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Disclaimer

This presentation is for educational purposes only. It is meant to accompany an oral
presentation and not to be used as a standalone document.

This presentation is based on the facts and circumstances being discussed, and on the laws in
effect when it is presented. It does not supersede or alter any provisions of Minnesota laws,
administrative rules, court cases, or revenue notices.

If you have any questions, contact us at salesuse.edu@state.mn.us, 651-296-6181, or 1-800-
657-3777 (toll-free).

Minnesota Business Tax Education Program

Providing education opportunities about Minnesota tax laws.

Course Objectives

After completing the course you will be able to:

« Define remote seller and the Small Seller Exception

Recognize rules for sales made through a marketplace provider

* Summarize benefits of using a Certified Service Provider (CSP) with Streamlined Sales Tax

Distinguish what products and services are taxable in Minnesota

* Learn how to register for a Minnesota Tax ID number

Apply the filing requirements for Minnesota and its taxing jurisdictions

« List several resources that answer your remote seller questions
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Part 1: Remote Sellers

Remote Sellers

Who is a Remote Seller?

Any business that sells products in a state without having a physical presence in
that state.

Examples:

* Internet Sellers

* Mail order/catalog companies

« Sales over the telephone

Remote Sellers

Who is NOT a Remote Seller?

Any business that has a physical presence in Minnesota, including but not
limited to:

« Offices

* Employees

* Property
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Remote Sellers

Remote Sellers

Register and begin collecting sales tax no later than 60 days after you exceed the Small
Seller Exception.

* Multiple States

o Streamlined Sales Tax Registration System: www.sstregister.org
* Minnesota Only

o Online: www.revenue.state.mn.us and search Business Registration in the top
right corner

o Phone: 1-800-657-3605 (toll-free)

o Mail a completed paper registration form

Note: If you know that you will be making sales into Minnesota, you may volunteer to collect and remit
Minnesota sales tax at any time.
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Remote Sellers

What is a Retail Sale?

« Defined in Minnesota Statute 297A.61, subdivision 4

o Any sale of tangible personal property, except items for resale

o Any sale of taxable services, except for resale

* When calculating the Small Seller Exception, do not include sales for resale in
the total sales figure

* Your customer should present a Certificate of Exemption (Form ST3) to claim
purchases for resale
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mote Sellers

Small Seller Exception Thresholds

The Small Seller Exception applies to remote sellers who do NOT meet either of the
following thresholds in the previous 12 months:

* 200 or more retail sales shipped into Minnesota

* Retail sales shipped into Minnesota that total more than $100,000

Note: The purchaser is always liable for any use tax due on taxable transactions
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Remote Sellers

Small Seller Exception Example 1:

A Wisconsin remote seller ships 4 retail sales into Minnesota that total $7 million.

This remote seller does meets the threshold, therefore would be required to collect
Minnesota Sales Tax.

Note: The purchaser is always liable for any use tax due on taxable transactions
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Remote Sellers

Small Seller Exception Example 2:

An lowa remote seller ships 150 retail sales into Minnesota totaling $99,000. This

remote seller does NOT meet the threshold and would NOT be required to collect
Minnesota Sales Tax.

Note: The purchaser is always liable for any use tax due on taxable transactions
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mote Sellers

Small Seller Exception, additional information:

If you are no longer required to collect, contact us to update your account

* Accounts that are not updated may receive unnecessary mailings or penalties
 Call 1-800-657-3605 (toll-free)

o If you later make enough sales to be required to collect, you will need to contact us again
to update your account so you can file

Note: You may volunteer to collect and remit sales tax regardless of the quantity of sales you have
into Minnesota.
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Part 2: Sales Through Marketplace Providers
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Sales Through Marketplace Providers

Marketplace Provider

A Marketplace Provider is any person, other than the seller, who facilitates a
retail sale by both:

« Listing or advertising the seller’s products.

* Processing the payments from the customer, either directly or indirectly
through a third party — regardless of whether the Marketplace Provider
receives compensation or other consideration in exchange for its services.
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Sales Through Marketplace Providers

Marketplace Provider

A Marketplace Provider located in Minnesota is required to collect on your
behalf unless:

* You elect to register and collect Minnesota sales tax directly and prove to the
Marketplace Provider that you intend to collect and remit Minnesota sales tax
on your own.

18




Sales Through Marketplace Providers

Marketplace Provider

Effective October 1, 2019 an out-of-state Marketplace Provider is required to
collect and remit sales into Minnesota unless:

* The out-of-state marketplace does not meet the Small Seller Exception, or

* The seller gives the marketplace provider a copy of its Minnesota sales tax
registration, and there is an agreement that the seller will collect and remit
sales tax
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Sales Through Marketplace Providers

Marketplace Provider

Sales made through multiple venues:
* Marketplace
* Your Website

* Other sources
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Part 3: Streamlined Sales Tax
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Streamlined Sales Tax

Streamlined Sales Tax

What it is:
* Cooperative effort among states
* Uniform definitions of sales tax laws

« Attempt to level the playing field for all sellers
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Streamlined Sales Tax

Streamlined Sales Tax

How it works:
* Uniform administration of sales and use tax collections
* Uniform definitions of major tax bases

« Simplified tax returns
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Part 4: Certified Service Providers
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Certified Service Providers (CSP)

Certified Service Providers (CSP)

A CSP is an agent certified under the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement
to perform all the seller's sales and use tax functions.

