MINNESOTA REVENUE
Reciprocity Exemption/Affidavit of Residency for Tax Year 2015

For Michigan and North Dakota Residents who Work in Minnesota

Read instructions on back. Please print.

Employees: Complete this form and give it to your employer.

MWR

Employee’s last name First name and initial

Employee’s Social Security number

Permanent address

City State (check one) Zip code
_E D Michigan D North Dakota
g
“é 1 If you earned wages in Minnesota during the previous year, enter the wages you earned. $
£ (nearest dollar)
gi 2 | have lived at the above residence since (month and year)
(=}
=
E 3 Do you return to the above residence at least 0nce @ MONN? . .. ... v ettt e e e LJvyes [INo*
* If your answer is NO, you do not qualify for the reciprocity exemption.
4 Were you ever a resident of Minnesota? ................... LIYES, from to LINO
(month/year) (month/year)
Current employer’s name Employer’s federal tax ID
58
s- "& Employer’s mailing address Employer‘s phone
s E
ES
T} £ City State Zip code
» o |declare that the above information is correct and complete to the best of my knowledge and belief.
§ 5 I understand there is a $500 penalty for making false statements.
_:_ % Employee’s signature Date Employee’s phone
Eo
Employers: Mail this form to Minnesota Revenue, Mail Station 6501, St. Paul, MN 55146-6501.

(Rev. 11/14)

Keep a copy for your records.

Note: If this form is not filled out completely, you must withhold Minnesota income tax from wages earned in

Minnesota.



Instructions for Form MWR

Instructions for Employees
Minnesota has income tax reciprocity
agreements with Michigan and North
Dakota.

If you are a resident of one of these two
states and you return to your residence in
Michigan or North Dakota at least once a
month, you do not have to pay Minnesota
income tax on wages you earn for work per-
formed in Minnesota. However, you may be
required to pay tax on this income to your
state of residence.

If you're a resident of Michigan or North
Dakota and do not want Minnesota tax
withheld from your wages, complete this
form and give it to your employer by the
later of February 28 or within 30 days

after you begin working or change your
permanent residence. You must give your
employer a new form each year you do not
want Minnesota tax withheld from your
wages. You do not need to complete Form
W-4MN, Minnesota Employee Withholding
Allowance/Exemption Certificate, to claim
exemption from Minnesota withholding
tax.

Fill Out the Form Completely

If you do not fill in every item on this form
or do not give the form to your employer by
the due date, your employer must withhold
Minnesota income tax from your wages
using the same marital status and number
of allowances you claimed on your federal
Form W-4.

To Get a Refund of Tax Already
Withheld for the Year

File Form M1, Minnesota Individual Income
Tax Return, with the Minnesota Depart-
ment of Revenue. See the M1 Instructions
for details.

Penalties

If you make any statements on this form
that you know are incorrect, you may be
assessed a $500 penalty.

Use of Information

All information on Form MWR is private by
state law. It may only be given to your state
of residence, the Internal Revenue Service,
and to other state tax agencies as provided
by law. The information may be compared
with other information you gave to the
Department of Revenue.

Your name, address and Social Security
number are required for identification. Your
address is also required to verify your state
of residence. Your employer’s name, federal
tax ID number, address and phone number
are required. If you do not complete the
information, your employer is required to
withhold Minnesota income tax from your
wages.

The only information not required is your
phone number. However, we ask that you
provide it so we can contact you if we have
questions.

Instructions for Employers
Employees who reside in Michigan or North
Dakota who ask you not to withhold Min-
nesota income tax from their wages must
complete this form and give it to you each
year by the later of February 28 or within

30 days after they begin working for you or
change their residence. Employees who live
in other states, including Minnesota, cannot
use this form.

If an employee does not fill in every item of
Form MWR or does not provide the form
to you by the due date, you must withhold
Minnesota income tax, using the same
marital status and number of allowances
claimed on the employee’s federal Form
W-4.

If the employee provides you with a prop-
erly completed Form MWR, the employee
is not required to complete Form W-4MN
to claim exemption from Minnesota income
tax withholding.

Submit Completed Forms MWR to
the Department

By March 31 of each year, send the com-
pleted Forms MWR to Minnesota Revenue,
Mail Station 6501, St. Paul, MN 55146-6501.
You must keep a copy of all forms for five
years from the date received.

For new employees or employees who
change their state of residence, send the
form within 30 days after the employee
gives it to you.

You may be assessed a $50 penalty for each
form you are required to send us but do not.

Information and Assistance
Additional forms and information, includ-
ing fact sheets and frequently asked ques-
tions, are available on our website.

Website: www.revenue.state.mn.us
Email: withholding.tax@state.mn.us
Phone: 651-282 9999 or 1-800-657-3594.

We'll provide information in other formats
upon request to persons with disabilities.
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