 179 
expensing subject to 80% addback and five-year recovery. 

 — Deduction of certain penalties and fines disallowed. 
 — Subtractions enacted for National Guard and Reserve 

military pay for weekend drills and summer camp and for 
AmeriCorps education awards. 
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 — Exemption from Minnesota-source income eliminated for 
deferred compensation earned as a resident but received 
while a nonresident. 

 — Combat zone credit increased from $59 to $120 per month. 
 — Credits enacted: for past military service equal to $750, 

which phases out for income between $30,000 and 
$37,500; lower income motor fuels tax credit equal to $25 
per return for filers whose taxable income does not exceed 
the first tax bracket. 

 — Credit for bovine tuberculosis testing costs reduced from 
50% to 25% for corporations and for S corporations and 
their shareholders. 

2009 — Federal provisions adopted, except for the exclusion of up 
to $2,400 of unemployment compensation, the additional 
standard deductions for real estate taxes and motor vehicle 
sales tax, the deductions for tuition and teacher classroom 
expenses, and the deferral of discharge of indebtedness 
income from the reacquisition of business debt. Federal 
50% bonus depreciation and increased Section 179 
expensing subject to 80% addback and five-year recovery. 

 — Credit enacted for new participants in a Section 125 
employer health insurance plan equal to 20% of premiums 
paid by the employee for the first twelve months. 

2010 — Enacted refundable research and development credit. 
 — Enacted historic structure rehabilitation credit which 

expires after fiscal year 2015. 
 — Enacted angel investment tax credit for tax years 2010 

through 2014. 
 — Repealed lower income motor fuels tax credit. 
 — Adopted federal increased Section 179 expensing for tax 

year 2010, subject to 80% addback and five-year recovery. 
2011 — Federal provisions adopted except, for tax years 2011 and 

2012, the increased standard deduction for married filers 
and the repeal of the limit on itemized deductions and 
phaseout of personal exemptions. 

 — Repealed credit for new participants in a Section 125 
employer health insurance plan. 

2013 — Fourth bracket with a tax rate of 9.85% enacted for taxable 
income exceeding $250,000 for married-joint returns, 
$125,000 for married-separate returns, $150,000 for single 
persons, and $200,000 for heads of households. 

 — Alternative minimum tax rate increased to 6.75%. 
 — Research credit made nonrefundable. 
 — Historic structure rehabilitation credit extended six years. 
 — Greater Minnesota internship credit enacted (2014). 
2014 — Working family credit increased and formulas modified. 
 — Angel investment credit extended for two years. 
 — Reading credit enacted for tax year 2014 only. 
2015 — Working family credit disallowed to full-year nonresidents. 
2016 — Credit enacted for stillborn children. 
 — Subtraction enacted for federal military pension income. 



 9 

2017 — Subtraction for social security income enacted, up to 
$4,500 for married joint filers, $2,250 for married separate, 
and $3,500 for other filers; phased out with income. 

 — Student loan credit enacted, equal to student loan payments 
in excess of 10% of income over $10,000, up to $500. 

 — Child and dependent care credit modified to conform to 
federal credit except that it is refundable, with phase-out for 
income over $50,000. 

 — Refundable credit enacted for taxes paid to Wisconsin. 
 — Credit and subtraction enacted for contributions to a 

Section 529 college savings plan. 
 — Credit enacted for teacher completing a master’s degree in 

a core content area. 
 — Credit enacted for sale or rental of agricultural assets to 

beginning farmers. 
 — Credit enacted equal to the cost of participating in a 

beginning farmer financial management program. Up to 
$1,500 per year for three years. 

 — Greater Minnesota internship credit repealed. 
2019 — Most federal changes adopted. 

— Starting point for calculating Minnesota taxable income 
changed from federal taxable income to federal adjusted 
gross income.  

— Chained Consumer Price Index adopted as the measure of 
inflation for indexing all income tax provisions. 

— Standard deduction created equal to $24,400 for married 
joint filers, $18,350 for head of household filers, and 
$12,200 for all others in 2019, indexed for inflation and 
phased out with income. 

— Itemized deductions established. 
— Dependent exemption created at $4,250 in 2019, indexed 

for inflation and phased out with income. 
— 2nd income tax rate reduced to 6.8% and 4th bracket lowered 

to partially offset the rate reduction. 
— Maximum Social Security subtraction increased; phase-out 

thresholds decreased. 
— Working family credit expanded; new tier established for 

taxpayers with three or more children. 
— Angel investment credit extended to tax years 2019 and 

2021, with a maximum of $10 million per year. 
— Subtraction enacted for expenses incurred in producing 

medical cannabis. 
2020 — Full conformity to Section 179 expensing beginning with 

property placed in service in 2020. 
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2021 − Certain federal provisions adopted, including an exclusion 

for Paycheck Protection Program loans and a temporary 
exclusion for unemployment benefits.  

– Volunteer driver subtraction enacted. 
– Working family credit expanded to include 19- and 20-

year-old taxpayers without children. 
– Angel investment credit extended for tax year 2022, with a 

maximum of $5 million. 
– Historic structure rehabilitation credit extended for one year. 
– Film production credit enacted. 
– Minnesota housing credit enacted. 
– Pass-through entity tax enacted. 
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Corporate Franchise Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 290 

Tax Base: Minnesota taxable net income of the corporation. 
Domestic unitary reporting method is used. 

Rate: 9.8% 

Major Exemptions: 
• Charitable, religious, educational, and other organizations exempt 

under Subchapter F of the Internal Revenue Code. Unrelated 
business income of exempt organizations is taxed. 

• Credit unions 
• Insurance companies  
• Mining subject to the occupation tax 

Computation for tax year 2023: 
 Federal taxable income 
plus: Minnesota additions, including: 
 — state, local, and foreign income taxes deducted 

federally 
 — federally-exempt interest 
 — net operating loss deducted federally 
 — federal dividend received deduction 
 — losses from mining subject to the occupation tax 
 — federal capital loss deduction 
 — federal percentage depletion deduction 
 — fines, fees, and penalties deducted federally as a trade 

or business expense 
minus: Minnesota subtractions, including: 
 — foreign dividend gross-up 
 — salary expenses not deducted federally due to federal 

jobs credit or Indian employment credit 
 — capital loss deduction (with no carrybacks) 
 — interest and expenses on income that is exempt 

federally but subject to state tax 
 — cost depletion for mines, oil and gas wells, other 

natural deposits, and timber 
 — income from mining subject to the occupation tax 
 — 20% of 2018-2022 addition for bonus depreciation 
 — 20% of 2018-2019 addition for Sec. 179 expensing 

— deferred foreign income subject to federal tax 
— global intangible low-taxed income 

equals: net income 
times: apportionment factor of Minnesota sales to total sales 
equals: taxable net income 
minus: Minnesota deductions 
 — dividend received deduction 
 — net operating loss 
equals: Minnesota taxable income 
times: tax rate of 9.8% 
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equals: gross tax 
minus: nonrefundable credits 
 — research and development credit 
 — alternative minimum tax carryover credit 
 — employer transit pass credit 
plus: — alternative minimum tax (5.8% of alternative minimum 

taxable income) exceeding regular tax 
 — minimum fee* 
equals: tax liability 
minus: refundable credit 
 — historic structure rehabilitation credit 
equals: net corporate tax payable 
*The minimum fee is determined by the sum of the corporation’s 
Minnesota property, payroll, and sales. It also applies to 
partnerships and S corporations. The brackets and minimum fee 
amounts are indexed for inflation and for tax year 2023 are: 

 Total Minnesota Minimum 
 Property, Payroll, and Sales       Fee     . 
 Less than   $1,160,000 $0 
 $1,160,000 -  $2,309,999 $240 
 $2,310,000 - $11,569,999 $690 
 $11,570,000 - $23,139,999 $2,310 
 $23,140,000 - $46,279,999 $4,640 
 $46,280,000  or more $11,570 

Special Provision: A corporation may contribute $1 or more to the 
Minnesota Nongame Wildlife Management Account by reducing its 
refund or increasing the amount owed. 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 $2,387,370,000 
 F.Y. 2022 $4,909,512,000 

Disposition: State General Fund 

Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue 

Who Pays: Domestic and foreign corporations and financial 
institutions which have nexus in Minnesota. 

Number of Taxpayers: 35,500 returns filed annually 

Due Dates: Quarterly payments of estimated tax due by 15th of 3rd, 
6th, 9th, and 12th months of the tax year. Return is due the 15th day of 
3rd month after tax year. 

History of Major Changes 
1933 — Enacted with rates graduated from 1% to 5% and a specific 

credit against income of $1,000. 
1937 — 7% flat rate adopted; 6% rate after 1938. 
 — Property/payroll credit enacted. 
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1939 — Manufacturers given option of apportionment weighted 
15% property, 15% payroll, and 70% sales, instead of the 
average of the three ratios. 

1941 — Bank excise tax enacted at a rate of 8%. 
1947 — Specific credit reduced to $500; $10 minimum tax 

imposed. 
1949 — 5% special surtax added; additional $5 fee imposed. 
1953 — Weighted apportionment option extended to all firms. 
1955 — 1% surtax on taxable income added. 
1957 — Property/payroll credit repealed. 
1959 — For corporations 7.5% tax rate and 1.8% additional levy 

enacted, for banks, 9.5% and 1.9%. 
1961 — 10% surtax added. 
1967 — Rate increased to 11.33% for corporations and 13.64% for 

banks. 
1969 — Pollution control credit enacted. 
1971 — Federal tax deduction eliminated. 
 — Corporation rate increased to 12%. 
 — Feedlot pollution control credit enacted; both pollution 

control credits set to expire after 1976. 
1973 — Minimum tax increased to $100. 
 — Destination sales basis adopted for apportionment. 
 — Bank rate reduced to 12%. 
1977 — Minimum preference tax adopted. 
1979 — Pollution control equipment credit reinstated. 
 — Energy credit enacted. 
1980 — $100 minimum tax and $500 credit repealed. 
1981 — Rate reduced to 9% (6% after 1982) on first $25,000 of 

taxable income. 
 — Credit for increasing research activities enacted. 
 — Unitary method of taxation enacted. 
 — 60% capital gain exclusion allowed. 
1982 — Research credit changed to 12.5% of qualifying expenses 

up to $2 million, 6.25% over $2 million. 
1983 — Pollution control credits repealed. 
 — Eliminated deduction for income taxes paid to other states. 
 — Enacted these credits: technology transfer; small business 

assistance office; equity investment; and enterprise zone. 
1984 — Exempted foreign source dividends and certain foreign 

source royalties. 
 — Pollution control credits reinstated and expanded. 
 — Credits enacted for conservation tillage equipment and 

resource recovery equipment. 
 — Minimum preference tax and energy credit repealed. 
1985 — Repealed these credits: pollution control; resource recovery 

equipment; equity investment; and conservation tillage. 
1987 — Corporate income tax and bank excise tax replaced by a 

corporate franchise tax. 
 — Rate reduced to 9.5%. 
 — Adopted federal taxable income as the starting point. 
 — Eliminated the 60% capital gains exclusion. 
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 — Adopted federal Tax Reform Act of 1986 changes. 
 — Eliminated arithmetic average option for apportionment. 
 — Alternative minimum tax enacted equal to one mill times 

the Minnesota property, payroll, and sales factors for 1987 
to 1989. Replaced by minimum tax on preference items 
beginning in 1990. 

 — Reduced dividend received deduction and foreign source 
royalty deduction. 

 — Repealed credits for technology transfer to small business 
and contributions to small business assistance offices. 

 — Research and development credit percentages reduced. 
1988 — Dividend received deduction changed. 
 — Deduction for 35% of foreign royalties repealed. 
 — Foreign operating corporation provisions enacted. 
 — Deduction enacted for foreign source royalties, fees, and 

other like income from a foreign operating corporation or a 
foreign corporation of 50% for 1989 and 1990, 80% 
thereafter. 

1989 — Imposed tax on unrelated business income of exempt 
organizations. 

 — Alternative minimum tax of 7% enacted. 
 — Tax on insurance companies based on current Internal 

Revenue Code rather than 1936 Federal Revenue Act. 
 — Exemptions enacted for: insurance companies domiciled in 

retaliatory states; town and farmers’ mutual insurance 
companies; and mutual property and casualty companies 
with total assets less than $1.6 billion.  

 — Additional 20% dividend received deduction allowed in 
certain situations. 

1990 — Rate increased from 9.5% to 9.8%; alternative minimum 
tax rate reduced from 7% to 5.8%. 

 — Minimum fee enacted up to $5,000 based on Minnesota 
property, payroll, and sales of C corporations, 
S corporations, and partnerships. 

1992 — Limited liability companies treated as partnerships. 
1994 — Adopted changes made by the federal Omnibus Budget 

Reconciliation Act of 1993. 
 — Guaranty association assessments credit enacted for 

insurance companies. 
1997 — Job training credit enacted. 
1998 — Small corporations exempted from alternative minimum 

tax. 
1999 — Sales factor in the apportionment formula increased from 

70% to 75%; property and payroll factors each reduced 
from 15% to 12.5%, beginning in 2001. 

 — Credit for tax paid to another state allowed in certain 
situations. 

2000 — Allowed all remaining depreciation modifications to be 
taken in tax year 2001. 

 — Credit enacted equal to 30% of expense to provide transit 
passes to employees for use in Minnesota. 
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2001 —  Exempted insurance companies. 
 — Adopted the federal charitable contribution deduction and 

repealed the subtraction for contributions to charities in 
Minnesota. 

 — Exempted S corporation banks and repealed corresponding 
80% credit for shareholders. 

 — Job training credit repealed. 
2002 — Adopted federal 30% bonus depreciation but required 80% 

of the bonus depreciation be added back on the state return, 
with that amount subtracted in equal parts over the next 
five years. 

2003 — Adopted federal changes including increased Section 179 
expensing for 2003 to 2005 and the increase in bonus 
depreciation from 30% to 50%, subject to the Minnesota 
addback of 80%. 

 — Exemptions from the regular tax, alternative minimum tax, 
and minimum fee and a refundable jobs credit enacted for 
qualified businesses in a Job Opportunity Building Zone or 
the Biotechnology and Health Sciences Industry Zone, 
which also includes a refundable research credit. 

2005 — Increased the weighting of the sales factor in the 
apportionment formula from 75% to 100% over eight 
years, from 2007 through 2014. 

 — Federal provisions adopted, except for the deduction for 
U.S. production activities and the exclusion for federal 
subsidies to employers with prescription drug plans for 
their retirees. 

 — Modified qualifications for foreign operating corporations. 
2006 — Credit enacted for 50% of bovine tuberculosis testing costs. 
2007 — Adopted federal provisions for tax year 2006 only. 
2008 — Federal provisions adopted. Federal 50% bonus 

depreciation and increased Section 179 expensing subject 
to an addback of 80%, with the amount subtracted over the 
next five years. 

 — Qualifications for foreign operating corporations modified. 
 — Foreign royalty subtraction modified. 
 — Addition enacted for certain penalties and fines deducted 

federally. 
 — Credit for bovine tuberculosis testing costs reduced from 

50% to 25% for corporations, including S corporations and 
their shareholders. 

2009 — Federal provisions adopted, except for the deferral of 
discharge of indebtedness income from the reacquisition of 
business debt. Federal 50% bonus depreciation and 
increased Section 179 expensing subject to an addback of 
80%, with that amount subtracted over the next five years. 

2010 — Research and development credit changed to a refundable 
credit and credit percentage increased from 5% to 10% on 
the first $2 million of expenditures. The credit rate for 
expenditures over $2 million unchanged at 2.5%. 

