## MINNESOTA · REVENUE ne Tax 2012 Sc

For

Sequ	ence	#10
Your	first	nam

ame and initial	Last name		Social Security number	
Required Annual Payment 1 Minnesota income tax for 2	2 <b>012</b> (from line 22 of Form M1)		<b>1</b>	
2 Minnesota withholding and	credits for 2012 (add lines 23 and 25-28	of Form M1)		
<b>3</b> Subtract line 2 from line 1.	ent penalty 3			
5 Minnesota income tax for 2	. Farmers and commercial ishermen: Mul- 011 (from line 20 of Form M1). See instruc more than \$150,000 or if you did not file a	tions if your <b>201</b>	<b>1</b> federal	
6 Required annual payment.	Amount from line 4 or line 5, whichever is le	ess	6	
	qual to line 2, stop here; you do not owe an t 2, continue with line 7 or line 13, dependir			
<b>Optional Short Method</b> (see	instructions to determine which method to u	use)		
7 Estimated tax payments yo	u made for 2012			
8 Add line 2 and line 7				
	year. Subtract line 8 from line 6 p here; you do not owe an underpayment pe	enalty)	9	
<b>10</b> Multiply line 9 by 2% (.02)			10	
	rill be paid on or after April 15, 2013, enter of efore April 15, 2013, use the following com 1: amount on number of days paid line 9 X before 4/15/13	putation and	3 <b>11</b>	
12 Penalty. Subtract line 11 fr	om line 10. Enter result here and on line 33	B of Form M1	12	
	А	В	С	D
Regular Method	April 15, 2	_	, 2012 Sept. 15, 2012	_

Reg	gular Method	April 15, 2012	June 15, 2012	Sept. 15, 2012	Jan. 15, 2013
13	Enter 25% (.25) of line 6 in each column $\mathbf{OR}$ use the amounts from the annualized income installment worksheet on the back of this form. If you use the worksheet or are a farmer or fisherman, see instructions $\dots$ 13	3			
14	Credits. See instructions 14	•			
15	<b>Overpayment.</b> If line 14 is more than line 13, subtract line 13 from line 14. Enter the result here and add it to line 14 in the next column. Overpayments in any quarter following an underpayment must first be applied to making up previous underpayments <b>15</b>	5			
16	<b>Underpayment.</b> If line 14 is less than line 13, subtract line 14 from line 13. Enter the result here and go to line 17 below	6			
17	Enter the date of payment or April 15, 2013, whichever is earlier (see instructions)	7			
18	Number of days between the payment due date and the date on line 17 18	3			
19	Divide line 18 by 365. The result is a decimal 19		<u> </u>	<u> </u>	
20	Multiply line 19 by 3% (.03). Enter as a decimal 20	)	<u> </u>		
21	Multiply line 20 by line 16 21	L			
22	Penalty. Add columns A-D on line 21. Enter result here and line 33 of Form M1			22	

You must include this schedule with your Form M1.

**Required Annual Payment** 

**Determine Penalty Using** 

#### **Worksheet - Annualized Income Installment**

		1/1/12-3/31/12	1/1/12-5/31/12	1/1/12-8/31/12	1/1/12-12/31/12
Step 1	Amount from line 11 of federal Schedule Al of Form 2210.				
Step 2	Minnesota additions (see instructions below)				
Step 3	Add step 1 and step 2				
Step 4	Minnesota subtractions (see instructions below)				
Step 5	Subtract step 4 from step 3				
Step 6	Figure the tax for the amount shown in step 5. Deduct appropriate nonrefundable credits. Include annualized Minnesota alternative minimum tax.				
Step 7	Percentage for each period	22.5%	45%	67.5%	90%
Step 8	Multiply step 6 by step 7				
Complet	e Steps 9–15 of one column before going to the next column				
Step 9	Add the amounts from step 15 from all preceding payment periods.				
Step 10	Subtract step 9 from step 8 (if result is zero or less, enter 0)				
Step 11	Enter 25% (.25) of line 6 of Schedule M15 in each column				
Step 12	Enter step 14 of the preceding column.				
Step 13	Add step 11 and step 12				
Step 14	Subtract step 10 from step 13 (if result is zero or less, enter 0)				
Step 15	Amount from step 10 or step 13, <b>whichever is less</b> . Also enter this amount on line 13 of Schedule M15.				

