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Executive Summary 

 
In 2003, Minnesota law was changed to allow licensed on-sale establishments to sell intoxicating 
liquor between the hours of 1 a.m. and 2 a.m.  The law was enacted during the 2003 Session and 
became effective July 1, 2003.  This study was also provided for in session laws.   
 
Two primary areas have been identified that might benefit from the law change.  The first area 
was the Minnesota convention business.  Because many other states allow the on-site sale of 
liquor past 1 a.m. changing the time to 2 a.m. is expected to produce a more competitive 
convention market in Minnesota.  The second area of commerce that may benefit from the extra 
hour of liquor sales was on-site establishments located near the state’s border.  The addition of 
an extra hour of on-site liquor sales would allow these establishments to attract customers from 
other states in addition to retaining Minnesota residents who might otherwise drive across the 
border. 
 
For conventions, the convention industry produces estimates of delegate spending per day by 
category.  This spending data in conjunction with anticipated gains in the number of convention 
delegates was the basis for this part of the estimate.  For cross-border gains, the Minnesota 
Department of Revenue reviewed changes in sales tax collections before and after the law 
change for border establishments that purchased 2 a.m. permits.  The difference in growth rates 
for liquor sales tax collections was used as a proxy for border establishment gains.  The study 
focuses on new spending, not increased spending between 1 a.m. and 2 a.m. by Minnesota 
residents who would not otherwise have left the state.  Spending by Minnesota residents is 
assumed to be spending that would have taken place somewhere else in Minnesota’s economy 
and would not result in a revenue gain. 
 
Based on the results of this study, it appears that there may be tax revenue gains from both 
increased convention activity and additional cross-border traffic.  While the gains from cross-
border traffic were immediate, additional convention activity will take until 2007 to fully mature.  
The lag in convention activity gains is due to the long lead times between convention planning 
and the actual event.  The estimated tax revenue gains are: 
 

Estimated Additional Tax Revenue 
($ Thousands) 

 
 Calendar Years 

Activity 2004 2005 2006 2007 

Convention Gains  $52  $108  $166  $227 
Cross-Border Gains  133  137  141  145 

    Total  $185  $245  $307  $372 

 
While the law change is estimated to be beneficial to Minnesota’s economy, the positive impact 
does not meet the threshold of $3,850,000 per year specified in law. 
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Introduction 

 
Licensed on-sale establishments can sell intoxicating liquor between the hours of 1 a.m. and  
2 a.m. as a result of a law change in 2003 (see page 13).  The law established a graduated annual 
permit fee based on the annual gross receipts of the establishment.  Each business pays a fee of 
$200, $500, or $600 depending on their gross sales (see permit application on page 14 and fee 
chart on page 18). 
 
Session law (Laws 2003 First Special Session, Chapter 19, Article 2, Section 76) provides the 
following:   
 

 (a) The commissioner of revenue, in consultation with the hospitality industry, 
shall conduct a study to determine the amount of the annual increase in state 
tax revenue that is attributable to changes in the hours of permissible sale of 
alcoholic beverages.  The commissioner shall report the results of the study to 
the governor and legislature by January 15, 2005. 

 

 (b) If the study determines that the amount of the annual increase is at least $3,850,000 
during the period studied, the commissioner shall so report to the Secretary of State.  

 
The analysis considers fiscal impacts from the 2 a.m. closing law change.  Two primary areas 
have been identified that might benefit from the change in closing time.  The first area is 
Minnesota’s convention business.  Very few other states require their on-site establishments to 
stop selling liquor at 1 a.m.  Since many other states allow the on-site sale of liquor past  
1 a.m., changing the closing time to 2 a.m. could make Minnesota more competitive in the 
convention market.   
 
The second area of commerce that may benefit from the extra hour of liquor sales is  
on-sale establishments located near the state’s border.  The addition of an hour of on-site liquor 
sales would allow these establishments to gain additional customers from other states in addition 
to retaining Minnesota residents who might otherwise drive to another state based on closing 
times.  
 
Both new convention activity and increased border sales would generate additional Minnesota 
revenue, and bring new spending into Minnesota’s economy.  Changes in liquor consumption 
patterns by Minnesota residents are expected to have little or no net statewide fiscal impact.  It is 
expected that the 2 a.m. closing law change will result in altered market shares for on-sale 
businesses, sometimes related to which businesses hold a 2 a.m. license.  It is not expected that 
Minnesotans will significantly alter their on-sale alcohol consumption spending.  Additionally, it 
is expected that Minnesotans’ entertainment spending is also relatively fixed.  Bar owners report 
that patrons tend to shift time periods that they spend at on-sale establishments by arriving later 
to leave later.  Moreover, to the extent that an increase in liquor spending could be identified, it 
is expected that this new liquor spending would be a substitution for spending that would have 
taken place and taxed somewhere else in the statewide economy (i.e., Minnesota’s residents 
personal income is unchanged).    
 