 — Refundable historic structure rehabilitation credit enacted, 
which expires after fiscal year 2015. 
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 — Adopted federal increased Section 179 expensing for tax 
year 2010, subject to 80% addback and five-year recovery. 

2013 — Foreign royalty subtraction repealed. 
 — Foreign operating corporation provisions repealed. 
 — Definition of Minnesota sales modified for unitary groups. 
 — Minimum fee thresholds and amounts increased; indexed 

for inflation (2014). 
 — Research credit made nonrefundable. 
 — Historic structure rehabilitation credit extended for six 

years. 
 — Greater Minnesota internship credit enacted (2014). 
2017 — Research and development credit increased for creditable 

expenditures over $2 million from 2.5% to 4%. The credit 
for expenditures on the first $2 million unchanged at 10%. 

 — Restricted definition of insurance company based on 
whether the company sells admitted insurance. 

 — Greater Minnesota internship credit repealed. 
2019 — Most federal changes adopted. 

— Chained Consumer Price Index adopted as the measure of 
inflation for indexing the minimum fee. 

— Net operating loss deduction limited to 80% of taxable net 
income, effective retroactively to tax year 2018. 

2020 — Full conformity to Section 179 expensing beginning with 
property placed in service in 2020. 

2021 — Certain federal provisions adopted, including an exclusion 
for Paycheck Protection Program loans. 

— Historic structure rehabilitation credit extended for one year. 
— Film production credit enacted. 
— Minnesota housing credit enacted. 
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Estate Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 291 

Tax Base: Minnesota taxable estate. 

Rates: For estates of decedents dying in 2023. 

 Minnesota Taxable Estate  Tax Rate 
 Up to  $7,100,000 13.0% 
 $7,100,001 - $8,100,000 13.6% 
 $8,100,001 - $9,100,000 14.4% 
 $9,100,001 - $10,100,000 15.2% 
 Over $10,100,000 16.0% 

Computation for estates of decedents dying in 2023: 
 Federal tentative taxable estate 
plus: additions: 
 — federal taxable gifts made within three years of death 
 — federal deduction for foreign death taxes 
 — Minnesota-only QTIP allowed on previously deceased 

spouse’s estate tax return 
minus: subtractions: 
 — Minnesota estate tax exclusion ($3 million) 
 — Subtraction for qualified small business and farm 

property, up to $2 million 
 — Minnesota-only QTIP 
equals: Minnesota taxable estate 
times: graduated rates from 13% to 16% 
equals: Minnesota estate tax 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 $208,231,000 
 F.Y. 2022 $215,989,000 

Disposition: State General Fund 

Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue 

Who Pays: Personal representative submits a return if gross 
estate exceeds $3.0 million for deaths in 2020 and later. 

Number of Taxpayers: 900 returns filed in 2019. 

Due Dates: Tax due within nine months after death. 
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History of Major Changes 
1905 — Inheritance tax adopted, with rates from 1.5% to 5%. 
1911 — Exemptions provided ranging from $10,000 for spouse to 

$100 for an unrelated person. 
 — Rates from 1% to 20% adopted, depending on the 

relationship of the heir to the decedent. 
1937 — Gift tax enacted. 
 — Rate increased from a maximum of 20% to 60%, not 

greater than 35% of value of property. 
1959 — Rates changed and exemptions increased. 
1976 — Homestead exemption increased to $45,000. 
 — Marital exemption and exemption for minor child 

increased. 
1979 — Inheritance and gift taxes repealed and replaced with estate 

tax with graduated rates from 7% to 12%, but tax not less 
than the federal credit for state death taxes. 

1981 — Conformed to federal changes increasing minimum filing 
requirements and providing unlimited marital deduction. 

1985 — Eliminated the Minnesota rate schedule tax; tax equal to the 
federal credit for state death taxes. 

1998 — Adopted 1997 federal changes, including the phased-in 
increase in filing requirements. 

2002 — Tax decoupled from federal tax and determined under 
pre-2001 federal law. 

2011 — Enacted deduction for up to $4 million of qualified farm 
and small business property. 

2013 — Taxable estate extended to include gifts made within three 
years of death. 

 — For a nonresident decedent, Minnesota property held in a 
pass-through entity subject to tax. 

 — Gift tax enacted (7/1/13). 
2014 — Tax changed from the federal credit for state death taxes to 

a separate calculation. 
 — Exemption increased from $1 million to $2 million and 

rates changed, phased in over five years. 
 — Maximum deduction for qualified small business and farm 

property reduced from $4 million to $3 million, phased in 
over five years. 

 — Gift tax repealed (7/1/13). 
2017 — Definition of taxable estate changed; the exclusion is 

subtracted. 
 — Exclusion increased from $2 million to $3 million and rates 

changed; phased in over four years. 
 — Maximum subtraction for qualified small business and farm 

property reduced from $3 million to $2 million, phased in 
over four years. 

2019 — Definition of qualified property expanded for the small 
business and farm property subtraction. 
  



 19 

Sales and Excise Taxes 

General Sales and Use Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 297A and Section 295.75 

Tax Base: Sales price of tangible personal property and specified 
taxable services sold or used in Minnesota. 

Rates: 
General rate 6.875% 
Gross receipts tax on liquor and beer 2.5% 
Additional tax on the rental of a car, van, 

or pickup truck for less than 29 days 9.2% 
Fee on the rental of a car, van, or pickup 
truck for less than 29 days 5.0% 

Major Exemptions: Sales for resale in the course of business; 
materials used in agricultural or industrial production; food products 
(but not prepared meals and drinks, candy, gum, and soft drinks); 
clothing; drugs and medicines; fuels taxed under the motor fuels 
excise tax; motor vehicles subject to the motor vehicle sales tax; 
cigarettes (subject to an in-lieu tax); residential heating fuels and 
water services; certain capital equipment; and farm machinery. 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 F.Y. 2022 
 Sales and Use Tax 6.5% $6,163,683,000 $6,589,632,000 
 Sales and Use Tax 0.375% $361,467,000 $391,620,000 
 Liquor Gross Receipts $91,204,000 $107,040,000 
 Motor Vehicle Rental Tax $15,735,000 $23,348,000 
 Motor Vehicle Rental Fee* $1,351,000 $1,564,000 

*Amount remitted is the excess of the fee over the motor vehicle 
registration tax on those vehicles. 

Disposition: 
 State General Fund Tax at the 6.5% rate* 
  Liquor gross receipts tax 
 Tax at the 0.375% rate: 
 Outdoor Heritage Fund 33.00% 
 Clean Water Fund 33.00% 
 Parks and Trails Fund 14.25% 
 Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund 19.75% 

 Highway User Tax Motor vehicle rental tax 
 Distribution Fund  Motor vehicle rental fee 

*Exceptions: The tax on motor vehicle leases is transferred 38% to 
the County State-Aid Highway Fund, 38% to the MN Transit 
Account; 13% to MN State Transit Fund, and 11% to Highway User 
Tax Distribution Fund. The tax on aircraft purchases and leases goes 
to the State Airports Fund. 
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Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue 

Who Pays: Purchasers or users of taxable goods and services. 
Holders of sales and use tax permits collect and remit the tax. 
Holders of direct pay permits remit the tax directly. 

Number of Taxpayers: 170,000 businesses 

Due Dates: For monthly returns, 20th day of the following month. For 
filers having an annual liability of $250,000 or more, accelerated 
payment of 81.4% of June liability applies. For quarterly returns, 20th 
of the month following the sales quarter. For annual returns, February 
5th. Individual use tax due April 15th. 

History of Major Changes 
1967 — Sales tax enacted at a rate of 3%. 
1971 — Rate increased to 4%. 
 — Motor vehicles exempted from the sales tax and made 

subject to the motor vehicle excise tax. 
1973 — Accessory tools exempted. 
1978 — Residential heating fuels exempted. 
1979 — Residential water service exempted. 
1981 — Rate temporarily increased from 4% to 5%, except for farm 

machinery. 
 — Exemption for cigarettes repealed. 
 — June accelerated payment enacted at 50%. 
1982 — Exemptions for candy and soft drinks repealed. 
 — Cable TV services made taxable. 
 — Additional 5% tax imposed on on-sale liquor. 
 — Rate temporarily increased to 6%. 
1983 — Rate permanently changed to 6%. 
 — Additional tax on on-sale liquor reduced to 2.5% and 

extended to off-sale liquor. 
 — Exempted: racehorses; paper and ink used to produce 

publications; and construction materials and equipment 
used in enterprise zones. 

 — Over-the-counter sales of magazines made taxable. 
1984 — Rate reduced to 4% on capital equipment for new or 

expanding manufacturing facilities and on special tooling. 
 — Mobile homes taxed at 65% of sales price; used mobile 

homes exempted. 
1985 — Rate for farm machinery reduced to 2%. 
 — Exempted: repair and replacement parts for farm 

machinery; ticket sales and admissions to elementary and 
secondary school games and activities; and certain sales by 
nonprofit organizations, including fundraising. 

 — Repealed central office telephone equipment exemption. 
1987 — Repealed exemptions for: nonprescribed drugs and 

medicine; state government purchases; interstate telephone 
service; railroad rolling stock; most club dues; racehorses; 
meals sold in hospital cafeterias; admission to public 
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recreational areas; and admission to health clubs, tanning 
facilities, and similar places. 

 — Sales tax extended to: parking; motor vehicle cleaning and 
maintenance (not repair); pet grooming; laundry and dry 
cleaning; building and residential cleaning, maintenance, 
and exterminating; detective agencies, security, burglar and 
fire alarm, and armored car services; and lawn, garden, 
tree, and shrub services. 

 — Repealed reduction in sales price for federal taxes. 
1988 — Exemptions reinstated for: nonprescribed analgesics; and 

sales to the University of Minnesota, state universities, 
community colleges, technical institutes, state academies, 
and the University of Minnesota hospitals. 

1989 — Sales tax extended to solid waste collection and disposal 
services, and telephone access charges imposed by hotels. 

 — Exemption enacted for capital equipment in new or 
expanding manufacturing facilities (previously at 4%). 

 — Exemption repealed for motor vehicles leased by local 
governments and nonprofit organizations. 

1991 — Rate temporarily increased from 6% to 6.5%. 
 — Local option sales tax for counties of 0.5% authorized. 
 — Isolated or occasional sale exemption restricted for 

business property. 
 — Tax extended to private communications services and pet 

boarding. 
 — Tax of $7.50 imposed on the rental of a car, van, or pickup 

truck for less than 29 days. 
1992 — Exemption for local governments repealed, except for 

school districts, hospitals, nursing homes, and certain 
purchases by libraries. 

 — Exemptions enacted for: large ships; photovoltaic devices; 
and wind energy conversion systems. 

1993 — June accelerated payment increased to 75%. 
1994 — Local option tax of 0.5% repealed; state rate increased by 

0.5% to 6.5% (7/1/96). 
 — Exemptions enacted for: special tooling (previously taxed 

at 4.5%); horses, other than racehorses; and, for one year 
only, used farm machinery. 

 — Rate on replacement capital equipment phased down to 2%. 
 — Tax on motor vehicle rentals changed from $7.50 to an 

additional 6.2% on the rental charge. 
1995 — Exemptions enacted for racehorses and, for an additional 

year, used farm machinery. 
1996 — Exemption for used farm machinery extended for one year. 
 — Individual purchases for personal use of $770 or less 

exempted from use tax. 
1997 — Exemptions enacted for replacement capital equipment, 

previously taxed at a reduced rate (7/1/98) and materials 
used in providing taxable services (7/1/99). 

 — Used farm machinery exemption made permanent. 
 — 3% fee on motor vehicle rentals enacted; business remits 

excess of 3% fee over motor vehicle registration tax paid. 
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1998 — Tax on new farm machinery phased out. 
1999 — Sales tax rebate of $1.3 billion for individuals equal to 

71.55% of estimated 1997 sales tax paid based on income. 
 — Exempted television commercials and tangible personal 

property used to produce them. 
2000 — Sales tax rebate of $635.6 million for individuals equal to 

29.7% of estimated 1998 sales tax paid based on income. 
 — June accelerated payment reduced to 62% (June 2002). 
2001 — Sales tax rebate of $791 million for individuals equal to 

37% of estimated sales tax paid for 1999 based on income. 
 — Repealed June accelerated payment (June 2004). 
 — Tax extended to additional telecommunications services; 

telecommunications equipment exempted. 
 — Adopted streamlined sales tax provisions. 
 — Repealed 2.5% additional tax on liquor and beer and 6.2% 

additional tax on car rentals (1/1/06). 
 — Fur clothing exempted from sales tax and made subject to a 

6.5% gross receipts tax. 
2002 — Removed exemptions for: meals at colleges and 

universities unless under a board contract; vending machine 
sales at schools; and certain interstate telephone service. 

 — Accelerated payment increased from 62% to 75% of June 
liability for 2002 and 2003. 

2003 — June accelerated payment re-enacted at 85% (June 2004). 
 — Exemption enacted for all purchases made by qualified 

businesses in a Job Opportunity Building Zone or the 
Biotechnology and Health Sciences Industry Zone. 

2005 — Exemption for drugs and medicines expanded to include all 
nonprescription drugs. 

 — Exemption for medical devices modified. 
 — Cigarettes exempted from the sales tax and made subject to 

an alternative tax at the wholesale level. 
 — For motor vehicle leases, sales tax required to be paid 

upfront on the total lease price. 
 — Repealed sunset date for the 6.2% tax on car rentals. 
 — Gross receipts tax of 2.5% imposed on retail sales of liquor 

and beer, on-sale and off-sale. Replaces additional 2.5% 
sales tax which expired. 

 — Natural gas pipelines made subject to tax. 
 — Enacted exemptions for ready-to-eat meats and seafood, 

solar energy systems, and construction of several facilities. 
2006 — June accelerated payment reduced to 78% (June 2007). 
 — Exemptions enacted for construction of Twins ballpark and 

University of Minnesota football stadium. 
2008 — Constitutional amendment adopted to increase the tax rate 

by 0.375% with the proceeds dedicated to four funds. 
 — June accelerated payment increased to 90% (June 2009). 
 — Exemptions enacted for: commuter rail vehicles and repair 

parts; and central corridor light rail construction materials. 
 — Fur clothing made subject to the sales tax; separate gross 

receipts tax repealed. 
 — Motor vehicle rental fee increased from 3% to 5%. 
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2011 — Exemption enacted for all purchases by townships. 
 — Exemption enacted for qualifying equipment and electricity 

for new and expanded data centers. 
2012 — Exemption enacted for construction of Vikings’ stadium. 
2013 — Exemption enacted for purchases by cities and counties. 
 — Tax imposed on business purchases of electronic and 

commercial equipment repair and maintenance services and 
on warehousing and storage services. 

 — Exemption for telecommunications equipment repealed. 
 — Refund requirement for capital equipment exemption 

repealed (9/1/14). 
 — Tax imposed on specified digital products. 
 — Out-of-state retailers required to collect the sales tax if they 

have an agreement with a Minnesota resident or business to 
refer customers by a link on a web site. 

 — Exemption enacted for aircraft parts and labor for general 
aviation. 

 — Exemption enacted for all purchases made by qualifying 
businesses that expand in Greater Minnesota, limited in 
total to $7 million per year. 

 — Exemption enacted for construction materials: qualifying 
research facility; biopharmaceutical facility, industrial 
measurement facility; and destination medical center. 

 — Rate for the motor vehicle rental tax increased to 9.2%. 
2014 — Repealed tax on business purchases of electronic and 

commercial equipment repair and maintenance services and 
on warehousing and storage services. 

