Minnesota Department of Revenue

Revenue Notice # 16-06: Administration and Compliance — Subpoenas — Reimbursement
of Third-Party Record Keepers’ Reasonable Costs; Revoking Revenue Notice # 04-06

Introduction

Minnesota Statutes, section 270C.32, subdivision 9, provides that when the Commissioner of
Revenue serves a subpoena for records upon an uninvolved third party “. . . the commissioner
shall pay the reasonable costs of producing the records.” The purpose of this revenue notice is to
set forth which costs the Department of Revenue considers to be reasonable for purposes of
reimbursing a third-party record keeper for the costs of furnishing subpoenaed records. This
notice revokes and replaces Revenue Notice # 04-06 in order to reorganize it for better
readability, provide greater specificity with regard to what costs may be reimbursed, revise the
compensation rate for document production work, and address reimbursement of reasonable
costs for records that are provided electronically.

Department Position
I.  General

A. The commissioner will reimburse the reasonable cost of producing records, meaning
the costs for search and retrieval, production, and delivery or transportation of the
documents or other requested information, as defined in sections II, III, and IV below.

B. The “reasonable cost of producing records” does not include salaries, fees, or similar
charges for analysis of responsive materials, nor does it include charges for time spent
for managerial or legal oversight, advice, expertise, or research in connection with
producing the records. The commissioner will not reimburse these costs.

C. To receive reimbursement, the third-party record keeper must satisfactorily comply
with the subpoena and submit supporting documentation to the commissioner with an
invoice separately identifying all of the reasonable costs associated with producing the
subpoenaed records.

D. A third-party record keeper must obtain the commissioner’s prior consent if the third-
party record keeper expects that the total reasonable cost of producing the subpoenaed
records will exceed $250.00.

II. Search and Retrieval Costs

The reasonable cost for the time the third-party record keeper spends locating and retrieving
documents or other requested information is $12 per hour. If it is necessary for the third-party
record keeper to hire outside help to locate or retrieve the requested information, the
commissioner will reimburse the third party up to $12 per hour, not to exceed the actual cost
incurred.



III. Production Costs
A. Electronic Production

The reasonable cost for documents that are produced electronically, whether via
portable media (such as a CD-ROM or flash drive) or by secure online delivery (e. g.,
temporary access to a secure network server) is the lesser of: (1) the actual cost of such
electronic media or network access plus $12 per hour of time spent preparing, converting,
or scanning the documents, if itemized separately; or (2) 25 cents per page or page
equivalent (based on the number of letter-sized pages that could be printed from each of the
documents in the electronic file).

B. Physical Production

The reasonable cost for documents that are reproduced as photocopies or duplicates on
paper is 25 cents per page, regardless of the size of the page. The $12 per hour rate
specified above for locating and retrieving records does not include any time spent making
or assembling physical copies because those costs are included in the photocopying rate of
25 cents per page.

The reasonable cost for producing photographs, film, and other items that cannot be
effectively reproduced electronically or on ordinary copy paper is the actual cost of
duplicating such items.

IV. Transportation Costs

Costs associated with transporting necessary people to locate and retrieve subpoenaed records
or information from a location separate from the third-party record keeper’s place of business
will be reimbursed based on the mileage rate set by the Internal Revenue Service for the time
period in which the travel takes place. The third-party record keeper’s “place of business,” for
mileage purposes, is the primary work location of the person sent to retrieve the records. The
time in transit spent by necessary persons will be reimbursed at the $12 per hour rate, but this
time does not include rest breaks, meals, or any incidental stops or delays.

The reasonable cost for transporting the requested records, either to the requestor’s address or
to a specified location, is the actual cost of sending the records by standard first class mail. Other
methods of transportation may be used if prior authorization is obtained from the commissioner.
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