 

   3

 
For the convention estimates, consultation with interested parties included two meetings that 
were held with representatives of the Minnesota hospitality industry (see page 22), meetings with 
other state agency representatives, and a survey of convention and visitor bureaus provided by 
Explore Minnesota Tourism (see pages 20-21).   
 
The hospitality industry was asked to provide input on the study and to supply any information 
that was relevant to the study and also any similar studies that had been done that examined the 
impacts of changing closing times for on-site liquor sales.   
 
The survey of selected convention and visitor bureaus in Minnesota provided general level 
information and found some consistent responses.  First, estimated spending per convention 
visitor was generally less than the national estimate used by the International Association of 
Convention and Visitor Bureaus (IACVB).  Second, the lead time for scheduling new convention 
activity was relatively long.  Cities had yet to see any significant effects that are directly linked 
to the closing time law change.  Finally, most bureaus reported that, despite finding no specific 
current effects, they believe that the 2 a.m. law change will improve the competitive position of 
the industry. 
 
For conventions, the industry produces estimates of delegate per-day spending by category.  
These estimates were used to calculate sales tax generated by a convention delegate.  To estimate 
the gains in tax revenues other than sales tax, an impact model was used to convert delegate 
spending into Minnesota personal income.  This made it possible to estimate gains in state tax 
revenues other than sales tax.  Using this approach and making assumptions based on history and 
convention industry input, a total revenue gain figure was calculated.  The industry provided 
input about the number of convention delegates that would be attracted to Minnesota solely 
because of the law change. 
 
For cross-border gains, Minnesota sales tax returns were reviewed to determine changes in liquor 
sales tax collections for establishments that purchased 2 a.m. permits and were located near the 
state border.  These collections were compared to changes in liquor sales tax collections for non-
border establishments.  This comparison provided an estimate of liquor sales tax collections that 
might reasonably be attributed to gains in cross-border sales.  Liquor sales tax was converted into 
spending.  Using a method similar to the one used for the convention estimate, a state impact 
model was used to estimate changes in personal income.  The change in personal income was 
then used to estimate gains in other state tax revenues.  
 
The details of the methodology and estimates for the convention and cross-border activity are 
explained in the following two sections. 
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Convention Analysis 

 
The law change allowing closing times of 2 a.m. for bars and restaurants in Minnesota is expected 
to increase the competitive advantage of the hospitality industry to attract national and international 
convention business to the state.  An increased number of conventions due to later bar and 
restaurant closing times would yield more nonresident visitors, increasing business and tourism 
spending in the Minnesota economy.  It is estimated that site selection and planning for a 
convention occurs an average of three years prior to the actual convention date.  Considering the 2 
a.m. law change took effect in July 2003 with the majority of licenses being issued by early 2004, 
convention activity increase attributed to the 2 a.m. closing time would not be fully realized until 
2007. 
 

According to TravelScope survey data and the Minnesota Department of Employment and 
Economic Development, nonresident visitor days to Minnesota for conventions and seminars 
increased 1.0 percent on an average annual basis from 1995-2003 and was approximately 
1,504,000 days in 2003.  These visits represent overnight stays by business travelers attending 
conventions and seminars in Minnesota.  Assuming a similar continued increase in visitor days, 
Minnesota could expect approximately 1,565,000 nonresident convention visitor days by 2007 
without the effects of 2 a.m. closing times.  Based on reasonable expectations and input from the 
convention industry, the study uses a 0.5 percent increase in convention attendees by 2007 
attributed solely to the 2 a.m. closing time.  This increase equates to an additional 7,825 visitor 
days by 2007. 
 

The increase in nonresident visitor days would lead to an increased level of spending at Minnesota 
businesses.  This study accounts for total increased spending by convention attendees, not simply 
the hourly incremental spending from 1 a.m. to 2 a.m.  The IACVB estimates that a convention 
attendee spends an average of $266 per day on items such as lodging, food and beverage, 
transportation, retail, and entertainment in 2004, up 1.9 percent annually from 2002 (see table on  
page 10).  Assuming a similar growth rate through 2007, convention delegates would spend $281 
per day in 2007.  This spending is estimated to generate $19.03 of sales tax per visitor day (see 
table on page 10).  The total sales and liquor excise taxes generated from spending by the increased 
number of convention attendees attributed solely to the 2 a.m. closing time is estimated to be 
$151,000 in 2007 (see table on page 5). 
 

