# MINNESOTA • REVENUE 2013 Schedule M15, Underpayment of Estimated Income Tax

For Individuals (Form M1)

			I.C		vı	u
Seq	uei	nc	e	#1	L3	

Sequenc	e #13										
Your firs	t name	and initial	Last name			Social	Security number				
lent		quired Annual Payment Minnesota income tax for 2013 subject to the alternative minin					1				
aym	2	Minnesota withholding and cre	esota withholding and credits for <b>2013</b> (add lines 23 and 25–28 of Form M1)								
al P		Subtract line 2 from line 1. If less than \$500, stop here; you do not owe an underpayment penalty 3									
nuu	4	Multiply line 1 by 90% (.90). Fa	rmers and commercial fis	shermen:	Multiply lir	ie 1 by 66.7% (.6	67) <b>4</b>				
Required Annual Payment	5		tax for <b>2012</b> (from line 20 of Form M1). See instructions if your <b>2012</b> federal one was more than \$150,000 or if you did not file a 2012 return								
lequ	6	Required annual payment. Amo	al payment. Amount from line 4 or line 5, whichever is less								
Œ		<ul> <li>If line 6 is less than or equal to line 2, stop here; you do not owe an underpayment penalty.</li> <li>If line 6 is more than line 2, continue with line 7 or line 13, depending on which method you use.</li> </ul>									
	-	ional Short Method (see inst			-						
ing		Quarterly estimated tax payment									
, Usi Iod		Add line 2 and line 7					8				
nalty Meth	9	Total underpayment for the yea (if result is zero or less, stop he			t penalty)		9				
: Pei	10	Multiply line 9 by 2% (.02)					10				
Determine Penalty Using the Short Method	11	<ul> <li>If the amount on line 9 will be paid on or after April 15, 2014, enter 0.</li> <li>If the amount was paid before April 15, 2014, use the following computation and enter the result on line 11: number of days paid</li> </ul>									
ă			line 9 X	before 4/15/14			11				
	12	Penalty. Subtract line 11 from	line 10. Enter result here a	and on line	e 33 of For	m M1	12				
	Reg	gular Method		April 1	<b>A</b> .5, 2013	<b>B</b> June 15, 2013	<b>C</b> Sept. 15, 2013	<b>D</b> Jan. 15, 2014			
ular Method	13	Enter 25% (.25) of line 6 in each you are a farmer, fisherman, us income worksheet on the back subject to either the alternative new 9.85% tax rate. See instrudo not enter 25% of line 6	ed the annualized of this form or were minimum tax or the octions if you	3							
lar I	14	Credits. See instructions		4							
Determine Penalty Using the Regu	15	<b>Overpayment.</b> If line 14 is more line 13 from line 14. Enter the to line 14 in the next column. O quarter following an underpayn applied to making up previous	result here and add it verpayments in any nent must first be	5							
alty Usi	16	<b>Underpayment.</b> If line 14 is less subtract line 14 from line 13. E here and go to line 17 below	s than line 13, nter the result								
ne Per	17	Enter the date of payment or Ap whichever is earlier (see instruct	oril 15, 2014,								
termir	18	Number of days between the particular and the date on line 17	ayment due date <b>1</b>	.8							
De	19	Divide line 18 by 365. The resu	It is a decimal 1	.9			_ <b>.</b>				
	20	Multiply line 19 by 3% (.03). En	ter as a decimal 2	0		<b>.</b>					
	21	Multiply line 20 by line 16		1							
	22	Penalty. Add columns A-D on li line 33 of Form M1					22				

