# DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE



# 2018 IG257, Firefighter Relief Surcharge Return

For the period of *(check one):* **Nov 1, 2017 – May 31, 2018** 

🗌 June 1, 2018 – Oct. 31, 2018

(Due	lune	30)	

	000	<u> </u>
(Due Nov 30)		

		Check if: Amended Return	n No Activity
Name of Insurance Company		FEIN	Minnesota Tax ID (required)
Mailing Address	Check if New Address	NAIC Number	State/Country of Incorporation
City	State Zip Code	Contact Person	
Email Address	Website Address	Daytime Phone	Fax Number

1	Gross fire, lightning and sprinkler- leakage premiums written (include	Duluth	Minneapolis	Rochester	St. Paul
	finance, service and other charges)	1			
2	Premiums returned to insured, including dividends	2			
3	Net fire, lightning and sprinkler-leakage premiums (subtract line 2 from line 1) .	3			
4	Surcharge by city (multiply line 3 by 2% [.02])	4			
5	Total surcharge due (or overpaid) (add am	ounts on line 4)		5 _	
6	Penalty (see instructions)			6 _	
7	Interest (see instructions)			7	
8	TOTAL AMOUNT DUE (or overpaid) (add li	nes 5 through 7)			
	If you owe additional tax (make separate	e payments for each pe	eriod):		
	Payment method: 🗌 Electronic paymen	t 🗌 Check (payable to I	Minnesota Revenue; write	MN tax ID number on che	ck; attach voucher)
	Enter amount paid (If amount paid is different from amount of				
	If you overpaid: Overpayments will be ref	unded.			

Print or Type

I declare that this return i	s correct and complete to the be	st of my knowledge a	and belief.	
Authorized Signature	Title	Date	Daytime Phone	I authorize the Minnesota Department of Revenue to discuss this tax return with the preparer.
Signature of Preparer	Print Name of Preparer	Date	Daytime Phone	

Mail to: Minnesota Revenue, P.O. Box 1780, St. Paul, MN 55145-1780

# DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

# 2018 Form IG257 Instructions

For insurance tax laws, see Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 2971 at www.leg.state.mn.us.

#### What's New

Effective for returns due after October 31, 2017, Form IG257, *Firefighter Relief Surcharge Return*, is now only due twice a year, rather than three times a year. There is no longer a March 31 period end date.

New Period	Due Date	
November 1 – May 31 7 months period	June 30	
	NT 1	

June 1 – October 31..... November 30 5 months period

(M.S. 2971.30, subd.7)

## **Filing Requirements**

All insurers that write or are authorized to write fire, lightning, or sprinkler leakage insurance subject to Minnesota premium tax, must file a return. This surcharge applies to insurance coverage written on risks located in Duluth, Minneapolis, Rochester and St. Paul. A return is required even if no applicable premiums were written in the four cities during the period indicated. *(M.S. 2971.10).* 

The surcharge applies to all additional fire, lightning and sprinkler-leakage premiums unless exempt from the surcharge as explained below. Also include finance, service and other charges.

The surcharge is equal to 2 percent of all fire, lightning and sprinkler-leakage gross premiums, less return premiums on all direct business from property located within Duluth, Minneapolis, Rochester or St. Paul city limits. The surcharge is not collected on premiums for auto or aircraft fire insurance, marine fire insurance, or other property in transit.

If a premium is returned to the insured, recalculate the surcharge on the same basis the original surcharge was calculated.

For policies carrying multiple peril premiums, use the following percentages to separately report the fire, lightning and sprinkler-leakage premiums:

	Percentage
Type of Policy	of Premium
Farmowners multiple-peril .	35%
Homeowners multiple-peril	35%
Commercial nonliability	55%
Commercial liability	35%
Businessowners	35%

#### **Due Dates**

Due Date
June 30
Nov. 30

Submit separate payments for each period.

The U.S. postmark date, or date recorded or marked by a designated delivery service, is considered the filing date (private postage meter marks are not valid). When the due date falls on a weekend or legal holiday, returns and payments electronically made or postmarked the next business day are considered timely. When a return or payment is late, the date it is received at the Department of Revenue is treated as the date filed or paid.

**Extension for Filing Return.** If good cause exists, you may request a filing extension.

### **Payments**

#### **Electronic Payments**

If your total insurance taxes and surcharges for the last 12-month period ending June 30 is \$10,000 or more, you are required to pay your tax electronically in all subsequent years.

You must also pay electronically if you're required to pay *any* Minnesota business tax electronically, such as withholding tax.

To pay electronically, go to the department's website at **www.revenue.state.mn.us** and log in. If you do not have Internet access, call 1-800-570-3329 to pay by phone. You'll need your ID number and bank routing and account numbers. When paying electronically, you must use an account not associated with any foreign banks.

If you use other electronic payment methods, such as ACH credit method or Fed Wire, instructions are available on our website or by calling Business Registration Office at 651-282-5225 or 1-800-657-3605.

#### **Check Payments**

If you're not required to pay electronically and are paying by check, visit our website at **www.revenue.state.mn.us** and click on "Make a Payment" and then "By check" to create a voucher. Print and mail the voucher with a check made payable to Minnesota Revenue. When you pay by check, your check authorizes us to make a one-time electronic fund transfer from your account, and you may not receive your cancelled check.

#### Instructions Check Boxes

At the top of the form, check if the return is:

- **an Amended Return:** Check only if you are amending a previously filed return for the same period. Include all original and corrected premiums on the amended return.
- a No Activity Return: Check only if you did not write any applicable premiums on risks located in Duluth, Minneapolis, Rochester or St. Paul.

#### Line 6 – Penalty

Late Payment. If you don't pay the entire surcharge due by the due date, a late payment penalty is due. The penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid surcharge for any part of the first 30 days the payment is late, and 5 percent for each additional 30-day period, up to a maximum of 15 percent.

Late Filing. Add a late filing penalty to the late payment penalty if your return is not filed by the due date. The penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid surcharge. When added to the late payment penalty, the maximum combined penalty is 20 percent.

**Payment Method.** If you are required to pay electronically and do not, an additional 5 percent penalty applies to payments not made electronically, even if a paper check is sent on time.

#### Line 7 – Interest

You must pay interest on the unpaid surcharge plus penalty from the due date until the total is paid. The interest rate for calendar year 2018 is 4 percent. To figure how much interest you owe, use the following formula with the appropriate interest rate:

Interest = (surcharge + penalty) x # of days late xinterest rate ÷ 365

## **Mailing Your Return**

Mail your return and all required attachments to: Minnesota Revenue, P.O. Box 1780, St. Paul, MN 55145-1780.

For express deliveries, use our street address: 600 N. Robert St., St. Paul, MN 55101.

# Business Information Changes

Be sure to let us know within 30 days if you change mailing addresses, phone numbers or any other business information. To do so, go to our website, login to e-Services and update your profile information. By notifying us, we will be able to let you know of any changes in Minnesota tax laws and filing requirements.

## **Information and Assistance**

Website:www.revenue.state.mn.usEmail:insurance.taxes@state.mn.usPhone:651-556-3024

This information is available in alternate formats.

#### For questions about licensing and regulations, contact the Minnesota Department of

Commerce:

Website:www.mn.gov/commerceEmail:licensing.commerce@state.mn.usPhone:651-539-1599 or 1-800-657-3978Fax:651-539-0107