The spending from an increased number of convention attendees will also have an impact on 
personal income in the state and generate other state tax revenues such as income tax and motor 
fuels tax.  Based on results from the economic analysis model1, spending by the increased number 
of convention attendees would increase personal income in Minnesota by $1,260,000 in 2007.  
From the November 2004 Forecast Price of Government, one dollar of personal income generates 
6.0¢ in all other state tax revenue in addition to the general sales and liquor excise taxes.  
Therefore, the increased personal income produced from spending by the increased number of 
convention attendees generates $76,000 in all other state tax revenue. 
 

In summary, the increased convention attendees attributable to the 2 a.m. closing time for bars and 
restaurants will generate $227,000 in total state tax revenue in 2007.  Assuming marginal increases 
in convention activity attributable to the 2 a.m. closing time prior to 2007, there would be a lesser 
increase in state tax revenues of $52,000 in 2004, $108,000 in 2005, and $166,000 in 2006.  This 
phasing-in effect is due to the time lag between planning and the actual event. 

                                                 
1 Regional Economic Model, Inc. (REMI) 
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Convention Activity Increase 
2007 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

State Tax Revenue Generated from Spending by 
Increased Number of Convention Attendees Due to 2 a.m. Closing Times 

 

Flowchart 
Box 

 
Formula 

 
Outcome 

 
Activity 

1 TravelScope 1,565,000 Visitor days to Minnesota by nonresidents for conventions. 
2 1 x 0.5% 7,825 ½ percent increase in visitor days attributable to 2 a.m.  
3 IACVB $281 Spending per convention visitor day. 
4 3 x 6.8% ETR $19.03 Generated sales tax revenue per visitor day. 

5 2 x 4 $149,000 
Generated total sales tax revenue from increased 
convention activity. 

6 5 x 3.8% x 36% $2,000 Generated increased liquor excise tax revenue. 
7 2 x 3 $2,199,000 Generated increased spending by convention delegates. 

8 REMI $1,260,000 
Generated additional personal income from increased 
spending by convention delegates. 

9 8 x 6 ¢ $76,000 
Generated “all other state tax revenue” – 6 ¢ per dollar of 
increased personal income. 

10 5 + 6 + 9 $227,000 
Generated total state tax revenues from increased 
convention activity. 
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Cross-Border Analysis 

 
Information from the Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Liquor Enforcement Division 
identified the bars and restaurants in the state that purchased the optional 2 a.m. closing license 
(see application and other participation information in appendix).  The license registration 
information indicated that there were 897 businesses with the optional 2 a.m. license as of 
October 2004.  Further, 77 percent of the optional 2 a.m. closing licenses issued between 7/1/03 
(the first available date) and 6/30/04 were issued during the first six months.   
 
Minnesota Department of Revenue sales tax data through September 2004 was used to identify 
and estimate industry tax revenue growth patterns.  Year-to-year computations were made based 
on the six month period, January through June.  Half-year amounts were annualized to calculate 
full-year changes.  This analysis focuses on the tax revenue received at the 9 percent liquor rate.  
The tax revenue receipts at the 6.5 percent rate did not indicate higher growth rates by border 
establishments as compared to other establishments with the optional license. 
 
The current law 9 percent liquor sales tax rate changes to 6.5 percent as of January 1, 2006.  This 
analysis uses the 9 percent liquor rate and makes no adjustment for the change to 6.5 percent.  
The rate change to 6.5 percent will move the state closer to a single statewide sales tax rate.  The 
effect of not making an adjustment for the current law rate change to 6.5 percent in 2006 is to 
overstate the 2006 and 2007 estimates. 
 
The data aggregation (see following summary table) indicates that establishments with optional  
2 a.m. licenses showed tax revenue growth for the identified period in 2003 and 2004 of 5 
percent.  This compares with approximately 2.7 percent growth for establishments without the 
optional license.  The strongest factor in the trend of the series of growth rates for all businesses 
is likely general economic conditions. 
 

