MINNESOTA* REVENUE
Reciprocity Exemption/Affidavit of Residency for Tax Year 2013

For Michigan and North Dakota Residents who Work in Minnesota

Read instructions on back. Please print.

Employees: Complete this form and give it to your employer.

MWR

Employee’s last name First name and initial

Employee’s Social Security number

Permanent address

City State (check one) Zip code
_E D Michigan D North Dakota
g
:§ 1 If you earned wages in Minnesota during the previous year, enter the wages you earned. $
£ (nearest dollar)
5; 2 | have lived at the above residence since (month and year)
(=)
=
E 3 Do you return to the above residence at least once @ MONN? . .. ...ttt e [Jves [INo*
* If your answer is NO, you do not qualify for the reciprocity exemption.
4 Were you ever a resident of Minnesota? ................... L IYES, from to LINO
(month/year) (month/year)
Current Minnesota employer’s name Employer’s Minnesota tax ID
5 S
s- E Employer’s Minnesota mailing address Employer‘s phone
s E
E L
T} £ City State Zip code
Minnesota
o o |declare that the above information is correct and complete to the best of my knowledge and belief.
§ 5 I understand there is a $500 penalty for making false statements.
_:_ % Employee’s signature Date Daytime phone
Eo
Employers: Mail this form to Minnesota Revenue, Mail Station 6501, St. Paul, MN 55146-6501.

(Rev. 12/12)

Keep a copy for your records.

Note: If this form is not filled out completely, you must withhold Minnesota income tax from wages earned in

Minnesota.



Instructions for Form MWR

Instructions for Employees
Minnesota has income tax reciprocity
agreements with Michigan and North
Dakota.

If you are a resident of one of these two
states and you return to your residence in
Michigan or North Dakota at least once a
month, you do not have to pay Minnesota
income tax on wages you earn for work in
Minnesota. You must, however, pay tax to
your state of residence on wages earned
from a Minnesota employer.

If you do not want Minnesota tax with-
held from your wages, complete this form
and give it to your employer by the later

of February 28 or within 30 days after you
begin working or change your permanent
residence. You must give your employer

a new form each year if you want to stay
exempt from Minnesota withholding tax.
Do not complete Form W-4MN, Minnesota
Employee Withholding Allowance/Exemption
Certificate, to claim exemption from Min-
nesota withholding tax.

If you do not complete Form MWR and
give it to your employer by the due date,
your employer must withhold Minnesota
taxes from your wages.

If you want a refund of tax already
withheld for the year, and you want your
employer to:

« Continue withholding Minnesota tax
from your wages for next year, include
this form when you file your Form M1,
Minnesota Individual Income Tax Return.
Do not give it to your employer.

« Stop withholding Minnesota tax, give
this form to your employer and include a
copy when you file your Form M1.

If you have not yet filed your Form M1 and
you will be filing:

o electronically, fax this form to the de-
partment at 651-556-5130 at least one
business day before you electronically file
your return.

o a paper return, include this form when
you file your Form M1.

If your return has already been filed, mail
this form to Minnesota Revenue, Mail Sta-
tion 6501, St. Paul MN 55146-6501.

Fill Out the Form Completely

If you do not fill in every item on this form,
your employer must withhold Minnesota
income tax from your wages using the same
marital status and number of allowances
you claimed on your federal Form W-4.

Sign and date the form. Fill in a phone
number where you can be reached during
the day.

Penalties

If you make any statements on this form
that you know are incorrect, you may be
assessed a $500 penalty.

Use of Information

All information on Form MWR is private by
state law. It may only be given to your state
of residence, the Internal Revenue Service
and to other state tax agencies as provided
by law. The information may be compared
with other information you furnished to the
Department of Revenue.

Your name, address and Social Security
number are required for identification.
Your address is also required to verify your
state of residence. Your employer’s name,
Minnesota tax ID number, address and
phone number are required in case we have
to contact your employer regarding with-
holding tax from your wages. If you do not
complete the information, your employer is
required to withhold Minnesota income tax
from your wages.

The only information not required is your
phone number. However, we ask that you
provide it so we can contact you quickly if
we have questions.

Instructions for Employers
Employees who reside in Michigan or North
Dakota who ask you not to withhold Min-
nesota income tax from their wages must
complete this form and give it to you each
year by the later of February 28 or within

30 days after they begin working for you or
change their residence. Employees who live
in other states, including Minnesota, cannot
use this form.

If an employee does not fill in every item of
Form MWR, you must withhold Minnesota
income tax, using the same marital status
and number of allowances claimed on the
employee’s federal Form W-4.

If the employee provides you with a prop-
erly completed Form MWR, the employee
is not required to complete Form W-4MN
to claim exemption from Minnesota income
tax withholding.

Submit completed Forms MWR to the de-
partment. By March 31 of each year, send
the completed Forms MWR you received

to Minnesota Revenue, Mail Station 6501,
St. Paul, MN 55146-6501. You must keep a
copy of all forms for five years from the date
received.

For new employees or employees who
change their state of residence, send the
form within 30 days after the employee
gives it to you.

You may be assessed a $50 penalty for each
form you are required to send us but do not.

Information and Assistance
If you need help or additional information,
call 651-282-9999 or 1-800-657-3594 (TTY:
Call 711 for Minnesota Relay). Or, send an
email to withholding.tax@state.mn.us.

Forms are available on our website at
www.revenue.state.mn.us or by calling
651-296-4444 or 1-800-657-3676 from
within Minnesota. You can also write for
forms at the following address:

Minnesota Tax Forms
Mail Station 1421
St. Paul, MN 55146-1421

We'll provide information in other formats
upon request to persons with disabilities.
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