 — Exemption for telecommunications equipment reinstated. 
 — Exemption for local government purchases extended to 

special districts (1/1/16). 
 — June accelerated payment reduced from 90% to 81.4%; 

threshold requirement increased from $120,000 to 
$250,000 per year (June 2014). 

 — Repeal of refund requirement for capital equipment 
exemption delayed (7/1/15). 

 — Exemption enacted for the purchase of coin-operated 
entertainment and amusement devices. 

2015 — Exemption for special taxing districts delayed (1/1/17). 
2016 — Modular homes taxed at 65% of sales price. 
2017 — Exemption for telecommunications equipment expanded to 

include fiber and conduit. 
 — Exemption enacted for bullion. 
 — Exemption enacted for purchases of music for jukeboxes. 
 — Exemption enacted for vending machine sales of certain 

food items. 
2018 — Out-of-state retailers required to collect and remit sales tax. 
2019 — Exemption enacted for county agricultural societies. 

— June accelerated payment increased from 81.4% to 87.5% 
for calendar year 2020 and 2021 payments; decreased from 
87.5% to 84.5% for calendar year 2022 and later. 

— Exemption enacted for purchases of certain herbicides. 
  



 24 

2021 — Repealed June accelerated payment (June 2022). 
— Exemption enacted for construction materials for local 

government public safety facilities. 
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Motor Vehicle Sales Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 297B 

Tax Base: Purchase price less value of trade-in vehicle of any motor 
vehicle required to be registered in Minnesota. 

Rate: 6.5%. 

Flat taxes in lieu of the 6.5% tax: 
 Cars at least 10 years old with value under $3,000 $10 
 Collector vehicles $150 

Credit: Tax paid to other states, under certain conditions. 

Major Exemptions: Purchases for resale by dealers; transfers by 
inheritance; and gratuitous transfers between family members. 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 $981,738,000 
 F.Y. 2022 $986,044,000 

Disposition:  
 Highway User Tax Distribution Fund 60% 
 Transit Assistance Fund 40% 

Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Public Safety 

Who Pays: Purchasers of motor vehicles required to be registered in 
Minnesota. 

Number of Taxpayers: Purchasers of 1.5 million vehicles transferred 
annually 

Due Date: When ownership is transferred. 

History of Major Changes 
1971 — Enacted at a rate of 3%; motor vehicles exempted from 

general sales tax. Rate increased from 3% to 4% in 1971 
special session. 

1981 — Rate temporarily increased from 4% to 5%. 
1983 — Rate increased to 6%. 
 — Purchase price reduced by federal excise taxes. 
1985 — Enacted a $10 tax on passenger cars at least ten years old in 

lieu of the 6% tax. 
1987 — Exemptions repealed for purchases by state and local 

governments and nonprofit organizations. 
1988 — Flat tax of $90 on collector vehicles enacted in lieu of the 

6% tax. 
1991 — Rate temporarily increased from 6% to 6.5%  
 — Local option tax for counties of 0.5% authorized. 
1994 — Local option tax of 0.5% repealed; state rate increased by 

0.5% to 6.5% (7/1/96). 
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1997 — Exemption enacted for vehicles donated to a 501(c)(3) 
organization. 

1998 — Exemptions enacted for ready-mix concrete trucks and for 
township purchases of road maintenance vehicles. 

2000 — Expanded exemption for gifts between family members to 
include any gifts between individuals. 

2001 — Extended exemption for transit vehicles to include all 
vehicles used to provide transit services. 

2003 — Exemption enacted for motor vehicles purchased by 
qualified businesses in a Job Opportunity Building Zone. 

2006 — Constitution amended to dedicate all proceeds from the tax 
for highways and transit, phased in over five years. 

2013 — Exemption for sales between individuals limited to certain 
family members. 

 — Flat tax on collector vehicles increased from $90 to $150. 
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Motor Fuels Excise Taxes 
Minnesota Statutes, Chapters 296A and 168D 

Tax Base: Fuels used in highway vehicles, aircraft, boats, 
snowmobiles, and all-terrain vehicles. 

Rates: 
Highway Fuels:* 
 Blend of gasoline and 85% ethanol (E85) 20.25¢ per gallon 
 All other gasoline 28.50¢ per gallon 
 Liquefied petroleum gas or propane 21.35¢ per gallon 
 Liquefied natural gas 17.10¢ per gallon 
 Compressed natural gas $2.25 per thousand cubic feet 
 All other special fuel (diesel) 28.50¢ per gallon 
*Includes 3.5¢ per gallon surcharge for gasoline and diesel and 
proportional surcharge for all other highway fuels. 

Aviation Fuels: 
 Aviation gasoline 5¢ per gallon 
 Jet fuel 15¢ per gallon 

 Airline companies that pay the air flight property tax are allowed a 
refund based on their annual purchases as follows: 

 Annual Gallons  Rate After Refund 
 Up to  50,000 5.0¢ 
 50,001 - 150,000 2.0¢ 
 150,001 - 200,000 1.0¢ 
 Over  200,000 0.5¢ 

Exemption: Transit systems receiving state assistance. 

Special Provision: Motor carriers pay the road tax equal to the 
highway fuels tax for gasoline or special fuel used in Minnesota. 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 F.Y. 2022 
 Highway Fuels $846,125,000 $892,597,000 
 Aviation Fuels   $3,090,000   $7,091,000 
 Total $849,215,000 $899,688,000 

Disposition: 
 For Highway Fuels: 
 Highway User Tax Distribution Fund 96.904% 
 Natural Resources Fund - for boat, snowmobile, 
  all-terrain vehicle, and off-road vehicle usage 2.980% 
 Special Revenue Fund - for forest road usage 0.116% 

 For Aviation Fuels, State Airports Fund. 
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Administration 
Agencies: Minnesota Department of Revenue; Minnesota Department 
of Public Safety administers the motor carrier road tax 

Who Pays: In general, distributors collect and remit the tax; in some 
cases, it is the special fuel dealer or bulk purchaser. 

Number of Taxpayers: 383 distributors; 190 special fuel dealers 

Payment Dates: 23rd day of month following purchase. 

History of Major Changes 
1925 — Enacted at 2¢ per gallon on highway fuel. 
1929 — Increased to 3¢ per gallon. 
1937 — Temporary increase to 4¢ per gallon. 
1941 — Rate of 4¢ made permanent. 
1945 — Aviation fuel tax enacted at 4¢ per gallon. 
1949 — Increased to 5¢ per gallon on highway fuel. 
1963 — Increased to 6¢ per gallon. 
1967 — Increased to 7¢ per gallon. 
1975 — Increased to 9¢ per gallon. 
1980 — Increased to 11¢ per gallon. 
 — Enacted 2¢ per gallon rate reduction for gasohol. 
1981 — Increased to 13¢ per gallon. 
1983 — Increased to 16¢ per gallon and to 17¢ (1/1/84). 
 — Rate reduction for gasohol increased to 4¢. 
 — Enacted 8¢ per gallon rate reduction for gasohol sold to 

governments and schools. 
 — Aviation fuel rate increased from 4¢ to 5¢. 
1985 — Replaced the reduced rates for gasohol with credits. 
 — Enacted an annual user permit fee on vehicles using 

compressed natural gas. 
1986 — Reduced the credits for gasohol. 
1988 — Increased from 17¢ to 20¢ per gallon. 
 — Annual permit fees increased, extended to propane. 
1991 — Annual permit fees extended to all alternative fuels. 
1993 — Alternative fuel permit repealed. 
1994 — Alternative fuel permit reenacted. 
 — Gasohol credit phased out. 
1995 — Alternative fuel permit repealed and replaced by differing 

rates on LPG, LNG, and CNG. 
1996 — Gasohol credit for governments and schools phased out. 
2008 — Tax on highway gasoline and diesel increased from 20¢ to 

25¢ per gallon. Rates for alternative fuels increased. 
 — Surcharge enacted equal to 0.5¢ per gallon in F.Y. 2009 and 

increasing each year to 3.5¢ in F.Y. 2013. Proportional 
surcharge enacted for alternative fuels. 

2013 — Tax for jet fuel increased from 5¢ to 15¢ per gallon; 
repealed refund of a portion of the tax based on volume 
except for companies paying the air flight property tax 
(7/1/14). 

2017 — CNG rate adjusted to $2.25 per thousand cubic feet.  
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Alcoholic Beverage Taxes 
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 297G 

Tax Base: Distilled spirits, beer, malt beverages, wines, and 
premixed alcoholic beverages manufactured, imported, sold or 
possessed in Minnesota. 

Rates: 
 Tax per Barrel 
Beer: Alcohol by Weight   of 31 Gallons 
 3.2% or less $2.40 
 More than 3.2% $4.60 
 Per Liter Per Gallon 
Distilled Spirits $1.33 $5.03 
Wine: Alcohol by Volume 
 14% or less $.08 $.30 
 More than 14% to 21% .25 .95 
 More than 21% to 24% .48 1.82 
 More than 24% .93 3.52 
 Sparkling wine .48 1.82 
Cider: 0.5% to 7% alcohol .04 .15 

Credits: Small brewers; microdistilleries, and small wineries. 

Exemptions: Wine for sacramental purposes; wine or beer made at 
home for family use; alcoholic beverages sold to food processors and 
pharmaceutical firms. 

Special Provision: Separate tax on wholesaler of 1¢ for each bottle 
or container of distilled spirits and wine 200 milliliters and larger. 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 F.Y. 2022 
 Distilled Spirits $78,666,000 $82,535,000 
 Beer $15,718,000 $15,205,000 
 Wine   $7,741,000   $7,765,000 
 Total $102,125,000 $105,505,000 

Disposition: State General Fund 

Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue 

Who Pays: For distilled spirits and wine, licensed manufacturers or 
wholesalers. For beer, brewers, importers, or wholesalers. 

Number of Taxpayers: 364 brewers and importers of beer; 306 
distributors of wine and distilled spirits 
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Due Dates: 18th day of the month following the month in which the 
sale is made. Accelerated payment of 81.4% of June liability due two 
business days before June 30 for filers having an annual liability of 
$250,000 or more. 

History of Major Changes 
1934 — Enacted at rates of: $1 per barrel of 3.2% beer and $2 per 

barrel of strong beer; 60¢ per gallon of liquor; and 10¢ to 
60¢ per gallon for wine.  

1937 — Liquor tax increased to $1 per gallon on liquor over 24% 
alcohol. 

1947 — Increased tax rates. 
1959 — Beer tax increased to $1.60 per barrel for 3.2% and $3.20 

for strong beer. 
 — Liquor surtax of 15% imposed. 
1969 — Additional tax on liquor from 4¢ to 75¢ per gallon 

depending on alcoholic content. 
1971 — Rates increased: distilled spirits from $2.50 to $4.53 per 

gallon. 3.2% beer from $1.60 to $2 per barrel. Strong beer 
from $3.20 to $4 per barrel. Wine tax rates increased. 

1973 — Distilled spirits tax reduced from $4.53 to $4.39. 
 — Minnesota brewers’ credit enacted. 
1979 — Sparkling wine tax reduced from $3.08 to $1.50. 
1985 — Minnesota brewers’ credit repealed. 
 — Small brewers’ credit enacted. 
1986 — Accelerated June payment enacted at 50% of June liability. 
1987 — Rates increased: distilled spirits to $5.03 per gallon; all 

categories of wine; 3.2% beer to $2.40 per barrel 
  and strong beer to $4.60 per barrel. 
1989 — Small brewers’ credit increased. 
1993 — Accelerated June payment increased from 50% to 75%. 
1998 — Separate tax of 15¢ per gallon enacted for cider. 
2000 — Accelerated June payment repealed (June 2002). 
2003  — June accelerated payment re-enacted at 85% (June 2004). 
2006 — June accelerated payment reduced to 78% (June 2007). 
2008 — June accelerated payment increased to 90% (June 2009). 
2013 — Qualification for the small brewers’ credit increased from 

less than 100,000 barrels to less than 250,000 barrels. 
2014 — June accelerated payment reduced from 90% to 81.4%; 

threshold requirement increased from $120,000 to 
$250,000 per year (June 2014). 

 — Microdistillery tax credit enacted. 
2017 — Small winery tax credit enacted. 
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Cigarette Taxes 
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 297F 

Tax Base: Cigarettes and little cigars sold or used in Minnesota. 

Rates: $3.04 per pack of 20 cigarettes plus a $0.692 in-lieu sales tax 
for 2023. The in-lieu sales tax rate is determined annually based on 
6.5% of the estimated average weighted retail price. 

Special Provision: An additional fee of 50¢ per pack is imposed on 
cigarettes produced by manufacturers that are not part of a settlement 
agreement with the state. 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 F.Y. 2022 
 Excise Tax $408,065,000 $381,320,000 
 In-Lieu Sales Tax $84,570,000 $82,997,000 
 Nonsettlement Fee   $7,407,000   $5,679,000 
 Health Impact Fee $555,000 $0 
 Total $500,597,000 $469,996,000 

Disposition: 
 Special Revenue Fund $26,187,000 
 State General Fund Balance of excise tax after payment 
 to Special Revenue Fund 
 In-lieu sales tax  
 Nonsettlement fee 

Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue 

Who Pays: Distributors or wholesalers of cigarettes. 

Number of Taxpayers: 43 distributors 

Due Dates: 18th day of the month following sale in Minnesota. 
Accelerated payment of 81.4% of June liability due two business 
days before June 30 for filers having an annual liability of $250,000 
or more. 

History of Major Changes 
1947 — Enacted at 3¢ per pack. 
1949 — Increased to 4¢ per pack. 
1959 — Increased to 5.5¢ per pack. 
1961 — Increased to 7¢ per pack. 
1963 — Increased to 8¢ per pack. 
1969 — Increased to 13¢ per pack. 
1971 — Increased to 18¢ per pack. 
1985 — Increased to 23¢ per pack. 
1986 — Accelerated June payment enacted at 50% of June liability. 
1987 — Increased to 38¢ per pack. 
1991 — Rate increased to 43¢ per pack. 
1992 — Rate increased to 48¢ per pack. 
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1993 — June accelerated payment increased from 50% to 75%. 
2000 — Accelerated June payment repealed (June 2002). 
2003 — 35¢ per pack fee enacted for cigarettes produced by 

manufacturers not part of a settlement agreement with the 
state. 

 — Eliminated the discount for distributors. 
 — June accelerated payment re-enacted at 85% of June 

liability (June 2004). 
2005 — Enacted a fee of 75¢ per pack, in addition to the tax of 48¢. 
 — Cigarettes exempted from sales tax and made subject to an 

in-lieu tax at the wholesale level. The tax rate is determined 
annually. 

2006 — June accelerated payment reduced to 78% (June 2007). 
2008 — June accelerated payment increased to 90% (June 2009). 
2013 — Tax increased to $2.83 per pack from total tax and fee of 

$1.23. Fee of 75¢ per pack eliminated. Tax rate indexed 
(7/1/14). 

 — In-lieu sales tax increased from 6.5% to 6.875%. 
 — Nonsettlement fee increased from 35¢ to 50¢ per pack. 
 — Little cigars subject to the same tax as cigarettes, including 

the in-lieu sales tax and the nonsettlement fee, instead of 
being subject to the tobacco products tax and general sales 
and use tax. 

2014 — June accelerated payment reduced from 90% to 81.4%; 
threshold requirement increased from $120,000 to $250,000 
per year (June 2014). 

2017 — Index on tax rate removed. Tax rate $3.04 per pack. 
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Tobacco Products Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 297F 

Tax Base: Tobacco products, other than cigarettes and little cigars, 
sold or used in Minnesota, including cigars, smoking tobacco, and 
chewing tobacco. 

