
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
 

Revenue Notice #05-05:  Sales and Use Tax – Definition of 
Reasonable Rental Value of Motor Vehicles 
 
Background 
Minnesota Statutes provide that when a motor vehicle dealer uses, other than for demonstration purposes, a vehicle 
purchased for resale, the dealer may pay either the use tax under chapter 297A, based on the reasonable rental value of 
the vehicle, or the motor vehicle sales tax under chapter 297B on the full purchase price at the time converted to the 
dealer’s use.  This revenue notice is being issued to set forth the commissioner’s position on the meaning of “reasonable 
rental value” in the statute to provide certainty and fairness in the amount of taxes paid in these circumstances. 
 
Statutory Provision 
Minnesota Statutes, section 297B.035, subdivision 5, provides:  “If a motor vehicle dealer uses a vehicle, purchased for 
resale in the ordinary course of business, other than for demonstration purposes, the dealer may elect to pay the motor 
vehicle sales tax under this chapter or the use tax under chapter 297A based on the reasonable rental value of the vehicle.  
If the motor vehicle dealer fails to report the use tax under chapter 297A, it is presumed that the dealer elected to pay the 
motor vehicle sales tax under this chapter.” 
 
Department Position 
It is the commissioner’s position that the reasonable rental value for purposes of this statute is determined by calculating 
the daily rental value times the number of days or portions of days on which use, for other than demonstration purposes, 
occurred.  The commissioner will accept a daily lease value calculated using the Annual Lease Value Table found at 26 
C.F.R. § 1.61-21(d)(2)(iii), as amended through June 1, 1994, divided by 365 to determine at the daily lease value.  The 
Annual Lease Value Table is reprinted below.  Tax payments based on this value or any greater value will be accepted as 
reasonable rental value.  The fair market value used in calculating the daily rental values is the base value as determined 
by the registrar of motor vehicles pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 168.013, subdivision 1a, plus the retail price of 
accessories and items of optional equipment if not included in the registrar’s calculation. 
 
 

 
  Annual Lease Value Table 

Automobile Fair 
Market Value 

Annual 
Lease Value 

Automobile Fair 
Market Value 

Annual 
Lease Value 

$0 to 999 
1,000 to 1,999 
2,000 to 2,999 
3,000 to 3,999 
4,000 to 4,999 
5,000 to 5,999 
6,000 to 6,999 
7,000 to 7,999 
8,000 to 8,999 
9,000 to 9,999 

10,000 to 10,999 
11,000 to 11,999 
12,000 to 12,999 
13,000 to 13,999 
14,000 to 14,999 
15,000 to 15,999 
16,000 to 16,999 
17,000 to 17,999 
18,000 to 18,999 
19,000 to 19,999 
20,000 to 20,999 
21,000 to 21,999 

 

$600 
850 

1,100 
1,350 
1,600 
1,850 
2,100 
2,350 
2,600 
2,850 
3,100 
3,350 
3,600 
3,850 
4,100 
4,350 
4,600 
4,850 
5,100 
5,350 
5,600 
5,850 

 

$22,000 to 22,999 
23,000 to 23,999 
24,000 to 24,999 
25,000 to 25,999 
26,000 to 27,999 
28,000 to 29,999 
30,000 to 31,999 
32,000 to 33,999 
34,000 to 35,999 
36,000 to 37,999 
38,000 to 39,999 
40,000 to 41,999 
42,000 to 43,999 
44,000 to 45,999 
46,000 to 47,999 
48,000 to 49,999 
50,000 to 51,999 
52,000 to 53,999 
54,000 to 55,999 
56,000 to 57,999 
58,000 to 59,999 

 

$6,100 
6,350 
6,600 
6,850 
7,250 
7,750 
8,250 
8,750 
9,250 
9,750 

10,250 
10,750 
11,250 
11,750 
12,250 
12,750 
13,250 
13,750 
14,250 
14,750 
15,250 

 

**For vehicles having a fair market value in excess of $59.999, the annual lease value is equal to: (.25x 
the fair market value of the car) + $500. 
 
 



For example, using the table, an automobile with a fair market value of $ 25,000.00 would have a daily rental value of 
$17.12 and an automobile with a fair market value of $30,000.00 would have a daily rental value of $22.60, calculated as 
follows: 
• $ 6,850.00 ÷ 365 = $ 17.12 
• $ 8,250.00 ÷ 365 = $ 22.60. 
 
Multiplying the daily rental value times the days of use would yield the rental value amount to use in calculating the tax for 
taxable use under the statute.  For purposes of this calculation, use for any portion of a day is considered a full day of use. 
 
JOHN H. MANSUN, Assistant Commissioner 
For Tax Policy and External Relations 
Publication Date:  June 20, 2005 


