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Income Tax and Withholding Division
Phone: 651-282-9999 or 1-800-657-3594
E-mail: withholding.tax@state.mn.us

This fact sheet is intended to help you become more familiar with Minnesota tax laws and your rights and respon-
sibilities under the laws. Nothing in this fact sheet supersedes, alters, or otherwise changes any provisions of the 
tax law, administrative rules, court decisions, or revenue notices. Alternative formats available upon request.

(Rev. 1/22)

This fact sheet explains Minnesota income tax withholding responsibilities as related to agricultural workers. 
If you employ agricultural workers who work in Minnesota or who are Minnesota residents, and you’re required to withhold federal income tax 
from the employees’ wages, you are also required to withhold Minnesota income tax. (See Internal Revenue Code, section 3401(a).)

Register for Withholding Tax
Before you start withholding Minnesota income tax from your employees’ wages, you must have a Minnesota Tax ID Number and be registered 
for withholding tax. The Minnesota Department of Revenue can assess you a $100 penalty if you fail to do so.

If you are a new employer, see Withholding Fact Sheet 10, New Employer Guide, for important information. If you do not have a Minnesota ID 
number, apply online at www.revenue.state.mn.us or call us at 651-282-5225 or 1-800-657-3605.

If you already have a Minnesota ID number for other taxes for the same business, you can use the same number for withholding tax. To add a 
withholding account, go to www.revenue.state.mn.us and log in to our e-Services system.

Withholding Tax From Wages
Minnesota Withholding Allowances  
You must have all new employees complete a Minnesota Form W-4MN when they begin employment to determine the number of withholding 
allowances they may claim. If a new employee does not give you a complete Form W-4MN before the first wage payment, withhold Minnesota 
tax as if they are single with zero withholding allowances.
If an employee completed a federal Form W-4 from 2019 or prior years, you may continue to use the allowances determined on that form. If the 
employee completes a new Form W-4, they must complete a new Form W-4MN for Minnesota withholding allowances. 
For more information, see Withholding Fact Sheet 9, Definition of Wages, Withholding Fact Sheet 10, New Employer Guide, and Form W-4MN.

How to Pay
For payment options, go to www.revenue.state.mn.us and select Make a Payment under For Businesses.
You’re required to pay electronically if any of these apply:
•	 You withheld more than $10,000 during the last 12-month period ending June 30
•	 You are required to electronically pay any other Minnesota business tax
•	 You use a payroll service company
If you’re required to pay business taxes electronically for one year, you must do so for all future years.

How to File
You must electronically file all Minnesota withholding tax returns, including past-due and amended returns, by going to www.revenue.state.
mn.us and logging in to e-Services.

Other Requirements
At the end of the calendar year, complete a federal Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, for each employee to whom you paid wages during the 
year. You must:
•	 Provide the W-2 forms to your employees by January 31 following the end of the calendar year
•	 Electronically submit the W-2 information to the Minnesota Department of Revenue by January 31 each year
For additional information, see the Minnesota Income Tax Withholding instructions. For specifications for submitting W-2 forms electronically, 
see Withholding Fact Sheet 2, Submitting Form W-2 Information.

Information and Assistance
Minnesota Department of Revenue
Additional forms, information, and fact sheets are available on our website.
Website:	 www.revenue.state.mn.us
Email: withholding.tax@state.mn.us 
Phone: 651-282-9999 or 1-800-657-3594
This information is available in alternate formats.

Internal Revenue Service
Website:  www.irs.gov	
Phone:  1-800-829-4933
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