Rate: 95% of wholesale price. 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 $131,555,000 
 F.Y. 2022 $144,534,000 

Disposition: State General Fund 

Special Provisions: The minimum tax on a container of moist snuff 
is equal to the tax on a pack of 20 cigarettes. The maximum tax on a 
premium cigar is $0.50. 

Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue 

Who Pays: Distributors or wholesalers of products received for sale 
in Minnesota. 

Number of Taxpayers: 274 distributors 

Due Dates: 18th day of the month following receipt of the product in 
state. Accelerated payment of 81.4% of June liability due two 
business days before June 30 for filers having an annual liability of 
$250,000 or more. 

History of Major Changes 
1955 — Enacted at rate of 15% of wholesale price. 
1959 — Rate increased to 20%. 
1985 — Rate increased to 25%. 
1986 — Accelerated June payment enacted at 50% of June liability. 
1987 — Rate increased to 35%. 
1993 — Accelerated June payment increased from 50% to 75%. 
2000 — Accelerated June payment repealed (June 2002). 
2003 — Eliminated the discount for distributors. 
 — June accelerated payment re-enacted at 85% of June 

liability (June 2004). 
2005 — Enacted a fee of 35% of wholesale price, in addition to the 

existing tax of 35% of wholesale price. 
2006 — June accelerated payment reduced to 78% (June 2007). 
2008 — June accelerated payment increased to 90% (June 2009). 
2010 — Electronic cigarettes subject to tax. 
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2013 — Tax rate increased to 95% of wholesale price from a total 
tax and fee of 70%. Fee of 35% eliminated. 

 — Minimum tax on a container of moist snuff made equal to 
the tax on a pack of 20 cigarettes. 

 — Premium cigars subject to a maximum tax of $3.50 per 
cigar. 

2014 — June accelerated payment reduced from 90% to 81.4%; 
threshold requirement increased from $120,000 to 
$250,000 per year (June 2014). 

2017 — Premium cigar maximum tax decreased to 50¢ per cigar. 
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Controlled Substances Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 297D 

Tax Base: Marijuana or controlled substance, as defined, that is held, 
possessed, transported, transferred, sold, or offered to be sold in 
violation of Minnesota laws. 

Rates: 
 Marijuana $3.50 per gram 
 Controlled substance  $200 per gram 

 Controlled substance not sold by weight $400 per ten 
  dosage units 

Credit: Tax paid to another state or local government. 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 $0 
 F.Y. 2022 $0 

Disposition: State General Fund 

Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue 

Who Pays: A person who manufactures, produces, ships, transports, 
or imports into Minnesota or possesses marijuana or a controlled 
substance. 

Due Dates: Immediately upon acquisition in Minnesota. 

History of Major Changes 
1986 — Enacted. 
1988 — Tax on dosage units not sold by weight changed. 
1989 — Credit enacted for tax paid to another state. 
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Mortgage Registry Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 287 

Tax Base: Principal debt which is secured by a mortgage of real 
property in the state. 

Rate: 0.23% of principal debt. 

Exemptions: Certain agricultural loans and government housing 
programs. 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 $246,027,000 
(state portion) F.Y. 2022 $203,491,000 
Disposition: 
 State General Fund 97% 
 County Revenue Fund 3% 

Administration 
Agency: County treasurer 

Who Pays: The mortgagor (borrower) is liable for the tax. The 
mortgagee (lender) may collect and remit the tax on behalf of the 
mortgagor. 

Due Date: At or before the time of filing the mortgage for record or 
registration. Counties remit state portion to the state by the 20th of the 
following month. Accelerated payment of June receipts due two 
business days before June 30th. 

History of Major Changes 
1907 — Enacted at 50¢ per $100 of principal debt.  
1913 — Changed to 15¢ per $100 if mortgage is for 5 years or less; 

25¢ for more than 5 years. 
1945 — Changed to 15¢ per $100 on any mortgage. 
1987 — Rate increased to 23¢ for each $100 of debt. 
1991 — Reverse mortgages subject to tax. 
2001 — Changed liability for the tax from the mortgagee to the 

mortgagor. 
 — Removed exemption for fraternal benefit societies. 

— Exempted certain agricultural loans and government 
housing programs. 

— Tax rate restated as a decimal. 
2003 — Counties required to accelerate remittance to the state of 

tax collected in June (June 2004). 
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Deed Transfer Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 287 

Tax Base: Transfer of real estate by any deed or instrument. 

Rates: If consideration is more than $3,000, 0.33% of consideration; 
$1.65 for consideration of $3,000 or less. 

Major Exemptions: Executory contracts for the sale of land; 
mortgages; wills; plats; leases; cemetery lot deeds; deeds of 
distribution by personal representatives; transfers between co-owners 
partitioning undivided interest in the same piece of property; and 
transfers between the parties pursuant to a decree of marriage 
dissolution. 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 $164,082,000 
(state portion) F.Y. 2022 $199,621,000 

Disposition: 
 State General Fund 97% 
 County Revenue Fund 3% 

Administration 
Agency: County treasurer 

Who Pays: Any person who grants, assigns, transfers, or conveys real 
estate. 

Due Date: At the time of transfer. Counties remit state portion to the 
state by the 20th of the following month. Accelerated payment of June 
receipts due two business days before June 30th. 

History of Major Changes 
1961 — Enacted at $1.10 for first $1,000 of consideration and 55¢ 

for each additional $500. 
1967 — Increased to $2.20 for first $1,000 and $1.10 for each 

additional $500. 
1973 — Corporations made subject to tax. 
1987 — Rate increased to $1.65 for $500 or less and $1.65 for each 

additional $500. 
 — Extended tax to personal property transferred as part of 

total consideration. 
 — Eliminated exemption for state and local governments. 
2001 — Tax rate restated as a decimal. 
2003 — Counties required to accelerate remittance to the state of 

tax collected in June (June 2004). 
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Gambling Taxes 

Bingo, Raffle, and Paddlewheel Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 297E 

Tax Base: Gross receipts less prizes paid from bingo (other than 
electronic linked bingo), raffles, and paddlewheels. 

Rate: 8.5% 

Exemptions: Lawful gambling if conducted by an organization on no 
more than five days per year and prizes do not exceed $50,000 per 
year; bingo at fairs and civic celebrations. 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 $2,505,000 
 F.Y. 2022 $1,008,000 

Disposition: State General Fund with 1% appropriated to compulsive 
 gambling programs 

Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue 

Who Pays: Licensed fraternal, religious, veterans, and other nonprofit 
organizations. 

Number of Taxpayers: 900 organizations 

Due Date: 20th of the following month. 

History of Major Changes 
1984 — Tax on all lawful gambling enacted at rate of 10%. 
1986 — Pull-tabs exempted, separate pull-tab tax imposed. 
1988 — Tipboards exempted; made subject to the same tax as 

pull-tabs. 
1998 — Rate reduced from 10% to 9.5%. 
1999 — Rate reduced to 9%. 
2000 — Rate reduced to 8.5%. 
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Combined Net Receipts Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 297E 

Tax Base: Net receipts after prizes from pull-tabs, non-sports themed 
tipboards, and electronic linked bingo. 

Graduated Rate Schedule: 
 Fiscal Year Receipts Tax Rate 
 First $87,500 9% 
  $87,501 - $122,500 18% 
 $122,501 - $157,500 27% 
 Over $157,500 36% 

Exemption: Lawful gambling if conducted by an organization on no 
more than five days per year and prizes do not exceed $50,000 per 
year. 
Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 $116,218,000 
 F.Y. 2022 $179,296,000 

Disposition: State General Fund 

Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue 

Who Pays: Licensed fraternal, religious, veterans, and other nonprofit 
organizations. 

Number of Taxpayers: 1,150 organizations 

Due Date: 20th day of the following month. 

History of Major Changes 
1989 — Enacted, with rates of 2%, 4%, and 6%. 
1998 — Rates reduced to 1.9%, 3.8% and 5.7%. 
1999 — Rates reduced to 1.8%, 3.6%, and 5.4%. 
2000 — Rates reduced to 1.7%, 3.4%, and 5.1%. 
2012 — Electronic pull-tabs and electronic linked bingo authorized. 
 — Distributor tax on pull-tabs and tipboards repealed. 
 — Combined gross receipts tax on pull-tabs and tipboards 

replaced by combined net receipts tax on pull-tabs, 
tipboards, and electronic linked bingo. 
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Pari-Mutuel Taxes 
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 240.13 and 240.15 

Tax Base: Total amount bet in pari-mutuel horse racing pools at a 
licensed racetrack. The races are run either at the racetrack or at 
another location and televised at the racetrack (simulcast). 

Rates and Disposition: 
State General Fund: 6% of the takeout in excess of $12 million 
annually. The takeout is 17% for straight pools; 23% for multiple 
pools. 

Minnesota Breeder’s Fund: 1% of the total amount bet on live racing; 
5.5% of the takeout from full-card simulcasting. 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 $2,463,000 
 F.Y. 2022 $2,072,000 

Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Racing Commission 

Who Pays: A licensed racetrack. 

Number of Taxpayers: Two racetracks 

Due Date: Within seven days of date that the tax was collected. 

History of Major Changes 
1982 — Minnesota Constitution amended to allow pari-mutuel 

betting on horse races. 
1983 — Tax enacted. 
1988 — Changes made to the tax base and rates. 
1989 — Pari-mutuel betting allowed on out-of-state horse races 

televised at a licensed racetrack. 
1996 — One-year exemption of first $12 million of the takeout. 
1998 — Exemption of first $12 million of the takeout made 

permanent. 
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Sports Bookmaking Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297E.03 

Tax Base: Value of all bets received by a person engaged in sports 
bookmaking. Sports bookmaking (a felony) is defined in the criminal 
code as intentionally receiving, recording, or forwarding more than 5 
bets within a 30-day period that total more than $2,500 on any one or 
more sporting events. 

Rate: 6% 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 $0 
  F.Y. 2022 $0 

Disposition: State General Fund 

Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue 

Who Pays: Persons engaged in receiving, recording, forwarding or 
accepting sports bookmaking bets. 

Due Dates: 20th day of the month following sports bookmaking 
activity. 

History of Major Changes 
1993 — Enacted. 
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Gross Earnings Taxes 

Insurance Premiums Taxes 
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 297I 

Tax Base: Gross premiums less return premiums received on all 
business in Minnesota. 

Rates: 
1.5% — Life insurance 
1.26% — Mutual property and casualty companies with assets 

between $5 million and $1.6 billion as of 12/31/89. 
1.0% — Mutual property and casualty companies with assets less 

than $5 million; town and farmers’ mutual companies. 
1.0% — Health maintenance organizations (HMOs) and nonprofit 

health service plan corporations. 
3.0% — Surplus line agents. 
2.0% — All other insurance. 
0.5% — Fire safety surcharge on homeowners’ insurance, 

commercial fire, and commercial nonliability insurance. 
2.0% — Surcharge on fire premiums for property located in cities 

of the first class. 

Special Provision: Companies incorporated in another state or 
country are subject to retaliatory tax provisions. 

Major Exemption: Fraternal benefit societies. 

Credits: Guarantee association assessments; historic structure 
rehabilitation credit. 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 $565,872,000 
 F.Y. 2022 $624,050,000 

Disposition:  
 Health Care Access Fund – taxes paid by HMOs and nonprofit  
 health service plan corporations. 
 Special Revenue Fund – proceeds from the fire safety surcharge. 
 State General Fund – all other insurance taxes.  

Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue 

Who Pays: Insurance companies doing business in Minnesota. 

Number of Taxpayers: 1,500 companies 

Due Dates: Most companies make estimated payments on the 15th of 
March, June, September, and December. Annual return due March 1 
of the following year. 
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History of Major Changes 
1868 — 2% gross premiums tax imposed on foreign companies. 
1872 — 2% tax extended to domestic companies. 
1895 — Retaliatory tax provisions adopted. 
1913 — Fire marshal tax of 0.375% adopted. 
1934 — 2% surcharge on fire premiums enacted. 
1937 — Fire marshal tax increased to 0.5%. 
1953 — 5% ocean marine profits tax enacted. 
1987 — Exemptions removed for domestic mutual insurance 

companies, cooperative life and casualty companies, and 
premiums paid to Workers’ Compensation Reinsurance 
Association. 

 — Eliminated the credit for payments to the Minnesota 
Comprehensive Health Association. 

1988 — Tax rate for certain mutual property and casualty insurance 
companies phased down to 0.5%.  

1992 — Ocean marine profits tax repealed and replaced by 2% 
premiums tax. 

 — Nonprofit health service plan corporations and HMOs 
subject to 1% premiums tax, beginning in 1996. 

1994 — Credit enacted for guaranty association assessments. 
1995 — Rate increased from 0.5% to: 1.26% for mutual property 

and casualty companies with assets between $5 million and 
$1.6 billion; and 1.0% for town and farmers’ mutual 
companies and for mutual property and casualty companies 
with less than $5 million in assets. 

1997 — Temporary exemption enacted for HMOs and nonprofit 
health service plan corporations that meet specified cost 
containment goals; exemption extended to after 1999 unless 
a deficit is forecast for the Health Care Access Fund. 

2000 — HMOs and nonprofit health service plan corporations 
exempted for calendar years 2001 and 2002. 

2001 — HMOs and nonprofit health service plan corporations 
exempted for calendar year 2003. 

2003 — Exemptions eliminated for premiums paid under medical 
assistance, general assistance medical care, and 
MinnesotaCare. 

2005 — For life insurance, reduced the tax rate from 2% to 1.5% 
over four years, from 2006 to 2009. 

 — Imposed premiums tax on stop-loss insurance. 
2006 — Repealed 0.5% fire marshal tax on fire premiums; enacted 

0.65% fire safety surcharge on homeowners’, commercial 
fire, and commercial nonliability insurance (7/1/07). 

2010 — Historic structure rehabilitation credit enacted. 
2012 — Fire safety surcharge reduced from 0.65% to 0.5% (7/1/13). 
2013 — Historic structure rehabilitation credit extended for six 

years. 
2021 — Historic structure rehabilitation credit extended for one 

year. 
 — Film production credit enacted. 
 — Minnesota housing credit enacted.  
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Health Care Provider Surcharges 
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 256.9657 

Tax Base and Rates: 
Licensed nursing homes: $2,815 per licensed bed. 
Hospitals: 1.56% of net patient revenues, excluding Medicare. 
Health maintenance organizations and community integrated service 

networks: 0.6% of total premium revenues. 
Intermediate care facilities: $3,679 per licensed bed. 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 $318,323,000 
  F.Y. 2022 $257,835,000 

Disposition: State General Fund 

Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Human Services 

Who Pays: Nursing homes, hospitals, health maintenance 
organizations, community integrated service networks, and 
intermediate care facilities. 

Number of Taxpayers: 344 nursing homes; 127 hospitals; 9 health 
maintenance organizations; 128 intermediate care facilities 

Due Dates: 15th of the following month. 

