DEPARTMENT

m‘ OF REVENUE

Alcohol Beverage Use Tax Return

Importation for Personal Use

Due by the 18th of the month following the month in which the products were brought into Minnesota.

LB58

Dcheck if amended

Name Social Security Number
[}
o
= Address Period of Return
(S
o
.g City State zIP
o
A B C D
Less Allowance Taxable Liters Total Tax
Wine Total Liters (see instructions) (A-B) Excise Tax (CxD)
1 Wines14%orless ............... - = x $0.08 = 1
2 Wines more than 14%to 21% ..... - = x $0.25 = 2
3 Wines more than 21%t024% ..... - = x $0.48 = 3
4 Winesmorethan24% ............ - = x $093 = 4
5 Sparklingwine .................. - = x $048 = 5
£ 6 Cider ..., - = x $004 = 6
s
o 7 Number of bottles 200 ml or more for lines 1 through6 ................... x $0.01 = 7
=
§ 8 Totaltax (add lines 1through 7) . . ... ... e e e e e = 8
3
a Distilled Spirits
= 9 Distilled spirits .................. - = x $133 = 9
(4]
xX
e 10 Low-alcohol dairy cocktails ........ - = x $0.02 = 10
S [
8
§ 11 Total bottles for lines 9 through 10 e x $0.01 = 11
e [
=
s 12 Miniatures (see instructions) - = x $280 = 12
13 Total tax (add lines 9through 12) . . ... .. ... e e e = 13
A B C D
Less Allowance Taxable Gallons Total Tax
Fermented Beverages Total Gallons (see instructions) (A-B) Excise Tax (CxD)
14 Malt beverages3.2% orless ....... - = x $0.08 = 14
15 Malt beverages more than 3.2%. . .. - = x $0.15 = 15
16 TOTALTAX DUE (add lines 8, 13, 14 and 15) ... ...ttt ettt e e et = 16
Make check payable to Minnesota Revenue
I declare that this return is correct and complete to the best of my knowledge and belief.
Authorized Signature Date Daytime Phone
g
[
B Print Name Title
c
.20
wv
Paid Preparer’s Signature PTIN Date Daytime Phone

Mail to: Minnesota Revenue, Mail Station 3331, St. Paul, MN 55146-3331

Phone: 651-556-3036 Fax: 651-556-5236 Email: alc.taxes@state.mn.us
(Rev. 1/18)



Form LB58 Instructions

General Information

Any individual, age 21 or older, who enters
Minnesota from another state with more
than one liter of intoxicating liquor or more
than 288 ounces of malt liquor must com-
plete Form LB58 and pay the Minnesota
excise tax.

Individuals entering Minnesota from a
foreign country must complete Form LB58
and pay Minnesota excise tax if they have
more than four liters of intoxicating liquor
or 10 quarts (320 ounces) of malt bever-
ages. The beverages must not be offered for
sale or used for any commercial purposes.

A collector of commemorative bottles may
possess 12 or less commemorative bottles
without paying Minnesota excise tax.

Social Security Number
Required

We are authorized to require your Social
Security number on this form by M. S.
270C.306. Your Social Security number can
be used by the Department of Revenue to
help collect the tax liability on this form if
it is not paid. Your Social Security number
is private data and will not be shared with
anyone else.

Due Date

File Form LB58 and pay the tax by the
18th day of the month following the month
in which the product was brought into the
state.

If the due date lands on a weekend or holi-
day, returns and payments made electroni-
cally or postmarked the next business day

are considered timely.

Penalties and Interest

A 5 percent late-payment penalty will be
assessed for failing to file and pay tax for
the first 30 days. The penalty increases 5
percent for each additional 30-day period
(or any part thereof) to a maximum of 15
percent. Returns filed after the due date will
be assessed a 5 percent late-filing penalty
on any unpaid tax, or $25 whichever is
greater. Even if no tax is due, you will be
assessed a penalty for failing to file Form
LB58. Interest will accrue on any unpaid
tax and penalty.

Use Tax

If you buy items, including alcohol bever-
ages, without paying sales tax, you may
owe individual use tax on your purchases.

You may purchase up to $770 worth of tax-
able items during a calendar year without
paying use tax if the items are for your
personal use. If, however, your purchases
total more than $770, you must pay use tax
on the entire amount. This exemption does
not apply to businesses.

To report purchases subject to use tax, use
Form UT1, Individual Use Tax, which you
can find on our website.

For more information, see Sales Tax Fact
Sheet 156, Use Tax for Individuals, on our
website at www.revenue.state.mn.us.

Line Instructions

Column B
On Form LB58, column B, you may claim
only one of the following allowances:

If you are entering Minnesota from another

state, claim EITHER

* one liter of distilled spirits, wine, cider or
low-alcohol dairy cocktails (e.g., one liter
of liquor or one liter of sparkling wine);

OR

» 288 ounces (2.25 gallons) of malt bever-
ages.

If you are entering Minnesota from another

country, claim EITHER

« four liters of intoxicating liquor;

OR

* 320 ounces (10 quarts) of malt beverages.

Line 12

To determine the number of liters of min-
iatures to report, consider 20 miniatures to
equal 1 liter.

Lines 14-15, Column A
You must convert all measurements of malt
beverages into gallons.

Below is a conversion table for the most
commonly used cases. Multiply the number
you have of each size by the decimal
shown.

Malt Beverage Conversion Table

Cases: Gallons:
12/16 oz. case 1.5
12/22 oz. case 2.06
24/12 oz. case 2.25

Note: 288 oz. equals 2.25 gallons
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