Annual Growth Rates – Minnesota Liquor Sales Tax 
 

Establishments 2001-2002 2002-2003 2003-2004 

All Bars  3.5%  1.6%  3.5% 
    
2 a.m. Licensees  3.0%  4.1%  5.0% 

    2 a.m. excluding border  2.7%  3.8%  4.6% 

    Border 2 a.m.  7.3%  7.0%  8.6% 
    
1 a.m. Businesses  3.8%  0.3%  2.7% 

 
 Note:   Underlying data aggregations use available tax return year-to-year 

information; businesses that closed or transferred ownership are not included. 
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It was expected that this growth rate comparison might provide information on the tax revenue 
growth attributable to the change in the closing times.  Determining specific differences between 
the types of liquor businesses with this general-level data is difficult.  Anecdotal information 
from bar owners suggests that there is average additional growth in the 0 percent to 3 percent 
range for all businesses that have a 2 a.m. license.  The growth rate information (see previous 
table) suggests that the difference in average growth rates between 2 a.m. establishments and 
other establishments might be in the 0 percent to 1 percent range. 
 
It is difficult to identify a definitive difference between the border businesses and the non-border 
businesses.  Direct information that would have segmented any generally observable growth 
percentage differences into smaller gradations was not identified.  Nevertheless, for purposes of 
estimation it is assumed in the following calculation that the difference in the gross percentage 
change between licensed border businesses and licensed non-border businesses is 2 percentage 
points. 
 
The 148 border establishments with 2 a.m. licenses remitted approximately $3,565,000 in 9 
percent sales tax receipts for calendar year 2004, which equates to $39,611,000 of sales.  It is 
estimated that this yields $792,000 of additional liquor revenue spending due to the 2 a.m. 
closing change, and $71,000 in liquor sales tax revenue. 
 
The $71,000 estimated increase in liquor sales tax revenues is the basis for estimates of the 
increased liquor excise tax revenues and the increase from all other tax types.  The total liquor 
excise tax collections were compared to total liquor sales tax collections.  It is estimated that the 
impact on liquor excise tax collections of a $71,000 liquor sales tax increase is $26,000.  Also, 
using the same method from the convention analysis which relates spending to personal income 
and to all other taxes, it is estimated that the increase in all other taxes is $36,000. 
 
To summarize, the primary assumption is that bars with 2 a.m. licenses and located near the 
border realized on average a net gain in revenues of 2 percent.  From this assumption, it is 
estimated that the total tax revenue impact is the increased liquor sales tax revenues ($71,000) 
plus the increased liquor excise tax ($26,000) plus the increased tax from all other tax types 
($36,000).  It is estimated that the total tax impact from increased cross-border activity is 
$133,000 for calendar year 2004.       
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Minnesota Border Activity Increase 
2004 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

State Tax Revenue Generated from Spending by 
Increased Border Liquor Spending Due to 2 a.m. Closing Time 

 

Flowchart 
Box 

 
Formula 

 
Outcome 

 
Activity 

1 DOR data 1.0% 
Estimated percentage change in liquor tax for non-border 2 
a.m. licensed on-sale establishments. 

2 DOR data 2.0% 
Estimated percentage change in liquor tax for border  
2 a.m. licensed on-sale establishments. 

3 
2.0% x 

$3,565,000 
$71,000 

Generated total liquor sales tax revenue from increased 
border activity. 

4 3 ÷ 9.0% $792,000 
Generated increased liquor spending at border licensed  
on-sale establishments. 

5 REMI $435,000 
Generated additional personal income from increased liquor 
spending at border on-sale establishments. 

6 5 x 8.3¢ $36,000 
Generated “all other state tax revenue” – 8 ¢ per dollar of 
increased personal income. 

7 3 x 36% $26,000 Generated increased liquor excise tax revenue. 

8 3 + 6 + 7 $133,000 
Generated total state tax revenues from increased border 
activity. 

Estimated  
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additional personal  
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on - sale  
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border 2 a.m.  

licensed on - sale  
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Generated  
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revenue”  – 8 ¢ per  
dollar of increased  
personal income. 
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total state tax 

revenues
from increased 
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1 3 

2 

4

5

6

7

8 

Generated 
increased liquor 

excise tax revenue.

non - 
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revenue from 
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activity.
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increased liquor  

spending at border  
licensed on - sale  
establishments. 
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income from  
increased liquor  

spending at border  
on - sale  

establishments. 

- 
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revenue”  – 
dollar of increased  
personal income. 
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total state tax 

revenues
from increased 
border activity.