History of Major Changes: 
1991 — Enacted, on hospitals and nursing homes. 
1992 — Tax base and rates changed. Additional surcharge of 2% 

for county hospitals in Hennepin and Ramsey Counties. 
 — Surcharge extended to physicians and health maintenance 

organizations. 
1993 — Rates increased for nursing homes and hospitals. 
 — Additional surcharge for Ramsey County deleted. 
 — Surcharges for the University of Minnesota and county 

nursing homes enacted. 
1997 — Physician surcharge repealed. 
2001 — Surcharges changed for Hennepin County Medical Center 

and University of Minnesota. 
2002 — Surcharges for nursing homes increased. 
2003 — Surcharges for nursing homes increased. 
 — Surcharge enacted for intermediate care facilities. 
2005 — Surcharge reduced for Hennepin County Medical Center 

and eliminated for University of Minnesota Hospital. 
2008 — Surcharge for county nursing homes reduced. 
2009 — Additional surcharge for county nursing homes repealed. 
2013 — Surcharge for intermediate care facilities increased. 
2017 — Hennepin County Medical Center surcharge repealed. 
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MinnesotaCare Tax On 
Health Care Providers, 

Hospitals, and Surgical Centers 
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 295 

Tax Base: Gross revenues for patient services. 

Rate: 1.8% 

Major Exemptions: Payments from Medicare; payments received 
from hospitals, surgical centers, and health care providers subject to 
MinnesotaCare taxes; home health care and hospice services. 

Credits: Tax paid to another state; research credit. 

Revenue   Hospitals and 
Collections:  Providers Surgical Centers 
 F.Y. 2021 $229,262,000 $240,848,000 
 F.Y. 2022 $266,416,000 $265,686,000 

Disposition: Health Care Access Fund 

Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue 

Who Pays: Hospitals and surgical centers; health care providers that 
furnish directly to a patient or consumer medical, surgical, optical, 
visual, dental, hearing, nursing services, drugs, laboratory, diagnostic 
or therapeutic services. Nursing homes and pharmacies are not 
included. 

Number of Taxpayers: 8,418 providers; 184 hospitals and surgical 
centers 

Due Dates: For providers, quarterly estimated tax payments on the 
15th of April, July, October, and the following January. For hospitals 
and surgical centers, monthly estimated tax payments on the 15th of 
the following month. Annual return - March 15. 

History of Major Changes 
1992 — Enacted, effective 1/1/93 for hospitals and 1/1/94 for 

providers at rate of 2%. 
1997 — Rate reduced from 2% to 1.5% for 1998 and 1999 and 

extended to 2000 and 2001 if estimated positive balance for 
the Health Care Access Fund. 

 — Medical supplies, appliances, and equipment exempted. 
 — Research deduction sunsetted after 1999. 
 — Research credit enacted, effective in 2000. 
1999 — Rate reduced to 1.5% for 2000 and 2001. 
 — Exempted K-12 schools, services to nursing homes, and 
  exams for insurance, litigation, and employment. 
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2000 — Exempted payments under Federal Employees Health 
Benefit Act. 

2001 — Rate reduced to 1.5% for 2002 and 2003. 
2003 — Exemptions eliminated for gross receipts paid under 

medical assistance, general assistance medical care, and 
MinnesotaCare. 

2005 — Exempted TRICARE program payments. 
2019 — Rate reduced to 1.8%. 

MinnesotaCare Tax on 
Wholesale Drug Distributors 

Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 295 

Tax Base: Gross revenues from the sale or distribution of 
prescription drugs that are delivered in Minnesota. 

Rate: 1.8% 

Credit: Tax paid to another state. 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 $144,864,000 
  F.Y. 2022 $167,500,000 

Disposition: Health Care Access Fund 

Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue 

Who Pays: Wholesale drug distributors or other persons who receive 
prescription drugs for resale or use in Minnesota. 

Number of Taxpayers: 190 distributors 

Due Dates: Quarterly estimated payments - the 15th of April, July, 
October, and the following January. Annual return - March 15. 

History of Major Changes 
1992 — Enacted, effective 1/1/94, at rate of 2%. 
1997 — Rate reduced from 2% to 1.5% for 1998 and 1999 and 

extended to 2000 and 2001 if estimated positive balance for 
the Health Care Access Fund. 

1999 — Rate reduced to 1.5% for 2000 and 2001. 
2001 — Rate reduced to 1.5% for 2002 and 2003. 
2019 — Rate reduced to 1.8% 
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Severance and Tonnage Taxes 
Mineral Taxation 

Other taxes on minerals, including the production tax, are found in 
the Local Tax Section. 

Occupation Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.01 

Tax Base: Similar to the corporate franchise tax but starting point is 
the mine value of iron ore, taconite concentrates, other ores, or direct 
reduced ore mined or produced in Minnesota. Deductions allowed 
only for expenses necessary to convert raw iron ore, taconite 
concentrates, or other ore to marketable quality. 

Rate: 2.45%  

Special Provisions: Generally, all income is apportioned to 
Minnesota. Percentage depletion is allowed. 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 $7,445,000 
 F.Y. 2022 $56,200,000 

Disposition: 
 State General Fund  50%* 
 Elementary and secondary schools 40% 
 University of Minnesota 10% 
*Of this amount, an amount equal to 1.5¢ per taxable ton is dedicated 
for environmental or economic development loans or grants in 
Carlton and Koochiching counties, 2.5¢ per taxable ton is dedicated 
to the Mining Environmental and Regulatory Account, and an 
amount equal to 6¢ per taxable ton is dedicated to the Iron Range 
School Consolidation and Cooperatively Operated School Account. 

Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue 

Who Pays: Iron ore and taconite mining companies operating in this 
state. 

Number of Taxpayers: Six companies 

Payment Date: May 1 for the previous year. 

History of Major Changes 
1921 — 6% occupation tax imposed on iron ore. 
1937 — Rate increased to 10%; reduced to 8% for subsequent years. 
1941 — Labor credit enacted, reducing the rate. 
1947 — Rate increased to 11%; with credits rate reduced to 
  minimum 3.75%. 
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1955 — 15% surtax added. 
1959 — Additional 1% tax imposed. 
1964 — Taconite Amendment to the Minnesota Constitution 

adopted, which restricted the total amount of occupation, 
royalty, and excise taxes paid by taconite companies. It 
expired at the end of 1989. 

1971 — Occupation tax on taconite 15%, after credits 6.75%. 
Occupation tax on iron ore 15.5%, after credits 14%. 

1984 — Reduced rate to 15% for natural iron ores. 
1985 — Reduced rate on taconite and iron ore to 14% by 1987. 
1987 — On ores other than taconite and iron ore, tax changed to be 

same as the corporate franchise tax. Beginning in 1990, tax 
on taconite and iron ore changed in a similar manner. 

1989 — Tax based on the valuation of the ore. Allowed deductions 
specified. 

1991 — Credit allowed for alternative minimum tax paid in a prior 
year. 

1995 — Tax imposed on direct reduced ore. 
1999 — Sales factor in the apportionment formula increased from 

70% to 75%; property and payroll factors each reduced 
from 15% to 12.5% (1/1/01). 

2006 — Definition of the sales factor for apportionment changed so 
that all sales are deemed Minnesota sales, thereby making 
100% of net income assignable to Minnesota. Tax rate 
correspondingly reduced from 9.8% to 2.45%. 

 — Alternative minimum tax repealed. Carryover of unused 
alternative minimum tax credit allowed. 
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Net Proceeds Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.015 

Tax Base: Net proceeds from mining or extracting mineral and 
energy resources in Minnesota. 

Rate: 2% 

Exemptions: Sand, silica sand, gravel, building stone, crushed rock, 
limestone, granite, dimension granite, dimension stone, horticultural 
peat, clay, soil, iron ore, and taconite concentrates. 

Revenue 
Collections: No revenues have been collected to date. 

Disposition: (based on where resources are mined)  
 Outside the taconite assistance area – State General Fund 
 Within the taconite assistance area: 
  City/town where mined/extracted 5% 
  Taconite municipal aid account 10% 
  School district where mined/extracted 10% 
  Qualifying group of school districts 20% 
  County where mined/extracted 20% 
  Distributed as taconite homestead credit 20% 
  Iron Range Resources/Rehabilitation Agency 5% 
  Douglas J. Johnson Economic Protection Trust Fund 3% 
  Taconite Environmental Protection Fund 7% 

Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue 

Who Pays: Companies that mine or extract base metal, precious 
metals, or energy minerals. 

Number of Taxpayers: None 

Payment Date: June 15 for the previous calendar year. 

History of Major Changes 
1987 — Enacted. 
1990 — Clay exempted from the tax. 
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Property Taxes and 
Taxes in Lieu of Property Taxes 

State General Property Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Section 275.025 

Tax Base: Net tax capacity of commercial-industrial, public utility, 
railroad, mineral, and seasonal recreational property. Net tax capacity 
is the estimated market value multiplied by the net class rate (page 
56). For commercial-industrial, public utility, and railroads, the first 
$150,000 of market value is excluded from the state general property 
tax base. 

Rate: Tax rate is determined annually to equal the mandated levy. 
The levy for commercial-industrial property is $716,990,000. The 
levy for seasonal residential recreational property is $41,690,000. For 
taxes payable in 2023, the rate is 33.003% for commercial-industrial 
property and 12.321% for seasonal residential recreational property. 

Exemption: Electric generating public utility machinery. 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 $803,134,000 
 F.Y. 2022 $774,121,000 

Disposition: State General Fund 

Administration 
Agencies: Minnesota Department of Revenue determines tax rates. 
Counties collect and remit tax to the state. 

Who Pays: Owners of commercial-industrial, public utility, railroad, 
mineral, and seasonal recreational property. 

Number of Taxpayers: 296,000 parcels 

Due Dates: 50% on May 15th and 50% on October 15th. 

History of Major Changes 
2001 — Enacted, effective with taxes payable in 2002. 
2003 — Exemption enacted for improvements to commercial, 

industrial, and utility property of qualified businesses in a 
Job Opportunity Building Zone or the Biotechnology and 
Health Sciences Industry Zone. 

2005 — Total tax divided between commercial-industrial property 
(95%) and seasonal residential recreational property (5%). 
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2017 — Exemption enacted for commercial, industrial, and utility 
property for market value under $100,000. 

 — Levy frozen for seasonal recreational property. 
 — Levy reduced and frozen for commercial-industrial 

property. 
2019 — Levy reduced for both commercial-industrial property and 

seasonal recreational property. 
2021 — Exemption increased to $150,000 for commercial, 

industrial, and utility property. 
— Levy reduced for commercial-industrial property. 
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Motor Vehicle Registration Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 168 

Tax Base: Motor vehicles using the public streets and highways. 

For passenger cars, pickup trucks, and vans, the tax base is base 
value, which is the manufacturer’s suggested retail price, including 
destination charges but excluding separately-stated options. The 
percentage of base value depends upon the age of the vehicle: 100% 
in the 1st year, declining by ten percentage points each year until it 
reaches 10% in the 10th year. 

For trucks, tractors, trailers, and buses, the tax base is weight by type 
of vehicle. 

Rates: 
Passenger cars, pickup trucks, and vans: $10 plus 1.285% of base 
value. Flat tax for vehicles over ten years old and minimum tax for all 
vehicles is $35. Additional $75 surcharge on all-electric vehicles. 

Trucks, tractors, trailers, and buses: based on the type, weight, and 
age of the vehicle and subject to a minimum tax. 

Major Exemptions: Vehicles owned by governmental units; school 
buses; fire apparatus and ambulances. 

Revenue 
Collections F.Y. 2021 $853,657,000 
 F.Y. 2022 $823,287,000 

Disposition: Highway User Tax Distribution Fund 

Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Public Safety 

Who Pays: Person who registers a motor vehicle in the state. 

Number of Taxpayers: Owners of 5,500,000 passenger cars, pickup 
trucks, and vans; 1,000,000 trucks, tractors, trailers, and buses 

Due Dates: When first registered to use the public roads and annually 
thereafter upon renewal. 
History of Major Changes 
1911 — Enacted at $1.50 per vehicle.  
1921 — Rates based on value and weight of vehicle. 
1941 — Passenger cars taxed at 2.2% of value.  
1949 — Vehicles reclassified and rate schedules revised.  
1955 — Rates increased by 5%. 
1965 — Rate schedule modified. 
1971 — Tax set on passenger vehicles at $10 plus 1.25% of base 

value. 
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1973 — Tax rates changed for trucks. 
1976 — Minimum tax on trucks, tractors, and combinations 

increased. 
1989 — Depreciation schedule modified for passenger cars, pickup 

trucks, and vans. 
2000 — Tax on passenger cars, pickup trucks, and vans limited to 

$189 for the 1st renewal period and $99 for subsequent 
renewal periods. 

2008 — For passenger cars, pickup trucks and vans, the percentage 
used for depreciation modified and the maximum taxes of 
$189 and $99 eliminated. Safe harbor rules enacted for 
currently-owned vehicles. 

2017 — For all-electric vehicles, additional $75 surcharge. 
2020 — Tax on passenger vehicles increased to $10 plus 1.285% of 

base value. 
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Air Flight Property Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 270.071 - 270.079 

Tax Base: Flight property of airline companies engaging in air 
commerce. 

Rate: Tax rate is determined annually to yield the property tax 
portion of the State Airports Fund. Rate for taxes payable in 2022 is 
approximately 1.09% 

Exemption: Commuter airlines electing to be taxed under the aircraft 
registration tax. 

Computation: 
 Value of air flight property, as determined by the 

Minnesota Department of Revenue 
times: Apportionment factor - average of the three factors of 

tonnage of passengers and freight, equated plane hours, and 
revenue ton miles 

equals: Minnesota value 
times: tax capacity rate of 40% 
equals: tax capacity 
times: tax rate of about 0.92% for taxes paid in 2020 
equals: air flight property tax 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 $7,008,000 
 F.Y. 2022 $7,004,000 

Disposition: State Airports Fund 

Administration 
Agencies: Minnesota Department of Revenue 

Who Pays: All airline companies engaging in air commerce in 
Minnesota. 

Number of Taxpayers: 28 companies 

Due Date: April 1 for the previous year. 

History of Major Changes 
1945 — Enacted, assessed at 40% of value. 
1953 — Changed to 33 1/3% valuation. 
1976 — Exempted aircraft weighing less than 30,000 lbs. 
1987 — Schedule of ratios replaced 33 1/3% ratio. 
 — Revenue yield specified by statute rather than the statewide 

average property tax mill rate. 
1992 — Revenue yield changed to property tax portion of the state 

airports fund. 
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Aircraft Registration Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 360.511 - 360.67 

Tax Base: Base price of noncommercial aircraft which regularly use 
the airspace over or the airports in Minnesota. 

Rate:  Base Price   Tax  
 Not over $500,000 $100 
 $500,001 - $1,000,000 $200 
 $1,000,001 - $2,500,000 $2,000 
 $2,500,001 - $5,000,000 $4,000 
 $5,000,001 - $7,500,000 $7,500 
 $7,500,001 - $10,000,000 $10,000 
 $10,000,001 - $12,500,000 $12,500 
 $12,500,001 - $15,000,000 $15,000 
 $15,000,001 - $17,500,000 $17,500 
 $17,500,001 - $20,000,000 $20,000 
 $20,000,001 - $22,500,000 $22,500 
 $22,500,001 - $25,000,000 $25,000 
 $25,000,001 - $27,500,000 $27,500 
 $27,500,001 - $30,000,000 $30,000 
 $30,000,001 - $40,000,000 $50,000 
 Over  $40,000,000 $75,000 

Exemptions: Civil air patrol and government-owned aircraft. 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 $3,866,000 
 F.Y. 2022 $3,382,000 

Disposition: State Airports Fund 

Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Transportation 

Who Pays: Any person who registers noncommercial aircraft in 
Minnesota. 

Number of Taxpayers: Owners of 4,243 aircraft 

Due Dates: When the aircraft is first registered and annually 
thereafter on July 1. 

