# **Disabled Veterans' Homestead Property Tax Exclusion**

Also for Primary Family Caregivers and Surviving Spouses

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

#### Property Tax Fact Sheet 11

Fact Sheet

11

This program provides a property tax exclusion for the homestead of:

- 1. An honorably discharged veteran who has a service-connected disability rating of 70% or higher
- 2. Surviving spouses of certain qualifying veterans and service members
- 3. Primary family caregivers of qualifying veterans

### What is the market value exclusion?

The exclusion reduces the market value of the home that is subject to property taxes. The program provides two exclusion levels:

**Up to \$300,000** of market value is excluded from property taxes for:

- veterans who have a service-connected disability rating of 100% **permanent and total** (including permanent Individual Unemployability)
- surviving spouses of qualifying veterans and service members
- qualifying Primary Family Caregivers of permanently and totally disabled veterans

**Up to \$150,000** of market value is excluded from property taxes for:

- veterans with 70% or greater serviceconnected disability
- qualifying Primary Family Caregivers of veterans with 70% or greater service-connected disability.

# How do veterans qualify?

To receive the exclusion, the veteran must meet all of the following requirements:

- be honorably discharged from the United States armed forces
- have a service-connected disability of 70% or more
- own and occupy a property that is classified as homestead

# How do surviving spouses qualify?

Surviving spouses of 100% **permanently and totally disabled** veterans may be eligible to continue receiving the exclusion in the year of the veteran's death, plus eight more taxes payable years. If the veteran died after December 31, 2011, but did not receive the exclusion before dying, the spouse may still be eligible.

Surviving spouses receiving Dependency and Indemnity Compensation are also eligible.

Spouses of members of the U.S. Armed Forces who died due to a service-connected cause while serving honorably in active service may qualify.

In all instances, surviving spouses qualify for \$300,000 of market value exclusion until they remarry, sell, transfer, or dispose of the property.

# How do Primary Family Caregivers qualify?

Primary Family Caregivers must meet all of the following requirements:

- be a Primary Family Caregiver approved by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs under the Program of Comprehensive Assistance for Family Caregivers (U.S. Code, title 38, section 1720G)
- be a Primary Family Caregiver for an honorably discharged veteran with a serviceconnected disability of 70% or more
- own a homestead property

The veteran that the Primary Family Caregiver cares for cannot also own homestead property in Minnesota.

This fact sheet is intended to help you become more familiar with Minnesota tax laws and your rights and responsibilities under the laws. Nothing in this fact sheet supersedes, alters, or otherwise changes any provisions of the tax law, administrative rules, court decisions, or revenue notices. Alternative formats available upon request.

#### How do I apply?

Applications are available in your County Assessor's office.

You must **apply by July 1** (except for surviving spouses applying in 2017, who must apply by August 1) to qualify for the exclusion for taxes payable next year (except for some manufactured homes that are taxed in the same year they are assessed).

For example, you must apply by July 1, 2017, to qualify for the exclusion for taxes payable in 2018.

Qualifying spouses may apply within two years of the veteran's death or by June 1, 2019, whichever is later.

Applications received after July 1 will not be considered until the following assessment year.

Surviving spouses of service members who die in active duty may apply within two years of the death of the service member.

#### What information do I need to supply?

The information required depends on who is applying for the exlusion, as shown in the table below.

Who is applying?	What information do they need to supply?
Qualifying veterans	<ul> <li>U.S. Government Form DD214 or other official military discharge papers</li> <li>Documentation from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) verifying disability status</li> <li>Note: The VA may also provide a letter that includes all required information (both discharge and disability).</li> </ul>
Surviving spouses of veterans who had total (100%) and permanent disability	<ul> <li>Documentation describing their benefits as surviving spouses of permanently and totally disabled veterans</li> <li>If the veteran has passed, verification of their date of death</li> </ul>
Surviving spouses awarded Dependency and Indemnity Compensation	<ul> <li>Verification of Dependency and Indemnity Compensation</li> <li>Verification of date of death after December 31, 2011</li> </ul>
Surviving spouses of service members who die while serving in active service	<ul> <li>Verification of Dependent Indemnity Compensation or other benefits letters issued by the VA if requested by the assessor</li> <li>U.S. Government Form DD1300 or DD2064 for service members</li> </ul>
Primary Family Caregivers	<ul> <li>Certification that they qualify for benefits described under the Program of Comprehensive Assistance for Family Caregivers</li> <li>Information necessary to verify the discharge and disability status of the qualifying veteran</li> </ul>

#### Does this apply to farms?

Yes. But in the case of agricultural homesteads, only the value of the house, garage, and immediately surrounding one acre of land will qualify for the exclusion.

# Can I get the regular homestead exclusion with this exclusion?

No. If a property qualifies for this market value exclusion, the property does not receive the regular residential homestead market value exclusion.

#### What if I have questions?

If you have questions or need more information about the exclusion for properties of qualifying disabled veterans, surviving spouses, and primary family caregivers, contact your county assessor's office.

For questions related to your disability and the forms that are required with the application, speak with your County Veteran Service Officer.