1 3 

2 

4

5

6

7

8 

Generated 
increased liquor 

excise tax revenue.
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Expenditures Per Conventioneer 

 

Delegate  
Spending 

 
2002 

 
2004 

2007 Est. 
(1.9% Annual 

Increase from 2004) 

Total Per Day $256 $266 $281 

 
 

Average Convention Visitor Spending 
Estimated Sales Tax Collections (per day) 

 

 
 
 

Activities 

2004 Per 
Person 

Per Day 
Spending 

2004 
Effective 
Sales Tax 

Rate 

2004 Per 
Person Per 

Day ST Paid 
Estimate 

2007 Per 
Person Per 

Day ST Paid 
Estimate2 

Lodging/Incidentals  $118  6.5%  $7.70  $8.12 
Hotel Food & Beverage*  34  6.5% / 9.0%  2.38  2.51 
Restaurant Food & Beverage*  30  6.5% / 9.0%  2.10  2.22 
Tours/Sightseeing  5  6.5%  0.34  0.36 
Admissions to Museums, Theatres  2  6.5%  0.14  0.14 
Recreation  1  6.5%  0.07  0.07 
Sporting Events  1  6.5%  0.07  0.07 
Retail Stores*  26  0% / 6.5%  1.69  1.78 
Local Transportation (taxi, limo)*  3  6.5%  0.20  0.21 
Automobile Rental  7  12.7%  0.92  0.98 
Gasoline, Tolls, Parking*  5  0% / 6.5%  0.34  0.36 
Other*  6  0% / 6.5%  0.41  0.43 
Association/Exhibitor Spending  26  6.5%  1.69  1.78 

  $266  6.8%  $18.05  $19.03 
 
The average daily spending per delegate is information from the International Association of Convention 
and Visitors Bureaus. 
 
* Prepared food is taxed at 6.5 percent and liquor is taxed at 9 percent.  Clothing at retail stores is not 

taxed.  Most other retail sales are taxable.  There is an excise tax on gasoline and gasoline is not subject 
to sales tax.  Parking is taxable.  Other spending may include services which are not taxable. 

 
 A blended rate of 7 percent is applied to the food and beverage category and the 6.5 percent rate is 

applied to the other mixed categories. 
 
 The current law tax rate for liquor and automobile rental are scheduled to be lowered in 2006.  No 

adjustment was made for these rate changes. 

                                                 
2Increased at same 1.9 percent annual rate that expenditures were estimated to increase from 2004 to 2007.  
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Nonresident Convention/Seminar Visitors to Minnesota 

 
 

 
Calendar 

Year 

 
Person Trips 

 x 1,0001 

 
Trip 

Duration2 

 
Visitor 
Days3 

Three-Year
Moving 

Average4 

1995  269  4.22  1,135  1,401 

1996  421  3.96  1,667  1,440 

1997  300  5.06  1,518  1,617 

1998  344  4.84  1,665  1,489 

1999  336  3.82  1,284  1,532 

2000  453  3.64  1,649  1,473 

2001  422  3.52  1,485  1,401 

2002  330  3.24  1,069  1,498 

2003  657  2.95  1,938  1,504 

 
1 Person-trips (or visitors) in thousands.  The term “person trips” counts the number of 

individual visits, regardless of the number of days or nights stayed.  For example, when one 
person attends a three day convention, this equals one person trip. 

 
2 Mean trip duration (days or nights). 
3 Visitor days (i.e., person-trips x mean trip duration). 
4 Three-year moving average. 
 
Source:  TIA, TravelScope Surveys, 1995-2003 
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State Tax Revenues 

November 2004 Forecast 
Price of Government (000’s) 

 
Convention Method 

Tax Type Actual Collections CY 2003 

All Other State Tax Revenues  $10,253,302 
     Individual Income  5,709,584 
     Corporate Income  628,048 
     Gasoline and Special Fuels  653,626 
     Motor Vehicle License  492,339 
     Motor Vehicle Sales  593,855 
     Statewide Property  599,622 
     Health Care  266,804 
     All Other (excluding on-site liquor excise tax)  1,309,424 
       
     Personal Income ($ Billions)  $172.217 
  
     All Other Taxes Per Dollar of Personal Income  $0.060 
 
 

Cross-Border Method 
Tax Type Actual Collections CY 2003 

All Other State Tax Revenues  $14,274,803 
     Individual Income  5,709,584 
     General Sales (excluding on-site liquor sales tax)  4,021,501 
     Corporate Income  628,048 
     Gasoline and Special Fuels  653,626 
     Motor Vehicle License  492,339 
     Motor Vehicle Sales  593,855 
     Statewide Property  599,622 
     Health Care  266,804 
     All Other (excluding on-site liquor excise tax)  1,309,424 
       
     Personal Income ($ Billions)  $172.217 
  
     All Other Taxes Per Dollar of Personal Income  $0.083 
 
 
Source:  Minnesota Department of Finance 
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340A.504 Hours and days of sale.  
 