#### **Worksheet - Annualized Income Installment**

		(a) 1/1/13–3/31/13	(b) 1/1/13–5/31/13	(c) 1/1/13-8/31/13	(d) 1/1/13–12/31/13
Step 1	Amount from line 11 of federal Schedule Al of Form 2210.				
Step 2	Minnesota additions (see instructions below)				
Step 3	Add step 1 and step 2				
Step 4	Minnesota subtractions (see instructions below)				
Step 5	Subtract step 4 from step 3				
Step 6	Figure the tax for the amount shown in step 5. Deduct appropriate nonrefundable credits. Include annualized Minnesota alternative minimum tax.				
Step 7	Percentage for each period	22.5%	45%	67.5%	90%
Step 8	Multiply step 6 by step 7				
Complet	e Steps 9–15 of one column before going to the next column				
Step 9	Add the amounts from step 15 from all preceding payment periods.				
Step 10	Subtract step 9 from step 8 (if result is zero or less, enter 0)				
Step 11	Enter 25% (.25) of line 6 of Schedule M15 in each column				
Step 12	Enter step 14 of the preceding column.				
Step 13	Add step 11 and step 12				
Step 14	Subtract step 10 from step 13 (if result is zero or less, enter 0)				
Step 15	Amount from step 10 or step 13, <b>whichever is less</b> . Also enter this amount on line 13 of Schedule M15.				

## **Instructions for Above Worksheet**

#### Step 2

Using the amounts from lines 2 and 3 of Form M1, determine your Minnesota additions for each quarter. Enter the total amounts in step 2.

#### Step 4

Using the amounts from lines 5 and 6 of Form M1, determine your Minnesota subtractions for each quarter.

#### Step 6 – Minnesota 9.85% Tax Rate and Alternative Minimum Tax

If the 9.85% income tax rate applies, determine the amount of tax for columns A, B and C without taking into account the rate change.

If the Minnesota alternative minimum tax applies, determine the amount of Minnesota alternative taxable income for each quarter. Multiply that amount by the appropriate multiplier shown on line 2 of the federal Schedule AI of Form 2210. From the resulting annualized alternative minimum taxable income, subtract the appropriate minimum amounts depending on the filing status (\$72,010 for married filing joint, \$35,510 for married filing separately, or \$53,260 for single or head of household) and multiply the difference by 6.4 percent (.064) for columns A, B and C and 6.75 percent (.0675) for column D. If the result is more than the regular tax shown on step 6, replace the regular tax with the Minnesota alternative minimum tax. See Schedule M1MT for instructions on figuring the Minnesota alternative taxable income.

# 2013 Schedule M15 Instructions

Underpayment of Estimated Income Tax for Individuals (Form M1)

# Who Must File

If you are an individual, use this schedule to determine if you owe a penalty for underpaying estimated tax.

You may owe an underpayment penalty if you received income in 2013 on which \$500 or more of Minnesota income tax is due after you subtract:

- · the Minnesota income tax that was withheld from your income; and
- the total you claim for the refundable 2013 Child and Dependent Care, Working Family, K-12 Education, Angel Investment, Historic Structure Rehabilitation, Bovine Tuberculosis Testing and Job Opportunity Building Zone (JOBZ) Jobs credits.

You do not have to pay an underpayment penalty if all of the following apply:

- you did not have a Minnesota tax liability on line 20 of your 2012 Form M1;
- you were a Minnesota resident for all of 2012; and
- your 2012 return covered a 12-month period.

Nonresidents and part-year residents. Determine your required annual payment based on your Minnesota assignable adjusted gross income.

Farmers and commercial fishermen. If you filed Form M1 and paid your entire income tax by March 1, 2013, or paid two-thirds of your income tax by January 15, 2013, you do not have to complete this schedule.

You are considered a farmer or commercial fisherman if two-thirds of your annual gross income is earned by farming or commercial fishing.

# **Exceptions to the Penalty**

If the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) does not require you to pay additional charges for underestimating your federal tax because you are newly retired or disabled, or because of a casualty, disaster or other unusual circumstances, do not complete Schedule M15. Include a copy of your federal request with your Form M1.

## **Avoiding the Penalty**

To avoid an underpayment penalty of estimated tax, you must have had withholding or made the required, timely estimated tax payments and paid the lesser of:

- 90 percent of your current year's original tax liability (66.7 percent if you are a farmer or commercial fisherman); or
- 100 percent of your prior year's total tax liability-unless your federal adjusted gross income on the 2012 Form M1 is more than \$150,000, you must use 110 percent of your previous year's tax liability instead of 100 percent.

