

September 24, 2020

John Yost 101 Garden Lane Albert Lea, MN 56007

Notice of Fine and Suspension of License

At its September 22, 2020 meeting, the Minnesota State Board of Assessors voted to not renew your license prior to the 2021 licensing year and to impose a fine of \$250 for misfeasance unbecoming of a licensed Minnesota Assessor, as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 270.41, subdivision 3, clauses (3) and (5).

The Board of Assessors considered the recommendation of the Complaint Committee that was based on the findings of a 2016 Investigation and Report sent to the Board by the Department of Revenue. That report found that quintile reassessment work – including new construction – was deficient or incomplete for Adams, Leroy, Lodi, Lyle, and Nevada townships in Mower County for assessment years 2015 and 2016. The board reviewed the report and additional correspondence between the Complaint Committee and you, and determined that the above-described sanction was appropriate.

Failure to complete quintile reassessment work violates the standards of conduct and professionalism:

- Professionalism Conduct all duties and activities in a professional manner that will reflect favorably upon yourself, the jurisdiction, the assessment profession, and the property tax system.
- Honesty Be honest in all dealings with property owners and their representatives.
- Diligence Be diligent in the performance of your duties as prescribed by Minnesota Statutes and Minnesota Rules, Chapter 1950 and apply these laws and rules fairly and uniformly without advocacy for, or accommodation of, any special interests.
- Excellence Perform all duties to the best of your ability so as to ensure fair and equitable assessments of all property.

Sanction Information

After this action, you are not be eligible to renew your license through 6/30/2021, and you are prohibited from completing any duties that would require licensure during this time.

The administrator of the Board of Assessors, Bobbi Spencer, will be contacting you in the coming days regarding payment of the \$250 fine.

If you have any questions or desire to respond to this letter, please contact the board at assessors.board@state.mn.us.

Sincerely,

Gary Amundson, Vice Chair Minnesota State Board of Assessors