Subd. 7.    Sales after 1 a.m.; permit fee.  
 
(a) No licensee may sell intoxicating liquor or 3.2 percent malt liquor on-sale between the hours 
of 1 a.m. and 2 a.m. unless the licensee has obtained a permit from the commissioner.   
Application for the permit must be on a form the commissioner prescribes.  Permits are effective 
for one year from date of issuance.  For retailers of intoxicating liquor, the fee for the permit is 
based on the licensee's gross receipts from on-sales of alcoholic beverages in the 12 months prior 
to the month in which the permit is issued, and is at the following rates:  
 

(1) up to $100,000 in gross receipts, $200;  

(2) over $100,000 but not over $500,000 in gross receipts, $500; and  

(3) over $500,000 in gross receipts, $600.  

For a licensed retailer of intoxicating liquor who did not sell intoxicating liquor at on-sale for a  
full 12 months prior to the month in which the permit is issued, the fee is $200.  For a retailer of 
3.2 percent malt liquor, the fee is $200.      
 
(b) The commissioner shall deposit all permit fees received under this subdivision in  
the alcohol enforcement account in the  special revenue fund.  
 
(c) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the  commissioner of revenue may furnish to the  
commissioner the  information necessary to administer and enforce this  subdivision. 
 
NOTE: Subdivision 7, as added by Laws 2003, First Special  Session chapter 19, article 2,  
section 59, is repealed July 1, 2005, provided that the commissioner of revenue has made the  
report to the secretary of state of the determination described in Laws 2003, First Special Session  
chapter 19, article 2, section 76, paragraph (b), by that date.  If no such determination has been  
made by that date, subdivision 7 remains in effect.  Laws 2003, First Special Session chapter 19,  
article 2, section 79, subdivision 3. 
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Minnesota Department of Public Safety  

Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement Division  (AGED)  
444 Cedar Street, Suite 133, St. Paul, MN 55101-5133  

Telephone 651-296-6979  Fax 651-297-5259  TTY 651-282-6555  
www.dps.state.mn.us  

  
Application for Optional 2 a.m. Liquor License 

                                                   
License type code:        2 a.m.           License Expiration Date                                        ID#   
                                                                                                                       (For Office Use Only)  
  
Licensee Name:   

Trade Name:   

Licensed Location Address:   

City, State, Zip Code:   

Business Phone:   
 
If the above named licensee is a corporation, partnership, or LLC, complete the following for each partner/officer:  
  
  
Partner/Officer Name              (First Middle Last)                DOB                 Social Security #                                   Home Address   
  
  
Partner/Officer Name              (First Middle Last)                DOB                 Social Security #                                   Home Address   
  
  
Partner/Officer Name              (First Middle Last)                DOB                 Social Security #                                   Home Address   
  

Licensee must report previous 12 month on sale alcoholic beverage gross receipts by checking one of the boxes 
below.    Next to the box you check is your 2 a.m. license fee.   Make check payable to:  Alcohol and 
Gambling Enforcement Division (AGED).   Mail this application and check to: AGED, 444 Cedar St., Suite 
133, St. Paul, MN 55101-5133.  
  
❏   $200   2 a.m. license fee  -  Up to $100,000 in on sale gross receipts for alcoholic beverages   
❏   $500   2 a.m. license fee  -  Over $100,000, but not over $500,000 in on sale gross receipts for alcoholic beverages  
❏   $600   2 a.m. license fee  -  Over $500,000 in on sale gross receipts for alcoholic beverages  
❏   $200   2 a.m. license fee  -  3.2 percent On Sale Malt Liquor licensees or Set Up license holders  
❏   $200   2 a.m. license fee  -  Did not sell alcoholic beverages for a full 12 months prior to this application  
  

❏ Yes  ❏ No   Does your city or county licensing official allow the sale of alcoholic beverages until 2 a.m.?    
  
City Clerk/County Auditor Signature   Date    
(I certify that the city or county of _____________________________ approves the sale of alcoholic beverages until 2 a.m.)  
Licensee Minnesota Tax ID Number (Required)   
 Licensee Signature   Date   
(I certify that I have answered the above questions truthfully and correctly)  
  

Licensee:  Prior to submitting this application to the Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement Division, it 
must be signed by your local city or county licensing official.   
 
