# DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE



# 2018 Schedule M1CD, Child and Dependent Care Credit

You	r First Name and Initial	Last Name	Social Security Number
Children or other qualifying persons for whom you ar Name		om you are claiming this credit ( <i>see instructic</i> Birth Date ( <i>mm/dd/yy</i> )	
Pers Name	ons or organizations who provided the e	care: Amount Paid	Social Security Number (or Federal Employer ID Number)
	Enter your day care license number: _	licensed family day care home and are claim ied couple filing jointly and claiming the crea	
All A	Applicants		Round amounts to the nearest whole dollar.
1	Federal adjusted gross income (from I	ine 1 of Form M1)	
2			nt here
3 4	Enter the amount from line 9 of feder	al Form 2441. If line 3 is less than or equal to	
5 6	Enter the amount from line 4 <b>or</b> line 5 <b>Full-year residents</b> , enter the result he	, <b>whichever is less</b> . ere and on line 1 of Schedule M1REF.	
Part	-Year Residents, Nonresidents, and Am	erican Indians Living on a Reservation	
7	-	of federal Form 2441. If you are single, included and the second state of the second s	de the amount from ksheets for Lines 4 and 7 $\dots$ 7
8	Amount of income on line 7 taxable to	Minnesota	
9 10	Multiply line 6 by line 9.		
	Enter the result here and on line 1 of		10

Include this schedule and a copy of your federal Form 2441 with your Form M1. Enter the number of qualifying persons on line 1a of Schedule M1REF.

Before you complete this schedule, complete federal Form 2441 even if you did not claim the federal credit.

## Am I eligible?

If you (and your spouse if filing a joint return) had earned income, you may be eligible for a credit based on your qualified expenses. You must have documentation showing the expenses you paid for one or both of the following:

- Someone to care for your child or other qualifying person
- Someone for household services

To qualify for the credit, all of the following must be true:

- Your amount on line 3 of this schedule is less than \$62,990 with one qualifying person or less than \$74,990 with two or more qualifying persons.
- Your filing status is not married filing separate.
- The qualifying person lived with you for more than half of the year.

The Minnesota credit is refundable, which means you may benefit even if you have no state tax liability. This is different from the federal credit, which you can only use to offset tax.

If you are a part-year or nonresident, you may be eligible for this credit based on your percentage of earned income taxable to Minnesota.

# Is there a penalty for fraudulently claiming a refund?

Yes. If you file a return that fraudulently claims a credit, you will be assessed a penalty equal to 50 percent of the fraudulently claimed credit.

### Do I need proof of my payments?

Yes. Save canceled checks and itemized receipts showing your payments for child and dependent care expenses. We may ask you to show these records if we have questions.

### Who is a qualifying person?

A qualifying person is any person who meets the requirements for the federal credit for child and dependent care expenses. Generally, a qualifying person is someone who lived with you for more than half of the year and is one of the following:

- Your dependent child who is younger than 13
- Your disabled spouse or disabled dependent

If you were divorced, legally separated, or lived apart from your spouse during the last six months of 2018 and your child is not your dependent, you may claim the credit if your child meets the requirements of a qualifying person for the federal credit. In this case, the other parent cannot treat the child as a qualifying person.

## What expenses qualify?

Qualifying expenses are the same as for the federal credit for child and dependent care expenses. Generally, qualifying expenses are expenses you paid for one or both of the following:

- The care of your qualifying person so you (and your spouse, if filing a joint return) could work or look for work
- Household services so you (and your spouse, if filing a joint return) could work or look for work

If you did not have expenses, you may still qualify for this credit.

- If you are married and filing a joint return, and your child was born in 2018, see "What if my child was born in 2018?"
- If you are a licensed day care operator, see "What if I am a licensed day care operator?" on the next page.

# What if my child was born in 2018?

You may be eligible to calculate your credit using \$3,000 of expenses for your child born in 2018, even if you did not have actual expenses for that child or only one spouse had earned income.

You must meet all of the following requirements:

- You are married and filing a joint return.
- You had a child (or children) born in 2018.
- You had less than \$3,000 in child care expenses or you or your spouse earned less than \$3,000.
- Neither you nor your spouse participated in a pre-tax dependent care assistance program.

Complete the worksheet below to determine your credit unless both of the following are true:

- Your actual childcare expenses for your child born in 2018 were \$3,000 (\$6,000 if you had two or more children born during the year) or more.
- The lesser-earning spouse's earned income was \$3,000 (\$6,000 if you had two or more children born in 2018) or more.

