
 

 Property Tax Division – Mail Station 3340 – St. Paul, MN 55146-3340 
Phone: 651-556-4803 

Senior Citizens’ Property Tax Deferral 
Property Tax Fact Sheet 7  Fact Sheet  

 
7 

This fact sheet is intended to help you become more familiar with Minnesota 
tax laws and your rights and responsibilities under the laws. Nothing in this fact 
sheet supersedes, alters, or otherwise changes any provisions of the tax law, ad-
ministrative rules, court decisions, or revenue notices. Alternative formats avail-
able upon request. 

www.revenue.state.mn.us 

      Revised June 2019                                                                                                               Minnesota Revenue, Senior Citizens’ Property Tax Deferral                                    1                                

 
 
 
 
What is it? 
Under the Senior Citizens’ Property Tax Deferral 
program, you can defer on a portion of the property 
taxes you owe if: 

• You are 65 years old or older 
• Your household income is $60,000 or less 

 
Please note, the deferral covers your home, garage, 
and up to one acre. 
 
The amount of property taxes that you will be responsi-
ble for paying will be 3% of your household income. 
 
How does it work?  
This is a low-interest loan from the state. This is not 
a tax forgiveness program. The state pays the county 
your property taxes directly and charges you interest. 
The interest on the loan changes yearly, but will 
never be more than 5%.  
 
Please note, under this program, a lien will attach 
to your property. This means that the state can take 
possession of your home as payment for the loan if 
you leave the program or no longer qualify for the 
program and you do not pay the loan amount back. 
 
How much will I pay in taxes?  
The amount of tax you pay is determined the year 
you enter the program. Your annual income from the 
year before you apply for the program is used to 
figure out how much you will pay. 
 
Example. If your household income was $15,000 the 
year before you applied for the program and you 
would be responsible for 3% of your household 

income, then: 
• 3% of $15,000 is $450. 
• The maximum amount of property tax you 

would be responsible for paying each year 
you participate would be $450. 
 

If your property tax for the year was $1,450, you 
would pay $450, and the remaining $1,000 would be 
paid by the state.  
 
The $1,000 would be the amount of the loan from 
the state and interest would be charged on it. If your 
total property tax ever fell below your maximum tax 
amount ($450 is this example), you would only pay 
the amount due. 
 
As part of your initial application, you will need to 
provide a report detailing any mortgages, liens, 
judgments, or unpaid property taxes on your 
property. The report must be dated within 30 days of 
your application. Depending on the type of property 
you own, your report will be one of the following: 

• Abstract property: a licensed abstracter 
must prepare a report showing the last deed 
recorded and any unsatisfied liens or 
judgments. This report is also called an 
“Owners and Encumbrances” report.  

• Torrens property, you will need to obtain a 
copy of the “Original Certificate of Title,” 
sometimes called a “Condition of Register,” 
from the County Recorder.  

 
If you are unsure what type of property you have, 
contact your county recorder. 
 

The Senior Citizens’ Property Tax Deferral Program was established to help senior citizens who were having difficulty 
paying their property taxes. This deferral program has two primary advantages for senior citizens. 

1. It limits the maximum amount of property tax you pay to 3% of your total household income. 
2. It provides predictability. The amount of tax you pay will stay the same as long as you remain in the program. 
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What about my property tax refunds? 
When you apply for property tax refunds, you will 
not receive the refunds as cash payments. They will 
be applied to your deferred property tax total, which 
is the loan amount from the state.  
 
Your Minnesota income tax refunds, political 
contribution refunds, or lottery winnings of any type 
will also be applied to your deferred property tax. 
 
What if my income changes? 
If your income goes above $60,000 in a calendar 
year, you must notify the Department of Revenue in 
writing.  
 
You will not be allowed to defer any further taxes 
until your income is $60,000 or less. If this happens, 
you are responsible for submitting a new application 
for the program.  
 
If you fail to notify the state of an increase in income, 
penalties will apply. 
 
Please note that stopping deferral because of excess 
income is not the same thing as being terminated 
from the program.  
 
Who may be eligible? 
In order to qualify for this program, all of the 
following conditions must be met:  

1. The property must be owned and 
homesteaded by a person 65 years of age or 
older. (In the case of a married couple, one 
spouse must be at least 65, and the other 
spouse must be at least 62.)  

2. Your total household income cannot be more 
than $60,000 for the calendar year before the 
year of your initial application. 

3. One of the homeowners must have owned 
and lived in the home for at least 15 years 
before the year that you submit your first 
application.  

4. There can be no state or federal tax liens or 
judgment liens on the property. 

5. The total of unpaid debts secured by 
mortgages and other liens against the 
property cannot be more than 75% of the 
assessors estimated market value of the 
property. 

 

How do I apply?  
Applications are available at your County Auditor’s 
office.  
 
Applications are due on or before November 1 to 
defer a portion of the taxes you owe for the next 
year. You can apply the year you turn 65 years old, 
but you will not receive a deferral until the following 
year. Once you are enrolled in the program and 
continue to meet requirements (annual income is 
$60,000 or less), you do not need to reapply. 
 
What else should I know? 
If you meet the requirements of this program, the 
state will file a notice of lien with your county. If 
there are fees associated with this filing, they will be 
added to your deferred tax. 
 
When does my enrollment end? 
Deferral of taxes will terminate when any one of the 
following occurs: 

1. The property is sold or transferred. 
2. All qualifying homeowners die. 
3. The homeowner notifies the Commissioner 

of Revenue in writing that he/she wishes to 
discontinue the program. 

4. The property no longer qualifies as a 
homestead.  

 
When terminated, the deferred property taxes, any 
special assessments that may have been deferred, 
penalties, plus any recording or filing fees will 
become due and you will need to pay this to the state.  

• If the property is sold or the homeowner dies, 
payment is due within 90 days of 
termination.  

• If the homeowner voluntarily leaves the 
program or the property ceases to qualify as a 
homestead, the total deferred amount will 
become due within 1 year of termination.  

 
No additional interest will be due if you pay the state 
on time. If the deferral is not paid on time, penalty, 
interest, lien, forfeiture, and other rules for the 
collection of property taxes will apply. 
 
What if I have questions? 
For more information, call the Property Tax Division 
of the Minnesota Department of Revenue at: 651-
556-4803.