 (2AM-2004)  
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Optional 2 a.m. Closing Licenses by Municipality  
Establishments as of June 10, 2004  

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Source: Minnesota Department of Revenue  
Date Prepared: September 16, 2004  
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2 a.m. License Registration Monthly Counts 

(As of October 6, 2004) 
 

Month Year New Percentage Expired Cumulative 

July 2003  286  31%  0  286 

August 2003  159  17%  0  445 

September 2003  71  8%  0  516 

October 2003  86  9%  0  602 

November 2003  56  6%  0  658 

December 2003  57  6%  0  715 

January 2004  25  3%  0  740 

February 2004  11  1%  0  751 

March 2004  26  3%  0  777 

April 2004  21  2%  0  798 

May 2004  25  3%  0  823 

June 2004  26  3%  0  849 

July 2004  54  6%  10  893 

August 2004  8  1%  9  892 

September 2004  20  2%  10  902 

Thru October 6 2004  1  0%  6  897 

  Total   932  100%  35  897 
 
 
 

2 a.m. License Participation Estimate 
 
Based on information from the Minnesota Licensed Beverage Association, it is estimated 
that there are approximately 4,500 on-sale businesses selling intoxicating liquor.  As of 
October 6, 2004 there were 897 businesses with an optional 2 a.m. license.  The 
participation rate is therefore about 20 percent 
 
Also, it is estimated that establishments with a 2 a.m. license represent 35 percent of the 
liquor sales tax paid. 
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2 a.m. Licenses by County 

October 6, 2004 
 

 
 

County 
Number of 

Licenses 
 

County 
Number of 

Licenses 

Aitkin  2 Martin*  2 
Anoka  31 Meeker  4 
Becker  19 Morrison  8 
Beltrami  1 Mower*  2 
Benton  9 Nicollet  3 
Blue Earth  25 Nobles*  3 
Brown  1 Norman*  1 
Carlton*  6 Olmsted  20 
Carver  11 Otter Tail  7 
Cass  1 Pipestone*  3 
Chippewa  2 Polk  4 
Chisago*  5 Ramsey  127 
Clay*  19 Red Lake  3 
Crow Wing  13 Rice  11 
Dakota*  51 St. Louis*  57 
Dodge  1 Scott  16 
Faribault*  6 Sherburne  6 
Fillmore*  6 Stearns  33 
Freeborn*  8 Swift  2 
Goodhue*  5 Todd  2 
Hennepin  297 Wabasha*  2 
Houston*  2 Wadena  1 
Isanti  2 Washington*  31 
Kandiyohi  3 Wilkin*  4 
Lac Qui Parle*  2 Wright  15 
  Yellow Medicine  2 

  Total  897 
 
 Note: 897 licenses in 51 counties.  The remaining 36 counties have no 
  2 a.m. licensed establishments. 
 

* Denotes border counties.  Dakota border includes only city of Hastings (6 licenses).   
St. Louis border includes only Duluth area (35 licenses). 
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Metro vs. Greater Minnesota 2 a.m. License Breakdown 

as of October 6, 2004 
 

Area Number of Licenses Percent 

Statewide  897  100% 

Metro (7-county)*  564  63% 

Greater Minnesota  333  37% 

 
 *Seven counties are Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott and Washington. 
 
 
 

Optional 2 a.m. Closing License Summary 
 

Permit Levels Fee 

Up to $100,000 in gross receipts  $200 

$100,000 to $500,000 in gross receipts  $500 

More than $500,000 in gross receipts  $600 

Businesses not selling on-sale for 
 12 months prior to license issuance 

  
 $200 

Retailers of 3.2 percent malt liquor  $200 

 
 
 

Permits Issued for 2 a.m. Closing Time as of October 6, 2004 
Information from Department of Public Safety, Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement Division 

 

Type of Permit  Number Issued 

$200 Permits  226 

$500 Permits  366 

$600 Permits  305 

    Total  897 

 
With the current number of permits and current distribution, annual fee revenues would be 
approximately $400,000. 
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Current Bar Closing Times 

for Minnesota and Neighboring States 
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DATE: October 11, 2004 
 
TO:  Detroit Lake Regional Tourism Bureau 
  Moorhead CVB 
  Duluth CVB 
  St. Cloud CVB 
  Albert Lea CVB 
  Mankato CVB 
  Rochester CVB 
  Apple Valley Chamber 
  Bloomington CVB 
  Burnsville CVB 
  Eagan CVB 
  Greater Minneapolis CVB 
  Hastings Chamber & Tourism Bureau 
  Inver Grove Heights CVB 
  Lakeville CVB 
  Minneapolis Metro North CVB 
  Roseville Visitors Association 
  Shakopee CVB 
  St. Paul CVB 
  Greater Stillwater Chamber of Commerce 
  White Bear Area Chamber of Commerce 
 
