



# 2019 Schedule M1PSC, Credit for Parents of Stillborn Children

Complete this schedule if all of the following are true:

- You experienced the stillbirth of a child in 2019.
- You received a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth from Minnesota.
- The child would have been your dependent in 2019 if they had been born alive.

Your First Name and Initial		Last Name	Social Security Number	
Α	Did you experience the birth of a sti (If you answered no, <b>STOP HERE</b> . Yo	Ilborn child in 2019?udo not qualify for this credit.)	Yes No	
В	•	sulting in Stillbirth from the Minnesota Departr d the birth of a stillborn child in Minnesota in 2		
С	Would you have claimed the child as (If you answered no, <b>STOP HERE</b> . Yo	your dependent in 2019 had the child been boud on ot qualify for this credit.)	rn alive? Yes No	
	nter the following information. If you hedule and include with your Form I		h for more than one child in 2019, complete a separate	
1	Name of Parent 1 on Certificate of E	irth Resulting in Stillbirth	1■	
2	Name of Parent 2 on Certificate of E	irth Resulting in Stillbirth (if listed)	2 ■	
3	Date of delivery on the Certificate o	f Birth Resulting in Stillbirth	3	
4	State file number on the Certificate	of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth	4 ■	
5	Document control number on the C	Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth	5 ■	
6	Credit allowed per child Full-year residents: Include this amount of the control of the co	ount on line 4 of Schedule M1REF.	6 2,000	
7	Part-year residents and nonresident of Schedule M1NR. Include the result However, if your Minnesota gross in enter the result from step 5 of the v	ts: Multiply the amount on line 6 by line 24 llt here and on line 4 of Schedule M1REF. come is less than \$12,200, see instructions; worksheet here:		
	Enter the result from step 6 on line	7 and on line 4 of Schedule M1REF	/■	

You must include this schedule with your Form M1.

# 2019 Schedule M1PSC Instructions

#### Am I eligible?

You may be eligible for a \$2,000 refundable credit if all of the following are true:

- You experienced a stillbirth in 2019.
- You received a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth from the Minnesota Department of Health, Office of Vital Records.
- You would have claimed the child as a dependent if the child had been born alive.

# What is a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth?

A Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth is a record of birth that is issued by the Minnesota Department of Health, Office of Vital Records, to parents who have experienced a pregnancy loss (fetal death) resulting in stillbirth.

#### What is a state file number?

It is the number printed in the upper right area inside the margin on the Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth.

#### What if my certificate does not have a state file number?

Call the Office of Vital Records at 651-201-5970 to ask for a replacement certificate.

#### What is a document control number?

The document control number is the number printed in the lower left corner under the barcode on the Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth.

## How do I request a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth?

A parent may request a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth at any time after the filing of a fetal death report. Under Minnesota law, a fetal death report must be filed within five days of the death of a fetus for whom 20 or more weeks of gestation have elapsed. Generally, one of two parties file this report: the medical facility where the child was delivered, or the medical professional present at the time of the delivery. Once the fetal death has been reported, parents may request a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth by completing a request/application and submitting the form and fee to the Office of Vital Records (You can find the application online at www.health.state.mn.us/people/vitalrecords/docs/stillbirthapp.pdf).

## Do both parents need to request a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth?

No. Only one credit is allowed per birth resulting in stillbirth. If you are filing a joint return with the person listed on the fetal death report, you only need to obtain one certificate for each stillborn child. If you are not filing jointly with the person listed on the fetal death report, only the person who would have claimed the child as a qualifying dependent in 2019, if the child had been born alive, may claim this credit.

## How do I know if I would have had a qualifying dependent?

Generally, this means the child would have lived with you and would not have paid more than half of their own support. Minnesota uses the federal definition for a dependent. For more information, see Internal Revenue Service Publication 501.

#### What if I had more than one stillborn child in 2019?

- 1. Complete a separate Schedule M1PSC for each child.
- 2. Add the amounts from line 6 or line 7, whichever applies, from each Schedule M1PSC.
- 3. Enter the result from step 2 on line 4 of Schedule M1REF.

# Do I qualify for this credit if I had a stillborn child before 2019?

No. The delivery must have occurred in 2019.

# Do I qualify for this credit if I received a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth from another state for a loss in 2019?

No. The Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth must be issued by the Minnesota Department of Health, Office of Vital Records.

# What do I need to provide?

To qualify for this credit, you must have received a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth issued by the Minnesota Department of Health for a delivery that occurred in 2019. We may ask you to provide a copy of this record if we are unable to verify the information.

#### **Line Instructions**

#### Line B

If you delivered a stillborn child in Minnesota in 2019 but did not request a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth, you can request one by completing a request/application and submitting the form and fee to the Office of Vital Records (You can find the application online at www.health.state.mn.us/people/vitalrecords/docs/stillbirthapp.pdf). You will need this certificate to complete Schedule M1PSC.

#### Line 7

If your Minnesota gross income is below the filing requirement and you're filing Form M1 to claim this credit, you should have entered zero on line 24 of Schedule M1NR, *Nonresidents/Part-Year Residents*. However, to correctly determine this credit, you must first fully complete Schedule M1NR (do not skip lines 12-21) to determine what the amounts would have been, and then follow the Worksheet for Line 7.

Worksheet for Line 7			
1 Line 11, column B, of Schedule M1NR			
2 Line 21, column B, of Schedule M1NR			
3 Subtract step 2 from step 1. If zero or less, <b>STOP HERE.</b> You do not qualify			
4 Line 23 of Schedule M1NR			
5 Divide step 3 by step 4 (carry to five decimal places). If step 3 is more than step 4, enter 1.0.			
Enter result on the space provided on line 7 of Schedule M1PSC			
6 Multiply step 5 by line 6 of Schedule M1PSC			
Enter the step 6 result on line 7 of Schedule M1PSC and on line 4 of Schedule M1REF.			