## **Instructions for Above Worksheet**

#### Step 2

Using the amounts from lines 2 and 3 of Form M1, determine your Minnesota additions for each quarter. Enter the total amounts in step 2.

#### Step 4

Using the amounts from lines 5 and 6 of Form M1, determine your Minnesota subtractions for each quarter.

#### Step 6 – Minnesota Alternative Minimum Tax

If the Minnesota alternative minimum tax applies, determine the amount of Minnesota alternative taxable income for each quarter. Multiply that amount by the appropriate multiplier shown on line 2 of the federal Schedule Al of Form 2210. From the resulting annualized alternative minimum taxable income, subtract the appropriate minimum amounts depending on the filing status (\$69,230 for married filing joint, \$34,620 for married filing separately, or \$51,930 for single or head of household) and multiply the difference by 6.4 percent (.064). If the result is more than the regular tax shown on step 6, replace the regular tax with the Minnesota alternative minimum tax. See Schedule M1MT for instructions on figuring the Minnesota alternative taxable income.

## MINNESOTA • REVENUE

# Schedule M15 Instructions 2012

Underpayment of Estimated Income Tax for Individuals (Form M1)

Schedule M15 is for individuals only. Trusts and partnerships must use Schedule EST to determine if they owe a penalty for underpaying estimated tax.

## Who Must File

If you are an individual, use this schedule to determine if you owe a penalty for underpaying estimated tax.

You may owe an underpayment penalty if you received income in 2012 on which \$500 or more of Minnesota income tax is due after you subtract:

- the Minnesota income tax that was withheld from your income; and
- the total you claim for the refundable 2012 Child and Dependent Care, Working Family, K-12 Education, Increasing Research Activities, Angel Investment, Historic Structure Rehabilitation, Bovine Tuberculosis Testing and Job Opportunity Building Zone (JOBZ) Jobs credits.

You do not have to pay an underpayment penalty if all of the following apply:

- you did not have a Minnesota tax liability on line 22 of your 2011 Form M1;
- you were a Minnesota resident for all of 2011; and
- your 2011 return covered a 12-month period.

Nonresidents and part-year residents.

Determine your required annual payment based on your Minnesota assignable adjusted gross income.

**Farmers and commercial fishermen.** If you filed Form M1 and paid your entire income tax by March 1, 2013, or paid two-thirds of your income tax by January 15, 2013, you do not have to complete this schedule.

You are considered a farmer or commercial fisherman if two-thirds of your annual gross income is earned by farming or commercial fishing.

## **Exceptions to the Penalty**

If the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) does not require you to pay additional charges for underestimating your federal tax because you are newly retired or disabled, or because of a casualty, disaster or other unusual circumstances, do not complete Schedule M15. Include a copy of your federal request with your Form M1.

## **Avoiding the Penalty**

To avoid an underpayment penalty of estimated tax, you must have had withholding or made the required, timely estimated tax payments and paid the lesser of:

- 90 percent of your current year's original tax liability (66.7 percent if you are a farmer or commercial fisherman); or
- 100 percent of your prior year's total tax liability—unless your federal adjusted gross income on the 2011 Form M1 is more than \$150,000, you must use 110 percent of your previous year's tax liability instead of 100 percent.

Nonresidents and part-year residents must have had at least \$1 of Minnesota tax liability to use 100 percent of the prior year's tax.

## **Fiscal Year Taxpayers**

If you file your Minnesota return on a fiscal year basis, change the payment due dates to the 15th day of the fourth, sixth and ninth months of your fiscal year, and the first month of your next fiscal year.

## **Line Instructions**

These instructions refer to your original return. However, an amended return is considered the original return if it is filed by the due date of the original return. Also, a joint Form M1 that replaces previously filed separate returns is considered the original return.

#### Line 5

If you did not file a 2011 return, skip line 5 and enter the amount from line 4 on line 6.

Enter the amount from line 22 of your 2011 Form M1, unless your 2011 federal adjusted gross income (from line 37 of federal Form 1040 or line 21 of Form 1040A) was more than \$150,000. Nonresidents and part-year residents use Minnesota assignable adjusted gross income. If your 2011 federal adjusted gross income was more than \$150,000, multiply line 22 of your 2011 Form M1 by 110 percent (1.10). Enter the result on line 5 of Schedule M15.

## Optional Short Method or Regular Method

You may use the optional short method **only** if:

- you did not make any estimated tax payments (or your only payments were from Minnesota income tax withheld from your wages); **OR**
- you paid your 2012 estimated tax in four equal amounts on or before the due date of each installment.