FROM:  Colleen Tollefson 
  800-657-3637 or 651-297-2635 
 
SUBJECT: 2 a.m. Bar Closing 
 
On July 1, 2003 the option for communities to allow 2 a.m. liquor sales went into effect.  As a 
part of that legislation, the Department of Revenue, in consultation with the hospitality industry, 
is required to conduct a study on the amount of annual increase in state tax revenue as a result of 
the change in hours.  The report is due by January 15, 2005. 
 
Given the timeframe that the law has been in effect, this is a challenging task to accomplish. To 
help assess this impact, the following information is needed from each of your communities.  
Please save this document, complete the questions and e-mail it back to me by Wednesday, 
October 20.  It is important that all communities respond to help in this estimation process.  If 
you have questions, please call 800-657-3637 or e-mail: colleen.tollefson@state.mn.us 
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Convention Activity and 2 a.m. Closing Law 

 
 
Name of Community/CVB:    
 
Contact:                                          Phone:                              E-mail:   
 
1.  Most Recent Annual Convention Information:   Specify time frame:    
 a) Number of conventions (limited to those with overnight stays):   
 b) Average number of attendees: ______________ 
 c) Average length of stay: _____________ 
 
2.  Spending Estimates per Delegate: 
 a) What estimate do you use for average daily spending?  ________________ 
 b) Is this estimate based on information from IACVB?  _________Yes    
 _________ No    
 
3.  Changes in Convention Activity: 
 Has your community identified an increase or decrease in convention activity (for 

conventions with overnight stays) due specifically to the 2 a.m. licensing change (exclude 
other factors such as economic growth, new facilities, changed funding levels, etc.)?     
 
If yes, What is your estimate of the change in the number of conventions, per year?   
 
If no,  
a) Do you expect increased/decreased convention activity in the future that is directly 

attributable to the change in the bar closing time?  
 
 

b) Expected change in number of conventions, per year (if available)? 
 
 

4. What is your average lead time for booking conventions? 
 
 

5. Other Comments:  
 
________________________________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________ 
Please return by October 20, 2004 to:  Colleen Tollefson via e-mail:  
colleen.tollefson@state.mn.us 
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Contacts with Hospitality Industry and Other Interested Parties 

 
September 22, 2004 Meeting with Industry Representatives 
 
October 28, 2004 Meeting with Industry Representatives 
 

Attendees / Invitees for industry meetings 
 DOR representatives 
 Tom Day  Hospitality MN 
 Maureen Scallen Minneapolis Convention and Visitors 
 Shawn Corwin Bloomington Convention and Visitors 
 Mike Polla Public Safety 
 Colleen Tollefson Explore Minnesota Tourism 
 Norman Foster  Finance 
 Brian Steeves Finance 
 Brian Daugherty Duluth Convention and Visitors 
 Brad Toll St. Paul Convention and Visitors 
 Lorie Bushaw  St. Paul Convention and Visitors 
 Jim Farrell  Minnesota Licensed Beverage Association 
 John Edman Explore Minnesota Tourism 
 Joe Bagnoli McGrann Shea 
 Paul Wilson House Fiscal Analysis 
 MJ Hedstrom Senate Tax Committee Staff 
 Tony Kwilas Minnesota Chamber of Commerce 
 
 Other Contacts 
 Marlene Kjelsberg Public Safety – Alcohol & Gambling Division 

Al Erickson Public Safety – Alcohol & Gambling Division 
Bob Isaacson Employment and Economic Development 

 Neal Young  Employment and Economic Development 
 Art Adiarte Employment and Economic Development 
 
 
Others Contacted via Survey 
 Detroit Lakes Regional Tourism Bureau Greater Minneapolis CVB 
 Moorhead CVB Hastings Chamber & Tourism Bureau 
 Duluth CVB  Inver Grove Heights CVB 
 St. Cloud CVB  Lakeville CVB 
 Albert Lea CVB Minneapolis Metro North CVB 
 Mankato CVB Roseville Visitors Association 
 Rochester CVB Shakopee CVB 
 Apple Valley Chamber St. Paul CVB 
 Bloomington CVB Greater Stillwater Chamber of Commerce 
 Burnsville CVB White Bear Area Chamber of Commerce 
 Eagan CVB 