If both statements above are true, complete the schedule using the line instructions.

### Worksheet for Child Born in 2018

If you completed federal Form 2441 to claim the federal credit, you must also complete a separate Form 2441 to determine your Minnesota credit. If you did not claim the federal credit or file a federal return, complete a Form 2441 to determine your Minnesota credit. Follow the instructions below to complete the Form 2441 you will use for Minnesota purposes.

**If you filed Schedule M1NC.** Use the lines from the federal Form 2441 you completed for Minnesota purposes on steps 1 and 2.

1 Enter the amount from line 4 of Form 2441 1	
2 Enter the amount from line 5 of Form 2441 2	
3 Add steps 1 and 2 3 _	
<ul> <li>4 Determine the amount to enter on line 6 of Form 2441 as follows:</li> <li>a. For the child born in 2018, enter the smaller of:</li> <li>1) \$3,000 (\$6,000 for two or more children); or</li> <li>2) the amount from step 3</li></ul>	
<ul> <li>b. If you had another child (or children) born before January 1, 2018, enter the smallest of:</li> <li>1) your actual qualified child care expenses paid for them;</li> <li>2) amount on step 1; or</li> <li>3) amount on step 2</li></ul>	
<ul> <li>c. Enter the smaller of:</li> <li>1) the total of steps 4a and 4b above; or</li> <li>2) \$6,000</li></ul>	
Enter the amount from 4c on line 6 of Form 2441. Complete the rest of Form 2441 and Minnesota Schedule M1CD to determine your Minnesota credit. Place an X in the approx above line 1 of Schedule M1CD.	nd

# What if I am a licensed daycare operator?

You may be able to claim a credit for the care of your own child if your child was younger than age 6 at the end of 2018.

At the end of 2018:

- If your child was 16 months or younger, the credit is based on \$3,000 of qualified expenses (\$6,000 if you cared for two children age 16 months or younger)
- If your child was older than 16 months but younger than age six, the credit is based on the amount you would charge for a child of the same age being cared for in your home for the same number of hours (up to the maximum amounts)

To correctly determine your credit, you must complete a separate federal Form 2441 using the expense amounts above instead of your actual expenses. expenses. If you filed Schedule M1NC, complete the Worksheet for Lines 4 and 7 - Earned income from Schedule M1NC. If you are married, each spouse must complete a separate earned income worksheet. Include the result on the appropriate earned income line or lines on your recomputed Form 2441.

Include the recomputed Form 2441 you used to determine your Minnesota credit when you file Form M1. Place an X in the appropriate box above line 1 and enter your day care license number in the space provided.

### **Line Instructions**

Round amounts to the nearest whole dollar.

### Line 1

### Federal Adjusted Gross Income

Your federal adjusted gross income from your 2018 federal return. If the amount is less than zero, enter the negative number. Put parentheses around a negative number. If you did not file a 2018 federal return, use a federal return and instructions to determine what your federal adjusted gross income would have been.

#### Line 4

If you filed Schedule M1NC, you will need to complete a federal Form 2441 for Minnesota purposes (referred to as a recomputed Form 2441). If you are married, each spouse must complete a separate earned income worksheet. Include the result on the appropriate earned income line on your recomputed Form 2441.

### Line 5

If line 3 is more than \$50,990, complete the Worksheet for Line 5.

### **Questions? Need forms?**

Forms and information are available on our website at www.revenue.state.mn.us.

- If you have questions:
- Visit our website at www.revenue.state.mn.us and enter child and dependent care in the Search box.
- Send us an email at individual.incometax@state.mn.us
- Call us at 651-296-3781 or 1-800-652-9094

#### Worksheet for Line 5 (If Line 3 is More Than \$50,990)

1	Enter the amount from line 3	
2	Income limit	\$50,990
3	Subtract step 2 from step 1	
5	Multiply step 3 by 5% (.05)	

#### Worksheet for lines 4 and 7 - Earned income from Schedule M1NC

- 1 Earned income included in the additions column on lines 9 through 30 of Schedule M1NC, *Federal Adjustments*.....
- 2 Reimbursements for employee business expenses (from line 3 of Schedule M1NC).....
- 3 Add steps 1 and 2
- 4 Bicycle expense reimbursements (from line 1 of Schedule M1NC).....
- 8 Subtract step 7 from step 3. Enter the result on line 7. If the result is less than zero, enter as a negative amount on line 7. ....