Certified Minnesota Assessor Specialist (CMAS)


You must have a Certified Minnesota Assessor Specialist (CMAS) license if you hold a contract with a city or township that requires CMAS as shown on the Jurisdictional License Level List.  

  • CMAS Requirements - Learn about the required courses and work experience to get a CMAS license.
  • CMAS Application is located on the Assessors Licensing System. You will need to either Sign in or Create an Account to access the application.  All CMAS applications are reviewed by the board for approval at the next board meeting.

Types of CMAS License

There are two levels of Certified Minnesota Assessor Specialist license: CMAS and CMAS-IQ (Income Qualified). CMAS-IQs complete additional courses and may appraise commercial properties. See the table below for details. 

Type of License


Certified Minnesota Assessor Specialist (CMAS)

  • ​May classify any type of property
  • May appraise only non-commercial property:
    • Agricultural
    • Residential (including mobile homes)
    • Seasonal recreational (cabins)
    • Vacant land
  • Cannot appraise income-producing (commercial) property
  • Must complete minimum CMAS requirements
Certified Minnesota Assessor Specialist- Income Qualified (CMAS-IQ)
  • May perform any of the CMAS duties (above)
  • May appraise income-producing (commercial) property
  • Must complete two board-approved income courses in addition to the minimum CMAS requirements

Note: The Assessor Accreditation law was changed during the 2017 legislative session. This change affects assessors who are  now licensed as a Certified Minnesota Assessor or Assessor Specialist (CMA or CMAS). For details, see Assessor Accreditation Deadline.

Contact Info