Note: The seller is still responsible to remit use tax on its own purchases.
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Certified Service Providers (CSP)

Benefits of Certified Service Providers (CSP)
The CSP software interfaces with the seller’s software to:
* Determine taxability of goods and services
* Apply the appropriate tax rate

* Maintain a record of the transaction
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Certified Service Providers (CSP)

Benefits (continued)

* Resolve any notices or audits by Streamlined Sales Tax member states

* Provide free monthly return processing in states where you are a remote

seller. A small fee may apply to file returns in states where you have a physical
presence.

« Streamlined Sales Tax members certify the accuracy of the CSP software and
provide liability relief for incorrect tax calculation based on that certification.
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Certified Service Providers (CSP)

Who are the CSPs?
* Avalara
* Sovos
* Exactor
* Tax Cloud

 Accurate Tax
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Part 5: Sales and Use Tax Basics
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Sales and Use Tax Basics

Five Categories of
Sales

Digital

Products

Real Intangible
Property Property

30
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Sales and Use Tax Basics

Sales Price
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Sales and Use Tax Basics

Sales price does not include:

Credit allowed for trade-in

Term discounts

Cash discounts

Coupons (unless reimbursed by a 3™ party)

Taxes legally imposed on consumer

Interest charges

Finance charges from extension of credit
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Part 6: Filing and Payment Instructions
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Filing and Payment Instructions

@-Services

You must do two things to avoid late filing and/or late payment
penalties:

2. Pay your sales and use tax liability electronically or
by check on or before the due date.
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Filing and Payment Instructions

Filing
Frequency Average Tax Liability

Monthly filers More than $500 per month 20th day of the following month
(more than $6,000 per year)

Quarterly filers Less than $500 per month 20th day of the month following the end

(less than $6,000 per year) of the quarter
(April 20, July 20, October 20, and January 20)

Annual filers Less than $100 per month February 5 of the following year
(less than $1,200 per year)
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Part 7: Resources
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Resources
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Resources

Remote Sellers Update Remote Sellers FAQs

Education

Resources

ketplace Providers Update Local Sales Tax Requirements for Sellers

40

11/26/2019

Resources

File and Poy

Sales Tax Business Guide

Taxes and Rates

Rate Charts Sales Tax Refunds

Minnest

Use Tax Information
Exemptions and Refunds

Local Sales Tax Information

Valuntary Disclosure Progeam
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Resources

Streamlined Sales and Use Tax

effort ize thy

¥ of sales and use taxes in order to
substantially reduce the burden of tax compliance,

Streamlined Registration for Sellers
Rates and Boundaries for Sellers
Purchaser's Exernption Form

Membership Documents

Resources

+ Visit the Streamlined Sales Tax Governing Board website

MENU  Minnesota is a member of the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement (SSUTA). This multi-state

+1
[+]
[+

[+]

22

14



11/26/2019

Resources

Minnesota Department of Revenue Website: revenue.state.mn.us
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Resources

Online webinars

Current courses offered include

* Basic Sales and Use Tax

* Sales and Use Tax for Manufacturers

* Sales and Use Tax e-Services Webinar

* Visit — www.revenue.state.mn.us and search “Education Webinars” in the top
right

Resources

Fact Sheets and Industry Guides

Fact Sheets contain general information about specific topics

* Visit www.revenue.state.mn.us and search for sales tax fact sheets

Industry Guides provide information specific to select industries

* Visit www.revenue.state.mn.us and search for industry guides
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Resources

Sales and Use Tax General Contact Information

¢ Minnesota Department of Revenue website: revenue.state.mn.us

* Questions relating to Sales and Use Tax Law?
Email: salesuse.tech@state.mn.us

* Questions relating to your Sales and Use Tax account activity?
Email: salesuse.tax@state.mn.us

* Prefer telephone assistance?
Phone: 651-296-6181 or 1-800-657-3777 (toll free)
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46
Resources
Email Subscription Service
* Choose the updates you want by tax type and publication type
* Choose the frequency of notifications
« Sign in directly or use your social media account: Facebook, Yahoo!, or Google
45

Course Review

During this class, we discussed:

The definitions of remote sellers and marketplace providers

The benefits of a Certified Service provider and Streamlined Sales Tax

What products and services are taxable in Minnesota

How to register for a Minnesota Tax ID Number

How to use e-Services to file and pay your sales and use tax returns, and

Where to find information to help you answer your questions
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Thank you!

Permission of the Minnesota Department of Revenue must be secured before exhibiting, reproducing, distributing
or making any other use of any part of this presentation.

Produced by the Minnesota Department of Revenue 600 North Robert Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55146

©Copyright 2019, Minnesota Department of Revenue, All Rights Reserved

Minnesota Business Tax Education
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