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Determining if Youth Organization Fundraising Sales Are Taxable

This flowchart will help youth organizations determine if their fundraising sales are taxable. Examples of
youth groups include Boy or Girl Scouts, 4-H, summer camps, booster clubs, etc. For more information, see the

Nonprofit Organizations Industry Guide.

Start Here

Is the seller a nonprofit organization that
provides educational and social activities
for youth, primarily age 18 and younger?

Yes

Is the seller a school-related, parent
organization?

Examples include PTA, PTO, booster club,
prom committee, or similar groups.

Sales are subject to sales tax if the items sold are
taxable unless they meet the fundraising criteria
for general nonprofit groups.

See the general fundraising sales decision tree.

The organization needs to register for their own
Minnesota Tax ID Number, separate from the
school district.

However, continue through this flowchart to
determine the taxability of the fundraising sales.

No

[Is this a sale of candy?

No

Are the fundraising sales run through

a school district and both of these

statements are true?

* The sales are for elementary or
secondary student organizations to fund
extracurricular activities such as sports,
arts, etc.

* The school district reserves the revenue
raised for extracurricular activities and
the money raised for a specific activity is
spent on that activity.

Yes

Do fundraising receipts for the youth
organization total more than $20,000 for
the calendar year?

Treat each club, association, or
organization separately when applying the
$20,000 test.

\

)

No

Do not charge sales tax on these fundraising sales.

Yes

The fundraising sales are exempt from sales tax
without limitation to the amount of sales.

Charge sales tax on the fundraising sales if the
items sold are taxable.

Note: Consider selling exempt items such as candy
and gum; clothing; prepared foods served on
school premises; tickets or admissions to regular
season games, events, and activities.

Do not charge sales tax on the first $20,000
fundraising sales.

Charge sales tax on items sold in excess of the
$20,000 threshold if the items sold are taxable.

This document is intended to help you become more familiar with Minnesota tax laws and your rights and responsibilities under the laws. Nothing in this document
supersedes, alters, or otherwise changes any provisions of the tax law, administrative rules, court decisions, or revenue notices. Rev. January 2022



