Official Notice: 2020 Cigarette Tax and Cigarette Sales Tax Rates
The commissioner of revenue determined the following rates effective for sales on or after January 1, 2020:
Cigarette Sales Tax rate is 61 cents per pack of 20 cigarettes. (See Minnesota Statutes 297F.25.) For packages with a different quantity, you must adjust the tax proportionally.
Excise Tax rate is 152 mills (15.2 cents) on each cigarette. (See Minnesota Statutes 297F.05.)