Nonresidents and part-year residents must have had at least \$1 of Minnesota tax liability to use 100 percent of the prior year's tax.

# **Fiscal Year Taxpayers**

If you file your Minnesota return on a fiscal year basis, change the payment due dates to the 15th day of the fourth, sixth and ninth months of your fiscal year, and the first month of your next fiscal year.

# Line Instructions

These instructions refer to your original return. However, an amended return is considered the original return if it is filed by the due date of the original return. Also, a joint Form *M1 that replaces previously filed separate* returns is considered the original return.

## Line 1

Enter the amount from line 20 of Form M1. If you were subject to the alternative minimum tax or the 9.85% income tax rate, determine the amount for line 1 using the worksheet below. You are subject to the 9.85% if the amount on line 8 of Form M1 is more than \$150,000 for single filers,

# Worksheet for Line 1

\$250,000 for joint filers, \$200,000 for heads of household and \$125,000 for married filing separate.

### Line 5

If you did not file a 2012 return, skip line 5 and enter the amount from line 4 on line 6.

Enter the amount from line 20 of your 2012 Form M1, unless your 2012 federal adjusted gross income (from line 37 of federal Form 1040 or line 21 of Form 1040A) was more than \$150,000. Nonresidents and part-year residents use Minnesota assignable adjusted gross income.

If your 2012 federal adjusted gross income was more than \$150,000, multiply line 20 of your 2012 Form M1 by 110 percent (1.10). Enter the result on line 5 of Schedule M15.

# **Optional Short Method or Regular Method**

You may use the optional short method only if you were not subject to the alternative minimum tax, the new 9.85% tax rate, line 5 was less than line 4 and one of the following applies:

- you did not make any estimated tax payments (or your only payments were from Minnesota income tax withheld from your wages); OR
- you paid your 2013 estimated tax in four equal amounts on or before the due date of each installment.

Continued

1	Tax before the rate change (determine using the chart below)Part-year and nonresidents: multiply the amount from the chartby line 25 of Schedule M1NR
2	Total nonrefundable credits (from line 19 of Form M1) 2
3	Subtract step 2 from step 1 3
4	Multiply step 3 by 75% (.75) 4
5	Tax after nonrefundable credits (from line 20 of Form M1) 5
6	Multiply step 5 by 25% (.25) 6
7	Add step 4 and step 6. Enter the result on line 1 of Schedule M15 7

Filing Status	Step 1 Calculation:				
Single	\$10,725	+	(7.85% of the amount line 8 of Form M1 exceeds \$150,000)		
Married Joint	\$17,894	+	(7.85% of the amount line 8 of Form M1 exceeds \$250,000)		
Married Separate	\$8,947	+	(7.85% of the amount line 8 of Form M1 exceeds \$125,000)		
Head of Household	\$14,231	+	(7.85% of the amount line 8 of Form M1 exceeds \$200,000)		
If you were subject to the alternative minimum tax from Schedule M1MT, multiply the amount on line 26 of Schedule M1MT by 6.4% and complete Step 1 of the worksheet above.					

**Note:** If any payment was made *before* the installment due date, it is best to use the regular method. Using the short method will cause you to pay a larger penalty than the regular method. If the payment was only a few days early, the difference is likely to be small.

Continue with line 7 to use the optional short method.

If you are not eligible or you choose not to use the optional short method, use the regular method to determine your underpayment penalty. Skip lines 7–12 and continue with line 13.

### **Optional Short Method** Line 7

Enter the total amount of 2013 estimated tax payments you made in 2013 and 2014. Do not include any other amounts on line 7.

#### Line 12

Subtract line 11 from line 10. This is the amount of your underpayment of estimated tax penalty.

Enter this amount on line 33 of your 2013 Form M1.

If you owe an amount on line 32 of Form M1, add the penalty on line 12 of this schedule to the amount owed and replace line 32 of Form M1 with the total.

If you have a refund on line 30 of Form M1, subtract the penalty on line 12 of this schedule from your refund and replace line 30 of Form M1 with the result.