**Note:** If any payment was made *before* the installment due date, it is best to use the regular method. Using the short method will cause you to pay a larger penalty than the regular method. If the payment was only a few days early, the difference is likely to be small.

Continue with line 7 to use the optional short method.

If you are not eligible or you choose not to use the optional short method, use the regular method to determine your underpayment penalty. Skip lines 7–12 and continue with line 13.

### Optional Short Method Line 7

Enter the total amount of 2012 estimated tax payments you made in 2012 and 2013. Do not include any other amounts on line 7.

### Line 12

Subtract line 11 from line 10. This is the amount of your underpayment of estimated tax penalty.

Enter this amount on line 33 of your 2012 Form M1.

If you owe an amount on line 32 of Form M1, add the penalty on line 12 of this schedule to the amount owed and replace line 32 of Form M1 with the total.

If you have a refund on line 30 of Form M1, subtract the penalty on line 12 of this schedule from your refund and replace line 30 of Form M1 with the result.

## **Regular Method**

Complete column A, lines 13–16. Then, depending on whether you have an underpayment or an overpayment, either continue with line 17 of column A (underpayment) or line 13 of column B (overpayment).

### Line 13

Enter 25 percent (.25) of line 6 in each of the four columns on line 13, unless one of the two following conditions applies to you:

1 Your taxable income was higher at some times during the year and lower at others.

You may benefit by figuring your installments using the annualized income installment method. For example, if you received income from which no tax was withheld in April or later, complete the worksheet on the back of Schedule M15.

The annualized income installment worksheet automatically selects the smaller of the annualized income installment or the regular installment (increased by the amount saved by using the annualized income installment method in figuring earlier installments).

If you use this method for one payment due date, you must use it for all. Follow the worksheet instructions on the back of Schedule M15.

2 You are a farmer or commercial fisherman and you did not pay your entire income tax by March 1, 2013, or you did not pay two-thirds of your income tax when you paid your estimated tax by January 15, 2013.

Enter the full amount of line 6 under column D of line 13 and omit columns A, B and C of line 13.

## Line 14

For each payment period, enter the total amount of:

- estimated payments you paid for each payment period;
- Minnesota income tax withheld in 2012;
- your 2011 income tax refund, if you elected on your 2011 Minnesota return to apply all or a portion of your refund to your 2012 estimated tax; and
- any refundable credits you claim for 2012.

You are considered to have paid any Minnesota income tax withheld or received any refundable credits (Child and Dependent Care, Working Family, K–12 Education, Increasing Research Activities, Angel Investment, Historic Structure Rehabilitation, Bovine Tuberculosis Testing or JOBZ Jobs credits) evenly during the year unless you show otherwise. If you worked all year, divide the total amount of withholding and credits by 4, and enter the result in each column. Your 2012 refund, if any, is considered a credit to your first payment period.

If you filed your 2012 Minnesota return and paid the tax you owed on or before January 31, 2013, you may consider the tax paid as of January 15, 2013.

## Lines 15 and 16

Compare line 13 of each column to line 14 of the same column.

**If line 14 is more than line 13, you have an overpayment** for the payment period. Subtract line 13 from line 14 and enter the result on line 15.

Add line 15 to the credit on line 14 of the next column. Overpayments in any quarter following an underpayment must first be applied to making up previous underpayments.

**If line 14 is less than line 13, you have an underpayment** for that payment period. Subtract line 14 from line 13 and enter the result on line 16. Continue with line 17.

### Line 17

If you have an underpayment in all four quarters, in each column enter the date you filed your return or April 15, 2013, whichever is earlier.

Otherwise, enter the date when the underpayment on line 16 was paid in full.

**Example:** You made your first quarter estimated tax payment on April 20, but you show an underpayment on line 16. On June 14, you paid your second quarter payment in full and included the underpayment from the first quarter. On line 17, you would enter June 14 in the first and second quarter columns.

### Line 22

Add the amounts on line 21, columns A–D and enter the result on line 22. This is the amount of your underpayment of estimated tax penalty.

Enter this amount on line 33 of your 2012 Form M1.

If you owe an amount on line 32 of Form M1, add the penalty on line 22 of this schedule to the amount owed and replace line 32 of Form M1 with the total.

If you have a refund on line 30 of Form M1, subtract the penalty on line 22 of this schedule from your refund and replace line 30 of Form M1 with the result.