History of Major Changes 
1945 — Enacted. 
1957 — Exempted civil air patrol. 
1987 — Minimum tax increased from $10 to $50. 
1999 — Tax on agricultural aircraft limited to $500. 
2013 — Structure of the tax changed from 1% of base price, 

reduced for depreciation after the first year and subject to a 
minimum tax, to a tax schedule by range of base price. 
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Rural Electric Cooperative Associations 
Minnesota Statutes, Section 273.41 

Tax Base: Number of members in a rural electric cooperative 
association. The tax is in lieu of all personal property taxes on 
distribution lines and their attachments and appurtenances. 

Rate: $10 for each 100 members or portion thereof. 

Revenue: 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 $54,000 
  F.Y. 2022  $55,000 

Disposition: State General Fund 

Administration: 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue 

Who Pays: Rural electric cooperative associations 

Number of Taxpayers: 47 cooperatives 

Due Date: March 1 for the previous calendar year. 

History of Major Changes 
1939 — Enacted. 
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Waste Taxes 

Solid Waste Management Taxes 
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 297H 

Tax Base: For mixed municipal solid waste, the tax base is the sales 
price of waste management services. For non-mixed-municipal 
waste, including industrial, infectious, and pathological waste and 
construction debris, the tax base is the volume of waste or debris. 

Rates: 
Residential services: 9.75%. 
Commercial services and self-haulers: 17%. 
Non-mixed-municipal solid waste: 60¢ per noncompacted cubic yard 
of periodic waste collection capacity. Rates based on weight may 
apply to construction debris and infectious and pathological waste. 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 $93,995,000 
 F.Y. 2022 $102,531,000 

Disposition:  
 Environmental Fund  70% of revenues or $33.76 million,  
 whichever is greater 
 General Fund Remainder 

Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue 

Who Pays: Purchasers of waste collection services. Providers of 
waste collection services collect and remit the tax. 

Number of Taxpayers: 958 filers 

Due Dates: Same as the state sales tax. 

History of Major Changes 
1989 — Sales tax imposed on solid waste collection and disposal 

services. 
1993 — Enacted tax on mixed municipal solid waste at $2 per year 

for residential customers and 12¢ per noncompacted cubic 
yard for nonresidential customers. 

1994 — Rate for nonresidential customers increased from 12¢ to 
60¢ per noncompacted cubic yard. 

 — Extended to infectious, pathological, and industrial waste 
and construction debris. 

1997 — Solid waste generator assessments and the sales tax on 
mixed municipal solid waste repealed and replaced by the 
solid waste management tax. 

2001 — Use tax imposed. 
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Metropolitan Solid Waste Landfill Fee 
Minnesota Statutes, Section 473.843 

Tax Base: Volume of solid waste disposed at a solid waste disposal 
facility in the seven-county metropolitan area. 

Rate: 
If the facility weighs the waste it accepts: $6.66 per ton. 
Otherwise: $2 per cubic yard. 

Exemption: Waste residue from recycling or energy and resource 
recovery facilities at which solid waste is processed to extract, 
reduce, convert to energy, or otherwise separate and prepare it for 
reuse if at least 85% (by weight) of the solid waste is reduced. 

Revenue 
Collections: F.Y. 2021 $4,215,000 
 F.Y. 2022 $4,186,000 

Disposition: 
 Environmental Fund 75% 
 Remediation Fund 25% 

Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue 

Who Pays: Operators of mixed municipal solid waste disposal 
facilities in Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and 
Washington counties. 

Number of Taxpayers: Two facilities 

Due Date: 20th day of the month for the previous month. 

History of Major Changes 
1984 — Enacted. 
1989 — Rate increased from 50¢ to $2 per cubic yard. 
1994 — Differential rate enacted for facility that weighs the waste it 

accepts. 
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Local Taxes 

Property Taxes and 
Taxes in Lieu of Property Taxes 

General Property Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Chapters 272-276 

Tax Base: Net tax capacity or referendum market value of real and 
personal property. 

Rates: Local tax rates vary with taxing jurisdiction. 

Major Exemptions: 
Real property: public property used for public purposes; educational 

facilities; religious and charitable institutions; Indian lands; 
cemeteries; attached machinery. 

Personal property: household goods; commercial and industrial 
personal property; farm machinery and livestock. 

Computation for tax based on net tax capacity: 
 Market value — determined by county assessor, except for 

state-assessed property 
minus: exclusions including: 
 — homestead market value 
 — disabled veterans’ homestead 
equals: taxable market value 
times: class rate(s) — determined by type of property, as listed in 

the table on next page 
equals: net tax capacity 
times: local tax rate — aggregate of county, city or town, school 

district, and any special taxing districts 
equals: gross tax 
minus: credits, in the following order: 
 — disaster credit 
 — powerline credit  
 — agricultural preserves credit 
 — enterprise zone credit  
 — disparity reduction credit 
 — conservation tax credit 
 — school building bond credit 
 — agricultural homestead credit 
 — taconite homestead credit  
 — supplemental homestead credit 
equals: net tax 
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Class Rates for Major Classes of Property Payable 2023 

Class and Type of Property Net Class Rate 
1a Residential homestead 
  First $500,000 market value (MV) 1.0% 
  Over $500,000 MV  1.25% 
1b Homestead of blind or disabled 
  First $50,000 MV  0.45% 
  Excess is Class 1a or 2a 
1c Homestead resorts 
  First $600,000 MV 0.5% 

  Next $1,700,000 MV 1.0% 
  Over $2,300,000 MV 1.25% b 
1d Seasonal farm worker housing - same as Class 1a 
2a Agricultural homestead 
  House, garage, and one acre - same as Class 1a 
  Remaining land and buildings  
  First $1,890,000 MV 0.5% a 
  Over $1,890,000 MV 1.0% a 
 Nonhomestead agricultural land  1.0% a 

2b Rural vacant land  1.0% a 

2c Managed forest land  0.65% a 
2d Private airport  1.0% a 

2e Unmined commercial aggregate deposit land 1.0% a 
3a Commercial and industrial, utility real property 
  First $150,000 MV  1.5% b 
  Over $150,000 MV  2.0% b 
 Public utility machinery  2.0% b 
4a Apartments, 4 or more units; private hospitals 1.25% 
4b Residential or farm nonhomestead, 1-3 units; 
 manufactured homes  1.25% 
4bb  Residential or farm nonhomestead, 1 unit condo  
 storage units - same as Class 1a 
4c  Commercial seasonal recreational residential –  
 same as Class 1ab 

 Nonprofit community service organization 1.5% b 

 Post-secondary student housing  1.0% a 

 Manufactured home parks  1.25% 
 Class 1 manufactured home parks  1.0% 
 Noncommercial seasonal recreational residential  
 – same as Class 1aa, b  
 Qualifying marinas – same as Class 1a 
 Qualifying golf courses  1.25% 
 Congressionally chartered veterans organizations 1.0% b 
4d Low-income rental housing 
  First $100,000 MV per unit  0.75% 
  Over $100,000 MV per unit  0.25% 
5 Unmined iron ore and low-grade iron ore 2.0% b 
 All other property  2.0% 

a Exempt from school district referendum levies. 
b Subject to state general property tax, except for electric generating public utility machinery 

and certain nonprofit community service organizations. 
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Targeting: A refund may be claimed by homeowners whose net 
property tax increases by more than 12% from the previous year, with 
a maximum refund of $1,000. The targeting refund is paid by the 
state to the claimant. 

Property Tax Refund: A “circuit breaker” type of tax relief, 
determined by the relationship of property tax (or 17% of rent) to 
total household income. Separate formulas apply to homeowners 
and renters. Maximum refund for 2022 is $3,140 for homeowners and 
$2,440 for renters. Total household income from all sources cannot 
exceed $128,280 for homeowners and $69,520 for renters. 
Maximums and formula thresholds indexed for inflation. The refund 
is paid by the state to the claimant. 

Revenue 
Collections*:  Year Payable 
 2021 $11,227,554,000 
 2022 $11,648,152,000 
*Before property tax refund and targeting. 

Disposition: Revenue is distributed by county auditors and treasurers 
to the county, municipalities, school districts, and other taxing 
authorities according to the amount each levies. 

Administration 
Agencies: County assessor, county auditor, county treasurer. 
Minnesota Department of Revenue: equalization of values and 
valuation of state-assessed properties. 

Who Pays: Owners of property not specifically exempt. 

Due Dates: First half of real estate tax is due May 15th. Second half 
of real estate tax is due October l5th (November l5th for owners of 
agricultural property). 

History of Major Changes 
1860 — State Board of Equalization created to reduce inequities of 

assessment. 
1913 — Classification system enacted, with four classes of 

property. 
1933 — Property classes increased from four to seven. 
1934 — Constitutional amendment authorized the limited 

exemption of household goods and farm machinery. 
1937 — First $4,000 of homesteads exempted for state tax. 
 — Additional classes of property defined. 
1945 — Air flight property tax enacted. 
1961 — Indian lands exempted from taxation. 
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1967 — Homestead credit enacted at 35% of gross tax with a 
maximum credit of $250. 

 — Senior citizen property tax credit enacted. 
 — State property tax levy eliminated. 
 — Livestock and agricultural machinery exempted. 
 — Manufacturers given option to exempt either tools and 

machinery or inventories. 
 — Adoption of county assessor system. 
 — Minnesota Agricultural Property Tax Law enacted. 
 — Farm homestead increased from 40 to 80 acres. 
1969 — Taconite homestead credit enacted. 
 — Minnesota Open Space Property Tax law enacted. 
1971 — Overall levy limitation laws enacted for school districts, 

counties, and municipalities. 
 — Business inventories and tools and machinery exempted. 
 — Mobile homes taxed as personal property. 
 — Fiscal disparities enacted for seven-county metropolitan 
  area. 
1973 — Senior citizen property tax freeze credit enacted. 
 — Increase in market value for residential property limited to 

5% per year. 
 — Manufacturing and business machinery considered real 

property (attached machinery) exempted. 
1974 — Homestead credit increased to 45% of gross tax with a 

maximum credit of $325. 
 — Farm homestead increased from 80 to 120 acres. 
1975 — Limited market value for residential property replaced with 

general limits on valuation increases. 
 — Property tax refund enacted. 
 — Flexible homestead base established. 
 — Agricultural mill rate differential increased. 
1976 — Agricultural mill rate differential eliminated and replaced 

with a credit at a higher rate. 
1977 — Farm homestead increased from 120 to 160 acres. 
 — Classification ratios for homesteads reduced. 
 — Relief under property tax refund increased; senior citizen 

property tax freeze credit repealed. 
1979 — Eliminated limited market value. Enacted two-stage shift to 

estimated market value. 
 — Homestead credit increased to 50% of gross tax with a 

maximum credit of $550. 
 — Classification ratios for homestead and certain other 

property reduced. 
 — Farm homestead increased from 160 to 240 acres. 
 — Agricultural mill rate credit increased. 
 — Enacted powerline credit (1982). 
 — Wetlands exemption and credit enacted. 
 — Gross earning tax on railroads replaced with the general 

property tax. 
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1980 — Classification ratios lowered for homestead and certain 
other property. 

 — Homestead credit increased to 58% of gross tax with a 
maximum credit of $650. 

 — Native prairie exemption and credit enacted. 
 — Targeting refund for homesteads enacted for taxes payable 
  in 1981. 
1981 — Classification ratios for commercial-industrial property and 

certain apartment buildings reduced. 
 — Agricultural mill rate credit made more progressive. 
1982 — Enterprise zone classification of property created. 
 — Reduced assessments for property damaged by a natural 

disaster enacted, with state payments to offset local revenue 
loss. 

1983 — Homestead credit percentage reduced to 54%. 
 — Classification ratios for homestead property, certain 

apartments, and commercial-industrial changed. 
 — State paid credit for enterprise zone business enacted. 
 — Enacted a new property tax refund formula. 
 — Removed 240-acre limit for farm homesteads. 
 — Targeting refund enacted for taxes payable in 
  1984 and 1985 
1984 — Classification ratio for commercial/industrial property 

reduced. 
 — Agricultural credit increased. 
 — Targeting refund modified for taxes payable in 
  1984 and 1985. 
1985 — Maximum homestead credit increased to $700. 
 — Agricultural credit increased, maximum repealed. 
1987 — Small business property tax transition credit enacted for 

1988 only. 
 — Homestead classification ratios reduced. 
 Beginning with taxes payable in 1989: 
 — Replaced the homestead credit on nonagricultural property 

and the agricultural credit with exemptions. Local units of 
government reimbursed through replacement aid. 

 — Restructured the classification system, reducing the number 
of classes and increasing the ratios. 

 — Repealed the native prairie and wetlands credits. 
 — Exempted electric power distribution lines used to supply 

electricity at retail to farmers. 
1988 — Classification ratios and mill rates replaced by tax capacity 

rates applied to market value. 
 — “Truth in Taxation” system enacted (pay 1990). 
 — Homestead credit reinstated for 1989 only and maximum 

increased from $700 to $725. 
 — Agricultural credit reinstated for 1989 only but no longer 

applicable to seasonal recreational property. 
 — Targeting refund enacted for taxes payable in 1989. 
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1989 — The homestead and agricultural credits replaced by new 
state aids, including school equalization aid and homestead 
and agricultural credit aid (HACA). 

 — New class rates for 1990 and subsequent years. 
 — Levy limits repealed (pay 1993). 
 — Targeting refund enacted for taxes payable in 
  1990 through 1994. 
 — Noncommercial seasonal recreational property eligible for 

targeting refund for 1990 only. 
1990 — Class rates changed for several types of property. 
1991 — Class rates and brackets changed for homestead property. 

Class rates changed for commercial/industrial, residential 
rental, and seasonal residential property. 

 — Separate vacant land class eliminated (pay 1993). 
1992 — Homestead treatment extended to dwelling occupied by 

relative of the owner. 
 — Calculation of targeting refund modified and limited to a 

maximum of $1,500. 
1993 — Limited market value established for agricultural, 

residential, and noncommercial seasonal recreational 
residential property for 1993-1998. 

 — Exclusion for up to ten years enacted for certain 
improvements to older homes made prior to January 2, 
2003. After ten years, 20% of the excluded value added in 
each of the next five years. 

 — Class rates reduced for certain agricultural property. 
 — Non-school referendum levies applied to taxable market 

value. 
 — Targeting refund enacted for taxes payable in 
  1995 and 1996. 
1994 — Restrictions added to exclusion of improvements for older 

homes, including market value limit of $150,000 ($300,000 
in some areas). 

 — For the property tax refund, increased the income 
thresholds and maximum refund amounts; indexed both. 
Increased percent paid by the state. 

 — For targeting, reduced the percent paid by the state from 
75% to 60% and the maximum refund from $1,500 to 
$1,000. 

1995 — Class rates reduced for: cabins (pay 1997); apartments in 
qualifying smaller cities outside the metropolitan area; and 
new commercial/ industrial property within transit zones. 

 — New operating school district referendum levies based 
  on referendum market value. 
 — Targeting refund made permanent. 
1996 — Class rates reduced for cabins. 
 — Electric power generation facilities eligible for partial 

market value exclusion based on efficiency. 
 — Income qualifications changed for Class 1b. 
 — Fiscal disparities enacted for taconite tax relief area. 
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1997 — Class rates reduced for most types of property, including 
homesteads (2nd tier), commercial/industrial, apartments, 
cabins (1st tier), and Class 5. 

 — Brackets changed for homesteads and 
commercial/industrial property. 

 — New classifications created for seasonal farm worker 
housing and residential nonhomestead single unit property. 

 — Education homestead credit enacted equal to 32% of the 
property’s general education levy, with a maximum credit 
of $225 per homestead. 