## **Regular Method**

*Complete column A, lines 13–16. Then, depending on whether you have an under-payment or an overpayment, either continue with line 17 of column A (underpayment) or line 13 of column B (overpayment).* 

#### Line 13

Enter 25 percent (.25) of line 6 in each of the four columns on line 13, unless one of the three following conditions applies to you:

1 Your taxable income was higher at some times during the year and lower at others.

You may benefit by figuring your installments using the annualized income installment method. For example, if you received income from which no tax was withheld in April or later, complete the worksheet on the back of Schedule M15.

The annualized income installment worksheet automatically selects the smaller of the annualized income installment or the regular installment (increased by the amount saved by using the annualized income installment method in figuring earlier installments).

If you use this method for one payment due date, you must use it for all. Follow the worksheet instructions on the back of Schedule M15.

2 You are a farmer or commercial fisherman and you did not pay your entire income tax by March 1, 2014, or you did not pay two-thirds of your income tax when you paid your estimated tax by January 15, 2014.

Enter the full amount of line 6 under column D of line 13 and omit columns A, B and C of line 13.

3 You were subject to the alternative minimum tax or the new 9.85% income tax rate and line 4 of Schedule M15 was less than line 5. If this applies to you, use the worksheet below to determine what to enter in columns A, B, C and D of line 13. If line 5 of Schedule M15 was less than line 4, enter 25% of line 6 in each column of line 13.

#### Line 14

For each payment period, enter the total amount of:

- estimated payments you paid for each payment period;
- Minnesota income tax withheld in 2013;
- your 2012 income tax refund, if you elected on your 2012 Minnesota return to apply all or a portion of your refund to your 2013 estimated tax; and
- any refundable credits you claim for 2013.

You are considered to have paid any Minnesota income tax withheld or received any refundable credits (Child and Dependent Care, Working Family, K–12 Education, Angel Investment, Historic Structure Rehabilitation, Bovine Tuberculosis Testing or JOBZ Jobs credits) evenly during the year unless you show otherwise. If you worked all year, divide the total amount of withholding and credits by 4, and enter the result in each column. Your 2013 refund, if any, is considered a credit to your first payment period.

If you filed your 2013 Minnesota return and paid the tax you owed on or before Janu-

## Worksheet for Line 13, Condition 3

- 1 Multiply the amount from step 3 in the instructions for line 1 by 90% (0.90)
   1
- 2 Multiply step 1 by 25% (0.25). Enter the result here and in columns A, B and C of line 13 ..... 2
- 3 Multiply the amount from line 20 of Form M1 by 90% (0.90)...... 3
- 4 Multiply step 3 by 25% (0.25), enter the result in column D of line 13. 4 \_\_\_\_\_

ary 31, 2014, you may consider the tax paid as of January 15, 2014.

# Lines 15 and 16

Compare line 13 of each column to line 14 of the same column.

**If line 14 is more than line 13, you have an overpayment** for the payment period. Subtract line 13 from line 14 and enter the result on line 15.

Add line 15 to the credit on line 14 of the next column. Overpayments in any quarter following an underpayment must first be applied to making up previous underpayments.

**If line 14 is less than line 13, you have an underpayment** for that payment period. Subtract line 14 from line 13 and enter the result on line 16. Continue with line 17.

#### Line 17

If you have an underpayment in all four quarters, in each column enter the date you filed your return or April 15, 2014, whichever is earlier.

Otherwise, enter the date when the underpayment on line 16 was paid in full.

**Example:** You made your first quarter estimated tax payment on April 20, but you show an underpayment on line 16. On June 14, you paid your second quarter payment in full and included the underpayment from the first quarter. On line 17, you would enter June 14 in the first and second quarter columns.

#### Line 22

Add the amounts on line 21, columns A–D and enter the result on line 22. This is the amount of your underpayment of estimated tax penalty.

Enter this amount on line 33 of your 2013 Form M1.

If you owe an amount on line 32 of Form M1, add the penalty on line 22 of this schedule to the amount owed and replace line 32 of Form M1 with the total.

If you have a refund on line 30 of Form M1, subtract the penalty on line 22 of this schedule from your refund and replace line 30 of Form M1 with the result.