



### 2017 Schedule M1PSC, Credit for Parents of Stillborn Children

Complete this schedule if you experienced the stillbirth of a child in 2017, received a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth from Minnesota, and the child would have been your dependent in 2017 if they had been born alive.

'our	First Name and Initial	Last Name	Social Security Number	
Α	Did you experience the birth of a s	tillborn child in 2017?	Yes No	
В		Resulting in Stillbirth from the Minnesota Departiced the birth of a stillborn child in Minnesota in 2		
С		as your dependent in 2017 had the child been bound on		
	nter the following information. If yo hedule and include with your Form	•	th for more than one child in 2017, complete a sepa	irate
1	Name of Parent 1 on Certificate of	Birth Resulting in Stillbirth	1■	
2	Name of Parent 2 on Certificate of	Birth Resulting in Stillbirth (if listed)	2 ■	
3	Date of delivery on the Certificate	of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth	3	
4	State file number on the Certificat	e of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth	4 ■	
5	Document control number on the	Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth	5 ■	
6		nount on line 4 of Schedule M1REF.	6	000
7	Part-year residents and nonreside of Schedule M1NR. Include the res However, if your Minnesota gross	ents: Multiply the amount on line 6 by line 25 sult here and on line 4 of Schedule M1REF. income is less than \$10,400, see instructions; worksheet here:		
	Enter the result from step 6 on line	e 7 and on line 4 of Schedule M1REF	7 ■	

You must include this schedule with your Form M1.

### 2017 Schedule M1PSC Instructions

#### Am I eligible?

You may be eligible for a \$2,000 refundable credit if all of the following are true:

- You experienced a stillbirth in 2017
- You received a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth from the Minnesota Department of Health, Office of Vital Records
- You would have claimed the child as a dependent if the child had been born alive

### What is a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth?

A Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth is a record of birth that is issued by the Minnesota Department of Health, Office of Vital Records, to parents who have experienced a pregnancy loss (fetal death) resulting in stillbirth.

#### What is a state file number?

It is the number printed in the upper right area inside the margin on the Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth.

### What if my certificate does not have a state file number?

Call the Office of Vital Records at 651-201-5970 to ask for a replacement certificate.

#### What is a document control number?

The document control number is the number printed in the lower left corner under the barcode on the Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth.

### How do I request a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth?

A parent may request a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth at any time after the filing of a fetal death report. Minnesota Statute requires that a fetal death report must be filed within five days of the death of a fetus for whom 20 or more weeks of gestation have elapsed. Generally the report is filed by the medical facility where the child was delivered or by a medical professional who was present at the time of the delivery. Once the fetal death has been reported, parents may request a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth by completing a request/application and submitting the form and fee to the Office of Vital Records. (Application is online at: http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/chs/osr/ stillbirthapp.pdf).

## Do both parents need to request a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Still-birth?

No. Only one credit is allowed per birth resulting in stillbirth.

If you are filing a joint return with the person listed on the fetal death report, you only need to obtain one certificate for each stillborn child.

If you are not filing jointly with the person listed on the fetal death report, only the person who would have claimed the child as a qualifying dependent in 2017, if the child had been born alive, may claim this credit.

### How do I know if I would have had a qualifying dependent?

Generally, this means the child would have lived with you and would not have paid more than half of their own support.

Minnesota uses the federal definition for a dependent. For more information, see IRS Publication 501, *Exemptions, Standard Deduction, and Filing Information*.

### What if I had more than one stillborn child in 2017?

- 1. Complete a separate Schedule M1PSC for each child.
- 2. Add the amounts from line 6 or line 7, whichever applies, from each Schedule MIPSC
- 3. Enter the result from step 2 on line 4 of Schedule M1REF.

### Do I qualify for this credit if I had a stillborn child before 2017?

No. The delivery must have occurred in 2017.

# Do I qualify for this credit if I received a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth from another state for a loss that happened in 2017?

No. The Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth must be issued by the Minnesota Department of Health, Office of Vital Records.

#### What do I need to provide?

To qualify for this credit, you must have received a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth issued by the Minnesota Department of Health for a delivery that occurred in 2017. You may be asked to provide a copy of this record if we are unable to verify the information.

### **Line Instructions**

#### Line B

If you delivered a stillborn child in Minnesota in 2017 but did not request a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth, you can request one by completing a request/application and submitting the form and fee to the Office of Vital Records (Application is online at: http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/chs/osr/stillbirthapp.pdf). You will need this certificate to complete Schedule M1PSC.

#### Line 7

If your Minnesota gross income is below the filing requirement and you're filing Form M1 to claim this credit, you should have entered zero on line 25 of Schedule M1NR. However, to correctly determine this credit, you must first fully complete schedule M1NR (do not skip lines 12-22) to determine what the amounts would have been, and then follow the Worksheet for line 7.

#### Worksheet for Line 7

- 1 Line 11, column B, of Schedule M1NR .....
- 2 Line 22, column B, of Schedule M1NR .....
- 3 Subtract step 2 from step 1 (if zero or less, stop here. You do not qualify.) . . \_\_\_\_\_
- 4 Line 24 of Schedule M1NR .....
- 5 Divide step 3 by step 4 (carry to five decimal places).
  If step 3 is more than step 4, enter 1.0. Enter result on the space provided on line 7 of Schedule M1PSC.....
- 6 Multiply step 5 by line 6 of Schedule M1PSC .....

Enter the step 6 result on line 7 of Schedule M1PSC and on line 4 of Schedule M1REF.