 — Levy limitations enacted for counties and for cities over 
2,500 population for pay 1998 and 1999 only. 

 — Rebate enacted as a refundable income tax credit for 
homeowners and renters equal to 20% of property taxes 
paid in 1997. 

 — Property tax deferral program enacted for qualifying senior 
citizens (pay 1999). 

 — Limited market value program extended to 2001. 
 — Income tax credit for increases in cabin property taxes for 

pay 1998 and 1999 only. 
 — For property tax refund and rebate, rent constituting 

property taxes changed to equal 18% of gross rent. 
 — New referendum levies applied to referendum market 

value. 
1998 — Class rates reduced for most types of property. 
 — Education homestead credit percentage increased; 

maximum credit increased to $320 for 1999 and $335 
thereafter. 

 — Rebate enacted as a refundable income tax credit for 
homeowners and renters equal to 20% of property taxes 
paid in 1998, with a maximum rebate of $1,500. 

 — For property tax refund and rebate, rent constituting 
property taxes increased from 18% to 19% of gross rent. 

1999 — Class rates reduced for most types of property, including 
homesteads (2nd tier), commercial, industrial, apartments, 
and cabins. 

 — Brackets changed for homesteads, one-unit nonhomestead 
property, and cabins. 

 — Bracket for agricultural homestead land over $115,000 
market value changed from 320 acres to $600,000 market 
value. 

 — Education homestead credit percentage increased; 
maximum credit increased to $390. 

 — Education agricultural credit enacted equal to 54% of the 
general education levy for agricultural homestead land and 
50% for agricultural nonhomestead land and timberland. 

 — Limited market value calculation modified to further 
restrict annual market value increases. 
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2000 — Education agricultural credit increased from 54% to 70% of 
the general education levy on the first $600,000 market 
value for agricultural homestead land and buildings and 
from 50% to 63% on other agricultural land. 

2001 — Class rates reduced for most types of property, including 
2nd tier of homesteads, commercial, industrial, apartments, 
and cabins. 

 — Brackets changed for homesteads and cabins. 
 — State-determined general education levy eliminated. 
 — Agricultural and seasonal recreational property exempted 

from school district referendum levies. 
 — A new state general property tax levied on commercial, 

industrial, and seasonal recreational property. 
 — Education homestead credits eliminated, and market value 

credits established for residential and agricultural property. 
 — Limited market value phased out over six years. 
 — Tree growth tax repealed; land subject to property tax. 

Owners of qualifying sustainable forest land eligible for an 
annual per-acre payment from the state (pay 2003). 

 — Property tax refund increased for homeowners. 
2002 — Market value credit increased for agricultural homestead 

land. 
 — Wind energy conversion systems exempted from the 

property tax (except for the land) and subject to new 
production tax. 

 — Owner-occupied bed and breakfast facilities reclassified as 
class 4c with a class rate of 1.25%. 

2003 — Exemption enacted for improvements to commercial, 
industrial, and utility property of qualified businesses in a 
Job Opportunity Building Zone or the Biotechnology and 
Health Sciences Industry Zone. 

2005 — Delayed the phaseout of limited market value by two years. 
 — Changed class rates for class 1c resorts. 
 — Established class 4d for low-income rental housing. 
2006 — For agricultural homestead land, the $600,000 class rate 

bracket adjusted annually by the increase in average taxable 
market value of agricultural property per acre. 

2008 — For Class 1b homestead of the blind or disabled, maximum 
market value increased from $32,000 to $50,000. 

 — For Class 1c homestead resorts, 1st tier bracket increased 
and class rate reduced. 

 — For Class 2a agricultural land, class rate for 1st tier 
reduced. 

 — Class 2b reorganized into separate classes. 
 — Market value exclusion enacted for disabled veterans. 
 — Levy limits enacted for counties and for cities over 2,500 

population for taxes payable in 2009-2011. 
— Eligibility for Green Acres program modified. 

 — Credit enacted for agricultural land in a specified bovine 
tuberculosis zone. 
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 — For the property tax refund for homeowners, maximum 
amounts increased and income threshold lowered for 
incomes in highest end of the eligible range. 

2009 — Rural Preserve Program enacted (pay 2012). 
2010 — Exemption enacted for improvement to property of a 

qualified business in a Create Automotive Recovery Zone. 
2011 — Homestead market value credit repealed; homestead market 

value exclusion enacted. 
2012 — Targeting refund increased for taxes payable in 2012 only. 
2013 — Property tax refund increased for homeowners in the 

middle to high end of the income range. 
 — Property tax refund increased for renters in the high end of 

the income range; maximum refunds increased. 
 — Class rate reduced for class 4d, low-income rental housing 

for market value of each unit over $100,000 (pay 2015). 
2014 — Agricultural homestead market value credit increased (pay 

2015); supplemental credit enacted for taxes payable in 
2014. 

 — For the property tax refund, one-time increase of 3% for 
homeowners (pay 2014) and 6% for renters (rent paid in 
2013). 

 — Border city disparity reduction credit increased. 
 — Solar energy generating systems exempted from the 

property tax (except for the land) and subject to a new 
production tax. 

2017 — School building bond credit enacted. 
 — Class rate reduced for congressionally-chartered veterans 

organizations. 
 — Exemption for agricultural containment facilities repealed. 
2019 — School building bond credit increased. 
2021 — Tier limit reduced for class 4d low-income rental housing 

and frozen for assessment years 2022-2023. 
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Wind Energy Production Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 272.028 and 272.029 

Tax Base: Kilowatt hours of electricity produced by a wind energy 
conversion system. A wind energy conversion system is any device, 
such as a wind charger, windmill, or wind turbine, which converts 
wind energy to a form of usable energy. A substation that is used and 
owned by one or more wind energy facilities is included. The system 
is exempt from the property tax, but the property tax applies to the 
land on which the system is located. 

Rates: Tax Per 
  Kilowatt Hour 
Large-scale system – capacity of more 
 than 12 megawatts .12¢ 
Medium-scale system – capacity of more 
 than 2 but not over 12 megawatts .036¢ 
Small-scale system – capacity of more 
 than 0.25 but not over 2 megawatts .012¢ 

Exemptions: Systems with capacity of 0.25 megawatts or less; 
small-scale systems that are owned by a political subdivision. 

Special Provision: A developer of a new or existing wind energy 
conversion system may negotiate with the county to establish a 
payment in lieu of the production tax. The in-lieu payment is to 
provide fees or compensation to the affected jurisdictions to maintain 
public infrastructure and services. 

Revenue 
Collections: Year Payable 
 2021 $14,186,000 
 2022 $14,091,000 

Disposition: 
 County 80% 
 City or Township 20% 

Administration 
Agencies: Minnesota Department of Revenue determines the amount 
of tax for each system. The county collects and distributes the tax. 

Who Pays: Owners of wind energy conversion systems. 

Number of Taxpayers: 150 

Due Date: May 15 for production in the previous year. 
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History of Major Changes 
2002 — Tax enacted; wind energy conversion systems, except for 

the land, exempted from the property tax. 
2003 — Exemption enacted for systems located in a Job 

Opportunity Building Zone. 
2006 — Tax base expanded to include substations. 

Solar Energy Production Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Section 272.0295 

Tax Base: Megawatt hours of electricity produced from a solar 
energy generating system used as an electric power source. A solar 
energy generating system is a set of devices whose primary purpose 
is to produce electricity by means of any combination of collecting, 
transferring, or converting solar-generated energy. The personal 
property of a system is exempt from the property tax, but the property 
tax applies to the land on which the system is located. 

Rate: $1.20 per megawatt-hour. 

Exemption: A solar energy generating system with a capacity of one 
megawatt alternating current or less. 

Revenue 
Collections: Year Payable 
 2021 $1,846,000 
 2022 $1,976,000 
Disposition: 
 County in which the system is located 80% 
 City or township in which the system is located 20% 

Administration 
Agencies: Minnesota Department of Revenue determines the amount 
of tax due for each system. The county collects and distributes the 
tax. 

Who Pays: Owners of solar energy generating systems. 

Number of Taxpayers: 130 

Due Date: May 15 for production in the previous year. 

History of Major Changes 
2014 — Tax enacted, beginning with taxes payable in 2015; solar 

energy generating systems, except for the land, exempted 
from the property tax. 
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Auxiliary Forest Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 88.50 - 88.52 

Tax Base: Any 35 acres or more of land that is suitable for 
forestation or any wood lot containing 5 to 40 acres. 

Rates: Land tax: annual tax of 10¢ per acre. Yield tax: 40% to 10% 
of value of timber, the rate determined by the year of the harvest in 
relation to the contract period. 

Special Provisions: This tax is in lieu of the property tax. The land 
was made an auxiliary forest upon county board approval. No new 
auxiliary forest contracts are allowed, or existing contracts extended, 
after June 30, 1974. 

Revenue 
As of 2021, there is no qualifying acreage. 

Disposition: Same as the property tax 

Administration 
Agencies: County auditor, county board. 

Who Pays: Owners of auxiliary forests approved before July 1, 1974. 

Due Dates: Land tax: annually by May 31. Yield tax: at time of 
harvest. 

History of Major Changes 
1926 — Enabling constitutional amendment adopted. 
1927 — Tax imposed on any tract of forestable land less than 160 

acres; woodlots between 20 and 40 acres. Land tax: 8¢ per 
$l assessed value. Yield tax: 10% of marketable timber 
value. 

1929 — Land tax changed to 5¢ per acre. 
1945 — Size of land plot changed to any 35 acres or more and wood 

lots between 5 and 40 acres. Rate changed to 6¢ per acre. 
1947 — Yield tax graduated between 40% and 10%. 
1957 — Land tax rate changed to 10¢ per acre. 
1974 — Prohibited contracts from being issued or extended, 

effective after June 30, 1974. 
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Contamination Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 270.91 - 270.98 

Tax Base: Contamination value of taxable real property, which is the 
amount of any market value reduction granted for the property tax 
due to the presence of contaminants. 

  Percent of 
Rates: Class Rate* 
General rate 100.0% 
Owner has in place an approved abatement  
 or management plan, as specified 50.0% 
Neither the owner nor the operator is the 
 party responsible for the contaminants 25.0% 
Neither the owner nor the operator is the  
 responsible party and an approved abatement 
 or management plan is in place. 12.5% 
*Class rate for that property under the property tax (page 56). 

Major Exemptions: Value of contaminants for which the 
requirements of a response action plan have been satisfied; value of 
asbestos under certain conditions. 

Revenue 
Collections: State Year Payable Local 
 F.Y. 2020 $259,000 2020 $101,000 
 F.Y. 2021 $288,000 2021 $104,000 

Disposition: 
 Tax on property that has a response plan: 
  Contaminated Site and Development Account, 
  State Special Revenue Fund 95% 
  County 5% 
 Tax on property without a response plan: distributed to local 

jurisdictions in the same manner as the property tax. 

Administration 
Agencies: County assessor, auditor, and treasurer 

Who Pays: Owners of contaminated property. 

Due Dates: Same as the general property tax. 

History of Major Changes 
1993 — Enacted, beginning with taxes payable in 1995. 
1994 — Exempted asbestos-contaminated property that is managed 

under a qualifying program. 
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Mining Production Taxes 
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.24 

Tax Base: Tonnage of merchantable iron ore concentrate produced 
from taconite and iron sulfides. The tax is applied to the average of 
the tons produced in the current year and the two previous years. 

Rates: 
Taconite and Iron Sulfides: Rate is indexed annually. The rate was 
$2.892 per taxable ton for production year 2021 and $3.063 for 
production year 2022. 

Direct Reduced Iron: an additional tax is imposed equal to 3¢ per 
gross ton of concentrate for each 1% that the iron content exceeds 
72% when dried at 212o F. For the first two years of a plant’s 
production, no tax is imposed. The tax is 25% of the regular tax in the 
third year, 50% in the fourth year, and 75% in the fifth year. 

Revenue 
Collections: Year Payable 
 2021 $109,035,000 
 2022 $109,953,000 

Disposition: The tax is distributed based on requirements and 
formulas specified in state statute. The distribution made in 2020 for 
the 2019 production year is summarized below. The amount 
distributed includes $8.4 million from the State General Fund. 
(Source: Minnesota Mining Tax Guide, Minnesota Department of 
Revenue, Minerals Tax Office) 
 Cities and towns 11.2% 
 School districts 19.6% 
 Counties 11.0% 
 Property tax relief 10.9% 
 Iron Range Resources/Rehabilitation Board 38.6% 
 Other 8.7% 

Administration 
Agencies: Minnesota Department of Revenue: determination of 
liability and distribution. Eligible counties: collection and distribution 
to local units. Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Agency: 
collection of its share. 

Who Pays: Mining companies pay the production tax in lieu of the 
property tax on land and structures used to mine or produce taconite. 

Number of Taxpayers: Six companies 

Due Dates: 50% on February 24 and 50% on August 24 of the 
following year. 
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History of Major Changes 
1881 — Tonnage tax of 1¢ per ton imposed on iron ore. 
1897 — Tonnage tax repealed, replaced by the property tax. 
1941 — Taconite production tax of 5¢ per ton imposed. 
1959 — Production tax on semi-taconite enacted. 
1967 — Copper-nickel production tax enacted. 
1969 — Tax on taconite increased to 11.5¢ per ton. 
1971 — Additional tax of 4¢ to 14¢ per ton imposed. 
1975 — Taconite production tax increased by 39¢ per ton. 
1977 — Taconite production tax increased to $1.25 per ton with tax 

indexed based on the price of steel. 
1984 — Index frozen for two years and converted to implicit price 

deflator for production year 1987. 
 — Water filtration plant credit enacted. 
1985 — Taconite production tax paid to the counties and the 

IRRRB rather than the state. 
1986 — Rate reduced from $2.048 to $1.90 per ton. 
1987 — Rate set at $1.90 for 1987 and 1988, indexed thereafter. 
 — Production tax on copper-nickel repealed. 
1990 — Rate set at $1.975 for 1990, indexed starting in 1991. 
1992 — Rate set at $2.054 for 1992 and 1993, indexed thereafter. 
1994 — Rate kept at $2.054 for 1994. 
 — Lower rate enacted for direct reduced ore. 
1995 — Rate kept at $2.054 for 1995. 
1996 — Increase in rate due to indexing limited to 4¢ for 1996. 
1997 — Rates applicable to direct reduced iron changed. 
1998 — Rate kept at $2.141 for 1998. 
1999 — Rate kept at $2.141 for 1999. 
2001 — Rate reduced to $2.103 for 2001, 2002, and 2003. 
2005 — Rate kept at $2.137 for 2005. 
2008 — Tax imposed on iron-bearing material. 
2013 — Rate set at $2.56 per ton for 2013. 
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Severed Mineral Interests Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Section 273.165, Subd. 1 

Tax Base: Mineral interests in real estate owned separately from the 
surface interests in the real estate. The tax does not apply to mineral 
interests taxed under other laws relating to mineral taxation. 

Rates: Annual tax of 40¢ per acre times the fractional interest owned. 
Minimum tax of $3.20 on any mineral interest. 

Revenue 
Collections: Year Payable 
(state 2021 $542,000 
and local) 2022 $485,000 

Disposition: 
 Same as the local property tax 80% 
 Indian Business Loan Account, 
  Special Revenue Fund 20% 

Administration 
Agency: County 

Who Pays: Owners of mineral interests which are owned separately 
from the affected real estate. 

Due Dates: Annually at the same time as the property tax. 

History of Major Changes 
1973 — Enacted. 
1994 — Tax increased from 25¢ to 40¢ per acre; minimum tax 

increased from $2 to $3.20. 
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Unmined Taconite Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.26 

Tax Base: Taconite in a forty-acre tract of land from which the 
production of iron ore concentrate is less than 1,000 tons. 

Rates: Market value times the class rate of 2% times the local 
property tax rate. Maximum tax of $15 per acre. 

Revenue 
Collections: Year Payable 
 2021 $285,000 
 2022 $290,000 

Disposition: Same as the local property tax. 

Administration 
Agency: County 

Who Pays: Owners of taconite mineral interests. 

Due Dates: Annually at the same time as the property tax. 

History of Major Changes 
1941 — Enacted at $1 per acre maximum. 
1977 — Increased to $10 per acre maximum. 
1994 — Maximum tax increased from $10 to $15 per acre. 
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Aggregate Material Production Tax 
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.75 

Tax Base: Aggregate material removed from gravel pits or deposits 
in counties electing to impose the tax. Aggregate material means 
nonmetallic natural mineral aggregate and includes sand, silica sand, 
gravel, crushed rock, limestone, and granite. Currently the tax is 
imposed by 36 counties and 1 township. 

Rates: 21.5¢ per cubic yard or 15¢ per ton, except Rock County 
where the tax is 10¢ per cubic yard or 7¢ per ton. 

Revenue 
Collections: C.Y. 2020 $7,177,000 
  C.Y. 2021 $7,281,000 

Disposition: 
 County road and bridge fund 42.5% 
 City or town general fund 42.5% 
 Reserve fund for restoration of abandoned pits 15.0% 

Administration 
Agency: County or township 

Who Pays: Those removing aggregate material from pits or deposits 
or importing aggregate materials. 

Due Dates: Quarterly, on the 14th of April, July, October, and 
January. 

History of Major Changes 
1961-1979. Tax allowed in 7 counties by special laws. 
1980 — Gave all counties the option of imposing the tax. 
1982 — Uniform rate enacted, extended to all aggregate materials. 
1983 — Specified 26 counties subject to tax. 
1984 — Exempted certain counties. 
1996 — Authorized three counties to impose the tax. 
1997 — Authorized three counties to impose the tax. 
2001 — Authorized the tax to be imposed by any county. 
2008 — Increased tax from up to 10¢ per cubic yard or 7¢ per ton to 

21.5¢ per cubic yard or 15¢ per ton. 
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Local Sales Taxes 

Legislative authorization is required for a local government to impose 
a sales tax. This section contains the taxes currently imposed. 

 Year 
 Rate Imposed 
General Sales and Use Tax 
Cities 
 Albert Lea 0.5% 2006 
 Austin 0.5% 2007 
 Avon 0.5% 2019 
 Baxter 0.5% 2006 
 Bemidji 0.5% 2006 
 Blue Earth 0.5% 2019 
 Brainerd 0.5% 2007 
 Cambridge 0.5% 2019 
 Clearwater 0.5% 2008 
 Cloquet 0.5% 2013 
 Detroit Lakes 0.5% 2019 
 Duluth 1.5% 1970 
 Elk River  0.5% 2019 
 Excelsior  0.5% 2019 
 Fairmont  0.5% 2017 
 Fergus Falls  0.5% 2018 
 Garrison, Kathio, West Mille Lacs 
 Sanitary District  1.0% 2018 
 Glenwood  0.5% 2020 
 Hermantown   1.0% 2000 
 Hutchinson 0.5% 2012 
 International Falls 1.0% 2019 
 Lanesboro 0.5% 2012 
 Mankato  0.5% 1992 
 Marshall 0.5% 2013 
 Medford 0.5% 2013 
 Minneapolis   0.5% 1987 
 Moose Lake 0.5% 2017 
 New London 0.5% 2017 
 New Ulm  0.5% 2001 
 North Mankato 0.5% 2008 
 Perham 0.5% 2020 
 Proctor  1.0% 2000 
 Rochester   0.75% 1993 
 Rogers  0.25% 2019 
 Sauk Centre  0.5% 2020 
 Scanlon  0.5% 2020 
 Spicer  0.5% 2017 
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 Year 
 Rate Imposed 
General Sales and Use Tax 
Cities (continued) 
 St. Cloud Area 
 Sartell  0.5% 2003 
 Sauk Rapids  0.5% 2003 
 St. Augusta  0.5% 2003 
 St. Cloud  0.5% 2003 
 St. Joseph  0.5% 2006 
 Waite Park  0.5% 2006 
 St. Paul   0.5% 1993 
 St. Peter  0.5% 2022 
 Two Harbors  1.0% 1999 
 Virginia 1.0% 2020 
 Walker 1.5% 2018 
 West St. Paul 0.5% 2020 
 Willmar 0.5% 2019 
 Worthington 0.5% 2020 

Counties: Non-Transportation 
 Clay 0.5% 2017 
 Cook 1.0% 2010 
 Hennepin 0.15% 2007 
Counties: Transportation 
 Anoka 0.25% 2017 
 Becker 0.5% 2014 
 Beltrami 0.5% 2014 
 Benton 0.5% 2019 
 Blue Earth 0.5% 2016 
 Brown 0.5% 2016 
 Carlton 0.5% 2015 
 Carver 0.5% 2017 
 Cass 0.5% 2016 
 Chisago 0.5% 2016 
 Cook 0.5% 2017 
 Crow Wing 0.5% 2016 
 Dakota 0.25% 2017 
 Dodge 0.5% 2019 
 Douglas 0.5% 2014 
 Fillmore 0.5% 2015 
 Freeborn 0.5% 2016 
 Goodhue 0.5% 2019 
 Hennepin 0.5% 2017 
 Hubbard 0.5% 2015 
 Isanti 0.5% 2019 
 Kanabec 0.5% 2020 
 Kandiyohi 0.5% 2018 
 Koochiching 0.5% 2022 
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 Year 
 Rate Imposed 
General Sales and Use Tax 
Counties: Transportation (continued) 
 Lake 0.5% 2017 
 Le Sueur 0.5% 2021 
 McLeod 0.5% 2020 
 Mille Lacs 0.5% 2017 
 Morrison 0.5% 2018 
 Mower 0.5% 2018 
 Nicollet 0.5% 2018 
 Nobles 0.5% 2021 
 Norman 0.5% 2022 
 Olmsted 0.5% 2014 
 Otter Tail 0.5% 2016 
 Pine 0.5% 2017 
 Polk 0.25% 2018 
 Ramsey 0.5% 2017 
 Redwood 0.5% 2019 
 Rice 0.5% 2014 
 Roseau 0.5% 2022 
 Scott 0.5% 2015 
 Sherburne 0.5% 2019 
 St. Louis 0.5% 2015 
 Stearns 0.25% 2018 
 Steele 0.5% 2015 
 Todd 0.5% 2015 
 Wabasha 0.5% 2016 
 Wadena 0.5% 2014 
 Waseca 0.5% 2019 
 Washington 0.5% 2017 
 Winona 0.5% 2017 
 Wright 0.5% 2017 

Restaurant Food and Beverages 
 Biwabik (Giants Ridge) 1.0% 2011 
 Detroit Lakes 1.0% 2011 
 Duluth  2.25% 1977 
 Little Falls  0.5% 1996 
 Mankato 0.5% 2009 
 Marshall 1.5% 2013 
 Minneapolis (Downtown) 3.0% 1987 
 North Mankato  0.5% 2020 
 Proctor 1.0% 2015 
 St. Cloud  1.0% 1987 

Liquor & Beer (On Sale) 
 Bloomington  3.0% 1986 
 Minneapolis (Downtown) 3.0% 1987 
 St. Cloud  1.0% 1987 
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 Year 
 Rate Imposed 
Admissions/Amusements 
 Biwabik (Giants Ridge) 2.0% 2011 
 Bloomington  3.0% 1970 
 Mankato 0.5% 2009 
 Minneapolis  3.0% 1969 

Motor Vehicle Retail Sales - Tax Per Vehicle 
 Anoka County $20 2017 
 Baxter $20 2006 
 Beltrami County $20 2014 
 Brainerd $20 2007 
 Carlton County $20 2015 
 Carver County $20 2017 
 Clearwater $20 2008 
 Dakota County $20 2017 
 Goodhue County $20 2019 
 Hennepin County $20 2017 
 Hutchinson $20 2012 
 Kandiyohi County $20 2018 
 Mankato $20 1992 
 New Ulm $20 2001 
 Otter Tail County $20 2016 
 Ramsey County $20 2017 
 Rochester  $20 1983 
 Rogers $20 2019 
 Sauk Centre $20 2020 
 Scott County $20 2015 
 St. Louis County $20 2015 
 Washington County $20 2017 
 Willmar $20 2019 

Revenue 
Collections C.Y. 2020 C.Y. 2021 
 General Sales and Use Taxes $553,089,000 $630,210,000 
 Selective Sales Taxes $24,447,000 $31,157,000 
 Total $577,536,000 $661,367,000 
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Local Lodging Taxes 

Minnesota law prohibits local governments from imposing a sales tax 
without legislative authorization. A local government may impose a 
tax on lodging in one of two ways: 
• The local government receives authorization under a special law. 
• A city or town may impose a tax of up to 3% on lodging under 

general authorization provided in Minnesota Statutes, Section 
469.190. Of the total proceeds from the tax, 95% must be used to 
fund a local convention or tourism bureau. 

 Year 
 Rate Imposed 
Special Laws: 
 Biwabik (Giants Ridge) 2.0% 2011 
 Bloomington 7.0% 1970 
 Brooklyn Center 3.0% 2003 
 Cook County 1.0% 2008 
 Duluth 
  More than 30 Rooms 5.5% 1970 
  Other 3.0% 1970 
 Lake County 4.0% 2020 
 Lake of the Woods 3.0% 2021 
 Mankato 3.0% 2021 
 Minneapolis 
  More than 50 Rooms 5.125% 1986 
  Other 3.0% 1969 
 Proctor 3.0% 2006 
 Rochester 7.0% 1971 
 St. Cloud 5.0% 1979 
 St. Paul 
  More than 50 Rooms 7.0%  1986 
  Other 3.0% 1970 
 Two Harbors 1.0% 2020 
 Winona 1.0% 1991 

General Authorization: about 120 cities and towns impose this tax. 

Revenue 
Collections: C.Y. 2020 $37,200,000 
  C.Y. 2021 $51,800,000 
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County Wheelage Taxes 
Minnesota Statutes, Section 163.051 

Tax Base: Motor vehicles kept in a county that has adopted the tax. 
Currently, the tax is imposed by 54 counties. 

Rates: Maximum of $20 per registered motor vehicle per year. 

Revenue 
Collections: C.Y. 2020 $57,604,000 
  C.Y. 2021 $60,101,000 

Disposition: County Road and Bridge Fund 

Administration 
Agency: Minnesota Department of Public Safety collects the tax at 
the time of registration. The tax is then transferred to each county. 

Who Pays: Owners of motor vehicles in a county that imposes the 
tax. 

Due Dates: At the time the motor vehicle is first registered and 
annually thereafter upon renewal. 

History of Major Changes 
1971 — Authorization enacted for the seven metropolitan counties 

to levy the tax of $5 per registered vehicle per year. 
2013 — Authorization extended to all counties (1/1/14). 
 — Rate increased from $5 to $10 per year for 2014 through 

2017 and up to $20 thereafter. 
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Greater Minnesota 
Landfill Cleanup Fee 

Minnesota Statutes, Section 115A.923 

Tax Base: Volume of solid waste disposed at a solid waste disposal 
facility outside the seven-county metropolitan area. 

Rate: $2 per cubic yard. 

Revenue 
Disposition: County or sanitary district where facility is located or the 
city for a city-owned facility. 

Administration 
Agency: County, sanitary district, or city. 

Who Pays: Operators of mixed municipal solid waste disposal 
facilities outside the seven-county metropolitan area remit the fee. 

History of Major Changes 
1989 — Enacted. 
1990 — Fee remitted to local unit of government rather than 

Department of Revenue. 
1991 — Changed the status of the operator of a mixed municipal 

solid waste disposal facility from the entity that pays the 
fee to the one that charges the fee. 

Local Franchise Taxes 

Tax Base: Gross earnings of utilities, including electric and gas 
utility companies and cable television, operating in certain cities and 
counties. 

Rates: Set locally. 

Revenue 
Collections: C.Y. 2020 $173,761,000 
  C.Y. 2021 * 
*Amount unavailable at time of publication. 

Disposition: Local revenue funds 

Administration 
Agency: Local units of government. 

Who Pays: Utility and cable television companies. 

Due Dates: Established locally. 
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State and Local Tax Collections 

Minnesota State Tax Collections 
All Funds – Net After Refunds 

 F.Y. 2021 F.Y. 2022 Percent 
 Amount Amount of Total 
  (000’s) (000’s) 

Individual Income Tax $14,103,660 $14,786,072 43.98% 
Corporate Franchise Tax $2,387,370 $4,909,512 14.60 
Estate Tax $208,231 $215,989 0.64 

General Sales & Use Tax $6,525,150 $6,981,252 20.77 
Liquor Gross Receipts Tax $91,204 $107,040 0.32 
Motor Vehicle Rental Tax $15,735 $23,348 0.07 
Motor Vehicle Rental Fee $1,351 $1,564 * 
Motor Vehicle Sales Tax $981,738 $986,044 2.93 
Motor Fuels Excise Taxes $849,215 $899,688 2.68 
Alcoholic Beverage Taxes $102,125 $105,505 0.31 
Cigarette Taxes and Fees $500,597 $469,996 1.40 
Tobacco Products Tax and Fee $131,555 $144,534 0.43 
Mortgage Registry Tax $246,027 $203,491 0.61 
Deed Transfer Tax $164,082 $199,621 0.59 

Lawful Gambling Taxes $118,723 $180,304 0.54 
Pari-Mutuel Taxes $2,463 $2,072 0.01 

Insurance Premiums Taxes $565,872 $624,050 1.86 
Health Care Surcharges $318,323 $257,835 0.77 
MinnesotaCare Taxes $635,368 $747,826 2.22 

Mining Occupation Tax $7,445 $56,200 0.17 

State Property Tax $803,134 $774,121 2.30 
Contamination Tax $288 ** ** 
Motor Vehicle Registration Tax $853,657 $823,287 2.45 
Air Flight Property Tax $7,008 $7,004 0.02 
Aircraft Registration Tax $3,866 $3,382 0.01 
Rural Electric Co-ops $54 $55 * 

Solid Waste Management Taxes $93,995 $102,531 0.31 
Metropolitan Landfill Fee           $4,215           $4,186     0.01  
Total $29,722,451 $33,616,509 100.00% 

*Less than .005%. 
**Amount unavailable at time of publication. 
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Minnesota Local Tax Collections 
     Year Payable  
      2021       2022  
.    (000’s)    (000’s) 

General Property Tax $11,227,554 $11,648,152 

Wind Energy Production Tax $14,186 $14,091 
Solar Energy Production Tax $1,846 $1,976 
Auxiliary Forest Tax $1 $1 
Contamination Tax $104 * 
Mining Production Taxes $109,035 $109,953 
Severed Mineral Interests Tax $542 $485 
Unmined Taconite Tax $285 $290 

  Calendar 
   Year Collections  
      2020       2021  
  (000’s)     (000’s) 

Aggregate Material Production Tax $7,177 $7,281 

Local Sales Taxes $577,536 $661,367 

Local Lodging Taxes $37,200 $51,800 

County Wheelage Taxes $57,604 $60,101 

Local Franchise Taxes $173,761 * 
*Amount unavailable at time of publication. 
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